Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diesel Rhino Diesel Additive

• 05-09-2013 5:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭

Anyone here ever hear of it or used it?
    Was google-Ing some stuff a while back and came across 2 UK diesel forums which were giving great reviews of a new-ish Diesel additive called Diesel Rhino and am not sure if anyone in here has used this stuff but myself and a work colleague have ordered a 500ml bottle to try it.
    I was in touch with the guy who developed/owns the product and he has told me that the long term benefits are great.
    Lower emissions by 90%. Have an NCT due soon so will get to see numbers.
    I told that Dipethane is widely used here for emissions testing and he told me that Diesel Rhio would knock Dipethane t the sidelines.
    Fuel efficiency increase if about 10%.I do about 400km per week split between 75% motorway and the balance on shorter non motorway journeys so will see if any improvements pretty quickly.
    A generally quieter diesel engine with a better cold start and quicker to get up to temperature.
    I know that my Audi doesn't get up to full temp until about 10mns into my commute which is almost straight onto a main road and onto a motorway.
    I am copying and pasting a section of the email as I don't know if I can post the link to the website. -> Mods????
    "Diesel Rhino is unique and as such works slightly differently to other additives.
    Initially you should feel a difference in performance, engine cleaner, peppier
    and emissions reduced along with less knock., easier cold starting and shorter warm ups.

The secondary benefits such as economy and the more long lived benefits from cleaning
    and lubrication become apparent further into the treatment, sometimes on bottle 2."

He has said at first you need to run a 3-2-1 system
    First time you use it 30ml of additive to 10ltr of Diesel. Second time 20,ml to 10ltrs and from there 10ml per 10lts.
    I am gonna give it a go and see.
    For the record
    I Have no interest and not related to the product.

Just wanna keep my car going.

My car us a 02 Audi A4 1.9 130 BHP with 171k miles on the clock.
    I service it regularly with the correct spec oil and mostly genuine Audi parts.

Snake Oil? Genuine stuff that works? Or somewhere in between.Guess only one way to find out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

From what I've always known about these things is that any mpg gains are cancelled out by the purchase price of the additive at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

I was half interested till you said lower emissions by 90%?? That sounds a bit optimistic to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Yeah. That would be one worry as well. But judging by the posts on the UK sites they are saving.Not just on mpg (a lot of them were saying they were using the branded premium diesel and have swapped to 'supermarket' fuel plus the additive) but he also claims savings on wear and tear.

etxp wrote: »
    I was half interested till you said lower emissions by 90%?? That sounds a bit optimistic to me.

Yeah. A serious claim but he maintains that the 3-2-1 system works. ONly saying what he told me and what I read.

bcmf wrote: »
    Yeah. That would be one worry as well. But judging by the posts on the UK sites they are saving.Not just on mpg (a lot of them were saying they were using the branded premium diesel and have swapped to 'supermarket' fuel plus the additive) but he also claims savings on wear and tear.
    What wear and tear?

Unless an engine is abused or has a manufacturing fault I've never known one to fail from wear and tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Yea I know you are only relaying what he said. But if you think about it, if your emission are 100mg( or whatever unit they use) the with this stuff it's going to be 10mg. Does that sound realistic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

All these snake skin oil salesmen make similar claims. the placebo effect only last so long then most if not all give up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Absolute horse****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Finagling the cetane number of modern diesel fuel is not as good an idea as you might be led to believe. It is my view that most of the benefit people see from this stuff comes from the first couple of treatments giving the injectors their first good cleaning.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Finagling the cetane number of modern diesel fuel is not as good an idea as you might be led to believe. It is my view that most of the benefit people see from this stuff comes from the first couple of treatments giving the injectors their first good cleaning.

Am gonna have to Google what exactly is meant by the cetane number.

Just thought I would update this.
    I ordered and am now using the the stuff.
    As per the instructions I used the 3 times the reccomended amount the first time.Put in 10 litres of diesel and 30mls of additive.
    Felt a bit rough at low idle but no other effects.
    Ran it down low and 10 ltrs of diesel and 20mls of additive.
    Now down onto the recomenended 10mls of additve to 10 ltrs of diesel.

