Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE chief to revamp the late late show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

First thing he should do is ditch the weekly misery slot, if that means cutting the show by half and hour go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I think the real life interviews aka the "misery slot" is one of the main things the late late has going for it really. Those tired celeb interviews where they say the same things they say in every interview and never surprise us are just dull. The grittier stuff adds a bit of much needed light and shade dynamic to the proceedings. It needs that to ground in it reality/relatability.It's never really maudlin depressing for the sake of it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Last thing people want to see on a friday night is misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Ditch the crappy tabloid style guests.
    Ditch the rte canteen guests who are promoting their new rte show or book.

When you have high class guests on try not to insult them or annoy them (Juliette Binoche/Denzel Washington)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Last thing people want to see on a friday night is misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

amdublin wrote: »
    Ditch the crappy tabloid style guests.
    Ditch the rte canteen guests who are promoting their new rte show or book.

When you have high class guests on try not to insult them or annoy them (Juliette Binoche/Denzel Washington)
    Above all, do not ask them about their 'oirish' roots or how much they luuuuv coming to 'Oirland'. It makes me cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

New sponsor is Sky Broadband ... I would have thought they would have wanted their own tooooootally extrawwwwdinary presenter Craig Doyle...

Tubridy's been given a good few goes at it at this stage, it's time for somebody else.. Somebody with a sense of humour..

Careful what you wish for (and I mean that quite genuinely). Tubridy just needs to loosen up a bit. Someone should drop a couple of yokes into his jar of sweets before the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

New sponsor is Sky Broadband ... I would have thought they would have wanted their own tooooootally extrawwwwdinary presenter Craig Doyle...

Craig advertises Sky's biggest competitor, UPC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

just replace it with the graham norton show

evilivor wrote: »
    Craig advertises Sky's biggest competitor, UPC.

Yep, you're right... I meant we should have George Hook hosting it.. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Mmm...needs less Twink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Definitely less misery and less promotion of RTE staff and whatever they happen to be flogging.

I know I'm in the minority here on boards in thinking that Tubridy is alright- not brilliant, but he doesn't bother me that much. It just gets so frustrating seeing them wheeling in RTE staff week in week out. And I don't mind serious topics as such, but the really tragic stories every week are a bit much. People have enough misery in their lives as it is, when they put the telly on on a Friday night they want a distraction from that.

I know it'll never be as funny or light hearted as Graham Norton, but in fairness it's not supposed to be and never was, even in its heyday. But it definitely needs a lift alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 CoolioIglesias

For God's sake, please axe this muck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Can they not just get rid of Tubs, it's embarrassing now how every August/September he basically admits how shíte he's been so far and promises that this year will be the one where he finally gets good. It's about time RTÉ just accept that they backed a loser and give someone with an ounce of talent and personality a crack at the job. I want to start a tradition of watching the toy show with my son but I don't want to have to sit through two hours of watching that charisma vacuum.

iguana wrote: »
    Can they not just get rid of Tubs, it's embarrassing now how every August/September he basically admits how shíte he's been so far and promises that this year will be the one where he finally gets good. It's about time RTÉ just accept that they backed a loser and give someone with an ounce of talent and personality a crack at the job. I want to start a tradition of watching the toy show with my son but I don't want to have to sit through two hours of watching that charisma vacuum.

It's not just Tubridy (although his annual excuses and promises are cringe-worthy). It's impossible to make an entertaining show when your guest list consists mainly of some English soap "star", a GAA person, someone from the X-Factor, whoever happened to be strolling the corridors of RTE on a Friday evening, somebody with a seriously ill child, and whoever Louis Walsh happens to be pimping at any given time.

Tubridy isn't suited to the show in its current form, but if they insist on keeping him, they should give him more control over it (I mean, Gay Byrne produced and presented). Tubridy Tonight was infinitely better - partly because most of the guests were the sort of people who he liked interviewing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Tubridy's Late Late Show has been on a downhill slide the last two seasons (he made a better effort in his first two) with the season just gone being the poorest one ever for the show's entire history. We need less of the likes of Westlife, Nicky Byrne, Louis Walsh, Boyzone, Ronan Keating, Ruby Walsh, and especially Twink. But what will we get for the first show next week? I'm pretty sure Nicky Byrne will be on it! Twink will pop up at some stage too and all the others and this is supposed to be a revamp!

