Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 d4d Avensis Mpg?

• 02-09-2013 9:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭

Purchased an 11 reg 2 litre diesel Avensis recently with around 65k km on the clock. Averaging 43.5mpg when measuring from brim to brim. Would have expected a bit more. The above would be a mix of driving national primary routes and motorways (typically 30min to 3hr journeys). I would have averaged 40mpg with a 1.6 Primera petrol I had previously with what I would consider similar style of driving.

I can see on the onboard computer that one can achieve up around the 50mpg if you stay around 50-55mpg on cruise control but it not "real world" conditions to be honest.

Anyone have same engine and what MPG are ye getting?

It's a big enough car to be honest.

Not being smart but are you driving it like a diesel is supposed to be driven ? i.e changing up quickly because most of the torque is low down unlike a petrol this is something most petrol drivers have to adjust to.

My old 2003 A4 B6 TDI automatic averaged 48 mpg over the 100,000 miles I had it.

Are you filling from the same pump and do you fill exactly to the brim or to the click and round off ?

What litres are you using for how many kms ?

Are you resetting the mpg computer after each fill or trip ?

To be honest 50 mpg at 50-55 mph wouldn't be unrealistic conditions, on most of irelands roads.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

That sounds poor enough. Does the car need a thorough service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

It's a big enough car to be honest.

Not being smart but are you driving it like a diesel is supposed to be driven ? i.e changing up quickly because most of the torque is low down unlike a petrol this is something most petrol drivers have to adjust to.

My old 2003 A4 B6 TDI automatic averaged 48 mpg over the 100,000 miles I had it.

Are you filling from the same pump and do you fill exactly to the brim or to the click and round off ?

What litres are you using for how many kms ?

Are you resetting the mpg computer after each fill or trip ?

To be honest 50 mpg at 50-55 mph wouldn't be unrealistic conditions, on most of irelands roads.

Thanks for your feedback.

Changing up as per visual indicator on dash - looks to be once revs hot around 2200 rpm or so.

Has been filled at a mix of pumps to be honest (but they were same oil company) and stopped on the click. Not sure if different pumps could make a big difference here? I will do two fills at same pump in next week for a more accurate measurement.

Not using computer for the mpg calculations - reset of odometer only. Converts litres on pump to gallons and kms on odometer to miles.

The 50-55mph computer run was on cruise at a constant speed and same gear which is why I stated it wasn't real world conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

My old d4d would do about 46 round town and depending on speed 48-52 on a run

That sounds poor enough. Does the car need a thorough service?

That I am wondering also. Car had full Toyota service history and when it was purchased at a different brand dealer franchise had a "service" which I am guessing may have been no more than an oil/filter change. I think it may be due a full/main Toyota service at this point. Should I wait full service interval before doing this? I intend getting the full Toyota service done when it is in again. It is under Toyota warranty until next April so I don't want taking any chances during that time. (I know I don't have to bring it to Toyota to keep warranty once I have receipts etc).

leex wrote: »

Has been filled at a mix of pumps to be honest (but they were same oil company) and stopped on the click. Not sure if different pumps could make a big difference here? I will do two fills at same pump in next week for a more accurate measurement.

The pumps can be tricky while calculating mpg. I find that different pumps get to the click at different stages, for instance if you pump hard it will fill quicker and click sooner than if you pump slower you can get more in that way.

Some pumps fill much faster than others.

Have you ever noticed that when it clicks and you pump much slower you can get maybe an extra 5-10 litres in ? A pump that pumps slower will allow you put in more litres.
    The 50-55mph computer run was on cruise at a constant speed and same gear which is why I stated it wasn't real world conditions.

"you stated it Wasn't real world" sorry misunderstood you there.

My experience is that you should not reset your trip mpg computer at the beginning of each trip only after a full tank and then after a fill take note of the computer mpg and reset it then.

I could claim over 80 mpg in the Prius on some trips or even over 100 mpg, but it's the tank mpg that gives the most accurate indication of what you averaged for that full tank which for me is between 60-63 mpg.

Have you checked your tyre pressure ? probably should be between 33-35 psi ?

The pumps can be tricky while calculating mpg. I find that different pumps get to the click at different stages, for instance if you pump hard it will fill quicker and click sooner than if you pump slower you can get more in that way.

