Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE The Scholarship

• 03-09-2013 8:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

Did anyone watch this last night? Thoughts/opinions?

I thought it was very interesting- in terms of showing the difficult backgrounds and circumstances faced by some/many Dublin students. That, for me, was the most enlightening part of the programme, but it also saddened me to watch it. (I know, most teachers see this in their day-to-day work, but thiis documentary certainly offered an insight too.)

What did everyone else think?
    ps.Apologies if there is already a thread for this!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I find the whole idea rather patronising .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 marilynhappy

I find the whole idea rather patronising .

Really? In what way exactly? You may have a point. I'm not necessarily arguing...just interested in what you mean by this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭mick kk

It was promoting the school IMO.
    The principal/teacher from the school spoke about how the 2 hour presentation was daunting/intimidating for parents and the children[who are 11/12 years old]...so why do it? I guess, it makes their school look elite.
    Why not change the format of this aspect of the enrolment if people can't connect with it by their own admission. It is the job of educators to make information accessible to their audience so they should find a way of making this less intimidating.

One child had a reference that referred to the fact that he had changed his approach/commitment to school and now was a good student.....as a result of this reference the principal [I think that's who he was] decided that the student had the potential to misbehave/disengage again. I feel sorry for whoever wrote that reference.

It was portrayed also that if the students don't get in then that is it for them! There is no hope which is simply not the case, although some of them are living in tough circumstances.

The whole thing just doesn't seem right.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

It's a kind of token form of "look at us being all inclusive we even take ,x,y,z" Is there any need to broadcast that the children are there on a scholarship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Joaquin223

mick kk wrote: »
    ...as a result of this reference the principal [I think that's who he was] decided that the student had the potential to misbehave/disengage again...

He's not the principal, but he is high up in the school (assistant deputy headmaster), but you're right it was a very odd comment to make, especially on camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

The school had zero editorial control over this programme & if you think that sort of warts and all programme is promotional, you're sorely mistaken.

People who come out and state this seem to have a real chip on their shoulders regarding few paying schools.

Yes, the facilities in Belvo are excellent, and every school should be as well kitted out, sadly, the government aren't prioritising capital investment like this, so in the absence of leadership from government, why blame parents for spending their net income, most of it after paying 56%+ in tax, on giving their kids a headstart?

The social diversity scheme in the school tries to give 10% of kids in each year group the chance of an educational experience they otherwise couldn't have access too in a way that is inclusive & sustainable.

It's a shame it's only 10% but that is all the books allow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

The school had zero editorial control over this programme & if you think that sort of warts and all programme is promotional, you're sorely mistaken.

People who come out and skate this seem to have a real chip on their shoulders regarding few paying schools.

Yes, the facilities in Belvo are excellent, and every school should be as well kitted out, sadly, the government aren't prioritusing capital investment like this, so in the absence of leadership from government, why blame parents for spending their net income, most of it after paying 56%+ in tax, on giving their kids a headstart?

The social diversity scheme in the school tries to give 10% of kids in each year group the chance of an educational experience they otherwise couldn't have access too in a way that is inclusive & sustainable.

I'm sure what the DES pays in salaries to this fee paying school more than covers the cost of thos 10%.

I'm sure it does too, it would cover it 5 times over I'd say.
    What's your point?
    Teaching is a people & pay roll heavy profession.

Every child is entitled to state funding for his/her education.

In the public sector that equates to 1/19 of a teacher.

In the private sector that us now up to 1/23 of a teacher.
    This will more than likely increase further in the next budget.

The rest of the funds needed to run the school come from fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I went to another private school in Dublin and not once did we see any students from a disadvantaged background on the belvo rugby team. Neither did any of my friends talk about students from the local areas. I was with the Belvo guys at oxygen and all I heard was well spoken accents.

There might be some students from disadvantaged backgrounds in the school. But their must be very few. I have a feeling the show will be an advert for belvo. I don't know why rte didn't do a documentary on the plenty of other geninue middle class fee paying schools. I went one where everyone in my class, had both parents working. No very many went on foreign holidays and a majority of families shopped in lidl. I don't think belvedere is a fair representation of fee paying schools in Ireland.

hfallada wrote: »
    I went to another private school in Dublin and not once did we see any students from a disadvantaged background on the belvo rugby team. Neither did any of my friends talk about students from the local areas. I was with the Belvo guys at oxygen and all I heard was well spoken accents.

