Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thankless people

• 31-08-2013 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭

I was walking through Debenhams today when a lady ahead of me was putting her purse into her pocket and a €50 note accidentally fell on the ground. Two other people looked at it, but I picked it up and ran after her. I called her and told her she lost her €50 euro and she just grabbed it and walked off. Not even a thank you. I know if it was me and someone gave me money I'd lost I'd be really grateful, but not even a thanks.

Has anyone any similar experiences of people who were thankless for a good turn you did?

I'm now hoping good karma to come my way! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Karma doesn't work if you expect it.Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

happened to me in a news agents quite recently €50 note also. Some women with kids hanging off here going through purse dropped it did not notice. I picked it up and was handing it to her she looked at me as if i was trying to steal it let alone say thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I'd have told her to go fcuk herself, tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

I was walking through Debenhams today when a lady ahead of me was putting her purse into her pocket and a €50 note accidentally fell on the ground. Two other people looked at it, but I picked it up and ran after her. I called her and told her she lost her €50 euro and she just grabbed it and walked off. Not even a thank you. I know if it was me and someone gave me money I'd lost I'd be really grateful, but not even a thanks.

Has anyone any similar experiences of people who were thankless for a good turn you did?

Tough break. I'd at least hope that that woman felt a little bad when she got home about her response to you. Still, kudos, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

The two other people had a good laugh at goody-two-shoes getting no thanks from the oul' bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Do people actually believe in karma?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Relax OP, the lady was merely heeding your advice.

Thank less people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Few years ago i was walking through Smithfield when a woman (barrister/soliciter) who was putting stuff into the boot of her car dropped a load of cash. I picked it up €950 in total and even had to chase down 3 of the €50's. When i went back to her she was getting in the car non the wiser and when i told her she had dropped it she looked at me as if i had stolen it!

Old bitch took the cash without even a nod of the head or a thank you. Told my work mates when i got back to work and they all said i should have kept it but would rather know i did the right thing than forever (in my head) be known as a thief.

Of course.It's distributed by the Cosmos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Maybe she had bad social anxiety and couldn't muster the courage to say thanks? Things aren't always black and white

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    I'd have told her to go fcuk herself, tbh.
    And that would solve... nothing

Its better to shrug things like that off than creating a possible scene or conflict to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I do. Act like a dick, expect to be treated like a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

keith16 wrote: »

So if someone gets paralysed in an accident, they must have done something to deserve it? In this life or 'another'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I remember karma, then we had none, then we had thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Should've kept it OP and bought a jelly bean machine

Erm... don't think that's karma, TBH. More like, in the next life she'll end up being reincarnated as the arse pocket of a skanger's jeans

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

you come and go, you come and go, ooh-oooh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Tell that to Augusto Pinochet and the rest of the fruit loops of his ilk (although it'd be tricky as they're dead. Died and got away with their crimes scott free. Karma me backside).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

I know it's bad manners but some people are so all over the place it doesn't occur to them to say thanks and they ate a bit shocked when something like that happens. Shocked and embarrassed at themselves.

Karma me backside).

For all the shite that's come out your backside, in the next life it'll be a politician

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Tell that to Augusto Pinochet and the rest of the fruit loops of his ilk (although it'd be tricky as they're dead. Died and got away with their crimes scott free. Karma me backside).
    He'll be eternally remembered as a cnut though. That counts for something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

But adored by about 50% of the Chilean population, which counteracts the hate....maybe.

So you can rape and murder people and get away with it and your karmic punishment is having a bad reputation? I've no time for most religion but this karma bull**** really takes the biscuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

bumper234 wrote: »
    Few years ago i was walking through Smithfield when a woman (barrister/soliciter) who was putting stuff into the boot of her car dropped a load of cash. I picked it up €950 in total and even had to chase down 3 of the €50's. When i went back to her she was getting in the car non the wiser and when i told her she had dropped it she looked at me as if i had stolen it!

Old bitch took the cash without even a nod of the head or a thank you. Told my work mates when i got back to work and they all said i should have kept it but would rather know i did the right thing than forever (in my head) be known as a thief.
    Ya, that would be what we call theft, for which, you can be prosecuted.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    So if someone gets paralysed in an accident, they must have done something to deserve it? In this life or 'another'?

No no no, not saying that at all. I don't believe that nonsense at all. I'm just saying if some people act like dicks it should be expected that they will be treated as such.

I don't at all believe in the whole; "well he got cancer cos he was a gay/Goth/protestant/got the housekeeper pregnant"

Drop into that bar on the quays near the courts (forget the name) and keep an eye out for this legal eagle. When you see her, remind her of your altruism and she might buy you a scoop

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    So you can rape and murder people and get away with it and your karmic punishment is having a bad reputation? I've no time for most religion but this karma bull**** really takes the biscuit

You're the yang for somebody's ying.

kneemos wrote: »
    You're the yang for somebody's ying.