Some pumps fill much faster than others.

Have you ever noticed that when it clicks and you pump much slower you can get maybe an extra 5-10 litres in ? A pump that pumps slower will allow you put in more litres.

"you stated it Wasn't real world" sorry misunderstood you there.

My experience is that you should not reset your trip mpg computer at the beginning of each trip only after a full tank and then after a fill take note of the computer mpg and reset it then.

I could claim over 80 mpg in the Prius on some trips or even over 100 mpg, but it's the tank mpg that gives the most accurate indication of what you averaged for that full tank which for me is between 60-63 mpg.

Have you checked your tyre pressure ? probably should be between 33-35 psi ?

Going to fill it at a local pump this afternoon and will use same one later in week when I should have a lot of it used.

Eventhough fuel gauge shows low and range tells me there is maybe 50km left in tank I can never fit any more than 47-50litres in the tank (supposed to be 60litre tank) before click so maybe there is room for calculation issues there with different pumps, not filling properly etc.

I would just fast fill it for 40 litres and slowly fill it until the first click.

Run it down to quarter tank and fast fill it 40 litres and slowly until click with the same pump. Then do your calculations. Don't bother bringing it to the brim. I should try this next time too as I haven't done the brim to brim in ages, but I get the same result anyway. I find the Prius calculator pretty accurate.

There isn't any point running it down to where you filled it as at the quarter mark or there abouts you'll get the same result because you'll be calculating the litres used by the miles driven which will give you the same average mpg regardless of where the tank level was before you filled it.

Reset the mpg counter after you fill up and compare your results after calculating it yourself.

I would just fast fill it for 40 litres and slowly fill it until the first click.

Run it down to quarter tank and fast fill it 40 litres and slowly until click with the same pump. Then do your calculations. Don't bother bringing it to the brim. I should try this next time too as I haven't done the brim to brim in ages, but I get the same result anyway. I find the Prius calculator pretty accurate.

There isn't any point running it down to where you filled it as at the quarter mark or there abouts you'll get the same result because you'll be calculating the litres used by the miles driven which will give you the same average mpg regardless of where the tank level was before you filled it.

Reset the mpg counter after you fill up and compare your results after calculating it yourself.

Just filled it there now. 39.5 litres to get to first click. Have 400-500km trip in next 3 days and will do same in a few days at same pump.

Re: driving style. Thinking about your statement earlier, maybe I am driving it too much like a petrol and the revs are getting too high before gear change. It is something I will monitor also this week.

This "True MPG" tool on the Whatcar site seems to exactly matching the 43.5mpg I calculated when I entered driving style etc - http://whatcar.com/truempg/my-true-mpg

How many kms did you do when you filled up ?

I wouldn't have much faith in the what car mpg calculator to be honest, too many variables to make those kind of assumptions.

I did it for the new Clio Diesel and it came back with 59 mpg, I bet I could do a whole lot better.

I can get 64 mpg in a MK II prius using 10 year old technology and the Prius has more power, bigger car. I'm betting I could easily beat 65 mpg in the New Clio Diesel, I would love to try it out for a week. Herself gets 53 mpg not trying to drive economically. So I'm assuming 53 mpg is the least you get in the Prius MK II.

The what car calculator only has the MK II prius so I couldn't do it for mine.

How many kms did you do when you filled up ?

624km for 39.31litres = 44.76 mpg approx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Depending on how fast the pump is the click can be hugely different in different pumps. I always fill till its at the neck as there's no ambiguity as to how full it might be then and my figures are guaranteed to be as accurate as possible.

I used to do that too but to be honest you're looking for averages not exact, so brim to brim isn't necessary IMO.

But 44 seems low enough but the Avensis is a big enough car.

Leex, do you know what hp it is ?

It'd say if you adjust your driving style and change up as early as you can would do a lot better.

Less aggressive acceleration, judging the road ahead and coasting more to a stop without being a pain to other drivers. Trick is to use the brakes a lot less.

Keep a good distance from the other car, fast lane on a busy motorway is usually a waste of fuel and effort because everyone is always accelerating and breaking.

Try keep a steady hold on the accelerator because cruise actually wastes fuel, in other words try keep the revs constant and as low as possible.