There might be some students from disadvantaged backgrounds in the school. But their must be very few. I have a feeling the show will be an advert for belvo. I don't know why rte didn't do a documentary on the plenty of other geninue middle class fee paying schools. I went one where everyone in my class, had both parents working. No very many went on foreign holidays and a majority of families shopped in lidl. I don't think belvedere is a fair representation of fee paying schools in Ireland.

Just FYI, this film was made by Loose Horse Productions, an independent film company, who RTE would have paid to air the show.

RTE had no input into it.

I find the rest of your comment baffling.

Of the 1005 boys enrolled in Belvo, at least 90 are on the scholarship scheme & it averages at 2-3 boys per class of 28.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

The College have a policy of not publicising the boys who are on scholarship. I would agree that it's not representative as, afaik, the majority do not offer scholarships on the scale of Belvedere.

I recall RTE had a similar profile of Clongowes Wood in the early Noughties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

People who come out and skate this seem to have a real chip on their shoulders regarding few paying schools.

This is a cheap, cop out phrase wheeled out by just about every supporter of fee-paying schools. There are many valid criticisms and concerns regarding how these schools are run and funded. You are, of course entitled to disagree with these opinions, but this tired and predictable soundbite does your position no favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

I'm sure what the DES pays in salaries to this fee paying school more than covers the cost of thos 10%.

I think you'll find that what the DES pays in Salaries goes to the teachers and not to the school!

I think the program is just trying to copy one I saw before but in the UK..same principle...'poor' kid waits by phone/letterbox to see if they have a future whilst being filmed for our entertainment. In a way it makes you buy into the 'opportunities' that these schools offer..but at the end of it all I'm wondering have we missed the real question.

What is wrong with all the schools that these 'disadvantaged' kids and their peers go to..?

(although from what I gather, in the case of belvo where these 'local' 'disadvantaged' kids are from, the schools have been closed and students go to satellite schools outside the area).Im not saying that these kids shouldn't be let in but in a way it kind of smells of class discrimination and tokenism. The 'better off' getting to feel good about their charitable causes. It reminds me of something said in that Lynch and Lodge book about Equality and Power in schools.. it was something along the lines of Religious orders 'needing' to educate the poor to justify their 'charitable' existence but inadvertently serving to bolster their sense of superiority..(im open to correction here)

I have talked to someone who went to belvo and other teachers who have come across the students (through schools competitions etc) about these '10% students' and generally they have nothing but high praise for the positive outcomes of this policy...(As an aside..its interesting that it's always known or made known that 'oh yeah he's one of our charity kids btw')..

Im just wondering does the tv programme have any message really or is it just providing us with rubber-necking entertainment so we can feel good about ourselves when the kid gets in or not.. car crash reality tv etc...I dont think the tv program has anything to offer the viewer in the way of information or answers, but inadvertently , by omission, it does raise a lot of questions about what is going on outside the walls of this school.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It is not just financial difficulties that discourage/prevent kids from inner city Dublin and other 'disadvantaged areas' accessing places like Belvedere, or indeed taking as full a part in education as children from other areas do.

Even when the monetary issues are addressed the other difficulties can show themselves and some scholarship children end up back in the local school.

I've taught a number of 'the returnees' over my career. I couldn't really see any great difference academically between them and the kids who chose our school in the first place. Some did very well, some didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

And it will be less than 10% if the powers that be, championed by the chip on the shoulder merchants, get the private school subs cut. Fair play to Belvo for running this scheme.
    Joaquin223 wrote: »
    He's not the principal, but he is high up in the school (assistant deputy headmaster), but you're right it was a very odd comment to make, especially on camera.

He was a strange fellow. He also passed a remark about Eastern European children going home straight after school to mix with their own community, as opposed to partaking in school activities, which I thought was strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

COYW wrote: »
    And it will be less than 10% if the powers that be, championed by the chip on the shoulder merchants, get the private school subs cut. Fair play to Belvo for running this scheme.

Chip on the shoulder merchants ???!!!Hahaaaaa ,you mean the 95% of us who cant afford to send our kids to 'Belvo'!!!And lets make it crystal clear that is because in the majority of cases your parents and their parents were BORN rich -I was born into typical 'middle' middle class environment ,I worked hard in school and went to college ,got my degree.My children will never go to Belvo ....The social and economic status of the majority of teachers is steadily falling for the last two decades and is nosediving in last few years .If there is a Yes vote in HR ballot it is gone forever...

