Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef farm walk

• 08-09-2013 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone heading to that beef farm walk on wed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Muckit wrote: »
    Anyone heading to that beef farm walk on wed?

Is that the BTAP one muckit? Where is it again? I heard our Advisor on about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

We didn't get a lot of notice of it though, I would like to go but have already changed a work day so I can bring 2 rams to Tullow on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's on in teagasc grange. Here looking on sat nav to see how to get to it. Looks to be near navan/kells. Think will head for a gawk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

If its in kells I might head over myself if the barley finishes up before weds

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

How many more BTAP events are on this year? If this is the last one I might have to be there.;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

It's on in teagasc grange. Here looking on sat nav to see how to get to it. Looks to be near navan/kells. Think will head for a gawk

its in Dunsany,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

its in Dunsany,

You going Bob?

delaval wrote: »
    You going Bob?

No, but I hope every other fellow buying cattle does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Heading to the mart then bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

You'll want to find a fine day then too Bob :D

Grange seems to have gotten very little press this year after all the fanfare when it was launched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

It's outside trim on the Dublin road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

as with most beef people i am working off farm....... could they arrange these things for a saturday?
    on another note grange is an impressive set up and worth going for a look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

F.D wrote: »
    as with most beef people i am working off farm....... could they arrange these things for a saturday?

id agree with that , would be interesting to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

F.D wrote: »

Good point. I's love to travel to this but not if I have to take a day off the Day job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

They've a few demo outwintering pads there as well which I'd be interested in seeing. Is it all in the one place? i.e. the derrypatrick herds isn't a few miles from the main grange farm?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

just do it wrote: »
    They've a few demo outwintering pads there as well which I'd be interested in seeing. Is it all in the one place? i.e. the derrypatrick herds isn't a few miles from the main grange farm?

It's all in the one place AFAIK, but it's not a small place. What is on the agenda for Wednesday?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    It's all in the one place AFAIK, but it's not a small place. What is on the agenda for Wednesday?

http://www.teagasc.ie/events/2013/20130911.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Anyone go?

I'm not long back. Interesting presentations I thought.

Justin Mc from the journal was there and asking lots of questions so a big report in next weeks paper.

What drainage have they done?

Ah JDI you missed it!! Full stand on drainage. They gave out a great little booklet on drainage also. Haven't read through it yet, but looks quality. I'd say if you rang them up they'd post you out a copy. It's called 'Land drainage - A farmer's guide to draining grassland in Ireland.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭aneala

Got that booklet myself at the BTAP walk on Heinz Eghert's farm Sallins. Very good advice in it., they had hundreds of them that evening to give out so as Muckit says I'd say they would send one out no bother.

In fairness a lot of info in it would have been mentioned here in different threads at different times but it's handy to have it all in one booklet......plus I'm a bit old fashioned in liking to have an actual book to read and jot down a few notes in:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TippNorth

That drainage manual is available to download from teagasc website
    http://t-stor.teagasc.ie/handle/11019/417

What drainage have they done?
    As muckit said the gave out a booklet. Haven't had time to look through it yet but the stand was fairly good.

The land they were draining was very good and if I had it I don't think I'd be draining it.

Drains they put in we're quite deep about 1.5 m with the black corrugated pipe laid on the bottom and 2 foot of 10mm - 40 mm washed stone on top. Drains in one field were at 20 m intervals. They were draining to stop groundwater rather than surface water

Well I was wondering what in Gods name were they draining!! In fairness if the booklet they were handing out was the one Figerty has posted on here previously it is a good publication.

Would have liked to make it just to see the Derrypatrick herd for myself if nothing else. Too much on at work though so couldn't sacrafice the time. A good dilemma to have I suppose. Could be nursing a hangover today as well if I'd met a few of you lads so maybe it's not all bad:cool:

So did ye learn anything lads, is there anything you'll do differently back at the ranch?

TippNorth wrote: »
    That drainage manual is available to download from teagasc website
    http://t-stor.teagasc.ie/handle/11019/417

That's the one ;) There you go JDI.

What made a few good points re drainage which contradicted what I always thought.... ie that chips should be brought to the top. Your man on the stand reckoned water tables and surface water should be dealt with separately. Ie subsoiling and mole draining for surface water and chipped and piped drains @20m centres to drain away water at a lower level (water table). Drains should be over 1m deep (according to them).

AHI were giving out a lot of leaflets in the yard, but I didn't take any as they can all be downloaded on PDF too ;) Ah the beauty of the electronic age :pac:

So did ye learn anything lads, is there anything you'll do differently back at the ranch?
    Well I suppose there was some things that were food for thought but in reality 120 cows on 70 ha of very good land with great infrastructure and no fragmentation is a bit away from where I am.

