Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

powerwashing sheds

• 25-08-2013 11:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

was talking to a lad yesterday and he doesnt powerwash any of his sheds so do ye powerwash and if not why not

Do you powerwash your sheds before animals are housed? 107 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    63% 68 votes
    other
    36% 39 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

whelan1 wrote: »
    was talking to a lad yesterday and he doesnt powerwash any of his sheds so do ye powerwash and if not why not

always powerwash the sheds especially the calving pens and calf pens. Lad i milk for had awful lice last winter and he put it down to not washing the sheds so he's washing them this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Never powerwash up to now but really should make a start. Mortellaro being the main reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Dont wash here hav'nt got the time ,i dont think its causing any problems by not washing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Started last year, never did it prior to that really. I didnt really consider it an issue for lice though. if nothing i find it gives you the incentive to keep cleaning up the place when you start. All the sheds are getting cleaned at the moment and general repair work to pens and such are being done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

caseman wrote: »
    Dont wash here hav'nt got the time ,i dont think its causing any problems by not washing.
    i dont really have time either, try to spend an hour each day at it, some nights i am out til dark just to get it done, did an hour there this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

i dont really have time either, try to spend an hour each day at it, some nights i am out til dark just to get it done, did an hour there this morning

Working of farm here and 27 bays of slatted tank to be done.
    No help it's a one man show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

Working of farm here and 27 bays of slatted tank to be done.
    No help it's a one man show.
    iv no time anymore used always do them my self
    I gave a young lad 60 euro a day and he flew true them with the pto powerwasher think I give him 360 ish in total money well spent I think hes great worker nice lad too always handy to have some one to cal for few jobs when ur stuck. said he was going to use the money for portering....luckie him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I powerwash the calving area and calf area. I don't do the cubicle shed, but sucklers here.
    I also spray area after with Jeyes Fluid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Powerwash everywhere and then spray the whole place with the knapsack with a jeyes fluid solution. Started in 02 after having BSE we had to do it robe allowed restock. Before we had an epidemic of ring worm and little if any now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Use do them myself have not the time to be wasting at it any more when there is other important stuff to be at. Get a young lad in to do them now and if i am honest he does far a better job than i ever done and it does not cost the world either. All milk stock here and would not like putting milking stock into a dirty shed we disinfect after washing to to be extra safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Its one of the most important jobs on the farm in my opinion. We didn't do them last year as animals were in and out like yo-yos all summer with the weather. Cattle got riddled with ringworm last winter. Definite link. Had major problem with rotavirus one year and started taking hygiene and disinfecting very serious after. Time and money well spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Have a Lithuanian guy that comes to me now and again. Does all my sheds, best I ever saw to get through work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Never powerwash up to now but really should make a start. Mortellaro being the main reason.

I didn't think your stock would be around long enough to be afflicted by that. A formalin and copper sulphate footbath alternate weeks before you settle them onto finishing ration would help. Powerhosing won't make much difference. Mortellaro is like wild oats there's no shifting it. It's prolonged, protracted and persistent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Power wash only individual lambing pens here, would depend on the sheeps own immunity for the rest of the sheds, I see no point if rats, birds and other wildlife have access

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

key to washing sheds is damping the sheds for 3 evenings before hand. I hot wash all the sheds. Overkill but 20e worth of kero goes a long way.

I use to work with a farmer and he even powerwashed the silage slabs. Place was as clean as most houses. No waste ever. Use to take 3/4 days to do 30 odd bays and feed passages. and 1/2 -3/4 a day to do a slab. he always said preparation was the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

key to washing sheds is damping the sheds for 3 evenings before hand. I hot wash all the sheds. Overkill but 20e worth of kero goes a long way.

I use to work with a farmer and he even powerwashed the silage slabs. Place was as clean as most houses. No waste ever. Use to take 3/4 days to do 30 odd bays and feed passages. and 1/2 -3/4 a day to do a slab. he always said preparation was the key.

Does the kerosene work out cheaper than diesel iakill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Find it a much better job to fill the slurry tanker with water the day a pen is being cleared and empty it with a 2 inch onto the slats. Makes a very light job of power washing if at all afterwards. Also worth shovelling out the dung gathering corners a couple weeks before hand so the cattle will walk it down through the slats.

Edit:
    Use the splash plate on the tanker to clean the silage slab after scraping the worst up with the bucket.
    Makes a very clean job too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Be going at slats this week, always wash silage pit too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

simx wrote: »
    Be going at slats this week, always wash silage pit too

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Small slatted unit is washed maybe every second or third year.

Calf sheds are cleaned straight away when empty, then powerwashed and sterilised just before use.

Few other straw bedded sheds are cleaned out add hock and never washed/sterilised.

I detest the tractor washer, whe whole thing is clumsy, noisy and it's a dirty job.
    We have a 6HP washer at work and it's far easier to handle. Might borrow when the time comes.

delaval wrote: »
    Why?

A piece of dirt the size of a golfball will generate waste the size of a football over the period from ensiling to feeding out is one reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Muckit wrote: »
    Does the kerosene work out cheaper than diesel iakill?

My hot wash will only accept Kero, not Derv or MGO

A piece of dirt the size of a golfball will generate waste the size of a football over the period from ensiling to feeding out is one reason.

