Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ibood seems to have genuine bargain

• 10-09-2013 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Samsung 40 inch 'Smart TV 2.0': this 3D LED TV thinks and grows with you !

Samsung UE40F7000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

No link or price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭lukaszd2007

Just use google, type "ibood" and you will see the offer;)

Hire u go:P
    http://www.ibood.com/ie/en/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭jmch81

€799 + postage of €14.95.

DID €1,299
    Richer Sounds £1,199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭chris1970

Eu model? Whats the difference between UK , EU model, PC world.ie have it down with 2 tuners, saorview & freesat, good price though, tempted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Plascebo

jmch81 wrote: »
    €799 + postage of €14.95.

DID €1,299
    Richer Sounds £1,199

€1330 in PC World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭fuse

Is 3d not just a pricey gimmick? How much would a standard LED Samsung 40" cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Evil Sausage

As mentioned on the iBood forum
    Samsung has confirmed that the only differences between the two models are the TV tuners (as the UK uses a different system for HD digital TV) and a few slight differences in product design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭tobehonestwithy

I dont post here too often but I was searchingibood today on here as i purchased the TV that is up on the site today and am now just waiting on delivery.

Looks like a bargain tbf. 7 series is only a year old, right?

i will let you know when it is recieved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭air

This was released in March / April of this year as far as I can tell.
    Review Here:
    http://www.whathifi.com/review/ue40f7000

Seems to be Saorview compatible based on specs here:
    http://alatest.com/reviews/tv-reviews/samsung-ue40f7000/po3-198834307,33/#details
    Has a check in the box for DVB-T MPEG4

£1100 or so everywhere in the UK by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

Expected shipping date is 25th Sept

Heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭chopsey

fuse wrote: »
    Is 3d not just a pricey gimmick? How much would a standard LED Samsung 40" cost?

i bought a Samsung 42" a few weeks ago in Currys for €499 no 3D or no Smartness just a standard TV with a very good media player built in.

and it was 42"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

Ive only watched 2 at home since I got a 3d tv, Dredd and prometheus and Its not " well yeah, thats a kinda cool gimmick", its more "holy crap that's fcking fantastic"

it can turn normal tv into 3d mode where you get a pseudo 3D watching eastenders, thats not that impressive but if you get an actual movie shot in 3D, thats where you notice the real difference. highly recommend.

chopsey wrote: »
    i bought a Samsung 42" a few weeks ago in Currys for €499 no 3D or no Smartness just a standard TV with a very good media player built in.

and it was 42"
    I bought one of these having passed up on a 42in TV on iBood recently which was probably of a similar standard to your own.
    For 300 extra this one gives you a better panel (response rate, image quality etc), a built in satellite tuner, smart functionality and obviously 3D including 2 pairs of active glasses.

I like to keep things for as long as possible so I see this set as a good effort at future proofing my purchase. At €400+ less than standard retail price I think it's a genuine bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

I really really don't need this but it looks to me to be an exceptional bargain.

Tempted all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Superfin

When is the deadline on purchasing this? Might nip over to Power City and check it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Twiki

11pm or when stock runs out - whichever is sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭nedd

I am trying desperately to convince the wife we "need" this. So far it's not working....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 eggnog98

I'm like some of the others here in that I missed a couple of great tv offers due to different circumstances. I'm extremely tempted buying this here especially after reading air's comments regarding future proofing. Although at first 799 did slap me in the face it now seems to be not too much a leap from the previous offers considering what you get in return. My issue is, other than it being 300 over initial budget, that I'm a 22year old living at home courtesy of the dreaded 'R', am I mad to purchase this? I have future-proof ringing in my ear and the knowledge of ibood deals being one-offs although similar offers will rotate. It would be a great incentive to clean up a bit! Thoughts appreciated! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭jmch81

I think this will sell out. 2013 model and the forums on ibood have a lot of talk going on, Netherlands, Germany etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭bruce wayne

Are ibood a good site to buy from though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Ibood is fine to order from, only issue is delivery times can be up to a month.