Cruise is always adjusting the throttle to maintain speed this is a waste of fuel.

Another way of putting it is if your mpg calculator reads actual consumption you'll see its always changing, try keep it around the same to maintain a decent crushing speed.

I can't wait to have an ev because I won't have to watch the fuel consumption nearly as much, sure my range will be much lower but I won't care about the cost to recharge it, I can fast charge somewhere and it's free for now.

I used to do that too but to be honest you're looking for averages not exact, so brim to brim isn't necessary IMO.

But 44 seems low enough but the Avensis is a big enough car.

Leex, do you know what hp it is ?

It'd say if you adjust your driving style and change up as early as you can would do a lot better.

Less aggressive acceleration, judging the road ahead and coasting more to a stop without being a pain to other drivers. Trick is to use the brakes a lot less.

Keep a good distance from the other car, fast lane on a busy motorway is usually a waste of fuel and effort because everyone is always accelerating and breaking.

Try keep a steady hold on the accelerator because cruise actually wastes fuel, in other words try keep the revs constant and as low as possible.

Cruise is always adjusting the throttle to maintain speed this is a waste of fuel.

Another way of putting it is if your mpg calculator reads actual consumption you'll see its always changing, try keep it around the same to maintain a decent crushing speed.

I can't wait to have an ev because I won't have to watch the fuel consumption nearly as much, sure my range will be much lower but I won't care about the cost to recharge it, I can fast charge somewhere and it's free for now.

125bhp.

There is an instant/actual fuel usage reading also which I will keep a closer eye on for a while. If any change is to be made to my driving I think it may be to change up sooner.

125 hp shouldn't be too bad, maybe consider a remap ?

The extra torque could make it more economical in a sense that you can change up faster. Rather than for faster acceleration. But a proper remap not those proxy tuning boxes.

Also check your tyre pressure, the tyres themselves also make a difference.

Best go for B fuel rated tyres. I have Dunlop sport blu response and find them great, and good on fuel. Next time you're due tyres check the labels you'd be surprised the amount of f rated tyres out there. The dunlops are not that expensive either compared to other premium brands. I never put cheap tyres on any car. I get them online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭yeller

would there be much difference in the mpg between the avensis and passat 2ltr, they are probably about the same weight me thinks

What car readers report low to mid 50's in the 2.0L 140 hp Passat.

In the 1.6 people get low to mid 40's and about the same for the 120 tsi which isn't bad at all for a petrol.

I read where 1 person got 65 mpg in the 1.6 TDI, maybe maybe not. Depends on how people calculate the mpg, is that per trip or tank ?

A lot could be how people drive, there are so many variables that no one can say what any one person can or will get.

230km trip this morning on a mix of motorway and National routes reported 45.13mpg as per the onboard computer (16km/L) and I was driving more conservatively than usual and changing up sooner so not a big difference on the figures previously recorded above.

What was your max, average speed ?

Maybe get a diagnostics done ? Failing that try a remap , that will cost though.

What year is it again and could you flog it and get something, like a Prius ? you could convert to lpg for very cheap motoring.

53 mpg worst case 60-64 mpg for me, I don't expect everyone to get that and not in the beginning. But on LPG @ 80C Litre would mean my old 60 euro commute would have turned into a 35 ish euro commute.

Failing that there is nothing cheaper than electric.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

...What year is it again and could you flog it and get something, like a Prius ? you could convert to lpg for very cheap motoring.

53 mpg worst case 60-64 mpg for me, I don't expect everyone to get that and not in the beginning. But on LPG @ 80C Litre would mean my old 60 euro commute would have turned into a 35 ish euro commute.

You should work for the ESB dude.

Yes, I'd love working in something like that, charger location planning, education etc. Be brilliant.

And hey, at the end of the day motorists can save a lot of money, and I'd rather the ESB get some money out of it keeping jobs in Ireland. !

Yes, I'd love working in something like that, charger location planning, education etc. Be brilliant.

And hey, at the end of the day motorists can save a lot of money, and I'd rather the ESB get some money out of it keeping jobs in Ireland. !

Sort out the range issue and you might be onto something.

c.60 miles is a jokeshop regardless of price.

Sort out the range issue and you might be onto something.

c.60 miles is a jokeshop regardless of price.