And I come from the same background.
    Mother a nurse, Dad a Garda, 4 kids in the family.

The only interaction I had with private school growing up was reading Ross O Carroll Kelly.

My opinion has changed as I have now worked in a private school in Portugal, as well as two in Ireland, including Belvo.

you wouldnt believe how many parents in the school are average middle class people who are making great sacrifices to send their kids to the school and they'll tell you it's worth it.

It might sound strange, but there really is just something about the place.

It doesn't sound strange at all. If that's your experience then that's fair enough (mine has been very different).

What's strange is the immediate dismissal of any and all concerns and criticisms with meaningless catchphrases. Lots of those opposed to fee paying schools have plenty of personal experience with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

It saddened me when 10 or 11 year old boys were putting private school up on a pedestal as something they needed. When I see the effort the school puts in to attract the most deserving candidates it contrasts so sharply to my own experience of going to a similar school perhaps without deserving it as much.

Fair play to the parents, it must be incredibly difficult to do it. Actually the whole thing had quite an effect on me.

2011abc wrote: »
    Chip on the shoulder merchants ???!!!Hahaaaaa ,you mean the 95% of us who cant afford to send our kids to 'Belvo'!!!And lets make it crystal clear that is because in the majority of cases your parents and their parents were BORN rich -I was born into typical 'middle' middle class environment ,I worked hard in school and went to college ,got my degree.My children will never go to Belvo ....The social and economic status of the majority of teachers is steadily falling for the last two decades and is nosediving in last few years .If there is a Yes vote in HR ballot it is gone forever...

Average yearly fees for day secondary school is 5k, whats the yearly fees for creches in Ireland? 12k! many middle class families do find a way to send their kids to fee paying schools the same way others sacrifice for creche fees and they do make sacrifices to do so, it aint all the rich Ivor Lott types that you seem to imagine.
    Ive seen long term unemployed fathers spend their days hopping between the bookies and the pub (with plenty of fag breaks in between)...do the maths..the money can be found if you are willing to sacrifice..

I'm not suggesting that you 'should' be sending your kids to a fee charging school as there are good non fee charging schools about...but to stereotype those parents as rich doesn't really bear out the reality that I witness...

Believe me, there is an agenda on Ruairi Quinns part to paint himself as a socialist fighting the good fight against those nasty fee charging schools...but we all know there is a big difference between what he says in public and does elsewhere...why?..votes of course..
    He says that schools policy can't discriminate against students with SEN and they must do their part...but yet he wont provide the bloody resources for the kids when they do get in.
    He then reveals to us lately that we dont have a world class education system (obviously blaming teachers!) And we should be more like Narnia and other utopias...wonder how were supposed to achieve that Ruairi when we are being sent down the performance measurement path of the UK...

Bit of a digression there but my overall point is that the agenda being put out by Ruairi Quinn and other lazy journalists isnt about the underfunded education system...the agenda is against the whole teaching profession... In public AND fee charging schools.

Universities charge fees too, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

I went to another private school in Dublin and not once did we see any students from a disadvantaged background on the belvo rugby team.

There was an article in the Irish Times at the weekend about this documentary. Part of the article profiled Ger Brennan, current Dublin footballer, a previous beneficiary under this scheme.

Ger has a Leinster School's Cup medal, same team as Cian Healy.

I am unclear on how an opposing player would know the basis on which of the Belvedere team was on scholarship and who was not :confused: ? A 'Dublin' accent ? Cian Healy has one of those, but was not, AFAIK, in Belvedere as part of this scheme.

There are between 150 and 200 pupils in each year in Belvedere. Around 10% of them benefit from this scheme. There are 15 on a rugby team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭donegal11

Armelodie wrote: »
    Average yearly fees for day secondary school is 5k, whats the yearly fees for creches in Ireland? 12k! many middle class families do find a way to send their kids to fee paying schools the same way others sacrifice for creche fees and they do make sacrifices to do so, it aint all the rich Ivor Lott types that you seem to imagine.
    Ive seen long term unemployed fathers spend their days hopping between the bookies and the pub (with plenty of fag breaks in between)...do the maths..the money can be found if you are willing to sacrifice..

I'm not suggesting that you 'should' be sending your kids to a fee charging school as there are good non fee charging schools about...but to stereotype those parents as rich doesn't really bear out the reality that I witness...

