Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corrib Village

• 27-08-2013 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

My 17 year old daughter has been accepted to study in NUIG. I am wondering about accomodation options for her. She wants to stay in Corrib Village as some acquaintances of hers are staying there. However I have heard from other parents that the "nightlife" in Corrib Village is very raucous.

My daughter does not drink nor do I want her to start so I feel Corrib Village would be the wrong location for her to stay. She is in Galway to study and will be given a small allowance for one night out per month as I feel this is sufficient.

Are there any non alcoholic residences like there are in UCC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

Hahah Im sorry but this has to be a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

If shes attending this year then she's waaay to late for accomadation in corrib village..and id say shes pushing it for any other student accomodation as most are booked up well in advance..no where is really alcohol free up here..you just have to hope that you've taught your daughter enough sense and not go too mental..shes also just not there to study but to gain some independence afterall she will be an adult soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Doris300

Don't think so. The drinking culture is unavoidable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Eogclouder

Mary64 wrote: »

My 17 year old daughter has been accepted to study in NUIG. I am wondering about accomodation options for her. She wants to stay in Corrib Village as some acquaintances of hers are staying there. However I have heard from other parents that the "nightlife" in Corrib Village is very raucous.

My daughter does not drink nor do I want her to start so I feel Corrib Village would be the wrong location for her to stay. She is in Galway to study and will be given a small allowance for one night out per month as I feel this is sufficient.

There are stricter communities that make it harder to have people over etc, but none are alcohol free.

To be blunt, your daughter is becoming an adult and you have to let go at some point. She needs the freedom to try things for herself, gain her own life experience and grow as a person. Galway is a very safe city in general, she'll make a ton of friends and have a great time.

Also, I think being this strict on her will likely just lead her to rebel against you and go way more off the rails than if you'd just been fair and upfront

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

This HAS to be a wind up.

In case it is not, there are religious cults institutions that have residences near campus. one is

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=695806

I don't know if it's alcohol free but they have curfews and other things like that that go a long way to giving students the full college experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Mary64

Thank you for your kind reply Squeeonline.

Ros Geal is the type of accomodation I was hoping for. Has anybody stayed here before? While I trust my child not to be out late at night the curfew would be good for her and other peoples safety and not making me worry about her.

Hi I just read the other responses. While I appreciate some students go to university for a constant party my daughter is going at considerable expense to our family so she will not be partaking in a party lifestyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

Thank you for your kind reply Squeeonline.

Ros Geal is the type of accomodation I was hoping for. Has anybody stayed here before? While I trust my child not to be out late at night the curfew would be good for her and other peoples safety and not making me worry about her.

This is a joke right? Galway is probably the safest city in Ireland. Literally never had a problem in town.
    How exactly is a curfew going to make her safer? If I ended up in one of those religious places I would be through the window every night.
    If anything OP sounds nervous about the child going to uni and either doesn't trust her or is unable to cut the apron strings.

Hi I just read the other responses. While I appreciate some students go to university for a constant party my daughter is going at considerable expense to our family so she will not be partaking in a party lifestyle.

I think you need to realise that socialising is an important part of the university experience. It does not have to be an expensive side. It helps people build contacts and friends that they will sustain through life after university. Many jobs are word of mouth and recommendations by friends. friends who feel relaxed when they socialise.
    Your daughter doesn't have to go mad. I worked solidly and was top of my class nearly every year and graduated top of my class. I had a healthy work/social balance. IMO impossible to have one without the other. Last year when I was looking for some work experience I simply put a comment on facebook and all the people I met in uni saw it. I had a job interview in less than 3 hours. I didn't even go mad with drinking. Some do and they generally fail or come bottom. I had a few pints in the week and apart from that it was minerals and home around 12 or 1.

Thank you for your reply saltyjack silverblade. For me socialising = drinking and we have told her she should not start when she turns 18 due to the risks associated with it.

Regarding jobs I hope she becomes a national school teacher after her Arts course so she will gain work experience through that course.

Thank you for your reply saltyjack silverblade. For me socialising = drinking and we have told her she should not start when she turns 18 due to the risks associated with it.

Regarding jobs I hope she becomes a national school teacher after her Arts course so she will gain work experience through that course.

Every society and club will go for drinks after. You don't have to have alcohol. If you equate socialising with drinking then your daughter could end up very lonely and isolated which could have even worse problems associated with it. As your daughter is nearly 18 I think you should trust her. If she is not capable of making decisions now then she may never be.
    On a side note I used to be involved with the mentor programme. I remember parents coming in with their kids on the first day. Honestly from moment one their adult children were set apart from everyone else and found it harder to mix. There is a time in someone's life when you need to back off but be involved.
    i think your fear of her drinking is outweighing the reality of her not socialising. A balance is possible, which you can help her with, but ultimately she has to find on her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Eogclouder

I feel sorry for this girl, must suck for your mom to plan your life for you.

