Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nova Chat Thread

• 29-08-2013 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

Heard a rumour. Pat Courtney moving to Drive because Marty Millars figures are dropping? Anyone else hear this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Greyham

It's so amusing when these accounts with literally ONE POST register just to put out a really obscure piece of info that they "heard"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Let this one run it's course for a bit and we'll see if there's any credibility in the rumour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Billy de Bollix

Honestly...Drinking a pint and overheard it....I know it sounds cliche but for real!!! Joined boards just now, I never have anything to really gossip about. But its not everyday you overhear something like that is it?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Stress? I honestly can't see Marty moving. He's doing a great job where he is, and is obviously popular with his listeners. Having heard bits of Pat Courtenay, I don't think he'd quite fit in on drive. The breakfast slot seems more suitable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Greyham wrote: »
    It's so amusing when these accounts with literally ONE POST register just to put out a really obscure piece of info that they "heard"

Youre easily amused then................:rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Lets keep it on topic please Max_Headroom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

They're looking for on-airs - ad on Radionation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

It's hardly Marty Miller that's causing the drop, if there is one. It's that stupid rock report at 6pm,. Just when I want a bit of music another station hacking away... Hence why Fm104 have good numbers at this time.

Ah....t'would be such a shame to loose Pat In the morning! I can stretch out...but jeeze not as far as bloody 104! Back to listening to the radio obituaries on country radio for a laugh again so! Hmmmmm!

I suspect there's mischief making in op. As for 104 taking listeners - not the same audience

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Mod Note: Considering having this as a Nova Chat Thread. I would ask posters not to give in to rumours and speculation from here on out.

Hey cool...I was not out to upset anyone! But were else are ye gonna find out if something like that is fact or fiction...I am a fan of the station....Sorry. I ain't causing mischief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Honestly...Drinking a pint and overheard it....I know it sounds cliche but for real!!! Joined boards just now, I never have anything to really gossip about. But its not everyday you overhear something like that is it?!!!

Unless you have it recorded and provide the audio, it didn't happen :P

Ladies and Gents, enough of the speculation. If it is true, it will all come out in time. If not, then no worries. So please leave this thread to discussing the station that is Nova.

If it is actually fact...this lil first thread of mine will explode!!! Ha!....and if not...I'll look like a complete knob cheese! Guess I should have just told all my friends to begin with!

Anyway!!!! In all due respects if I hear AC/DC Thunderstruck, The Police every breath you take. Phil bleedin Collins/ Genesis I don't care any more, AC/DC dirty deeds done with sheep and the same fecking five songs in rotation I think I will defo have to carve my shaggin ears of with a bread knife! I do wish they would change their play listings and find some new Classic albums to play....I have actually stopped listening to AC/DC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

Only things worse than the repetitive playlists are the cringe worthy ad spots and Michaela Hayes's voice.

fiacha wrote: »
    Only things worse than the repetitive playlists are the cringe worthy ad spots and Michaela Hayes's voice.

Bahahaha. ..is mise Mikaela ni header!!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

If this is gonna turn into another thread about how bad Nova's playlists are, I don't see a point in keeping it open. Feel free to prove me wrong though

Splinter wrote: »
    If this is gonna turn into another thread about how bad Nova's playlists are, I don't see a point in keeping it open. Feel free to prove me wrong though

Why? How many have there been. Just leave it open long enough to see if I'm right about the Courtenay thingy.

Until this is confirmed by a media source, I'm not buying it. As far as I'm concerned, the current schedule will remain for the foreseeable.

I have to say that I don't have any issues with Michaela Hayes, but it's just my opinion. She seems to be doing overnights a lot lately, but I would assume that it's pre-recorded? I'd like to see her filling in for other presenters during the day.

Not too much has changed since the station started three years ago, bar the odd presenter. I do miss hearing Mike Moloney, but Paul Moriarty is doing a great job on Rock and Roll Football. It's the only sport related show I could tolerate as a result of the good music ;) Sunday evenings provide for a nice variety as well. Overall, it's a great station with great presenters. It's still a young station, but has great listenership, and it still has great potential.

Trebor176 wrote: »
    . Overall, it's a great station with great presenters. It's still a young station, but has great listenership, and it still has great potential.

And todays word is ....can you guess...??????

To say nova is a great station is hughly over-rating it imo...........its mediocre at best...and we all know why..