So as long as the so called middle class can afford it makes it alright. The type of education you get shouldn't be dictated by the amount of money your parents have and when it does the state shouldn't be exaggerating the effect by subsidizing them. Implying that the unemployed could somehow send there children there if they made sacrifices is quite bizarre and would show me how out of touch you really are.

donegal11 wrote: »
    The type of education you get shouldn't be dictated by the amount of money your parents have and when it does the state shouldn't be exaggerating the effect by subsidizing them.

In an ideal world the education offered by fee paying schools would be offered by all schools. Ireland is a small country so can't afford to provide top-class education to all. Or a top-level class health service.

Not sure what you mean about 'subsidizing'. To give them nothing would be unequal. What they give them is less than they give in the non fee paying sector. There is no consensus on how big or small that difference is but there is consensus that it is less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

TarfHead wrote: »
    In an ideal world the education offered by fee paying schools would be offered by all schools. Ireland is a small country so can't afford to provide top-class education to all.

How did you deduce that private schools provide top class education? How did you measure this?

Not sure what you mean about 'subsidizing'. To give them nothing would be unequal..

That is one opinion. Another is that so long as each child is offered a subsidised place in some school then it is not unequal to refuse to fund teaching in fee-paying schools if parents refuse that place offered.

RainyDay wrote: »
    How did you deduce that private schools provide top class education? How did you measure this?

It was not my intention to suggest that, or for that to be inferred from what I posted.

The post I responded to suggested that the education gets better the more you're prepared to pay. The education provided by Belvedere is what all schools should provide, but the Irish State cannot afford that level of educational provision.

That is one opinion. Another is that so long as each child is offered a subsidised place in some school then it is not unequal to refuse to fund teaching in fee-paying schools if parents refuse that place offered.

That would be a sinister precedent.

The post I responded to suggested that the education gets better the more you're prepared to pay. The education provided by Belvedere is what all schools should provide, but the Irish State cannot afford that level of educational provision.

I still don't get it. What specifically is it about Belvedere/private schools that you believe is better quality education than public schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Berticus

All schools should aspire to reach the standards set by most private fee paying schools. From what i saw Belvedere has a huge amount to offer students that attend it's school, far more than rugby and obtaining high leaving cert points. I think this was the priest's whole point about Eastern Europeans whom had previously attended the school - they simply don't take advantage of everything the school offers and when there are 60 kids who applied and only 8 non-brother places on offer, only kids that are likely to take full advantage of everything the school can provide should be accepted.

It really seems to be an irish thing that we begrudge other people. This scheme should be commended rather than criticised. There is no doubt about it that this scheme is a positive thing and for people to find fault in it is simply incorrect. I see belvedere does a huge amount if work for charities throughout the year, I'm pretty sure every Christmas they make the news for the sleep out thing they do around the GPO.

No, not everybody can afford to send their sons to fee paying schools but the reality is that the biggest influence on students in their education is the home environment, ie parents. So really if a kid goes to a public school and has very supportive parents, there's no reason that kid could not fulfil their potential. Sending a kid to the likes of belvedere is really paying for the "other stuff".

A number of private schools cherry pick .The new draft guidelines on enrolment aim to make the pitch more level, the guidelines certainly take a lot of tweaking but might just help.

A number of fee paying schools have now entered the "public" system, why haven't others?

Berticus wrote: »
    All schools should aspire to reach the standards set by most private fee paying schools.
    Again, it would be helpful if people could be specific about they believe are the higher standards set by private schools.

It really seems to be an irish thing that we begrudge other people. This scheme should be commended rather than criticised. There is no doubt about it that this scheme is a positive thing and for people to find fault in it is simply incorrect. I see belvedere does a huge amount if work for charities throughout the year, I'm pretty sure every Christmas they make the news for the sleep out thing they do around the GPO.
    Some people are able to see through the spin of 'Ah they do stuff for charidee, aren't they great'. Remember Jimmy Saville, and all his great work for charidee? Though I'm not suggesting any kind of sexual abuse connection here.

What I am suggesting is that you need to look beyond the spin of 'charidee work' and a few crumbs being dropped from the table to keep the rabble quiet. There is no point in doing great 'charidee work' if the system that you are part of is what keeps people homeless in the first place. We need rights, not charidee.