I also hope you havnt made your daughter feel guilty for going to college due to the financial strains it may bring on your household.. If shes doing arts then she can possibly get a part time job to help fund her own social life if all she's allowed is one night out a month..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

In case it is not, there are religious cults institutions that have residences near campus. one is

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=695806

Jesus, I recognise that building but never knew it was a cult house! :eek:

While I trust my child not to be out late at night the curfew would be good for her and other peoples safety and not making me worry about her.

Ah come on now, she's 17. Not a child for much longer. She'll be able to do what she wants!

OP, I know a few people who started college as non drinkers, stayed in Corrib and came out of it the other end.

If you don't think she's responsible enough to make her own decisions then maybe it would be best for her to take a year out and get a job and mature a bit (Which would also reduce the financial strain on the family, college is a massive expense for ANY family).

First year should serve as a year where students find their feet in a new city and make new friends. Having restrictions won't do anybody any good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 kateom

if your daughter wants to drop out of corrib village and move somewhere else id be grateful to take her place there as i was too late booking! :p

Hi kateom luckily she was never was on the list so that option has been gladly ruled.

To those that are saying I am strict I do not agree. I was brought up with a good sense of my morality thank God from my parents and I want to pass that onto my daughter and all my children. This should not change just because she is attending university or is turning 18 later this year. There would not be as many teenage pregnancies if other parents protected and looked after their children too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

There would not be as many teenage pregnancies if other parents protected and looked after their children too.

1157649_10151790797809670_987773153_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

The troll in this one is good. Very good.

Nal wrote: »
    The troll in this one is good. Very good.

I really REALLY hope you're right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Hi kateom luckily she was never was on the list so that option has been gladly ruled.

To those that are saying I am strict I do not agree. I was brought up with a good sense of my morality thank God from my parents and I want to pass forcethat onto my daughter and all my children. This should not change just because she is attending university or is turning 18 later this year. There would not be as many teenage pregnancies if other parents protected and looked after their children too.

Your child is becoming an adult. Maybe you should make her stay at home for another few years until you feel she is responsible enough for college as you seem to have trust issues with her. From my experience the people who had strict parents were the ones that would rebel and actually cause the opposite of what the parents wanted.

Best chance for accommodation would be shared housing in daft, I would start now so the other tenants can send you their references for you to check and make sure they wont lead your daughter astray.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

Whats her number? I'll look after her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Eogclouder wrote: »
    I feel sorry for this girl, must suck for your mom to plan your life for you.

So a mother can't offer guidance or have a hope ( that's the word she used ) for the daughter she has raised in stretched financial circumstances, as I'm to understand. I hope it stays fine for you when YOU become a parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Ernesto Guevara

................ Few naggins, be grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

She will be given a small allowance for one night out per month as I feel this is sufficient.

I would have to say that one night out per month is far too little. People who are studying hard need breaks and need social interaction. I appreciate what you say about money, but if at all possible a way should be found to increase this to one night per week at the very, very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

To those that are saying I am strict I do not agree. I was brought up with a good sense of my morality thank God from my parents and I want to pass that onto my daughter and all my children. This should not change just because she is attending university or is turning 18 later this year. There would not be as many teenage pregnancies if other parents protected and looked after their children too.

Absolutely ludicrous stuff, I hope you're having us all on. How do you expect her to be a teacher, standing in front of a classroom full of children when she hasn't developed the social skills required? 1 night out a month is bizarre. Putting her in a place like Ros Gheal would be, to put it bluntly, social suicide.

College isn't all about the grades, it's about growing as a person, making friends, joining clubs and socs that are of interest to you. By not letting her go out, straight away she will be in the minority. She has to grow up sometime. I was 17 for the whole of first year, living at home but still enjoyed it greatly due to pretty liberal parents, new friends and my ID-making skills. I like to drink, I like to get drunk, but I'm doing a HDip now. Drinking doesn't equate bad grades if you put the work in.

Your comment about teen pregnancies is one I found quite funny.

To be honest, you may as well send her to the Poor Clares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

WallyGUFC wrote: »

To be honest, you may as well send her to the Poor Clares.

By the sounds of it, the laundries are more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Trololol

Thank you for all the ADVICE. We were in Galway yesterday and luckily a friend of my friend recommended digs accommodation in a nice family home in Salthill sharing with a another nice young girl too.