60 isn't the best if you can charge at work but if I was commuting to Dublin again and if I can charge at destination or fast charge it's not going to be a problem, 120 miles a day in winter to 180 in summer isn't bad. Fast charge more and 250 miles and more is still possible.

The Chevy spark having 80 odd winter miles as it's battery is heated.

Those who can afford Merc, BMW etc always have the option to buy the Tesla, certainly in the US Tesla is out selling the Premium German brands.

60 isn't the best if you can charge at work but if I was commuting to Dublin again and if I can charge at destination or fast charge it's not going to be a problem, 120 miles a day in winter to 180 in summer isn't bad. Fast charge more and 250 miles and more is still possible.

The Chevy spark having 80 odd winter miles as it's battery is heated.

Those who can afford Merc, BMW etc always have the option to buy the Tesla, certainly in the US Tesla is out selling the Premium German brands.

I fill up and get 600 miles range. Don't give it a seconds thought for 10 days.

There is simply no comparision.

I fill up and get 600 miles range. Don't give it a seconds thought for 10 days.

There is simply no comparision.

I can't say plugging in a cable to a charger would be too difficult a task for me to be honest.

I can plug in at night or maybe Luas, work ? or fast charge 5-10 mins to get me the rest of the way.

If shelling out over 3 grand in fuel and that's in a 60 mpg car, to get to work I'll spend the few mins on a charger if needs be.

What was your max, average speed ?

Maybe get a diagnostics done ? Failing that try a remap , that will cost though.

What year is it again and could you flog it and get something, like a Prius ? you could convert to lpg for very cheap motoring.

Max was always within speed limits. Average not sure - didn't record it.

If my mpg is what the realistic figure really is for the car then I am happy enough with it for now. If it is say 10mpg out then I want to find out why. I think a full service may be the best place to start. I'd be open to a REMAP too but am guessing this will void what is left of my Toyota Warranty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

dunno if this helps but my folks have an 11 avensis and the computer reads 7 litres per 100km

Indeed if they detect it the warranty would be void.

I don't think they would though, if there is a new firmware version for the ECU they will simply flash it and that would erase any trace of the remap.

To be honest I wouldn't be happy with that mpg from a diesel with 120 hp.

The official Toyota Fuel consumption is 61.4 combined to 70 odd mpg extra urban .

The official for the prius MK II is about 62 mpg, I get between 60-64 average. She gets 53.

I bet I could get a lot more than you in the avensis. I'd love to try now. haha maybe you could swap for a day ?

digzy wrote: »
    dunno if this helps but my folks have an 11 avensis and the computer reads 7 litres per 100km

People report 40-45 mpg in the Passat TSI 120 hp petrol,

I'd go mad if only getting 40 in a diesel, but lots of stop start traffic could see that and traffic, short runs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

digzy wrote: »

I used to average 5.9 (47mpg) in my 2010 Avensis. I got it as low as 4.3 (65MPG) on a run to Sligo and back at 100km/h. I now have a 2011 Verso with the same engine and I struggle to get 7.0l/100km.

I found the display to be spot on in the Avensis - I checked it a few times against a pump and it was always within .1 l/100km

One thing OP - are you doing the conversion manually or with an online calculator? Because 5.4 l/100km = 43MPG (US), but 52MPG (Imperial)

I bet I could get a lot more than you in the avensis.?

I have no doubt you could and I'd say I'd beat the 45mpg from this morning also if I wasn't in a hurry going anywhere. :)

I had intended to buy a 2 litre 140bhp Mondeo before reading on a lot of UK forums that drivers mpg was 40mpg or lower :0 which put me off it. Maybe the Avensis is in same boat.

Had the car into a Toyota dealer (not where car was purchased) yesterday for minor warranty work (greasing a rattly brake caliper pin) and spoke to owner of dealership about mpg. He said it should be doing 45-48mpg depending on journeys so maybe what I am seeing is not too far off.

stimpson wrote: »
    I used to average 5.9 (47mpg) in my 2010 Avensis. I got it as low as 4.3 (65MPG) on a run to Sligo and back at 100km/h. I now have a 2011 Verso with the same engine and I struggle to get 7.0l/100km.

