Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Were you ever nearly kidnapped when you were younger?

• 08-09-2013 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭

When I was about 12 I was outside my house playing swingball, I could hear a car driving up our country road very slowly. When the car got closer to me it stopped and my a man got out and he went to climb over our garden hedge. I ran away into my house and he sped away.

Anyone have a similar experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yeah same thing happened to me, the little bastard ran off when i hopped over the hedge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Na i was an ugly,scruffy git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

It's not so bad, they gave me the WEP key last week.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Now then.Now then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

Yep a few times, right outside the house as well. Pure daylight in a housing estate. Id say it was 1983 or 84.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Yes, I was about six. My father owning his own company, a couple of local wannabe gangsters decide he was easy pickings, we weren't rich but the tax write off company Jaguar parked in the drive begged to differ.

Anyway, these lads decided they would snatch me from school and managed to grab me. I woke up in the back of a van.

My parents received a ransom note requesting 5 grand. My dad put in a counter offer of 10 grand if they would keep me. I was dropped off the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I wasn't sexy enough as a kid :-(

What about now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A strange woman tried to pick me up from the creche.
    Turns put my ma had got a new haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yeah same thing happened to me, the little bastard ran off when i hopped over the hedge!

I hope you got a new car, it was some rust bucket!

Nope, it took years and years of child tears to rust that car!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

There was a man in a white van outside my house once. Odds are it was a kidnapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I was kidnapped aged 12 from the local quinnsworth and I still live with my kidnapper. He only lets me go on boards.ie. and sometimes askaboutmoney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

lukesmom wrote: »
    I was kidnapped aged 12 from the local quinnsworth and I still live with my kidnapper. He only lets me go on boards.ie. and sometimes askaboutmoney

Quinnsworth ? that must make you about 86 years of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

mattjack wrote: »

Yeah it was quinnsworth when I was 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Yep a few times, right outside the house as well. Pure daylight in a housing estate. Id say it was 1983 or 84.

Well, weren't you Mr. Popular!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I was thumbing home once on winter's evening when I was about 15.
    A car stopped and the man got out to let me in the boot as it was a two door job.

There was another man in the front and both had heavy northern accents. I thought for a few miles they might be some loyalist fellas down south to kidnap some young catholic lad.

Not sure why Ithought it but it crossed my mind maybe because I was trapped in the back. No such drama though and they me let out no bother where I wanted so if you're reading.....thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

When I was about 5-6 I was living in a small house quite deep in the country. At about 8-9 one summers evening my parents got a knock at the door. They answered it and outside were 2 people a man and a woman claiming to be child services here to take away the three kids. Needless to say my parents were quick to tell them where to go. The next day my mum reported it to the Gardai and it turns we weren't the only ones to get such a visit

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Well, weren't you Mr. Popular!

Yes, but scary on a serious note. Makes me think how many kids in my estate were approached at that time by the same guy?

mattjack wrote: »

Quinnsworth only exited the Emerald Isle in 1997!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'm glad the thread title say's 'nearly kidnapped' because as far as I know there has been no recorded case of actual kidnapping, (of children that is), in Ireland in the past 50 years apart from abduction by family members.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

3 years old, I hopped on my tricycle and hit the open road. Got into town (which is about 700-800 meters from home) went down the back ally which I knew from walks and next thing i know some guy picks me and puts me and my tricycle into the back of his van. After a short drive, the door opens and there was my mother. Could easily have been a different ending!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Quinnsworth only exited the Emerald Isle in 1997!

erm , just a bit of poetic licence .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I'm glad the thread title say's 'nearly kidnapped' because as far as I know there has been no recorded case of actual kidnapping, (of children that is), in Ireland in the past 50 years apart from abduction by family members.

Philip Cairns was only 13 when he was kidnapped in 1986, that was 27 years ago and I was 10 at the time when the case was all over the news.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philip_Cairns

Philip Cairns was only 13 when he was kidnapped in 1986, that was 27 years ago and I was 10 at the time when the case was all over the news.

I don't think he was technically kidnapped tough!