I don't actually, would you care to share

I'm only just noticing, it must be the fact I mentioned the word 'great' four time, so it's obviously that :P

The station is obviously doing something right if it's attracting a good listenership and obviously maintaining that. Ok, there are some songs/bands I wouldn't quite class as 'rock,' but it's a good alterative to other stations that seem to play the same sort of music as one another. And, Nova do play songs that wouldn't usually be heard on other stations. More classic rock, though, would be welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

Breakfast figures are way behind drive, so any change will be to improve breakfast, not drive.

I'm still curious re Maxheadrooms comments and to be fair to Nova, the bottom line is its a business where numbers are analysed almost by the minute. My recollection is that the shareholders put in c€4m and they are entitled to a return . Any changes to be made or not will be made for commercial reasons . Critically the last book was a little weaker than they may have expected but they are consolidating their position. I imagine if I was a shareholder with presumably large bank loans, I'd play it safe as well

Btr wrote: »
    I'm still curious re Maxheadrooms ...... I'd play it safe as well

Think youve answered your own curiosity there ...;)..TBH, if iwas a shareholder i'd be really pissed off with the station running.....i'd want more for my bucks, clearly the investors arent rock fans.........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭peterobrien100

Think youve answered your own curiosity there ...;)..TBH, if iwas a shareholder i'd be really pissed off with the station running.....i'd want more for my bucks, clearly the investors arent rock fans.........:)

I am curious as to how you would run the station if you were one of the investors to make it profitable and keep the Rock fans happy ?

Blandness

Btr wrote: »
    Blandness

x 1000............Ask anyone who listens to Nova and theyll say the same thing..Great station but i wish theyd vary their playlists...but theyll still listen...:confused:

Safe , boring, predictable....more words....:confused:

Jeeze lads....the wife has switched to Q102 its on in the car and I have actually stopped changing the channel! What does that say?..... I have reverted to my phone attached to my seperate system, C.D.s and records. But no more poxy adds every 2nd song and useless information...other than the giggle from the Kiwi Paddy in the morn...its dead for me unless they stop talking sh**e, over excessive adds and the same bloody playlist for three years! The "new music" is desperate as well...certainly not rock.

I've switched back to Phantom....less annoying and i can put up with the newer "rock" too......;)

Heard a rumour. Pat Courtney moving to Drive because Marty Millars figures are dropping? Anyone else hear this?

Others stories doing the rounds about change to news , maybe at weekends - source :- Nova staff member

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I'd have to agree with some of the posters here.

The Nova playlist recycles WAY too often. They really need to vary it up a bit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭twinklerunner

Billy, looks like you may be right. Marty Miller on Facebook & Twitter today talking about exciting changes ahead for him .. that involve him being up early

...hopefully to sign on..........:D

Billy may be right, but not because drive's figures are falling.

No station would put a presenter with bad figures on breakfast.

Look at their figures, you'll see the opposite is true.

I bloody well told y'all!!! Sounded like ****e talk at the time but sure the ye go! Its either prostate problems or someone just ain't cuttin the mustard!!!. Well lets see how it all plays out? Marty Fckin Miller!?.... sorry....(Morty)! in the morning? Christ on a bike! I'm never right...I'm hating being right about this! Ah he's grand but who the hell wants te be hearin him in the morning?

TBH.....I knew you were right, i was told the same thing..... ;)

Now that my information was in fact true can we please keep this forum open to discuss the various presenters performance in their new roles? I am really interested how Marty and Co manage the morning slot? I think Pat will actually do well in the Drive position as a lil bit of fun banter to or from work is always a cheery up! If things are so good for Nova and according to their last JNLR figs they are doing so well......why the dramatic change? Will they be making a stab at the raspberry alarmclock?

A him n her double act for breakfast.........thans new and exciting......:rolleyes:

The change is because breakfast hasn't been doing well enough.

Figures for drive we're much higher than breakfast, hence the change.

And I'm sure Pat won't mind not having to get up in the middle of the night after 3 years!

A him n her double act for breakfast.........thans new and exciting......:rolleyes:

Sooooo Max. How long have you been working for Radio Nova? ;-)

LOL..........not a chance.....i'd rather be deaf..........:P

It was nice to hear Ernie Gallagher presenting Flashback this morning. I assume he was covering for John Bowe, or could he become a permanent host? It would be good to see him getting a slot somewhere on the station.

Heard Geoff O'Brien has "left" nova...does that mean no more mullet-rock from down under.....:P

Hope the new PD is more in tune with the listeners and can read (here) too....;)