Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going on holidays, leave the kids at home.

• 28-08-2013 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

I was talking to a man recently and he proceeded to tell me that he was just back from a two week holiday.
    I asked him how he got on with the kids a 5 year old and 2 year old and he replied that he didn’t bring them because sure they would only ruin their holiday.
    I couldn’t believe him and told him I hoped he would rue the day he didn’t spend time with his kids.
    The most amazing aspect to this is that he spends most of his time travelling and gets not so much time with his kids. Any weekend he is home he is out golfing or going to football matches.
    When I go with my children we arrange almost everything around the kids, travel times, accommodation, entertainment and climate, but we don’t care as it will come a day when they won’t want to come with us.
    I can understand people when on holiday putting the children into kids clubs for a few hours while they relax as no doubt the kids will be entertained, but this to me is very selfish parenting.
    What’s your thoughts on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

KEVIN!

Oh, he purposely left them at home? I though he was just a forgetful guy, with hilarious and surprisingly violent results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I was talking to a man recently and he proceeded to tell me that he was just back from a two week holiday.
    I asked him how he got on with the kids a 5 year old and 2 year old and he replied that he didn’t bring them... but this to me is very selfish parenting.

I think couples are perfectly entitled to holidays away from their children. You're not solely defined as a parent once you have children, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Fair play to him, he thinks his kids are a pain in the ar$e and he's not afraid to admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Leftist wrote: »
    Fair play to him, he thinks his kids are a pain in the ar$e and he's not afraid to admit it.

If he doesn't want to be around them, then they are probably better off with him not around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

id love a holiday without the kids, jesus would i.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

Depends on what you want from a holiday. My biggest bugbear is seeing small kids being dragged around holiday resort bars at all hours of the night by selfish parents. Either bring a babysitter on hols, don't go out late while on hols or leave the kids at home.

I've been invited to a wedding in Vegas next year - we hummed and haa-ed for ages before deciding that we will not go (our unborn child will be only 6 months old) If we were going to go, we wouldn't be bringing the kid as Vegas isn't really kid-friendly. I might go on a short trip sans kids in the future.

He'll probably spend his old age wondering why his kids never visit him. They won't be visiting because they won't really know him. And what they do know of him is that he put himself first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

3DataModem wrote: »
    If he doesn't want to be around them, then they are probably better off with him not around them.

don't worry, in 8/10 years they'll be out and about the housing estate looking for attention the only way they can because they didn't get it in the crucial years.

because daddy sees his kids as status objects and he cba being around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Mind your own business.

It has nothing to do with you how others raise their kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

I would never bring children on holiday with me.
    Mainly because i don't have any and they would wreck my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Mind your own business.

It has nothing to do with you how others raise their kids.

you left them behind to didn't you ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I asked him how he got on with the kids a 5 year old and 2 year old and he replied that he didn’t bring them because sure they would only ruin their holiday.
    What an ass, he should bring the kids on holiday and leave them there on his return. That's how you permanently solve annoying children problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

So OP you're saying once you become a parent you can't still have a life?

Feck that! I'd do holidays with and without the kids :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I don't have kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I ...told him I hoped he would rue the day he didn’t spend time with his kids.

What a horrible horrible thing to say to someone. Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

you'd wonder if this has been a long time coming, maybe money issues and paying for 4 people would have been too much and it had been years and years since they had any sort of couples time together without the children?

i think everyone is entitled to leave their children at home when holidaying. Presumably they were staying with Granny/Grandad or something for the 2 weeks. perfectly acceptable. i dont see the problem at all really.

it certainly doesn't make them bad parents in my opinion.

sure what about the scenario of unwed parents who then marry when the kids are 5/6 or older - they'd be leaving them at home for a honeymoon - nobody would say anything about it then....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

So enjoying time together with just your partner is bad and you should never let your children out of your sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

depends on the holiday and the childminding situation.

