Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show (September 6th)

• 30-08-2013 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭

No thread yet?
    BOP BOP BOP BOP BEATLES BEATLES JFK TUBBERS IS BACK

Welcome back everyone!
    Little early heard him on radio today!

BSmNmw5IMAEhodm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

jimmynokia wrote: »
    No thread yet?
    BOP BOP BOP BOP BEATLES BEATLES JFK TUBBERS IS BACK

Welcome back everyone!
    All ive heard is that BOD will be on tonight

BSmNmw5IMAEhodm.jpg

Don't think it's back until next week, heard Tubs on about it today on the radio!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Bop, Bop, Bop, Jimmynokia is asleep:D:D:D

Or indeed Early, Early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Patience, young jimmy! The best things come to those who wait!

Isn't the first show in the series going to be some sort of Brian O'Driscoll This-Is-Your-Life testimonial thingy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

The late late show 2013

No thread yet?

There must have been about 20 Late Late Show's so far this year.

With a thread per show that must be about 20 Late Late Show threads.

you-must-be-new-here-willy-wonka.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,671 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I wonder will they change the format of guests?

1) RTE employee
    2) Z list 'celeb' from Ireland or UK
    3) Ordinary punter with a bit of misery porn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭jmcc

NIMAN wrote: »
    I wonder will they change the format of guests?

1) RTE employee
    2) Z list 'celeb' from Ireland or UK
    It is RTE - this what they think is a changed format:

1) Z list 'celeb' from Ireland or UK
    2) RTE employee

So in other words: Same old stuff, different season.

Regards...jmcc

I estimated I dived behind the couch at least 12 times last season, four times during the Tom Cruise interview alone!

Just laid down a thicker 'crash-mat' mattress, so I'm set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

If last season is anything to go on, RTE's big Friday night light entertainment show will open with a 4 hour special on those napalmed kids in Syria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Yes, Tubridy is back in all his glory next Friday!!

Predictions for next weeks show:

Parts 1 and 2: Brian O'Driscoll tribute with BOD, Amy Hubermann and other family members, rugby players and friends.
    Part 3/4: Nicky Byrne talks about The Hit/Finbarr Furey sings his song.
    Part 3/4: Someone with a misery story to tell/another song from The Hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Parts 1 and 2: Brian O'Driscoll tribute with BOD, Amy Hubermann and other family members, rugby players and friends.

I may be with Welsh Megaman on the "crash mattress" (metaphorically speaking) if that happens........;):D:D:D

I hope, sincerely hope BP you are wrong....though I fear you may have the inside track........

I don't begrudge BO'D for his tribute, after all didn't he say he first saw the wife on the LLS and arranged a date?.......Love stories begin as they say! :)

Still looking forward to all the craic and, hopefully, not the misery fest we had last season...

Hope ye all had a great summer and looking forward to the thread whenever the show starts!........:):):) xxx

ps. Harvey, glad to see you're back safe, hope you had a blast in the US of A!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

You know what you can expect...

Tub: "Mary, you were an average irish family?"
    Mary: "yeah Ryan, my husband was a <insert some trade here> and we had <insert number of children between 2 and 5> and things were going really well. I was working part time as <insert some administration job here> while looking after the kids"
    Tub: "Mary.. *pause and sigh* .. tell me about the news/day/event that changed your life"..

Then let the misery (and foot bobbing at 50Hertz) ensue..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

You know what you can expect...

Tub: "Mary, you were an average irish family?"
    Mary: "yeah Ryan, my husband was a <insert some trade here> and we had <insert number of children between 2 and 5> and things were going really well. I was working part time as <insert some administration job here> while looking after the kids"
    Tub: "Mary.. *pause and sigh* .. tell me about the news/day/event that changed your life"..

Then let the misery (and foot bobbing at 50Hertz) ensue..

That could actually be Joe, Mir or Mr. T.......

I'm seeing a pattern there........:eek::eek:

Could it be true??....:rolleyes:........I'm not sure Mir "foot bobs".....Must pay more attention in future....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Mary: Well Ryan..*deep breath*..that was the day my arse exploded.
    Tub: *grim face*...and this happened completely out of the blue?
    Mary: completely out of the blue Ryan. I had just finished a chicken vindaloo and suddenly..without warning
    Tub: and did you realise at the time what this would mean?
    Mary: I didn't Ryan. You hear about these things on TV, but you never think it could happen to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

ps. Harvey, glad to see you're back safe, hope you had a blast in the US of A!!:)

I'm actually still having a blast in the US of A, GSW - won't be back until the final week of September. :o:):):D:D;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

This is my idea of TV hell.... the scrapings of Irish Z-listers, a Westlife gobshite, and some couple who can't pay their mortgage or some such.