The grassland was super and has to be the aim for everyone. The paddock system was brilliantly set up. Happy enough with my calves in comparison.

plenty must of went as hadnt a bad day at the mart:D:D hope it was a worthwhile day out. keep posting to give us the details

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Well I suppose there was some things that were food for thought but in reality 120 cows on 70 ha of very good land with great infrastructure and no fragmentation is a bit away from where I am.

The grassland was super and has to be the aim for everyone. The paddock system was brilliantly set up. Happy enough with my calves in comparison.

Would they survive over here on the west coast, always maintain a suckler demo farm should be set up over here in the depths of Connaught ,

I am in the process of uploading some pics and notes from the day. A lot of stuff so bear with me.

To answer your question JDI, I learned a lot. There hasn't been a farm walk that I've gone to yet that I've regretted going to. Even if it is just confirming what you are already doing or are aiming for, it is worth going to as a confidence boost.

You have to give them their due, they are running a tidy ship there. The best of land with grass growing out over the hedges, all well fenced and every field full of quality stock. But saying all that on my small little wet west of Ireland farm, I had better quality silage than them last winter and had cattle out only a week or so later than them. They also bought in 300TONNES!

I found it strange that they don't forward creep graze their calves. I did like that they aren't mealing them either! :D But their cows were as fat as pigs. They most definitely should be creep grazing the calves ahead and restricting the cows.

Breeding is almost exclusively all by stock bulls, save for the maternal cows they want to mate to maternal bulls for replacements.

Justin Mc was asking the tough questions as to why they peared cows numbers back significantly and how they still claimed to be showing a half decent profit monitor despite this and the small matter of having to buy in a large tonnage of silage. Young Alan Kelly was there also with pen and paper, so I'm sure he'I have an article on it all too.

Sorry I didn't take more pics of stock :o God they'd a few charolais and Simmental cows there that were as big as elephants, I reckon they were pedigree. Anyways here are the few pics I did take.....

7w5t.jpg

8dyl.jpg

ewro.jpg

v4po.jpg

hugo29 wrote: »
    Would they survive over here on the west coast, always maintain a suckler demo farm should be set up over here in the depths of Connaught ,

You'll have seen just as good if not better calves on some of the farm walks but they were all fairly uniform in fairness.

They are finishing all progeny and the data shows that calves from Lm x fr cows weigh the best and kill out heavier. That's fine for finishing but for someone selling weinlings those calves can be a mousey brown colour and don't sell as well.

I snuck into the shed and took a few pics....

ol9q.jpg

9kvm.jpg[/URL]

rvr7.jpg[/URL]

3cvw.jpg[/URL]

ju77.jpg[/URL]

o27m.jpg[/URL]

klux.jpg[/URL]

5heq.jpg[/URL]

jj27.jpg[/URL]

ekqa.jpg[/URL]

I am in the process of uploading some pics and notes from the day. A lot of stuff so bear with me.

To answer your question JDI, I learned a lot. There hasn't been a farm walk that I've gone to yet that I've regretted going to. Even if it is just confirming what you are already doing or are aiming for, it is worth going to as a confidence boost.

You have to give them their due, they are running a tidy ship there. The best of land with grass growing out over the hedges, all well fenced and every field full of quality stock. But saying all that on my small little wet west of Ireland farm, I had better quality silage than them last winter and had cattle out only a week or so later than them. They also bought in 300TONNES!

I found it strange that they don't forward creep graze their calves. I did like that they aren't mealing them either! :D But their cows were as fat as pigs. They most definitely should be creep grazing the calves ahead and restricting the cows.

Breeding is almost exclusively all by stock bulls, save for the maternal cows they want to mate to maternal bulls for replacements.

Justin Mc was asking the tough questions as to why they peared cows numbers back significantly and how they still claimed to be showing a half decent profit monitor despite this and the small matter of having to buy in a large tonnage of silage. Young Alan Kelly was there also with pen and paper, so I'm sure he'I have an article on it all too.

Were you in the first group out muckit? I was in that one and Justin was asking a lot of questions. I didn't realise the other lad was from the journal as well. The fella on the second stand wasn't too keen on their questions.

Sorry I didn't take more pics of stock :o God they'd a few charolais and Simmental cows there that were as big as elephants, I reckon they were pedigree. Anyways here are the few pics I did take.....

ewro.jpg

v4po.jpg

Jeez I'd get a weeks grazing out of the gap between those two fences in the first pic!

What's the idea of the bells on the cows in the second pic?

Jeez I'd get a weeks grazing out of the gap between those two fences in the first pic!

Not bells. Those are the high maternal heifers and the collar distinguishes them from the low maternal ones. Half and half split into aaxfr lmxfr suckler x aa and suckler x Lm

Yeah I'd have loved to have gone but I just don't seem to have the time. There have been a few farm walks this summer that I've thought "I'll try to get to that" but work or family has to take precedence:rolleyes: (I was going to say gets in the way!). Got to my discussion group meetings though so that is 5 more visits made than in previous years.