RTE's chatshows in general tend to be one extreme or the other: grim and negative (for example, The Frontline - gone but not missed!) or very silly. Tubridy's show is to be the epitome of the latter. RTE needs to get well away from negative political discussions (way too much of this) and also from silly airhead interviews (Tubridy should talk to his guests about what they are famous for, not about their babies!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

I think the running time needs to be cut drastically. There's about an hour or so of content to be had from 2/3 decent interviews, some music and few competitions to both audiences happy. Anything longer than that and they'll be resorting to the RTE canteen/ Z list phone book to see who is free that particular Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I would to like to wait & see until after the Testimonial Special for Brian O'Driscoll would go first & then go from there.

It will be Tubridy's last gasp attempt to make it better in this year's late late season.

Otherwise it is bye-bye Tubridy.

Whether it is Tubridy himself or the show in general, it definitely needs a revamp. As said, the same guests year in year out need to be changed especially Twink all that boyband/Louis Walsh stuff too. Everyone incl. Tubridy agree that the show is way too long. Brendan O'Connor's Saturday show is way shorter and more enjoyable.

Last season, I think I only sat through 1 complete show. The rest had guests on that I had seen too often and overall it was a very poor season. Another annoying thing with Tubridy is his baby talk to everyone! No doubt, he will be asking Brian O'Driscoll about his baby moreso than about rugby wait and see!

I will watch the first few shows this season and then will judge how the season goes. It cannot be any worse than last season, then again it may not be any better either!

The nadir of last season was Tubridy's interview with Nigella Lawson where he kept saying to her that he could bake a cake for her (Tubridy sounded like an annoying drunk). She was obviously annoyed by him but too polite to say anything! What the point of this was is anyone's guess. Was Tubridy high on something or was he trying to be smart of funny? Either way, this was the lowest point in a very poor season.

I would to like to wait & see until after the Testimonial Special for Brian O'Driscoll would go first & then go from there.

It will be Tubridy's last gasp attempt to make it better in this year's late late season.

Otherwise it is bye-bye Tubridy.

Tubridy used the settling in excuse before and keeps saying he will make the show his own in the new season. Ironically, this does not add up with the evidence. Tubridy's show was better in his first two seasons and starting going downhill in his third season and his fourth (last year) was very very poor. He is getting worse not better.

In the last 2 years, he has pestered guests with inane talk akin to a drunken fool (e.g. Nigella Lawson), lost control (several times: notably with Cuba Gooding Jr), talked about everything to a guest (mainly baby talk) other than what the guest is famous for (e.g. Michael Buble) and fawned all over the likes of One Direction and Louis Walsh's projects. His interview with Tom Cruise was very poor (I would think Gaybo or Pat Kenny would have been far superior here).

But, supposing if Tubridy was to go, who would replace him? Brendan O'Connor does a good job on Saturday but I can't see RTE giving the Friday gig to a Cork man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I just read the RTE Guide interview with Tubridy with himself on the front cover.

He doesn't mention anything about the New Format for the new season of the Late Late. He may had to keep it top secret as the story of it's new format could impinge anarchy via the Irish Media.

Also the date for the new Late Late Show season is starting on Friday the 6th of September; not the 8th.

However if it doesn't work & continues with the same old, same old as last year. Well the answer is to get him out of there & replace him with someone else. Simple.

I just read the RTE Guide interview with Tubridy with himself on the front cover.

He doesn't mention anything about the New Format for the new season of the Late Late. He may had to keep it top secret as the story of it's new format could impinge anarchy via the Irish Media.

Also the date for the new Late Late Show season is starting on Friday the 6th of September; not the 8th.

However if it doesn't work & continues with the same old, same old as last year. Well the answer is to get him out of there & replace him with someone else. Simple.

The so-called 'reform' of the show will just be words. I really can't see a drastic change in the guests or in how Tubridy interviews them. We will know if the show is truly reformed when we can have a year without Twink, Louis Walsh promoted boybands and baby talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

that is 100% true...every autumn and every jnlr's he's the same.."er have a new crew now..."
    How many "crews" have been fired to try and make him look good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The format is shagged but the audiences still tune in, anyone with half a brain can see a snappy 60 minutes beats a flaccid two hours but the advertisers rule and they want their small cars, washing powder and burgers experienced by as many people as possible on a Friday evening. Nothing will change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

RayM wrote: »
    Careful what you wish for (and I mean that quite genuinely). Tubridy just needs to loosen up a bit. Someone should drop a couple of yokes into his jar of sweets before the show.

