Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car broke down due to cat in engine

• 28-08-2013 6:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭

Hopefully someone can help. My brothers car broke down yesterday and today the mechanic found the problem a dead cat in the engine. The sight of it was bad enough to make him sick.

Anyway does anyone know who in Limerick cleans out engines and removes dead cats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

For once the thread title does not dissapoint:D

Lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Isn't the cat supposed to be on the exhaust? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Jaysus that's terrible. However you can probably just power hose the engine.
    What components broke? Belt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I've had to remove both ends of a cat after it got caught in the belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Lisa2011

No idea what damage is done. The cat needs to be removed first and the engine needs cleaning. So does anyone know of who might do that in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

What a Catastrophe

see what i did there?:D

I do yes but do you have an answer to my question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Prestige car wash on the dock road do engine cleaning but you'd have to ask them if that includes the removal of dead animals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Lisa2011 wrote: »
    No idea what damage is done. The cat needs to be removed first and the engine needs cleaning. So does anyone know of who might do that in Limerick?

Isn't that an NCT fail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The engine was purring nicely i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Isn't that an NCT fail?

No, just a fail advisory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

I would have thought that'd be a job for the council, wherever you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

There is loads of adds on done deal for places that will de-cat your car for you :-)

Ring www.cleaningdoctor.ie/limerick.html Brian & Daragh
    They can probably do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Jaguar is it?

No its not

Its a ford focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

You'll need a new catalytic convertor for sure!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Tell the mechanic to man up. **** sake.

Well if that is definitely needed it wont be fitted unless the engine is cleaned and the cat is removed. Who would want to do that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... Its a ford focus
    Huh, pussy.

kona wrote: »
    Tell the mechanic to man up. **** sake.

I doubt you would say that if you had seen what was inside the engine. Its pretty bad.

I dont know why I bothered posting here nobody can answer my question

I doubt you would say that if you had seen what was inside the engine. Its pretty bad.

Biko gave you an answer!:confused:

They dont clean out car engines and remove cats

they clean carpets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd be looking for a new mechanic rather than someone to clean the engine to be honest.

He has a mechanic that always looks after his car but he cant examine it till the cat is removed

They dont clean out car engines and remove cats

they clean carpets

Read beside Brian and Daragh. You could just hire out an industrial power house and blow that kitty out.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

That reminds of something I came across about 15 years ago.

A guy booked in his VW Transporter van complaining of a smell.

I gave the job to the mechanic who discovered a cats head lying on the engine undertray. We reckoned that the cat must have fell asleep with its head lying on a belt and when the engine started.....:eek:......Slán leat.

The smell was horrific. The head must have been there for weeks.

Lots of plastic gloves and flips of coins used to remove the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Hold on,

Is the cat IN the engine or is the cats body beside the engine ie under the bonnet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

"Hi, I'd like to book my car in for De-Cat?"

"Sure, what make model,"

"Don't know about the model but it looks like it was a Tabby"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

`probably whats left of the cat is melted all over the engine....a power washer is the answer, try not to soak the electrics though. I doubt many mechanics will take on the job, why would they? Up to the owner to sort it I reckon....not a nice job but can you expect someone else to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ahh, that was my de catting joke Dartz :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Schrodingers Car!

Nice :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pred racer wrote: »
    For once the thread title does not dissapoint:D

Lol.

I also lolled
    He has a mechanic that always looks after his car but he cant examine it till the cat is removed

Could your brother not remove the dead animal himself?

biko wrote: »
    Ring www.cleaningdoctor.ie/limerick.html Brian & Daragh
    They can probably do it.
    Try ringing these guys anyway, they're probably used to all kinds of gross stuff and have patio cleaners which is what you need (it's the same as a power hose.
    I'm sorry but "dead cats in engine clean-up" is not a typical question here, fortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Came across cats before dead in engine when i worked as mechanic
    Rough way to die aswell.
    Anyway we did have to replace some parts. Alternator destroyed by fur and flesh.
    Timing belts replaced etc.
    came across a dead badger before now that stank. But in fairness he hit the badger and it got caught up in the engine as he drove to a halt a couple hundred yards down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Feck all space in a focus engine bay for a cat.

Fella told one bout one in a vw vento once. Lying on some ledge on the bay. he had to take it out himself, smell was chronic he said.

I'd hazard a guess that once the engine is clean it's not that much to fix. Probably a belt snapped or something similar that caused the engine problems.
    But the internals should be good.

Keep us updated OP in case someone else happens upon the same issue at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Just one solution
    Shoot cats on sight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I really like animals yet seem to get called to bury/dispose of the families dead ones quite a lot... but seriously this thread. How many grown men in this story are running off to their mammies (and sisters?) with PTSD after seeing a dead animal? Its not like he has an emotional attachment to this random animal, its just unidentifiable fur and blood. Im almost embarrassed for them.

Take the car out to a yard, put on overalls and goggles, get a power hose and just keep blasting away. Then take off the undertray and do it again. Sort out your own problems. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Ive seen worse Try cleaning birds out of a jet engine after a bird strike.

Nobody can answer because yer mechanic should clean it or yourself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

In future it's worth giving a few raps on the bonnet and if you can let the car slide back an inch or two before starting, especially on colder mornings. My neighbours have a couple of tabbys and if they're not at my back door when I take the cars out they are usually tucked up in the car from the previous evening and the noise/jolt sends them running.

My parents feed an old stray cat. Last Christmas we were all getting a lift from my sister down to the local and half way down the road heard a few thuds under the car. I looked out the back windows to see the stray rolling along down the road before regaining his balance and shooting back towards the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Ill clean it €200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Ill clean it €200

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I can't say I've ever heard of anyone who specialises in removing dead animals from car engines. I don't suppose a dog would do it?

I really don't see the humour about this and why people should joke about it, it's a poor animal and maybe someone's pet.

I don't think people would think it so funny if it was a dog.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I really don't see the humour about this and why people should joke about it, it's a poor animal and maybe someone's pet.

I don't think people would think it so funny if it was a dog.

Cat - catalytic converter is the basis of the jokes.

Outside of that, it's now a purely practical matter of getting the dead body parts out of the engine

If I can't find my 2 cats if it's wet or cold they are usually hiding in the CRV, I open the bonnet and sure enough there they are looking out at me. SO I always bang on the bonnet or bip the horn just in case another cat is in there.

I never allow my cats out all night because despite what people think cats don't run around all night, after a few hours they look for somewhere to sleep, usually somewhere snug and engines are a big attraction due to the heat.

I wish car manufacturers would make it harder for small animals to get into the engine.

Stheno wrote: »
    Cat - catalytic converter is the basis of the jokes.

Outside of that, it's now a purely practical matter of getting the dead body parts out of the engine

Well it isn't really funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Matt Simis wrote: »
    . but seriously this thread. How many grown men in this story are running off to their mammies (and sisters?) with PTSD after seeing a dead animal? Its not like he has an emotional attachment to this random animal, its just unidentifiable fur and blood. Im almost embarrassed for them.

Take the car out to a yard, put on overalls and goggles, get a power hose and just keep blasting away. Then take off the undertray and do it again. Sort out your own problems. :rolleyes:

Your brother or his mechanic needs to man up!

Yes it is:p

I can see why it's not as a cat lover, I kept mine indoors at all times when I had cats, but on a motors forum it's pretty inevitable.

most people who don't have cats/haven't had one crawl into their engine bay, wouldn't know that cats are prone to this.