I understand that the private schools that have entered the public system were due to reduced funding for those schools by the government and also a decrease in demand for fee paying schools due to the recession. I'd have no problem in a school cherrypicking if they were oversubscribed. It's either that or else pulling names out of a hat so they may as well ensure student suitability.

I think the whole thing is about choice. Sending a child to public or private. And where there is no choice (parents can't afford a fee paying school) - at least belvedere is doing something about that. And nearly 10% to me doesn't seem to be just a "token gesture".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭ucd.1985

Again, it would be helpful if people could be specific about they believe are the higher standards set by private schools.

Put the children in the best possible position to get the best third level education possible.

I suppose the university feeder tables would be one indicator of this.

If you want proof of private schools being better than public then I suggest you look at the school league tables published each year by the indo and times. The chances of a student that attended a private school going on to university/3rd level is higher than those that attended public school.

I still don't get it. What specifically is it about Belvedere/private schools that you believe is better quality education than public schools?

Depends what one means by a better education. Belvedere does not guarantee superior academic results. They do have a published ethos, based on the Jesuit education. They emphasize the education of the whole person. Boys are encouraged to and supported with extra curricular activities that focus on helping others.

All of this is up front and parents can choose to make the effort to pay fees for what is on offer. Whether one thinks this is better quality, or not, is a subjective matter.

A number of private schools cherry pick .

'cherry pick' is not the best term to use here. Belvedere has a published admissions policy. Brothers of current or past pupils are given preference over those who are not. Sons of past pupils are given preference over those who are not.

Once all of those who meet the criteria have been offered places, the remaining places are allocated by lottery.

The son of friend of mine was not offered a place in the nearest secondary school because he lived outside the 'cachement' area. And did not go to one of the local feeder (national) schools (went to an ET school). The school does not charge fees. A published admissions policy is not the preserve of fee paying schools.

Depends what one means by a better education. Belvedere does not guarantee superior academic results. They do have a published ethos, based on the Jesuit education. They emphasize the education of the whole person. Boys are encouraged to and supported with extra curricular activities that focus on helping others.

All of this is up front and parents can choose to make the effort to pay fees for what is on offer. Whether one thinks this is better quality, or not, is a subjective matter.

Totally agree, belvedere does seem to be a hit different than your typical fee paying school. They seem to give back a fair bit which is good to see. They seem to offer a lot more on the personal development side of the things, ie a holistic education.

Looking forward to the 2nd episode on Monday night!

A number of private schools cherry pick .The new draft guidelines on enrolment aim to make the pitch more level, the guidelines certainly take a lot of tweaking but might just help.

A number of fee paying schools have now entered the "public" system, why haven't others?

Some schools like Kilkenny College, have now entered the public system because of reduced numbers, lack of ability to stay afloat with fees plus the reduced subsidy.

Other schools, like Belvo, Clongowes, Gonzaga, Blackrock, are oversubscribed & could survive if the subsidy was removed (probably Quinn's plan going forward) by increasing the fees by 50-60%.

The problem with this is that private schools would become even more exclusive & the divide would become even wider & this would feed in even further to the ever growing plutocracy in the developed world.

If you want proof of private schools being better than public then I suggest you look at the school league tables published each year by the indo and times. The chances of a student that attended a private school going on to university/3rd level is higher than those that attended public school.
    ucd.1985 wrote: »
    I suppose the university feeder tables would be one indicator of this.
    The league tables tell you next to nothing about the school's added value. For a start, they tell you nothing about the levels of the students who entered the school in first year. If you don't measure the inputs, you can't measure the outputs.

But more importantly, the feeder tables don't measure the academic ability of the 6th years. They measure the ability of the parents of the 6th years to pay for 3rd level. They measure the ability of the parents of the 6th years to pay for grinds to get better results. They measure the ability of the parents of the 6th years to pay for good IT facilities, good books, good educational trips to support education. In short, they measure the ability of the parents to pay.
    Doesn't pretty much every secondary school focus on 'the whole person' now? And as I pointed out earlier, this emphasis on helping others through charidee while perpetuating the system that creates the need for charidee is a tad hypocritical.
    Some schools like Kilkenny College, have now entered the public system because of reduced numbers, lack of ability to stay afloat with fees plus the reduced subsidy.

Other schools, like Belvo, Clongowes, Gonzaga, Blackrock, are oversubscribed & could survive if the subsidy was removed (probably Quinn's plan going forward) by increasing the fees by 50-60%.