Tubs has had plenty of opportunities to loosen up, he just phails at television. On radio he is like a different person.
    It's not just Tubridy (although his annual excuses and promises are cringe-worthy). It's impossible to make an entertaining show when your guest list consists mainly of some English soap "star", a GAA person, someone from the X-Factor, whoever happened to be strolling the corridors of RTE on a Friday evening, somebody with a seriously ill child, and whoever Louis Walsh happens to be pimping at any given time.

With a smaller budget, Gay Byrne managed to make an entertaining show with just that. As a result of being able to make Twink shine, actual celebrities wanted to go on the Late Late because Gay made them look good. Tubs made Tom Cruise look bat sh!te crazy when he was on, and so he won't be coming back. Yes I know Tom Cruise is bat sh!te crazy, but a better TV presenter would have managed to not make it appear so blatant. A better presenter would have axed Cuba Gooding Jr after seeing he was coked to the gills in the green room, and a better presenter would have asked some tough questions to the Taoiseach of an ailing economy, and not asked him did he drink alot and pretend it was a hard hitting interview. Irishman drinks a lot shocker.
    The format is shagged but the audiences still tune in, anyone with half a brain can see a snappy 60 minutes beats a flaccid two hours but the advertisers rule and they want their small cars, washing powder and burgers experienced by as many people as possible on a Friday evening. Nothing will change.

The audience has shrunk though. I stopped watching it, my parents stopped watching it, a few people I know stopped watching it. Nowadays, id rather stick on a movie on Friday evening than suffer 2 hours of Tubs stumbling through interviews with either people I care about, or people I don't.

who said Cuba was coked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Whether it is Tubridy himself or the show in general, it definitely needs a revamp. As said, the same guests year in year out need to be changed especially Twink all that boyband/Louis Walsh stuff too.
    The nadir of last season was Tubridy's interview with Nigella Lawson where he kept saying to her that he could bake a cake for her (Tubridy sounded like an annoying drunk). She was obviously annoyed by him but too polite to say anything!

This is the crux of the problem though. I've seen enough of his interviews with celebrities to see that he really insults and pisses off many of his best guests. Even at best most of his famous (outside of Ireland) guests look bored stiff which mightn't be so bad excpet most are on promotional tours and are interviewed by Jonathon Ross or Graham Norton the same week. And whatever your personal opinion on those two presenters most of their guests seem to have a ball on their shows so the contrast of then having to come to Ireland endure a trip to the dentist of an interview for a tiny audience must be stark. I suspect the producers have an awful time getting repeat bookings from A and B listers. And considering that a lot of celebrities share management companies it's going to be getting more and more difficult to get anyone great on.

RTÉ need to get rid of him before they irrevocably associate the show's brand with Tubs. Despite it not being my choice of show, TLLS still gets some of their best ratings so they obviously aren't going to get rid of it despite what most posters here feel. But they will unintentionally kill it if they can't get a host who celebrities, if not actually enjoy being interviewed by, aren't insulted by. I don't rate O'Connor for it either. He's not half as funny as he thinks he is and no where near smart enough for the topical or political slots. His old co-presenter from Gondolas, Seán Moncrieff, might be a better bet. He's much more genuinely funny, sharp without being a patronising dick, way, way more intelligent and quite personable for the ordinary people with a sad story bit. But RTÉ have a very 'woman scorned' attitude toward anyone who ever dared leave their hallowed grounds so when Tubs leaves we'll probably be treated to Daithí.

who said Cuba was coked?

He was on something stronger than lemsip thats for sure.

syklops wrote: »
    He was on something stronger than lemsip thats for sure.
    he's always like that...in fact it was tubs that pushed him in this case..

So you're saying tubs contributed to a bad interview? Well I never...

This is the crux of the problem though. I've seen enough of his interviews with celebrities to see that he really insults and pisses off many of his best guests. Even at best most of his famous (outside of Ireland) guests look bored stiff which mightn't be so bad excpet most are on promotional tours and are interviewed by Jonathon Ross or Graham Norton the same week. And whatever your personal opinion on those two presenters most of their guests seem to have a ball on their shows so the contrast of then having to come to Ireland endure a trip to the dentist of an interview for a tiny audience must be stark. I suspect the producers have an awful time getting repeat bookings from A and B listers. And considering that a lot of celebrities share management companies it's going to be getting more and more difficult to get anyone great on.