Have a samsung smart tv myself with 3d. Glasses can be expensive, but experience is great. Transformers is amazing as well as Pixar / dreamworks stuff.

I installed ps3 media server and now can stream movies straight from PC to tv, haven't used a DVD in over a year.

7k series is amazing, when I was getting my 6k series, they were over 2 grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JimBob101

Will this TV work with SAORVIEW?

One great thing about the TV is the Dual-Tuner, allowing you to watch terrestrial and satellite channels without the need of a set top box. Hence you can mount it on a wall and have no other equipment.

If it isnt SAORVIEW compliant, then this would be a deal-breaker for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭bruce wayne

feck it....trigger pulled ;0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭dubrov

JimBob101 wrote: »
    Will this TV work with SAORVIEW?

One great thing about the TV is the Dual-Tuner, allowing you to watch terrestrial and satellite channels without the need of a set top box. Hence you can mount it on a wall and have no other equipment.

If it isnt SAORVIEW compliant, then this would be a deal-breaker for me.

It can handle Saorview and free-to-air satellite.
    Looks like it has two satellite inputs so probably dual tuner.

Full specs here:
    http://www.samsung.com/ie/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/led-tv/UE40F7000STXXU-spec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JimBob101

It can handle Saorview and free-to-air satellite.
    Looks like it has two satellite inputs so probably dual tuner.

Full specs here:
    http://www.samsung.com/ie/consumer/t...7000STXXU-spec

Hi dubrov,

What makes you think that its the UE40F7000STXXU model?

Couldn't it just as easily be another (e.g. UE40F7000SLXXN or another) given that its the european model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

DON'T forget: 6% cashback with Fatcheese = nearly 50 quid off!

http://www.fatcheese.ie/cashback/ibood/

Damn it! Just ordered and then saw your post. I feel robbed :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭dubrov

Hi dubrov,

Couldn't it just as easily be another (e.g. UE40F7000SLXXN or another) given that its the european model?

I'm not sure but don't think the hardware changes by model number just the regional settings.

For example I know the ES6800 UK model came with a Freesat tuner while the equivalent French model only had a free-to-air satellite tuner.
    It was possible to switch the region from France to the UK in the service menu and access Freesat functionality.

What's the story with a guarantee when buying from ibood?

To be honest thinking of cancelling, feel guilty spending 8 months worth of transport on a tv i probably wont appreciate but then again you could look at it as 8 nights out you wont remember! Is it easy enough cancelling an order with these guys? Paid via paypal

I just ordered. Convinced herself that it is needed :-)
    Buyers remorse setting in now but I will get over that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

eggnog98 wrote: »
    To be honest thinking of cancelling, feel guilty spending 8 months worth of transport on a tv i probably wont appreciate but then again you could look at it as 8 nights out you wont remember! Is it easy enough cancelling an order with these guys? Paid via paypal

You can cancel through the site but I wouldn't. I have a 7 series Samsung that is over 18 months old and still a great TV. If the time comes that I have reason to upgrade I'll be going Samsung again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭smee again

Just posting to inform you all of the horrible experience I had last year trying to get a replacement phone from Ibood after a previous bargain alert. I bought two Android phones for the youngsters, one of which packed in within six weeks. After returning it for repair and sending email after email, 7 months later I finally got offered a refund which took 3 months further to receive.

Hi dubrov,

Dont know is it still important to anybady but when on ibood you chose country Poland it will give you exact model:

UE40F7000SZXZT

Still dont know are they this same for all countries, but I would say it is.

