Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eirtakon 2013- 23 Nov- Croke Park- SSF4AE, UMvC3, BB Chrono phantasma

• 10-09-2013 9:15am
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭

It's that time of year again for the best convention for fighting game players.

I've already been asked to attend and do my recording duties, and the lads have very graciously put all three tournaments on the one day so we can record- and play- them all together, on the Saturday.

I cannot stress how much fun I've had at Eirtakon every year, it's always been the Con of choice if you want to hit just one up as an FG player.

It will also probably be the first BBCP tournament in the country- We may need to loan them copies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

I should be there >:3

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Ah, I'd forgotten Eirtakon was the birthplace of both Fergus and Lythero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭ladnopoka

eirtakon is great, ill be there

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

I'll be there, representing Konata and taking photos galore for her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Scavenger XIII

Indeed, they shall forever be "Squall kid" and "Dante guy". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Bento Sento

Ahem. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

the lads have very graciously put all three tournaments on the one day so we can record- and play- them all together, on the Saturday.

Highlighting this for awesomeness and appreciation.

They just won my attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Barring any major last minute changes to the timetable being handed to me by the gaming guys... Also, the entire games schedule isn't public yet, we're waiting for some sponsor details before we publish :)

|Friday
    20:00 - 22:00|Divekick (PS3)
    |Saturday
    15:00 - 18:00|Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition Version 2012 (Xbox 360)
    18:00 - 20:00|Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Xbox 360)
    20:00 - 22:00|BlazBlue: Chronophantasma (PS3)

TheChrisD wrote: »
    Barring any major last minute changes to the timetable being handed to me by the gaming guys... Also, the entire games schedule isn't public yet, we're waiting for some sponsor details before we publish :)

|Friday
    20:00 - 22:00|Divekick (PS3)
    |Saturday
    15:00 - 18:00|Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition Version 2012 (Xbox 360)
    18:00 - 20:00|Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Xbox 360)
    20:00 - 22:00|BlazBlue: Chronophantasma (PS3)

Would it be possible for me to make this a Randomselect.ie exclusive or shall I wait for you guys to post it on your website before we post it on ours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Would it be possible for me to make this a Randomselect.ie exclusive or shall I wait for you guys to post it on your website before we post it on ours?

Keep it here for now, please. Don't want to annoy the games tourney's sponsor by having it published to all the web before their final approval :)
    I'll be making a main news post on the Eirta-site and social media very soon to big it up and to give the sponsor exposure.

TheChrisD wrote: »
    Keep it here for now, please. Don't want to annoy the games tourney's sponsor by having it published to all the web before their final approval :)
    I'll be making a main news post on the Eirta-site and social media very soon to big it up and to give the sponsor exposure.

Team Doomy: Now sponsoring Eirtakon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

;_________;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Sairus

Konata wrote: »
    ;_________;
    Don't listen to them. We got Tokyo Game Show next week.

Sairus wrote: »
    Don't listen to them. We got Tokyo Game Show next week.

I have orientation on Sat and my placement test on Sun so can't even go to TGS! :(

Konata wrote: »
    I have orientation on Sat and my placement test on Sun so can't even go to TGS! :(

This might be the saddest statement on the whole internet :O

I know right? How inconsiderate of my university! You'd think they'd try and avoid conflicts like this...

Here is the full list of video game tournaments on the Eirtakon website http://eirtakon.com/content/138-Video-Game-Tournaments-2013

and here is the article on our site. http://randomselect.ie/index.php/2013/10/02/eirtakon-2013-nov-22nd-24th-croke-park-dublin/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Oh it's on PS3, I can finally use my cheap-ass stick in a tournament xD

Im really dissapointed that Divekick isnt on the same day as ae and marvel, game is so good it would have been a great laugh

ladnopoka wrote: »
    Im really dissapointed that Divekick isnt on the same day as ae and marvel, game is so good it would have been a great laugh

Can't have everything man, already three FG tournaments on the one day. Divekick has been pulling huge numbers at cons too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Nutrient

No injustice?

I'll be with the MLP crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Where's Dead or Alive 5!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 hackle serpent

I'm new to the fighting game tournament scene but I should be there and taking part in UMVC3 at least. I look forward to it.

That's great! A few of our stronger UMvC3 players should be there, you'll get some great experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭TheMikenyan

Right, I'm gonna have to get the day off for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭2gen

I'm new to the fighting game tournament scene but I should be there and taking part in UMVC3 at least. I look forward to it.

yo, have you seen this thread about an upcoming event called FightFest?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057045907

great opportunity to meet the scene and get a lot of games in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 hackle serpent

2gen wrote: »
    yo, have you seen this thread about an upcoming event called FightFest?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057045907

great opportunity to meet the scene and get a lot of games in ;)

I wish I could but I'm busy. If there is another one I'll cancel whatever I have planned and go if possible. But thanks for telling me about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

Bumping this since it's on this weekend.

Myself and Yuffie are going.

Giving a panel on Saturday at 4 :P

And BB also.

Weeeeeeeee BB tournaments!

I'm planning on attending Friday night too and recording Divekick.

Always a mad tournament game :)

I can make Saturday for activitys that day, have plans sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Linoud

Can't wait for the Saturday! Lets do this! :p

I will be there Saturday for Xinkai's panel

Onsies and drugs mandatory.

Don't ask why.

I'll be there all weekend in Konata's honour. Less goooooo! Doom I can bring you to the door if you need a lift

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    I'll be there all weekend in Konata's honour. Less goooooo! Doom I can bring you to the door if you need a lift

You're what's known as a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

Good morning all,

I will be attending and flying the Boards.ie Flag as we're sponsoring the games tournament's at Eirtakon this year. I don't mind admitting I'm really looking forward to it, was at it briefly last year to run a panel on indie games development and having been to so many of the "traditional" games conventions that run, Eirtakon just seemed to be way more concerned with every person who walked through the door enjoying themselves.

PLUS! Everyone who enters the comps gets to tell their friends and family that they've played competitively at Croke Park :p

Dav wrote: »
    PLUS! Everyone who enters the comps gets to tell their friends and family that they've played competitively at Croke Park :p

My dog, that's amazing. Totally doing that.

I'm glad you posted because I legitimately had no idea this was on at Croke Park! I would have ended up at DCU like previous years and been terribly confused.

Me neither, that's brilliant. I'm literally around the corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

Well then you have no excuse for not showing up! :)

I've been talking to Doom, we may get a bit of Dive-Kick going on the Friday (I have another work related thing to attend, but fingers crossed I'll get out in time). It'll be my first time playing it, so I'm really looking forward to giving it a go.

I may even have some unique Boards.ie items to share with people over the course of the weekend...

Well then you have no excuse for not showing up! :)

Ah, but I might just hi-jack the lads who are getting blue-balled over there being no Smash Bros tournament!

We can go back to my gaff and have our own tournament! With blackjack. And hookers.

It's not in DCU this year?

ladnopoka wrote: »
    It's not in DCU this year?

Ladno, I swear to god, if you start pestering people for directions to Croke bloody park I'll ban you :D

it's beside where I lived last year ladno, you're looking for the big feck off stadium :p

The whole Croke Park is ours? Wut??

Part of Croke Park is a huge convention centre. That's ours for the weekend :)

Except the finals, obviously they'll be played on the pitch.

http://eirtakon.com/content/97-Getting-to-Eirtakon for those who don't know how to get to Croke Park.

for those who don't know how to get to Croke Park...

...Seek medical attention as you may have brain damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭jimmypenguin

dayum, i have brain damage???