I found the display to be spot on in the Avensis - I checked it a few times against a pump and it was always within .1 l/100km

One thing OP - are you doing the conversion manually or with an online calculator? Because 5.4 l/100km = 43MPG (US), but 52MPG (Imperial)

As a matter of interest, does the engine sound the same in the 2011 verso compared to 2010 Avensis?

Reason I ask is a close relation bought a 2010 Avensis diesel about a week after I got my 2011. Both have similar mileage but his is a lot more refined than mine sound wise. Toyota main dealer owner where he purchased his told me when I dropped him to collect car that there is a difference between 2010 and 2011 engines, the latter have more poke and as a result "rattlier". He mentioned injectors etc being different. Could account for the fuel economy difference you notice between the two.

I am manually converting litres to gallons by dividing by 4.54.

Excellent point !

As a matter of interest, does the engine sound the same in the 2011 verso compared to 2010 Avensis?

Reason I ask is a close relation bought a 2010 Avensis diesel about a week after I got my 2011. Both have similar mileage but his is a lot more refined than mine sound wise. Toyota main dealer owner where he purchased his told me when I dropped him to collect car that there is a difference between 2010 and 2011 engines, the latter have more poke and as a result "rattlier". He mentioned injectors etc being different. Could account for the fuel economy difference you notice between the two.

I am manually converting litres to gallons by dividing by 4.54.

No difference with the Verso - feels and sounds identical. My brother has a 2011 tourer and it's the same. I've had a 2012 loaner from a dealership and it felt 100% the same. The official spec is identical (124 bhp (91kW)/3,600RPM and 310Nm / 1,600-2,200RPM)

Oh, and you can't remap a modern Toyota due to ECU encryption. You can chip them, but make sure you don't buy a cheap one!

No difference with the Verso - feels and sounds identical. My brother has a 2011 tourer and it's the same. I've had a 2012 loaner from a dealership and it felt 100% the same. The official spec is identical (124 bhp (91kW)/3,600RPM and 310Nm / 1,600-2,200RPM)

Oh, and you can't remap a modern Toyota due to ECU encryption. You can chip them, but make sure you don't buy a cheap one!

Interesting. Mine isn't as smooth (but I couldn't say it sound wrong either) when ticking over but I wouldnt have taken any notice of mine until I heard his. Maybe a good service is required ASAP.

Was yours cold? The make less of a rattle once they have warmed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭yeller

I like the look of the new avensis and would go for a diesel myself maybe, overall would they be a better buy then a 2010 passat tdi or would the passat just have the edge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

My dad has a 10 reg one, and says it can do about 1000 km on a tankful. That would suggest an average fuel consumption of about 51 mpg assuming he fills up when the low fuel light comes on i.e. fills up with about 55 litres.

230km trip this morning on a mix of motorway and National routes reported 45.13mpg as per the onboard computer (16km/L) and I was driving more conservatively than usual and changing up sooner so not a big difference on the figures previously recorded above.

After some local driving (maybe a few 30km trips) during week in Nth of the country I did the return 230km trip yesterday evening and refilled at same pump as earlier this week. On return trip I drove as I "normally" do and did not let current fuel consumption figures etc influence how I drove.

600.8km recorded for 38.27litres when pumped clicked which equates to 44.266mpg by my calculations. 170km of total was Motorway miles so optimum mpg would not be obtained here.

Car average KM/L gauge was reset at the time of both fills this week and was reading 15.6km/L last night = 43.99mpg so it was only 0.276mpg out from my calculated figures.

I think this test proves that the Average KM/L gauge in the car is very accurate so I will use this for some smaller runs which should give me a better indication of mpg in different conditions.

Don't know what to say Leex, I wouldn't have thought the 120 hp would have been underpowered for the Avensis as the 104 h in the Passat which would mean driving it harder making it more inefficient, unless of course you drive it slow then the 104 in the passat might give good economy.

If you want real economy you'd have to start thinking about the 1.3 Opel/Fiat Corsa, Punto

Or the VW Polo Bluemotion 1.2 tdi and the New Clio Diesel, the last two with probably the best potential for 70-80 mg

Even the Golf 1.6 TDI 90-104 HP should give good economy.

Renault quote over 90 mpg on the new Clio Diesel on the extra urban and I think 80 odd on the combined.