Have I noticed any change?
    Short answer - yes.
    Am starting to see a small improvement in mpg.
    As I stated I do more or less the same miles every week for work but now throw in an extra run or 2 for kids away footie games and the diesel I put in on Fri is still there (reading 50miles to empty) approx 280 miles with 30 ltrs of diesel.
    Engine is deffo starting to sound smoother and the temp needle is now at full running temp about 2 mns then it was before on the same commute.

Regarding emissions - all I can really say is that when pulling away from other cars in the dark/dawn/dusk there is certainly a lot less smoke clouding the car in my rear view but only the emmsions test at the NCT will tell the story.

Call it horse Horse s***e or whatever but I am just updating he thread for whoever is bothered to read.

OK so had my nct today.
    Was really interested in what the emissions read compared to the last time with dipethane.
    Same NCT centre and from memory same lane (Drogheda NCT centre - 2 lane centre)

Last time with dipethane:
    Smoke 1.720/m Engine/Oil Temp 93c

Today with Diesel Rhino:
    Smoke 1.39/m Engine/Oil Temp 84c

Remember I am using the 10ml of additive to 10 ltrs of Diesel almost every time.

This is no surprise to me as twice during the week I gave it the 'Italian Tune Up' and little or no smoke came for the exchaust.
    On top of that the car is now starting to pull like a train....I mean the diffrence in power is remarkable compared to 4 weeks ago but without the exhaust belching out clouds of black smoke .
    Cant really comment on fuel consumption ,except to say mpg/l-km has improved, as I am experimenting with different brands fuel.*

The engine is getting noticably quieter and is sitting at a shade over 2100 rpm at 120kmh.

*Topaz diesel ran through the engine.
    AppleGreen not too bad.
    Local Texaco seems pretty good
    Will try Esso next, then Great Gas @Turvey and there is no Maxol near me.

I am gonna email the guys at Diesel Rhino and see if it works on Kerosene home heating oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Been having a quick look on various forums about this Rhino stuff and seems to get pretty good reviews. Been using Dipethane the last few years and while it did get rid of a lot of the smoke coming out during start up and acceleration the car still is a bit smokey.

So will have to use up the last of the Dipethane and then think i'll try out the Rhino stuff, Nct is due in 2 weeks so will compare the results next year between Dipethane on this Nct and Rhino on the next.

Thanks for the heads up bcmf ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

How much is it?

pred racer wrote: »
    How much is it?

I think it works out about €25 for 500mls (treats 500 ltrs of fuel) using parcel motel whick is a lot quicker then waiting on regular post
    I think you can buy a bigger container if you are that way inclined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

When compared with dipetane is this stuff not seriously expensive? I can get my 1L bottle for €12 of dip compared with €21 for 0.5L (not including p and p) for this rhino stuff. That works out at €42 a litre. As far as I can see that far outweighs the cost savings. Is there a big difference in the ratios to be used that would change things?

TBH Ian I dont know.
    All I can tell you is that my A4 now with 172,000 miles is running better now then any diesel engine I have driven.
    All of this is IMO..
    When I used Dipethane on the run up to my last NCT it ran nowhere near as smooth and never really got rid of the smoke.
    Considering that I have only being using Rhino for about 3 or 4 weeks and the difference in the engine IMO the price difference TO ME is worth it.

I think it works out about €25 for 500mls (treats 500 ltrs of fuel) using parcel motel whick is a lot quicker then waiting on regular post
    I think you can buy a bigger container if you are that way inclined.

Sure if your gonna keep using it surely the bigger container would be better ?

On a side note i see Rhino charge £4.95 i think for delivery, do i then have to pay parcel motel another €3.50 ?

Zorba wrote: »
    Sure if your gonna keep using it surely the bigger container would be better ?

On a side note i see Rhino charge £4.95 i think for delivery, do i then have to pay parcel motel another €3.50 ?

Yeah it would. But I didnt want to buy the 1 ltr bottle in case it turned out to be water down vodka.

Yeah you will have to add the parcel motel fee but I simply dont trust the postal service especially UK to Abroad. So I just take the hit for the convienance.

Stupid question then, what's the point of parcel motel if u still have to pay postage ? I thought the whole idea of it was u didn't pay the postage to ireland from say the uk instead u paid parcel motel ?

Zorba wrote: »
    Stupid question then, what's the point of parcel motel if u still have to pay postage ? I thought the whole idea of it was u didn't pay the postage to ireland from say the uk instead u paid parcel motel ?