Have to say I've never noticed this. Surely when silage pitted and air is expelled a ground level it all becomes very stable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

My hot wash will only accept Kero, not Derv or MGO

Right. Would it be cheaper ran on diesel ifIit would burn it? I've a hot washer running on green diesel no bother

Have to say I've never noticed this. Surely when silage pitted and air is expelled a ground level it all becomes very stable?

I just operate on the precautionary principle. One of the neighbours has a 4k gallon sump dug in a drain with a strong flow of water through it. 3 loads of tanker and a couple of hours and pit is clean no tearing and dragging. We were quoted a figure in college that really stuck with me that the average loss from mowing to feeding out was 27% for pit silage including harvesting losses, ensiling/poor preservation losses and general waste around feeding out from the bits that drop off the grab to what's not consumed and just dumped. Anything that can be done to reduce this is worth doing IMO. There's a good bit to be saved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Power washed the parlour for the first time in two months this morning. Makes some difference ye wouldn't think there would be as much dust on it even though i wash it down every milking.

jersey101 wrote: »
    Power washed the parlour for the first time in two months this morning. Makes some difference ye wouldn't think there would be as much dust on it even though i wash it down every milking.
    did mine last week, makes a big difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

i seem to recall from college..very vaguely mind you something about powerwashing only blowing the germs up onto walls and ceilings..still do it but its a hateful job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

i seem to recall from college..very vaguely mind you something about powerwashing only blowing the germs up onto walls and ceilings..still do it but its a hateful job

no disinfection after it??:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

loveta wrote: »
    no disinfection after it??:eek:
    ya disinfect the floor and lower walls but maybe i should be doing the roof as well ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

nope dont power wash, did it a few times but i havent found a huge difference.

clean out the calf and calving pens which are straw bedded. fresh starw put down regually during the winter. put out a disenfectant powder on the cuniles regually durign the winter too and give the walls, floors and feedign rail and shake of the powder too just before i house the cattle.

Feck you Whelan. I'd say my man here is on boards cause he has me washing cubicles while he's gone to milk record.

I'd rather be picking stones. Taking the night off. Freebe being put up in a fancy hotel as I'm speaking at a conference tomorrow. Not farm related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Gud work to use lads power washing, gud to see people taking pride and bit of care and attention to how the animals are housed, some dirty ****s out there ,

Is there any commercial application for steam cleaning. In terms of disinfecting I'd say not much would be better, could be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

i powerwash the sheds when they first go out not when they come in

Think that's good practice cos I remember being told in college that harmful bacteria will die after six month once shed is clean. Disinfection doesn't get everything

Would be a little busy at that stage. A small bit of calving and calf rearing and slurry and......................going on

Thats what d scivvie is for......

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Think that's good practice cos I remember being told in college that harmful bacteria will die after six month once shed is clean. Disinfection doesn't get everything
    well one of the sheds becomrs a workshop in the summer so the welder will kill most nasty bugs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Guys,

Have a newish Zetor and it doesn't have any 1000 rpm setting, only 540. Can you run a tractor pressure washer on 540 or is it a waste of time?

munkus wrote: »
    Guys,

Have a newish Zetor and it doesn't have any 1000 rpm setting, only 540. Can you run a tractor pressure washer on 540 or is it a waste of time?
    course ya can just give her a little rev. we have a hawk powerwasher rinning off a 135

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

course ya can just give her a little rev. we have a hawk powerwasher rinning off a 135

would ya be rev'in the sh#te of it to get decent pressure?

munkus wrote: »
    would ya be rev'in the sh#te of it to get decent pressure?
    not at all. no more than half rev

only problem with that is if they have to be rehoused earlier than normal would you wash them again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

not at all. no more than half rev

1000 shaft when possible

only problem with that is if they have to be rehoused earlier than normal would you wash them again?
    never had that problem to be honest

nevr had thatproblem to be honest
    you must have an umbrella over your farm:D

no just father in laws large silage fields are all around my little yard and when second cut is done they are all mine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭DanielGibbons

Dad would get myself and the brother to do it, back when we were in primary/secondary school and had nothing else to do for the summer :D

We would do the yard, 4 bays of slats and 2 bays of pens. Always done the as early as possible. We found the yard would get slippy as fcuk if it wasn't done.

Hasn't been done in the last 2-3 years, but there does seem to be an increase in naval ill and scour. But we have more calving now than we did back then so who knows. Must really try to get back into the habit of doing it.

Dad would get myself and the brother to do it, back when we were in primary/secondary school and had nothing else to do for the summer :D

We would do the yard, 4 bays of slats and 2 bays of pens. Always done the as early as possible. We found the yard would get slippy as fcuk if it wasn't done.

Hasn't been done in the last 2-3 years, but there does seem to be an increase in naval ill and scour. But we have more calving now than we did back then so who knows. Must really try to get back into the habit of doing it.
    yeah in fairness it a great feeling when everythings powerwashed and clean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

pakalasa wrote: »
    I powerwash the calving area and calf area. I don't do the cubicle shed, but sucklers here.
    I also spray area after with Jeyes Fluid.

Jeyes Fluid has got creosote in it, not very good for pregnant
    ladies.

Spray of bleach generaly, always intend to give a spray
    of copper sulphate or zinc sulphate but only happens
    every 2 or 3 years