I will be amazed, absolutely fucking amazed, is the show isn't bollocks

Caonima wrote: »
    This is my idea of TV hell.... the scrapings of Irish Z-listers, a Westlife gobshite, and some couple who can't pay their mortgage or some such.

I will be amazed, absolutely fucking amazed, is the show isn't bollocks

It is pretty obvious that this is what we will get from Tubridy. Mark my word on it, you will see he will spend the time with BOD talking about his baby!! Every guest he has, he has to talk about this for at least 10 minutes!!

I wonder how many shows will he be able to do before he has to have the compulsory annual Twink interview!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

I wonder how many shows will he be able to do before he has to have the compulsory annual Twink interview!!

Twink must have naked pictures of Gay Byrne, Pat Kenny and Tubs doing a circlejerk or something. When things get quiet she threatens the host for one more show, or else she's going to the Sunday world :-)

Seriously though, how she gets on RTE's most watched show to flog her stuff (cake business, panto, daughter's career, etc) so regularly amazes me, it is such blatant RTE insider featherbedding, it is actually the most annoying thing about RTE for me...

Other examples being Gerry Ryan doing his damndest to get his daughter a job on the telly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

It is pretty obvious that this is what we will get from Tubridy. Mark my word on it, you will see he will spend the time with BOD talking about his baby!! Every guest he has, he has to talk about this for at least 10 minutes!!

:D Just realised how right you are

*shudder*

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Twink must have naked pictures of Gay Byrne, Pat Kenny and Tubs doing a circlejerk or something. When things get quiet she threatens the host for one more show, or else she's going to the Sunday world :-)

Seriously though, how she gets on RTE's most watched show to flog her stuff (cake business, panto, daughter's career, etc) so regularly amazes me, it is such blatant RTE insider featherbedding, it is actually the most annoying thing about RTE for me...

Other examples being Gerry Ryan doing his damndest to get his daughter a job on the telly

RTE are very much into nepotism and the Late Late Show has become a virtual promo tool for other RTE insiders and their shows and/or other business entities. Twink/Adele King is a perfect example of such a person RTE religiously promote each year. She uses her real name for the cake business it seems (Adele King) and Twink for everything else! Twink suits her as it is an annoying name for an annoying person!

Anyone know yet who is on next Friday's Tubridy? Is it all Brian O'Driscoll (some say it is) I wonder or will it be BOD plus The Hit (Nicky Byrne, Finbarr Furey, etc.).

If so, then The Hit stuff and that walker who won the medal will have to wait for show 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

The stripes are on, that band from cavan.

Sheamus from WWE is also on!

So it is not all BOD. So, we can then assume we have: Bod for the first 2 parts (with one dedicated to his baby!), then Sheamus, then Nicky Byrne/Finbarr Furey, and then some bit of misery story and then the Strypes? OR maybe that walker who won the medal? No doubt he will have Imelda May and Claire Byrne on for more baby talk ASAP. Also, just as you thought the babyfest cannot get any worse, he has this definitely planned too:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2013/0902/world/aposlate-lateapos-warned-over-child-pageants-241641.html

Yikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,007 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Sheamus from WWE is also on!

Brogue kick to Ryan :P

Also on Friday's show...The Boomtown Rats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

And fresh from his starring role in Richard Curtis' new time travel romantic comedy thing ... Domhnall Gleeson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

BSmNmw5IMAEhodm.jpg

I only ventured onto TLLS thread on Tom Cruise night (one word: WOW) but that pic just says "The name's Tubridy, Ryan Tubridy. I am the James Bond of nerds."

The smugness of it. The arrogance. The triumph of nepotism over talent. The fees........

Tubridy has no doubt promised he will revamp this show. I will give it a try for the first few weeks and then find out if he did or not. If he talked to BOD about the baby, we know things haven't changed a bit!

His presentation style has become a liability on the show and his lack of confidence with some guests is obvious. Is such a presenter really the man for a supposedly wide ranging show like this? No. To be honest, Tubridy is much more suited for children's TV as he constantly talks babies and the only time he seems at ease is when he has children on the show (e.g. Toy Show). Tubridy does not convince as an interview of most adults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Definitely, you will see him on this Friday or else before the month is out.

Do you recognise these people?

TheCommitments.jpg

No, me neither - but apparently they are the stars of the Commitments.