She will get 2 meals a day there which will help cost wise too and has to come home at weekends. No alcohol is allowed on the residence either which is good as other girl unfortunately is a drinker but there is a 11.30pm curfew.

To the teacher that likes to get drunk I don't think that is appropriate when working with young people. Teachers should set good examples.

THANKING EVERYONE ELSE FOR kind replies.

Thank you for all the ADVICE. We were in Galway yesterday and luckily a friend of my friend recommended digs accommodation in a nice family home in Salthill sharing with a another nice young girl too.

She will get 2 meals a day there which will help cost wise too and has to come home at weekends. No alcohol is allowed on the residence either which is good as other girl unfortunately is a drinker but there is a 11.30pm curfew.

To the teacher that likes to get drunk I don't think that is appropriate when working with young people. Teachers should set good examples.

THANKING EVERYONE ELSE FOR kind replies.

Do you really expect your daughter to go through college life without drinking or are you just taking the piss. Your puritanical views are simply ridiculous.

To the teacher that likes to get drunk I don't think that is appropriate when working with young people. Teachers should set good examples..

Jaysus mary (if that is your real name) he says he likes a drink, he's not breathing whiskey fumes over the little ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭mikeyod123

No alcohol is allowed on the residence either which is good as other girl unfortunately is a drinker but there is a 11.30pm curfew.

youd swear that she needs to go to rehab or something, just cause someone drinks doesnt mean theyre going to have a terrible influence on your daughter. i think youre crazy to be honest

mikeyod123 wrote: »
    youd swear that she needs to go to rehab or something, just cause someone drinks doesnt mean theyre going to have a terrible influence on your daughter. i think youre crazy to be honest

I second that :D

Hi I am only concerned my daughter doesn't get in with a bad crowd. I've heard stories on radio and from a friend about young people being addicted to drugs and alcohol and everyone knows students drink too much. I don't want her to go down that path so we've told her not to drink and stay out of pubs.

It is a big move for her adjusting to life in a big city too but at least she'll be safe at home every weekend when most drinking occurs.

Hi I am only concerned my daughter doesn't get in with a bad crowd. I've heard stories on radio and from a friend about young people being addicted to drugs and alcohol and everyone knows students drink too much. I don't want her to go down that path so we've told her not to drink and stay out of pubs.

It is a big move for her adjusting to life in a big city too but at least she'll be safe at home every weekend when most drinking occurs.

Erm not everyone does drugs and she can go into pubs and not drink you know, I wonder does your daughter agree with these regulations :P

just like youre daughter most other college students go home at the weekends aswell. during the week when everyone is in college is when the drinking occurs. its like you expect her to have no social life and itll be very hard for her to meet anyone with all youre restrictions on her life

Hi. She is a sensible child and we have her warned not to.

...... I give up :P

its the type of person you cant win an argument against :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

You must not feed the trolls children :P

mikeyod123 wrote: »
    its the type of person you cant win an argument against :rolleyes:

Exactly :D

You must not feed the trolls children :P

Awwhh but I like feeding the trolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

FAKE

you sound like the mother from Carrie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Something about this seems genuine. Not inflammatory enough for a troll. A troll would insinuate much more aggressively that we are all alcoholics.

i think she thinks who ever drinks atall is an alcoholic :pac:

But there are some people with that view.

Would the OP please enlighten us as to her rational? I want to give her the benefit of the doubt but short comments that are frankly insulting to pretty much everybody are making that hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 skerka91

Regardless of the drinking scene attached to any Corrib Village ,I would not personally advise you to spend your money on what they claim to be luxury accommodation. I once visited a friend who had mold nearly covering half the window in there kitchen, she complained it was noise y most of the time and they weren't even supplied with half the necessary utensils and if anything gets broken it has to be replaced an they will charge you double what it was worth. I would not go near Corrib Village,my friend only stayed for her first year as her parents though it would be the best ,but they show you a lovely picture on their website and usually show you of a showrooms such and then once you put down the payment ship you into another apartment with four more people that's not half as nice as what you thought it would be.

Your daughter is going to be adult and they're is plenty of people her age that CHOOSE not to drink, but if she wants to then it's HER CHOICE, I'm sure your daughter is a very smart girl and you should trust her to act maturely and if she chooses to drink to she will do so wisely. But then again part of growing up is making mistakes and having fun, she can do that with or without alcohol but dont go too mad if she is having a few drinks with her friends,more than once a month, are you serious a pioneer gets more nights out than that !!!my year in Galway was the best year of my life and a massive learning experience, i still passed everything and managed to get into my course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Well, does anyone else feel offended by the OP's tone?

Highly which is why its likely a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

Sound like an episode of Breaking Amish...

Ahahahahaha