Grandparents have a farm and would love to see more of the kids?

for a wee weekend break maybe?

sound like a potential win/win situation

if it's the ONLY holiday, and the kids are miserable at home, then that's different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

He could have been giving his wife a break from minding the kids all the time and doing the holiday for her, I can understand parents wanting to get away together for a holiday without kids that young to appreciate the holiday abroad. Cost could play a small role aswell, Its not like kids that young were locked in the basement while they were away on their holidays enjoying themselves, they were proabably cared for by the relatives or grandparents or whatever. Anyways its up to whatever the parents want to do, not the neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

nikpmup wrote: »
    Depends on what you want from a holiday. My biggest bugbear is seeing small kids being dragged around holiday resort bars at all hours of the night by selfish parents. Either bring a babysitter on hols, don't go out late while on hols or leave the kids at home.

BANG ON!

I wouldn't go on a two week sojourn without my kids, the odd weekend yes of course I would, but not for two weeks, and there is NO way I'd be dragging them around all the bars. We go to a place that's kid friendly, they do stay up later than usual, and when they're in bed we have a beer on the balcony, remembering going on the p1ss when we were younger.

Even when it comes to them being in the pool, we're in it with them playing with them. That's what they're gonna remember when they're choosing between the good and the bad nursing home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Oh come on, they're young enough not to be bothered aren't they? I would do the same if I was in their situation, assuming he didn't leave them in the house alone for the fortnight I really don't see that counting as bad parenting! Anyway don't kids love going 'on their holidays' to their grandparents or whatever if the parents are going to a wedding or travelling for work, if the grandparents or whoever is looking after the kids are ok with the situation then what's the problem?
    Totally hypothetically speaking but I'm pretty sure I'd be a much better parent after a kid-free fortnight in the sun, bliss! Everyone's a winner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

I wouldn't imagine going on a holiday without my kid .

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I am very very much looking forward to a week away in America next year without the 4 and 1 year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I'm guessing that at other times the children go on holidays and leave the parents at home.
    If that is not the case, then I'd say the parents are treating themselves and ignoring the children's holiday needs.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

diomed wrote: »
    holiday needs.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Heres the secret, your kids are actually just a pain in the hole to the rest of the world. rare indeed is the parent who realizes that themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

You are wrong and you should mind your own business.

diomed wrote: »
    I'm guessing that at other times the children go on holidays and leave the parents at home.

Yes, like 5 and 2 year olds the world over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

His kids are probably annoying little feckers.

Just continue on enjoying your own kids company, and worry about providing a good life for them.

Dont be minding what other people do with their children. Simply love and enjoy your own.

His kids are probably annoying little feckers.

They all are, not always, but when they are they are short evil little psychos who'd wreck your head...

Having said that though, they are also great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Looking back I wasn't too impressed going overseas with the parents.
    Didn't speak the lingo, didn't like the food, didn't know anyone etc etc

Once I was in my teens I enjoyed it more, except for the ****ing tent camping trips arrgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭moochers

My two boys spend four weeks of the summer on their grandparent's farm. Of course I miss them but I really enjoy the break too. They love it and often when I ring them they are too busy farming/making dens to even talk to me. Which I think is fantastic because it means they are having a great time.

Children's ages can influence holiday plans too. My two are almost 11 and 12 which means you can pretty much take them everywhere and you are not confined to the routine of naptime/ bedtime etc, plus you can do more activities.

Every parent knows that their lives usually constantly revolve around their children anyway so I think parents are more than entitled to take holidays without their children. As the other posts stated it's not like the kids are left neglected at home and parent's need a break too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Probably right judging by the replys here that its each to their own on how to raise your kids.
    Must tell this to the OH who decided he was being selfish.

Probably right judging by the replys here that its each to their own on how to raise your kids.

What?

Did the other half send you on here with this complaint?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

nikpmup wrote: »
    I've been invited to a wedding in Vegas next year - we hummed and haa-ed for ages before deciding that we will not go (our unborn child will be only 6 months old) If we were going to go, we wouldn't be bringing the kid as Vegas isn't really kid-friendly. I might go on a short trip sans kids in the future.