Interesting they're not creep grazing ahead, especially as they seem to be grazing out paddocks tightly. Given the full time staffing they're in the ideal position to do this and experiment with it to give the rest of us tips/options as to how to do it. They started off with all AI but had disastorous results, hence the move to stock bulls. The one thing I've always liked about Derrypatrick though is they've been upfront about their faults and failings.

Good to hear JMcC got stuck in and should hopefully make for interesting reading next week. Maybe the point is maxing out on SR doesn't necessarily translate into a higher profit margin. There is a sweet spot to be found which is quite possibly unique to each farm. I for one am hoping grass measuring will help me to make a reasonable questimate as to what my optimal SR should be.

..... the data shows that calves from Lm x fr cows weigh the best and kill out heavier....

That is something that I couldn't really compute. How could a calf from a 3/4 bred continental/Friesian X outperform a calf from a full continental X.

I can understand that milk is the driving force at the beginning and that this is why the weanlings would weigh heavier, but after weaning, why doesn't genetics kick in? Shouldn't the Friesian influence negate against them?

But then I thought about it a bit more and I suppose perhaps a heavier weanling will be eating more and perhaps even though the smaller full continental cross weanling has better beef breeding, genetics cannot compete with weight for age....??? I still find it very hard to grasp...:confused:

The gain equated to a 10-15kg heavier carcase for the LM/Fr vs the LM/CH, which I suppose would be around half a hundred weight more liveweight. The figures don't sit easy with me... I'm sorry.

Not bells. Those are the high maternal heifers and the collar distinguishes them from the low maternal ones. Half and half split into aaxfr lmxfr suckler x aa and suckler x Lm
    That's gas. I was so busy looking at the grass and spotted a calf in the background I hadn't noticed they're heifers!

Did they say how they spot when they're bulling? Vasectomised bull?

Those inside fences are only temporary.

The ones with the collars were taken from bought in for their high maternal index. They are doing a trail against heifers with lower indexes to basically proof that there is merit in the new maternal index.

I snuck into the shed and took a few pics....

[/URL]

ju77.jpg[/URL]

o27m.jpg[/URL]
    Ah Muckit, you're killing me with all the pics. I planned to go to bed half an hour ago!!!

The first one hear, do you know what the timber panel on the gate in the background is for? And the second one - is it a gate for humans or calves? Looks a bit narrow for cows.

Great to get the photos by the way, much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Lads are these things only an excuse for fellas to walk around looking into sheds & counting how many head of cattle a fella has. Would most farmers not be too busy this time of year for these kinda things

From what I recall reading the journal last year, I thought the LMxFR cross had the greatest weight gain to weaning and maintained the lead upto starting on the 100day finishing period. Then in the 100 day finishing period the CHx outperformed and overtook the LMxFR. The weight difference was slight, but combined with better confirmation and kill-out percentage meant the slaughtered CHx left more money behind.

liam7831 wrote: »
    Lads are these things only an excuse for fellas to walk around looking into sheds & counting how many head of cattle a fella has. Would most farmers not be too busy this time of year for these kinda things
    The day you think you know it all is the day you stop learning;). Surely this time of year is one of the quieter times?

From what I recall reading the journal last year, I thought the LMxFR cross had the greatest weight gain to weaning and maintained the lead upto starting on the 100day finishing period. Then in the 100 day finishing period the CHx outperformed and overtook the LMxFR. The weight difference was slight, but combined with better confirmation and kill-out percentage meant the slaughtered CHx left more money behind.

It's funny I have a small lmxfr cow who has a serious bb bull calf at foot, I keep asking myself where has this calf come from, must try and get pic, he was a plain calf up until he hit grass, mother is nothing special ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

It's funny I have a small lmxfr cow who has a serious bb bull calf at foot, I keep asking myself where has this calf come from, must try and get pic, he was a plain calf up until he hit grass, mother is nothing special ,
    Them cows are the ones to be keeping , so long as they are consistant with the calves

moy83 wrote: »
    Them cows are the ones to be keeping , so long as they are consistant with the calves

Yes next year will tell a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Yes next year will tell a lot
    Will you use the same bull again ?

moy83 wrote: »
    Will you use the same bull again ?

No, CH stock bull running with them this year,

Ah Muckit, you're killing me with all the pics. I planned to go to bed half an hour ago!!!

The first one hear, do you know what the timber panel on the gate in the background is for? And the second one - is it a gate for humans or calves? Looks a bit narrow for cows.

Great to get the photos by the way, much appreciated.

Not a clue what that ply is about. Unless perhaps to stop draught s. I liked the size of these creep s. Also doors on the back lead out to pads. Chains hanging down must be to stop crows flying in.

The other openings are for personnel access. They are excellent idea and should be mandatory on all livestock gates where a farmer must enter a pen. Even safety aside just saves time and energy climbing barriers and dividing gates. And very easy to add into a gate when making at minimal expense