That's Chinese philosophy, not Indian religion :D

But in fairness, I can't think of what the OP did wrong, unless he yanked the person's shoulder or something. Most people would appraise money being offered to them and consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

A woman once handed me 300 yoyos that I'd left hanging from the ATM slot, and I have to admit I was a bit confused and my reaction might have been a bit "off" ("Who is she, and why is she handing me money, I've just been to the.................... oh."). I'm fairly sure I thanked her, but it was more confusion than gratitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

“When you see a good person, think of becoming like her/him. When you see someone not so good, reflect on your own weak points.”
    - Confucius

"I have come to the conclusion that some people are just ignorant pigs"
    - Me

“When you see a good person, think of becoming like her/him. ― Confucius

My doctor gave me a digital prostate exam. I want to be like him.

No no no, not saying that at all. I don't believe that nonsense at all. I'm just saying if some people act like dicks it should be expected that they will be treated as such.

I don't at all believe in the whole; "well he got cancer cos he was a gay/Goth/protestant/got the housekeeper pregnant"

Ah, well, that's a different kettle of fish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Maybe she had her mind on other things? As far as we know any stranger could be going through difficult situations.
    Some people help others just for self-appreciation. I think it seems very self centered for people to give out about not being thanked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

The worst I heard recently was from my cousin who was at the beach with his own kids during the fine weather in July and noticed this unaccompanied very young child out of his depth in deep water getting into difficulty. He ran in and brought the child back out to the shoreline. The boy was upset and crying and my cousin asked him where his mom or dad was. He escorted him back to his mother who was a good distance away sunbathing and explained how the child got into difficulty.

The mother casually said "That's your good deed done for the day, so!". No thanks or relief or acknowledgement that her child was even out of her watch for that period. Tbh, says more about dreadful parenting then being thankless! I pity the child!

Cancer seems a bit harsh for being a gay,goth or even a protestant.

Footoo wrote: »
    Ya, that would be what we call theft, for which, you can be prosecuted.

Well DUHHHHHH! Did you not read the rest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

*Person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭blacktea

Maybe she had bad social anxiety and couldn't muster the courage to say thanks? Things aren't always black and white

if she had bad social anxiety she would hardly have been rambling around debenhams? If she could deal with cashiers etc. surely she could have muttered some form of acknowledgement? True though, we don't always know what's going on in someones head. Maybe shock at OP's gesture?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

You have to accept that there are people in the world like that. I would have done the exact same thing you did and probably for the same reason. You'd like to think that if it was you who lost the money that someone would be kind enough to catch up with you and return it.

If it happened to her again it may very well be picked up by someone not too willing to give it back.

Don't let your experience with her make you think twice about doing that again. It could have been someone's last note and they needed it for bus fare home.

I would have shaken the hand off you and blabbered on about me being ditzy :rolleyes: :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭SolarFlash

a lot of Irish people are very shy. she was probably very thankful.

kneemos wrote: »
    Cancer seems a bit harsh for being a gay,goth or even a protestant.

Not so for getting the housekeeper pregnant? :)

Maybe a Melanoma or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

A Barrister you say? More the fool you, because the ignorant overpaid cow probably wouldn't even have missed the €950 euro.

She had the black robes on and she didn't even notice she had dropped it. I couldn't take it though it's not how i was bought up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Found a tenner when I was younger and kept it. Went in to a shop and was refused sale of a ten box. Karma I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Lost a wallet with a pretty large sum of money in it, meant for putting a deposit on a flat, in Galway about 8 years ago and got a call from the Garda station saying that someone had left it in; think, idiotically, i'd left it on top of a pay station in car park.

When i went to collect it i asked the Garda if they knew who left it in, because i wanted to reward or at least thank the person, but the garda who had been given it had gone off duty and they couldn't find the info.

Went back to the station the next day and tried to find the info but again the garda who received it wasn't there and they couldn't find the info: or maybe whoever did so left it in anonymously.

Was away from Galway for while then before i moved back to move into the flat and between putting it off/forgetting about it never went back again to find out.

Sometimes feel like a bit of thankless f*cker now whenever i think of it because it wouldn't have taken much effort to go back again and pursue it or at least make sure that they hadn't left details.

So on the veryoff chance that someone is reading this who once found a wallet on top of a car park pay station in Galway, left it into the Garda station and never recieved thanks then it was possibly mine and it was much appreciated, to put it mildly.

On the only slightly less off chance that someone is reading this who knows someone who did, then please relay my thanks to them.

Right, that'll go someway towards relieving my conscience, anyway..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 116 ✭✭Ciarabear

Things aren't always complex either. I'll think you'll find what she was suffering from is rudeness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

On a slightly different topic, was in work today and a customer was buying something but due to a pricing error it was cheaper for him to buy 2 smaller versions of the item, saving him a total of 10€...Didn't even say anything to me...I saved him 10€ when I didn't ave too, and losing 10€ in sales is something my Area manager wouldn't be happy with...People are dicks at the best of times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

I was working on a film once and two tanks were to be delivered for a battle scene but due to mechanical failure were unavailable.

It was a tankless job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Maybe she was just surprised or shocked. Atleast I hope she was. We've all done stupid things because we just aren't thinking. People in Ireland are generally polite even if sometimes the politeness boarders on passive agressiveness.