A very sad case indeed. Nobody knows what happened to him. He is still a missing person. There is no proof that he was kidnapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Not as a child but when I was 19. A man pulled over on a quiet road I was walking on to ask directions. I didn't stop but he leaned out and grabbed me. I pulled free and ran to the nearest house. He didn't try follow or anything though.

I can't be sure he was trying to take me or attack me or if he was just angry I was ignoring him, but it really scared me. It's a country road but in the middle of a built-up Dublin suburb. Risky place to try snatch someone I suppose.

I remember reading a massive conspiracy about him and people in politics. Probably bull, I read it years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

wait a minute...

lukesmom wrote: »
    Yeah it was quinnsworth when I was 12

Wait, so if you were 12 in 2001 that would make you 24 now, and given that Luke is now 11 then that would mean you were only 13 when you had Luke.

That can only mean one thing.....

Luke, you're adopted.

Or????

Or????

Oh yeah...never considered that alternative. Your story checks out then in that case, nevermind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Jamez735 wrote: »
    Wait, so if you were 12 in 2001 that would make you 24 now, and given that Luke is now 11 then that would mean you were only 13 when you had Luke.

Luke, you're adopted.

Or Maurice Pratt says "Luke, I am your father" :eek::eek:

Yep, Luke's Mom was kidnapped and raped by Darth Vader outside quinnsworth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Luckily we didn't have any tapas bars in Wexford when I was a nipper.

Definitely.

Did nay of ye happen to see m aunts handbag that day at Quinnsworth? She's still looking for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

I once ran away from home when I was 2 or 3. After some frantic searching, my parents found me in the bar of a nearby hotel, propped up on a stool and happily slurping some Fanta some stranger had bought me. Kinda weird looking back on it...

Twas a lucky escape.... I nearly took him for all the Fanta he was worth.

who_me wrote: »
    I once ran away from home when I was 2 or 3. After some frantic searching, my parents found me in the bar of a nearby hotel, propped up on a stool and happily slurping some Fanta some stranger had bought me. Kinda weird looking back on it...

Twas a lucky escape.... I nearly took him for all the Fanta he was worth.
    Surely you mean 'waddled away from home'......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

My neighbour's creepy grandad offered me his watch if I'd go for a drive with him when I was a kid. Thankfully I wasn't very materialistic so said no. Found out later he'd tried it on with a load of the other young girls on the road. I thought I was special. :(

Well if took him up on his offer you could have being really special!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Good heavens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Luke, you're adopted.
    Where did she say it was 2001?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Well if took him up on his offer you could have being really special!

Yep. I'd have been the only kid on the block with a genuine Bolex. :D

Where did she say it was 2001?

nevermind, looked up quinnsworth and misread the founded year as 1996 instead of 1966. The darth vader theory is still highly probable though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Like a few stories on here, I was very lucky. At about 2 years old I was in my aunts house being babysat and somehow slipped out of the house and wandered up onto a main road. A lorry driver spotted a wee woolly headed toddler wearing red slippers walking alone on the dangerous N2 and stopped and took me up to a neighbours house. They rightly guessed where I had come from and I was safely returned.

Very lucky really.

While not being kidnapped I had a very lucky escape from a peadophile priest. I used to hang out at the kinda youth centre he ran and he used to give me money and chocolate bars and would make you sit on his knee and he would kiss your cheek. I would always get the money/bar and leg it.

Turns out some were not so lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Does Philip Cairns not count?

ted1 wrote: »
    Does Philip Cairns not count?

He wasn't kidnapped because their is no proof!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'm surprised to learn there have been no kidnappings of children in Ireland in the last 50 odd years. That's good news I suppose although from a few stories on here it wasn't for the want of trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

In the early seventies I was walking back from school one evening along Dublin Road from Athy. A car pulled up, yellow Fiat 131 or similar and a man (30ish respectable looking) offered me a lift home and opened the passenger door, I hesitated, he then said he knew my parents. The reason I didn't take the lift was that I was almost outside my house at that time and said that to him - thought it strange if he knew my parents why did he not know where our house was! Then he offered sweets but I was moving away from him at that stage. I described him and the car to my parents but they had no idea of who he was. Thank God I wasn't a bit further away from home at the time or I would have taken the lift.