RTÉ need to get rid of him before they irrevocably associate the show's brand with Tubs. Despite it not being my choice of show, TLLS still gets some of their best ratings so they obviously aren't going to get rid of it despite what most posters here feel. But they will unintentionally kill it if they can't get a host who celebrities, if not actually enjoy being interviewed by, aren't insulted by. I don't rate O'Connor for it either. He's not half as funny as he thinks he is and no where near smart enough for the topical or political slots. His old co-presenter from Gondolas, Seán Moncrieff, might be a better bet. He's much more genuinely funny, sharp without being a patronising dick, way, way more intelligent and quite personable for the ordinary people with a sad story bit. But RTÉ have a very 'woman scorned' attitude toward anyone who ever dared leave their hallowed grounds so when Tubs leaves we'll probably be treated to Daithí.

More than likely, it will be Daithi we will get. Provided there isn't a person from Dublin who fits the bill that is! Brian Ormond would be the natural successor to the silly side of Tubridy and that's a scary thought if either him or Donal Skehan got it!! It would be like come back Tubridy, all is forgiven!

Sean Moncrieff is a good presenter and intelligent and informed. He is versatile and funny. He is one of many that RTE do not use to their full potential. Graham Norton and Jonathon Ross do good shows and are full of enthusiasm. They put the effort into their shows, unlike Tubridy. It is sad to see Norton, an Irish man, not employed by RTE.

Yes, I too think the show could die a slow death if it is not revamped. Tubridy has gotten worse with each season: his first season was good, the second one ok, the third one a mixed bag but edging towards poor and the fourth very poor. If either Ormond or Skehan ever got their hands on it, there would only be one season with either of them as host as they would kill it off completely. Tubridy is a sort of stepping stone between oldstyle pros like Gaybo and Pat Kenny and the new breed of airhead presenters like Skehan or Ormond. His show veers more towards the latter though.

The fact that RTE can employ people like Ormond and Skehan amazes me. These talentless people would not be on TV anywhere else.

More than likely, it will be Daithi we will get. Provided there isn't a person from Dublin who fits the bill that is! Brian Ormond would be the natural successor to the silly side of Tubridy and that's a scary thought if either him or Donal Skehan got it!! It would like come back Tubridy, all is forgiven!

Sean Moncrieff is a good presenter and intelligent and informed. He is versatile and funny. He is one of many that RTE do not use to their full potential. Graham Norton and Jonathon Ross do good shows and are full of enthusiasm. The put the effort into their shows, unlike Tubridy. It is said to see Norton, an Irish man, not employed by RTE.

Yes, I too think the show could die a slow death if it is not revamped. Tubridy has gotten worse with each season: his first season was good, the second one ok, the third one a mixed bag but edging towards poor and the fourth very poor. If either Ormond or Skehan ever got their hands on it, there would only be one season with either of them as host as they would kill it off completely. Tubridy is a sort of stepping stone between oldstyle pros like Gaybo and Pat Kenny and the new breed of airhead presenters like Skehan or Ormond. His show veers more towards the latter though.
    is there anything blander than ormonde?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I can't actually believe a few people here basically saying that Brendan O'Connor is better than Ryan Tubridy... really?!

I'd like to see Sean Moncrieff in the job, I think he'd be very good- he's warm but also witty and slightly cheeky which is what the likes of Ross and Norton are like with their guests. They're able to slightly poke fun without bruising their egos.

Meangadh wrote: »
    I can't actually believe a few people here basically saying that Brendan O'Connor is better than Ryan Tubridy... really?!

I'd like to see Sean Moncrieff in the job, I think he'd be very good- he's warm but also witty and slightly cheeky which is what the likes of Ross and Norton are like with their guests. They're able to slightly poke fun without bruising their egos.
    yeah he is in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ah, eeee, um, well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

This is the crux of the problem though. I've seen enough of his interviews with celebrities to see that he really insults and pisses off many of his best guests. Even at best most of his famous (outside of Ireland) guests look bored stiff which mightn't be so bad excpet most are on promotional tours and are interviewed by Jonathon Ross or Graham Norton the same week. And whatever your personal opinion on those two presenters most of their guests seem to have a ball on their shows so the contrast of then having to come to Ireland endure a trip to the dentist of an interview for a tiny audience must be stark.