After some local driving (maybe a few 30km trips) during week in Nth of the country I did the return 230km trip yesterday evening and refilled at same pump as earlier this week. On return trip I drove as I "normally" do and did not let current fuel consumption figures etc influence how I drove.

600.8km recorded for 38.27litres when pumped clicked which equates to 44.266mpg by my calculations. 170km of total was Motorway miles so optimum mpg would not be obtained here.

Car average KM/L gauge was reset at the time of both fills this week and was reading 15.6km/L last night = 43.99mpg so it was only 0.276mpg out from my calculated figures.

I think this test proves that the Average KM/L gauge in the car is very accurate so I will use this for some smaller runs which should give me a better indication of mpg in different conditions.

That's in the same ballpark as I was getting - I wouldn't be too worried. Your driving style has a huge amount to do with it - a few hypermiling techniques like keeping off the brakes by reading the road ahead and gentle acceleration can make a huge difference (if you have the patience!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭trabpc

Bloddy hell 44 mpg for a diesel. Im managing 39-41 in my 1.8 Mazda 6 petrol...

Assuming my computer is accurate (enough) as per my tests last week I think I am realising that a constant 50-55mpg and sedate driving style in the right gear will obtain close on the advertised mpg on my Avensis but once you hit 60mph or above it drops significantly. Didn't alter my driving style of gearchanges but kept mph lower than normal.

* Did 2 runs of about 20-25km on Friday evening. Slowish traffic - maybe 50mpg and averaged 52mpg on one way. Bit quicker coming back and averaged50mpg on return.

* Did another test today with cruise control on for alot of it at about 55mph for about 10miles when car was warmed up. Reset computer at start of trip. Was as low as 60mpg average at some points with journey average of near 58mpg.

There's no point really resetting the trip computer on a warmed up engine especially.

As I said I could claim over 100-150 mpg in the Prius on some trips but the reality is that if I reset the trip computer after a fill it reads 60-64 mpg at the time to fill up again and that's what I calculate it as by my own calculations.

Your best just to keep track after a fill and do the calculations yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Bit **** on a 2 litre avensis you cant go 60mph or over

The old ones had no bother.

Up until last year I had a 02 avensis with 210k miles and cork to tipp trying to stay at 65-70 (obviously not in citys or small roads) it averaged at 56 mpg

There's no point really resetting the trip computer on a warmed up engine especially.

As I said I could claim over 100-150 mpg in the Prius on some trips but the reality is that if I reset the trip computer after a fill it reads 60-64 mpg at the time to fill up again and that's what I calculate it as by my own calculations.

Your best just to keep track after a fill and do the calculations yourself.

Thanks for all the feedback here guys.

Main purpose of this exercise was to see how change of driving style impacted average mpg of a small sample of miles as a full tank test means it is harder to see where I am going wrong. Similar sample was showing 5mpg less when I got the car. It is a learning exercise for me as I have driven 400,000+ miles in petrols but this is my first diesel car. I understand it is not a representation of what the car is averaging long term over mixed miles.

Continuing my quest to understand best MPG performance I did a 230km work trip this morning, taking 3 hours approx. 80km of this was Motorway. Kept to speed limits on all roads and held back on the overtaking etc. I used cruise control for a lot of this trip on straight stretches. Reset computer at start of trip. It was displaying 5.8L/100km at end of trip = 48.7mpg. Getting nearer to the kind of MPG I would have expected when I purchased car.

Car has a "full" stamped Toyota service history but from what I am seeing advertised on service menus for various mileage intervals that it might not have ever had a fuel filter change or an air filter change. I think I will sort this soon and I'd be hoping it may help economy also.

Whatever about a long trip, just don't reset the trip computer on a warm engine.

Resetting the trip computer on warm engines will always return higher mpg numbers.

This is why the pump tank calculations are the only accurate ones.

Cruise is also not efficient, a steady throttle position is much more fuel efficient, turn on your instant mpg readings and you'ss see this go up and down as cruise maintains your speed.

If you can manage to keep a steady throttle position it will use less fuel but your speed will slow down sometimes, but it's a neat trick but difficult sometimes.

Perhaps a smaller diesel would be worth while if you're doing a lot of work trips, or if they're paying mileage i wouldn't worry about it so much.