Unborn eh, all the best with pregnancy but trust me a little break after 6 months of sleepless nights is pure heaven. I'm sure granny would be amenable. :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

If I want to go on holidays for a week or two without children, then I'm 100% entitled to. If you or anyone else have a problem with that, take your giant nose and **** off out my business that never concerned you in the first place. Ftr, I don't have children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Jake1 wrote: »
    Did the other half send you on here with this complaint?? :)

Not at all. we were discussing it but I wanted a wider view on the topic.
    Expanding my horizons and all that.

MadsL wrote: »
    Unborn eh, all the best with pregnancy but trust me a little break after 6 months of sleepless nights is pure heaven. I'm sure granny would be amenable. :D

With ya on that one, short breaks throughout the year are always something to look forward to. In as much as I love my kids I do enjoy my time away from them (god bless grandparents the world over).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

I couldn’t believe him and told him I hoped he would rue the day he didn’t spend time with his kids.
    The most amazing aspect to this is that he spends most of his time travelling and gets not so much time with his kids. Any weekend he is home he is out golfing or going to football matches.
    When I go with my children we arrange almost everything around the kids, travel times, accommodation, entertainment and climate, but we don’t care as it will come a day when they won’t want to come with us.
    I can understand people when on holiday putting the children into kids clubs for a few hours while they relax as no doubt the kids will be entertained, but this to me is very selfish parenting.

Two weeks is a bit much to leave young kids imo
    The fact he spends so much time away from them means he has no idea what to do when he is with them, he will probably be better with them when they get a bit older.

Not all parents are the same OP.

Not at all. we were discussing it but I wanted a wider view on the topic.
    Expanding my horizons and all that.

Bit late considering you've already been a complete dick to the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

i agree with the OP

Goinga way for a short holiday is ok but a 2 week annual holiday leaving your kids at home is selfish

I can't believe people here agree with the sentiment fo leaving yoru kids behind - cos I'm assuming after 2 weeks in ibiza at peak season that the kids won't be brought away this year and that's teh actions of a cnut.
    Considering he could afford a holiday for himself.

exceptions being something like a wedding or honeymoon but if it was the normal annual holiday then I think the family should go.

I'm assuming after 2 weeks in ibiza at peak season that the kids won't be brought away this year and that's teh actions of a cnut.
    Considering he could afford a holiday for himself.

exceptions being something like a wedding or honeymoon but if it was the normal annual holiday then I think the family should go.

Fairly massive assumption to make there - who says it's the only holiday of the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,639 ✭✭✭✭road_high

My parents never brought us unless the odd trip in Ireland. Why would they have? Would have cost them a bloody fortune plus the hassle of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Alright going away for a weekend together without the kids but a two week holiday?!
    Our young fella would never forgive us if we did that to him! We got away with it for our honeymoon a few years ago cos he was in school for the week we were away and it was our honeymoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

My parents sometimes brought us and sometimes left us at home, there was never an question of 'never forgiving' them, we were brought up to accept that sometimes we all went away as a family, sometimes we kids went to stay with aunts and uncles, sometimes Mam and Dad went abroad without us. I suppose it all depends how you're brought up. Different strokes for different folks. I wouldn't imagine staying with other family for a week or two at the age of 2 or 5 is going to have a long-term impact on the child, in fact it might help prevent kids from getting too clingy and needy (as opposed to normally, acceptably attached to his/her parents).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

MadsL wrote: »

Granny is more than amenable, but Vegas is just a bit too far away. I'd have no problem going for a few nights somewhere in Ireland - I've about 10 years of babysitting favours racked up with my sister - baba will be having lots of sleepovers at its cousins :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Maybe it wasn't his family holiday and he went somewhere with the kids st another time in the year.

Personally I wouldn't dream of taking my main holiday without the kids but I like breaks away from them.