Billy Connolly being an excellent case in point. The Friday night he appeared on the Late Late Show, some people on the thread were speculating that he was seriously ill, the interview was so dull and lifeless. The following week Connolly is a guest on the Graham Norton Show and he's the life and soul of the party again.

I remember Billy's appearance on Tubridy. Tubridy cannot get the best out of any guest and Billy was one of many who looked bored on the show. Graham Norton does a way better job and it is a shame that RTE didn't employ Norton who is a great presenter and actor too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Don't laugh, but Brendan Courtney had a short-lived TV3 chat show a few years ago, and I actually thought he was great! :eek: Would never happen though.

Sean Moncrieff would also be great, and Daithí wouldn't be half bad if he would just tone down the professional culchie schtick.

Don't laugh, but Brendan Courtney had a short-lived TV3 chat show a few years ago, and I actually thought he was great! :eek: Would never happen though.

Sean Moncrieff would also be great, and Daithí wouldn't be half bad if he would just tone down the professional culchie schtick.

Sean is very good and Daithi is too. However, I can sense that RTE would go for someone from Dublin over these for the Late Late! I may be wrong but I think that's what will happen.

I vaguely remember that. If I remember correctly, it was recorded in a pub on Mount Street.

When Tubridy leaves, I think they should just have a different guest presenter every week.

RayM wrote: »
    I vaguely remember that. If I remember correctly, it was recorded in a pub on Mount Street.

When Tubridy leaves, I think they should just have a different guest presenter every week.

Having a different presenter every week would be a good idea. You could do this as a trial for a year and then see what works best. Perhaps continue in this vein or choose the best presenters from the ones who tried it. We need it to be revamped and could be a very good way to do it.

However, I don't think we will be seeing Tubridy gone for the foreseeable anyhow. If Tubridy does leave, it will be his decision not RTE's!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Having a different presenter every week would be a good idea. You could do this as a trial for a year and then see what works best. Perhaps continue in this vein or choose the best presenters from the ones who tried it. We need it to be revamped and could be a very good way to do it.

However, I don't think we will be seeing Tubridy gone for the foreseeable anyhow. If Tubridy does leave, it will be his decision not RTE's!

Hmmmmmm, for the sake of continuity, I don't think having a different presenter each week works. It seems to work on comedy shows (HIGNFY, Buzzcocks), but for a serious chat show I can't see it working. Can you imagine a serious debate involving abortion or pedophiles and have that mad spa Hector doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

They did that before with Saturday Live - it had a series of guest presenters, including Alan Dukes, Ian Paisley's daughter Rhonda, Eamon Dunphy, Tiede Herrema and Pat Kenny. Pat did best so he got Kenny Live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CorsendonkX

is there anything blander than ormonde?

The lights are on and no one is a home too, he is just ok for interviewing kids or drugged up grannies on Big Money but I seriously wouldn't let him near a guest unless the conversation was scripted down to the last detail.

Here is how tubbers will make his entrance on the new series

BSm9IhFIUAAodVo.jpg

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Here is how tubbers will make his entrance on the new series

LOL... Jimmy borrowed my fekn photoshop...

It's certainly an accurate metaphor for what he has contributed to The Late Late Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,098 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Revamp, I doubt it. For some reason The Late Late still achieves a large audience every Friday. Some Irish people seem content to watch rubbish every week. They have lost the younger market anyway, does anyone under 35 watch it?

LOL... Jimmy borrowed my fekn photoshop...

It's certainly an accurate metaphor for what he has contributed to The Late Late Show

Seen it on twitter yesterday, epic.

Revamp, I doubt it. For some reason The Late Late still achieves a large audience every Friday. Some Irish people seem content to watch rubbish every week. They have lost the younger market anyway, does anyone under 35 watch it?

I'm under 35 and I watch it... but only so I can bitch about it on Twitter and Boards. I suspect a sizable chunk of their audience watch it for similar reasons. It always amuses me that they display the #latelate hash-tag at the start of the show, when 99% of mentions on Twitter are entirely negative.