Well I have found (from cycling shops) that you can be left waiting for a long time to come from the UK. At least with Parcel Motel once it hits there its an overnight job.
    Its simply a personal thing.
    Parcel Motel is great when it comes to ebay.co.uk for sure but thats another threads work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I read the above with interest. I currently use Millar's Diesel Fuel Additive but was considering switching to 2-stroke oil as an additive based on this http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/diesel-forum/48309-2-stroke-oil-diesel.html and posts on other diesel forums.

Yeah interesting read about the 2 stroke oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

mathepac wrote: »
    I read the above with interest. I currently use Millar's Diesel Fuel Additive but was considering switching to 2-stroke oil as an additive based on this http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/diesel-forum/48309-2-stroke-oil-diesel.html and posts on other diesel forums.
    After sufering several fuel injector pump failures with our vans, I started putting a 1 shot 2 stroke bottle into the tanks once or twice a week each. The results? Feck knows, i drive them, not inspect them, but no more pumps have failed and they always fly the doe on emissions, so I'm a 2 stroke fanboy. If you think about it, it makes sense, it's designed to lubricate parts as a dilutant in the fuel..and lube is always a good thing. I used dipethane before... not a big fan tbh.

Just thought I would update.
    Car running fantastically. Just tips along at 120kph and engine gone very noticebaly quiet.
    MPG is up in the mid to late 50's mpg and smoke virtually gone. Still got half a bottle left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭ash_18x

Must get some of this, I usually use dipthene, my 08 1.8 diesel focus has been really smokey since I got it 18 months ago, I ALWAYS got diesel in topaz, would always go to the same petrol station even, got diesel in Amber last week and no smoke, well only 10% in comparison to what was there before, its runnung and sounding so much better too and seems peppier. MPG seems to be in and around the same, was getting 55-58 on topaz and getting 52-53 so far on amber- though DH was driving it at the weekend and it tends to go down when he does lol! I will keep an eye on it. Have the nct coming up so I might try this instead of dipthene this time round!

ash_18x wrote: »
    Must get some of this, I usually use dipthene, my 08 1.8 diesel focus has been really smokey since I got it 18 months ago, I ALWAYS got diesel in topaz, would always go to the same petrol station even, got diesel in Amber last week and no smoke, well only 10% in comparison to what was there before, its runnung and sounding so much better too and seems peppier. MPG seems to be in and around the same, was getting 55-58 on topaz and getting 52-53 so far on amber- though DH was driving it at the weekend and it tends to go down when he does lol! I will keep an eye on it. Have the nct coming up so I might try this instead of dipthene this time round!

Been using it with every top up I get.
    Engine seems to be getting better and better.
    Engine warms up (in this cold weather) a full 5 mins then at the height of the warmest day during the summer for the same commute.
    Car is singing along at 120kph with a slightly lower rev at that speed.
    Exhaust smoke has all but dissappeared but only the nct readings will show this .
    MPG has shown a definite improvement.

Been using it with every top up I get.
    Engine seems to be getting better and better.
    Engine warms up (in this cold weather) a full 5 mins then at the height of the warmest day during the summer for the same commute.
    Car is singing along at 120kph with a slightly lower rev at that speed.
    Exhaust smoke has all but dissappeared but only the nct readings will show this .
    MPG has shown a definite improvement.

Can you write up a breakdown of the financial costs involved with using this product versus the financial benefits?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Can you write up a breakdown of the financial costs involved with using this product versus the financial benefits?
    Wha..?

Wha..?
    How much money has the product cost you and how much has it saved you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

The best thing you can add to a diesel engine is mineral two stroke oil in a 200:1 ratio, it works wonders especially on common-rail and pd engines but too much will being to clog the dpf's so not something to just lob in

How much money has the product cost you and how much has it saved you.

Well it cost about €25 for 500ml and as I wasnt keeping close tabs on what I was I was spending before on Diesel so I cant really tell.
    But a fully warmed engine a lot earlier will use less fuel.
    Info on board computer regulary tells me high 50 mpg on the mway at avg 110kph.
    I just posted what I have noticed.
    If the stuff had a blown the turbo through the exhaust and made the engine sound like a bag of loose spanners I would post that as well.