Hire is the spec:
    http://prf.icecat.biz/?shopname=openIcecat-url;smi=product;vendor=Samsung;prod_id=UE40F7000SZXZT;lang=us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

dingding wrote: »

Does it not say in the spec that it's vesa 400 * 200 or does that matter? This bracket says 400 *400?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭skinny90

It's the panel spec that you're investing into not the 3d feature...

ibood have nice samsung mobile but not in Ireland, anyway anybady interested hire is a link to Nederland web page:

http://www.ibood.com/nl/nl/

Its a Samsung Galaxy trend II Duos announced in april 2013
    Ibood price is 169.95E

Superfin wrote: »
    Does it not say in the spec that it's vesa 400 * 200 or does that matter? This bracket says 400 *400?

Any confirmation on this bracket and whether its correct?

I had a look on the Samsung site and in the gallery it looks like the holes are spaced 400*400.

http://www.samsung.com/ie/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/led-tv/UE40ES7000UXXU-gallery

here is the gallery and the photo of the back is about 10 shots in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

nedd wrote: »
    I had a look on the Samsung site and in the gallery it looks like the holes are spaced 400*400.

http://www.samsung.com/ie/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/led-tv/UE40ES7000UXXU-gallery

confirmed: http://answers.uk.samsung.com/answers/7463support-en_gb/product/UE55ES7000UXXU/samsung-55-es7000-series-7-smart-3d-full-hdled-tv-questions-answers/questions.htm

vesa 400 * 400

I just noticed that my existing wall mount is vesa 200.
    Now I need a new wall mount.

I just noticed that my existing wall mount is vesa 200.
    Now I need a new wall mount.

Think I'll just make a simple adapter plate for mine from a sheet of aluminium. The Samsung weighs less than 10kg & my mount is rated to 25kg.

air wrote: »
    Think I'll just make a simple adapter plate for mine from a sheet of aluminium. The Samsung weighs less than 10kg & my mount is rated to 25kg.

I would like to think that I could dicky up something in the shed to sort my issue but i'm not that way inclined.

I ordered this instead:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004OSVSKU/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I am of course working under the assumption that this Samsung is lighter than my existing 32" Sony..... I think it is.

AFAIK this is the telly in question (with the retractable camera) not the one in that link.

http://www.samsung.com/nl/consumer/tv-audio-video/televisions/tv-2013/UE40F7000SLXXN-gallery

What are the VESA fittings for this?

Superfin wrote: »
    AFAIK this is the telly in question (with the retractable camera) not the one in that link.

http://www.samsung.com/nl/consumer/tv-audio-video/televisions/tv-2013/UE40F7000SLXXN-gallery

What are the VESA fittings for this?

I just flicked through that gallery and they look like VESA 400 as well.

When you look at the spec of the TV it is 90cm wide. Doing a quick measurement with a ruler on my screen leads me to think the 4 silver holes spaced around the back of the photo are just less than half the width of the TV. therefore VESA 400....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭mondeoman2

I just flicked through that gallery and they look like VESA 400 as well.

When you look at the spec of the TV it is 90cm wide. Doing a quick measurement with a ruler on my screen leads me to think the 4 silver holes spaced around the back of the photo are just less than half the width of the TV. therefore VESA 400....

I Found The Same Tv On Amazon.it For the Same Money,
    Not sure how delivery works though:confused:
    http://www.amazon.it/Samsung-UE40F7000SZXZT-UE40F7000-TV-LCD/dp/B00BMPOS00/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1379070240&sr=1-2

dingding wrote: »

P&P brings it up to £20.17 :mad:

Will look into the parcelmotel option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

mondeoman2 wrote: »
    I Found The Same Tv On Amazon.it For the Same Money,
    Not sure how delivery works though:confused:
    http://www.amazon.it/Samsung-UE40F7000SZXZT-UE40F7000-TV-LCD/dp/B00BMPOS00/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1379070240&sr=1-2
    I don't think you can have it shipped from amazon.it to Ireland or the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

Any recommendations for a blu ray player. I think if you get certain Samsung ones the TV remote will control the DVD. However it does not need the smart functionality as this is already in the TV.