Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should Ireland apply to become the 51st state of the USA

• 29-08-2013 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭

My dad told me years ago that when he was growing up there was a lot of talk about the possibility of Ireland throwing in their lot with the United States, (assuming they would want us). Most Irish people at that time regarded the US as a kind of second homeland mainly because so many Irish were already there.
    When you consider how economically dependant we are on US companies and how we still rely on the US to absorb our emigrants, we might as well go the whole hog and become a state of the US. We have proved that we cannot govern ourselves anyway and rejoining Britain is not a political reality.
    Everyone seem to have fallen out of love with the EU and we seem to be blaming the Germans for everything, (it used to be the British). So maybe we should jump the EU ship and beg apply to be taken in by Uncle Sam.
    Some of advantages would be:
    - We could lump our entire national debt in with that of the US where it would hardly be noticed, (we have no hope of ever ever paying it off ourselves);)
    - Taxes would be lower, (petrol about 80c per litre),:pac:
    - We would have only 2 senators and about 4 or 5 members of Congress.:)
    - Lucinda Creighton could become the first female president of the USA:eek:
    - Ming could move to Colorado where he could smoke his weed legally.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Why would we want to do that, Ireland is a far better nation and far more functional society even with our mountainous debt and current travails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Corvo

Our porn would increase in quality that's for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

We do seem to have an unhealthy obsession with everything American.

A fire in California making the headlines here :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Brego888

Yes, yes indeed. What a wonderful idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Roger_007 wrote: »
    My dad told me years ago

Your dad was on cocaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It would work both ways.We'd be deluged by Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Nope shove your Boston I'll go with Berlin/Brussels anyday

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

USA should apply to become the 33rd county.

I thought there were 52 states of the U S of A already?

I'm off to look at me atlas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

kneemos wrote: »
    It would work both ways.We'd be deluged by Americans.
    Permanent 'gaddering', what's not to like;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

What would happen to Area 51 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

No. Took long enough to get rid of the English when we invited them in.

You are way ahead of me, (but what is the 52nd)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭V Eight

BRILLIANT Idea - I wanna get fat drink beer and own a big truck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

If there is ever a 51st state, it would be Puerto Rico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

For some people being Irish just isn't good enough. We have the Roman Catholic superstition to make ourselves feel bigger spiritually, support English football teams to pretend we're at the top of the world's sporting pyramid, then there's those who **** themselves stupid over the mere mention of a connection with Uncle Sam. Nation of ****ing minnows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,472 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

How long were ireland fighting for independence? Why would you want the lives of for example michael collins to be futile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Only 50 states lads and some of them in a bad state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Puerto Rico is a half state

WE could be the other half;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

thecatspjs wrote: »
    USA should apply to become the 33rd county.

or the 27th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Waking up the odd morning in a bad state is enough. To do that every morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

America should apply to be the west of Ireland.

It IS, (west of Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Supersize portions.
    Cheese.
    Country and Western.
    Tips for everything.
    Impatience.
    Marines.
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

If we could make Mary Robinson President and Michael D Vice President then I think it would be a great idea

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

gowley wrote: »
    or the 27th

Now look what you have done!

I can't find my atlas and you guys are my google/wiki.

Aren't Alaska and Hawaii 51 & 52?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Not sure if this will go down well, as it's by a german "metal" band. But Rammstein made quite a good music video about the american culture on the rest of the world.

Some nice imagery in it. A muslim man taking off his nike runners before praying [to the revealing shot] of an oil field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It IS, (west of Ireland)

The West

Just to annoy the lads in Mayo and Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Should Ireland apply to become the 51st state of the USA

No, we should ask Apple to pay off our debt in exchange for the running of the country for a set period of time. They'd LOVE it (ability to set tax law!). They find Foxconn jobs for the dole queues pronto. Discounts on Apple products for passport holders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I can't find my atlas and you guys are my google/wiki.

Aren't Alaska and Hawaii 51 & 52?