Well it cost about €25 for 500ml and as I wasnt keeping close tabs on what I was I was spending before on Diesel so I cant really tell.
    How much are you putting in per tank and how many miles have you been using it?
    Isn't that down to the cooling system?
    I've never been in one of those Audis that hasn't at that speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I just posted what I have noticed.
    If the stuff had a blown the turbo through the exhaust and made the engine sound like a bag of loose spanners I would post that as well.

How would a fuel additive make an engine warm up more quickly? The only thing I can think of is it's burning more fuel.

Look.

I am only telling yis what I have noticed.
    Personally I couldnt give a monkeys hairy hole beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

ian87 wrote: »
    When compared with dipetane is this stuff not seriously expensive? I can get my 1L bottle for €12 of dip compared with €21 for 0.5L (not including p and p) for this rhino stuff. That works out at €42 a litre. As far as I can see that far outweighs the cost savings. Is there a big difference in the ratios to be used that would change things?

I am a fan of dipetane but the 1L bottle of dipetane treats 200L of fuel. OP is adding 10ml to 10L of fuel, i.e. 200ml to 200L of fuel. This means he gets 500L from his bottle.

This means his bottle treats about 2.5 times what a bottle of dipetane treats for about 2.5 times the cost.

OP is their a petrol version of this? I had a look and couldnt find it so I assume not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Look.

Ha ha I'm cracking up here... A Monkeys hairy hole...I love it..

I dont think so. Their website only points towards Diesel and from what I garnered from his emails he is pointing it directly at the diesel market qouting cetane numbers of diesel etc.

from what I garnered from his emails he is pointing it directly at the diesel market qouting cetane numbers of diesel etc.
    Have you an interest in how well this product does?

Look.

I find it hard to understand why you would have a regularly updated thread about a product, be in contact with email with the retailer, refuse to give details of the money saving benefits you've highlighted many times and then get pissy when someone asks for them.

For the record
    I Have no interest and not related to the product.
    From my op in BOLD.....
    Have you an interest in how well this product does?

So will repeat. No vested interest in the product WHATSOEVER!!
    No more then anyone who advocates dipethane or two stroke oil or whatever.

The reason I mailed them is to find out info on it before I stuck it in my engine.
    I dunno what you would call that. Research? Re-assurance?

If you do buy if you dont buy it I really couldnt give a monkeys hairy hole.

I can read no need to quote your own post. I'm just dumb struck at how obnoxious you've become since I asked for hard facts on if the product is worth buying. I still have none.

As you keep coming back to just post about how good this product is, never give hard facts and get irate when asked to back up your claims you'll forgive me for thinking you have an interest in it.

I find it hard to understand why you would have a regularly updated thread about a product, be in contact with email with the retailer, refuse to give details of the money saving benefits you've highlighted many times and then get pissy when someone asks for them.

Well it's my thread.
    If I wanna keep it updated then I shall.

I answered the email in my previous post.

I amnt refusing to give you details I dont have

It takes more then you to get me pissy.

I amnt refusing to give you details I dont have
    So there is no verifiable benefit to using this product?

Lads, this is getting a bit messy. Bcmf before you started using the stuff, how many miles were you getting to a tank and how many are you getting now?
    I think if you answer this then ba will be happy.

Lads, this is getting a bit messy. Bcmf before you started using the stuff, how many miles were you getting to a tank and how many are you getting now?
    I think if you answer this then ba will be happy.

He has already stated he doesn't know how many he was getting before and he is using the trip computer to questimate after. The only hard piece of fact that there is in this thread is that there is no benefit to using the product and when pressed for some the OP goes into a huff.

He hardly went to all this trouble with this thread before seeing if it works BA. TBH anyone who goes to the bother to use a fuel additive (like I do with dipetane ) makes a note of improvements. If not then I think that the person might have an interest in the product.

I'm just dumb struck at how obnoxious you've become

Now you have become insulting.

He hardly went to all this trouble with this thread before seeing if it works BA.
    I agree but I see no evidence it works. I've asked for some but the OP refuses to give it and gets very defensive when asked for it.
    TBH anyone who goes to the bother to use a fuel additive (like I do with dipetane ) makes a note of improvements. If not then I think that the person might have an interest in the product.
    No readings before and nothing after. It strikes me as odd.

Now you have become insulting.

I think it's a fair point given your response. And TBH if you have to go back a few posts to quote after I've posted about how you are refusing to give an backup information I'm getting more and more suspicions about the reasons for this thread.