Not the classic Outspan, Deco, Jimmy, Imelda, Joey the Lips and the rest - these kids are appearing in the new London West End adaptation of the original novel (not the Alan Parker Film) which opens soon. Sure why not? The Commitments could be a terrific Musical if it is done well.

Roddy Doyle wrote the original book and he has been involved in the musical. He will talk to Tubs tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

I really enjoy Roddy Doyle's books.
    The Van is my favourite .

Hope everyone has stocked up on drinks and nibbles for tomorrow night :)

Also looking at the picture of the Commitment s musical cast Skid posted above, I was really struck by one thing.
    We might once again be in a recession again like the 80s, but damn we are all so much better dressed with much better hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Guys and girls, I must say that I am loving the cynicism in this thread.

Best thing about the Late Late Show being back!

Lisha wrote: »
    Also looking at the picture of the Commitment s musical cast Skid posted above, I was really struck by one thing.
    We might once again be in a recession again like the 80s, but damn we are all so much better dressed with much better hair.

hey Lisha, yep all stocked up on goodies, if I don't eat and drink them all tonight I'll be sorted :o

What strikes me about the photo is he girl in the front left. She looks to be sulking.

"I'm freezing, can I not wear a cardigan? Are we nearly finished? This Rubbish Dump stinks. I am classically trained, you know. I should be doing Shakespeare :mad: "

Here is the photo from the Movie for comparison ...

the-commitments-1991-pic-1.jpg

Yup I agree Skid there is a real sense of entitlement in the musical picture while the cinema picture just screams FUN . I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Might check it out.

After the Ireland v Sweden game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭ghiertal

He said on 2fm this morning that a woman whose husband committed suicide will be on tomorrow night(something to do with Priory hall) + Brian O'Driscoll won't be on but is booked in for later in the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

ghiertal wrote: »
    He said on 2fm this morning that a woman whose husband committed suicide will be on tomorrow night(something to do with Priory hall)

A dash of drug smuggling, a pinch of RTE celebs from the canteen and a dollop of suicide. Sounds like the recipe for the LLS alright.

Aside : Nothing but sympathy for the suicide victim and his family, but it is not suitable for Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

COYW wrote: »
    A dash of drug smuggling, a pinch of RTE celebs from the canteen and a dollop of suicide. Sounds like the recipe for the LLS alright.

Aside : Nothing but sympathy for the suicide victim and his family, but it is not suitable for Friday night.

All you needed to add was Pat Shortt, Twink and Des Bishop.

As usual Friday night's light entertainment slot has another misery story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Everything points to this really being a vintage LLS season, and kicking off with a reall cracker tomorrow night. (Only downside could be RT being poached to UK or USA, but still, enjoy it while we have him).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭ghiertal

Almaviva wrote: »
    Everything points to this really being a vintage LLS season, and kicking off with a reall cracker tomorrow night. (Only downside could be RT being poached to UK or USA, but still, enjoy it while we have him).

The only tubbins would be poached is if an irate Late Late audience threw him into a vat of boiling water that is being used for a cookery demonstration. He would probably fit in a small pan, he is such a little weasel. The stench that would emanate from the pot would be worse than a Chernobyl. Every dripping, wet flaccid entitlement that he feels would be a mere bubble or drop mark scalded into an oven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Almaviva wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Misery section is sorted for tonight, tubbers just said there will be a woman on about the priory Hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

walshb wrote: »

Christ,it won't be long till we have to suffer this pr*ck again.

What is RTE's obsession with this unfunny pr*ck,I just don't get it,don't get it at all :mad::mad:

walshb wrote: »

Patt Shortt is good. Des Bishop, I'm indifferent about. Twink? Just no no no no no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

He can launch a plea for more money......as in more than the €600 they've raised so far.

Is Joe Duffy due a Late Late appearance soon? Has he some "art" or new buke to promote? The LLS is fast becoming a Duffy-type vehicle with its emphasis on misery porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭realweirdo

Yay!!...Back for another series of cringe inducing torture masquerading as "light entertainment".

ghiertal wrote: »
    He said on 2fm this morning that a woman whose husband committed suicide will be on tomorrow night(something to do with Priory hall) + Brian O'Driscoll won't be on but is booked in for later in the season.

Ah nice to see the misery-porn slot has been retained so.

Misery section is sorted for tonight, tubbers just said there will be a woman on about the priory Hall.

So what about the RTE canteen section?

I'm putting my money on Shane Filan being on to plug his new song, album, etc.

There seems to be some contract that every LLS must have someone from Westlife on.