The 'Lower 48' is Mainland USA. Alaska and Hawaii are 49 and 50. Maybe you're thinking of territories like Puerto Rico and Guam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

My dad told me years ago that when he was growing up there was a lot of talk about the possibility of Ireland throwing in their lot with the United States, (assuming they would want us). Most Irish people at that time regarded the US as a kind of second homeland mainly because so many Irish were already there.
    When you consider how economically dependant we are on US companies and how we still rely on the US to absorb our emigrants, we might as well go the whole hog and become a state of the US. We have proved that we cannot govern ourselves anyway and rejoining Britain is not a political reality.
    Everyone seem to have fallen out of love with the EU and we seem to be blaming the Germans for everything, (it used to be the British). So maybe we should jump the EU ship and beg apply to be taken in by Uncle Sam.
    Some of advantages would be:
    - We could lump our entire national debt in with that of the US where it would hardly be noticed, (we have no hope of ever ever paying it off ourselves);)
    - Taxes would be lower, (petrol about 80c per litre),:pac:
    - We would have only 2 senators and about 4 or 5 members of Congress.:)
    - Ming could move to Colorado where he could smoke his weed legally.:cool:

Are you John Delaney? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Dartz

No.

America's a nice place to visit. But you wouldn't want to live there. We'd have school shootings and murders in mass and even less of a health executive than we do today. Half the government would be arrested for Communism. They'd station nuclear weapons here. And I wouldn't trust a Garda with a gun.

I don't want to live in an almost fascist police state. About the only thing that keeps it from being a fascist police state is that you can still call it a fascist police state on not get shot for it.

And worst of all? They spell everything wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Do I get a mobility scooter with an 8 litre engine that gets 11 MPG and has machine guns on the side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Do I get a mobility scooter with an 8 litre engine that gets 11 MPG and has machine guns on the side?

As soon as you hit 28 stone, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Ireland could be the 50th state.

I'll be deep in the cold, cold ground before I recognize Missouri

Dartz wrote: »
    No.

America's a nice place to visit. But you wouldn't want to live there. We'd have school shootings and murders in mass and even less of a health executive than we do today. Half the government would be arrested for Communism. They'd station nuclear weapons here. And I wouldn't trust a Garda with a gun.

I don't want to live in an almost fascist police state. About the only thing that keeps it from being a fascist police state is that you can still call it a fascist police state on not get shot for it.

Glad to see you have your priorities right:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

No.

But we'd get Canada as a new neighbour ? or is it neighbor ?

mattjack wrote: »
    But we'd get Canada as a new neighbour ? or is it neighbor ?
    I dunno, it could be Russia; I'll check with Sarah Palin and get back to you:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Inquitus wrote: »
    As soon as you hit 28 stone, yes.

I'm in. :cool:

Glad to see you have your priorities right:D

Somethings are sacrosanct.

Like u in neighbour. Or Delph.

And I suppose we have the comfort of knowing our current lot of politicians are merely gormless incompetents, not actively malicious in their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭ColmH81

V Eight wrote: »
    BRILLIANT Idea - I wanna get fat drink beer and own a big truck

Enough people in Ireland doing that already.. I'd be more interested in getting a powerful handgun, just cos I can..!! I reckon Irish politicians would be gunned down daily.. And bankers..

Somethings are sacrosanct.

Like u in neighbour. Or Delph.

And I suppose we have the comfort of knowing our current lot of politicians are merely gormless incompetents, not actively malicious in their actions.
    One is as dangerous as the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

ColmH81 wrote: »
    Enough people in Ireland doing that already.. I'd be more interested in getting a powerful handgun, just cos I can..!! I reckon Irish politicians would be gunned down daily.. And bankers..

think you hit a b instead of a w on your post

One is as dangerous as the other.
    At least the morons have a chance of doing something right from time to time...

You've got no such luck with either democrat or republican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭ColmH81

No.

Don't forget the that's who call Paddy's Day "St Paddy's Day".... Grrr

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

We should invade them instead.

I've already drawn up plans for the invasion. We invade Europe first then take over Russia so we can easily get a shot at Alaska. Britain will most certainly be our allies as they've wanted to get back at the Americans since the 1770's. It's fool proof.

tdv123 wrote: »
    We should invade them instead.

I've already drawn up plans for the invasion. We invade Europe first then take over Russia so we can easily get a shot at Alaska. Britain will most certainly be our allies as they've wanted to get back at the Americans since the 1770's. It's fool proof.
    We would certainly have the element of surprise; (and we would be more surprised than them):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

You're thinking of a pack of cards, sparky