The problem with this is that private schools would become even more exclusive & the divide would become even wider & this would feed in even further to the ever growing plutocracy in the developed world.
    The divide would indeed be wider, but with a much smaller number of pupils, so whether that creates more or less equality is debatable. It would certainly bring us closer to models like the UK, US and Germany where private schools are for the wealthy elite. It would also increase demands and expectations on the public schools, which will in turn lead to improved educational standards.

Could survive ? That's speculation based on a subjective opinion. IMHO an increase of that amount would significantly affect intake. For a school like Belvedere, the scheme, being portrayed in this documentary, would be a casualty.

Suppose such an increase were on the cards. Belvedere could continue as-is but with a reduced intake. The boys, who would otherwise attend Belvedere, would attend other schools. The money that Belvedere receives for that group of boys would be diverted to other schools, but not the same amount. A higher amount. So the State pays more.

Or Belvedere could abandon fees, reduce the scope of activities they provide and let the State pay for the school, it's maintenance, capital grants, etc. So the State pays more.

The costs involved in changing the State subventions for fee paying schools are known. It would involve a greater spend on education, by the State, for no measurable improvement in standards for all.

So, why do it ?

Doesn't pretty much every secondary school focus on 'the whole person' now? And as I pointed out earlier, this emphasis on helping others through charidee while perpetuating the system that creates the need for charidee is a tad hypocritical.

Does each school have a published ethos, and have the capacity to back it up with action ? I guess many do have the intent, but lack the resources to do see it through. Fee paying schools have the capacity to offer more.

And pinning social inequities on the door of fee paying schools is, IMHO, quite a stretch.

Ahh but is college the be all and end all of a career? Whats wrong with picking up a trade or joining the world of work and grafting after the leaving cert... The majority of my friends went to college BUT the ones who are most driven and are doing fairly welll for themselves are the ones who actually dropped out of college !
    Youll have to admit that fee charging schools are highly academic so it's a bit of a no brainer that they transfer to college,,,

maybe it could be argued that such a high transfer rate to 3rd level in fee charging schools is indicative of a negligence to cater for students who might have a more fulfilling life/career in a trade!
    3rd level is good for some but not all...its like this goddam preaching about everyone doing honours maths...to the detriment if other subjects...how about bonus points for Art?
    Are league tables really a true measure of success?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

mick kk wrote: »

One child had a reference that referred to the fact that he had changed his approach/commitment to school and now was a good student.....as a result of this reference the principal [I think that's who he was] decided that the student had the potential to misbehave/disengage again. I feel sorry for whoever wrote that reference.

COYW wrote: »
    He was a strange fellow. He also passed a remark about Eastern European children going home straight after school to mix with their own community, as opposed to partaking in school activities, which I thought was strange.

To be fair this was selection discussion and this man was playing devils advocate because its a very competitive selection process and both were valid points within those contexts

Armelodie wrote: »
    Are league tables really a true measure of success?

No, they're not, but they're all we have.

If all the private schools went public the Government would not be able to afford to keep them open.

I disagree that the majority of the schools would continue as private schools if the subsidiary was removed.

If the cost of Belvedere with the subsidy is €5,000 I can only imagine what it would cost without it.

I understand that the cost of the scholarships comes out of a fund which is in no way funded by the fees of other students or what the school receives from the Government.

If all the private schools went public the Government would not be able to afford to keep them open.

I disagree that the majority of the schools would continue as private schools if the subsidiary was removed.

If the cost of Belvedere with the subsidy is €5,000 I can only imagine what it would cost without it.

It would be about €8,500

The State pays all schools an amount in respect of children registered. For secondary schools it already pays less, per pupil, to fee paying schools than it does to other schools. Removing this could, ultimately, cost the State more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭donegal11

It's already exclusive. Your Argument screams keep fees low enough(subsidize me) so that my child can attend but as soon as it get's out of your price range it becomes Elite :pac:

The State pays all schools an amount in respect of children registered. For secondary schools it already pays less, per pupil, to fee paying schools than it does to other schools. Removing this could, ultimately, cost the State more.

Or in otherwords the money that was paid to a private institution would be given to a public school giving it the ability to provide more subjects/availabilty to other students with the extra resources.

If belvo went public imagine the diverse range of students that would be accomodated within the catchment area. I think in the grand scheme of things it would be a price worth paying.

No, they're not, but they're all we have.

Firstly, what's this we business?

Secondly, "they' re all we have" ....to what end?