Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle against Suicide 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Looks interesting - do many people actually do the whole thing? The pace is down around 20kph so it looks like a leisurely stroll (albeit 5-6 hours in the saddle a day).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭red man walking

I think there was about 30 or so that completed last years event (open to correction), I took part in a couple of days of last years event and it was an amazing experience and all going to plan I intend on doing the full two weeks next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

I would like to part of this. I doubt I will be able to get off work during the week but was thinking about doing the second weekend cycle maybe the first weekend too. How flexible are the organisers about the days that you cycle? Its a great cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

I would like to part of this. I doubt I will be able to get off work during the week but was thinking about doing the second weekend cycle maybe the first weekend too. How flexible are the organisers about the days that you cycle? Its a great cause.

Far as I can see form the website, the entry means you can do whatever stages you want, it's only when you want a home stay they want to know the ins and outs.

I'm only into the bike a few months, getting my endurance up, reckon I might do a week of this if I can.

yeh register once and you can choose what days you cycle, got talking to people last year and they done a couple of days at the start and then left but came back for the finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭kala85

do you have to raise a certain amount of money to take part in the cycle against suicide. I was thinking of doing the full week or two weeks of the cycle.

For anybody who did the cycle last year, what was the pace of the cycle like? Do they have support vans etc. like some of the sportives..

no money needs to be raised as it all about AWARENESS but if you want to raise money I'm sure it will be appreciated, I don't recall the average speed or the likes but the peloton was stretch out over a kilometre at times and no body was left behind. plenty of time to get some training in between now and April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭ratracer

The average pace last year was between 20-24 km/h. There was never any one left behind. The cycle really is suitable for anyone with even a small level of fitness, great atmosphere all day, I didn't do any of the overnights last year, but I hope to this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Dinodog

Hi Everyone,
    Great to have you talking about Cycle Against Suicide 2014. We are all very excited about it. There is a lot of interest already with people registering and booking time off work. The route is different in parts. We are delighted to be going into the North of Ireland which we were unable to do in 2013 due to time constraints in planning. We will be providing homestays again. A big ask will be that if you are registering for homestays that you actually use it or let the Cycle Against Suicide homestay team know in good time that you have made alternate arrangements. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Rua_ri

Dinodog wrote: »
    Hi Everyone,
    Great to have you talking about Cycle Against Suicide 2014. We are all very excited about it. There is a lot of interest already with people registering and booking time off work. The route is different in parts. We are delighted to be going into the North of Ireland which we were unable to do in 2013 due to time constraints in planning. We will be providing homestays again. A big ask will be that if you are registering for homestays that you actually use it or let the Cycle Against Suicide homestay team know in good time that you have made alternate arrangements. Thank you.

Welcome back Dinodog.

Just like to say thanks for all the work you did behind the scenes last year. I managed 4 legs of the 2013 cycle. Really really enjoyed it.

Looking forward to more legs this year.
    Keep up the good work.

Rua

Thanks Rua. It was a fantastic experience for us all, whether on wheels or feet. Hope you plan to be a 'lifer' and do all 14 days. Will be here to answer any queries except those on how many cans of Lynx to bring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭tacklemore

Hope to join ye this year over the May Bank holiday weekend. Won't get off work to do the full whack. Great cause!!

tacklemore wrote: »
    Hope to join ye this year over the May Bank holiday weekend. Won't get off work to do the full whack. Great cause!!
    Thank you. I think you will find it a very moving experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭tacklemore

Dinodog wrote: »
    Thank you. I think you will find it a very moving experience.

Well we all know someone who has sadly left us. A weekend on my bike is nothing if someone is convinced to get help by the awareness raised.
    Keep up the good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Hatcho

Gonna give this a shot in April - would be epic to do all stages and for a fantastic cause too. Amazing effort by the organisers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭davidsatelle100

have signed up for the whole thing, now to get used to living on the bike for 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Hatcho

Just gotten the green light from both the boss at home and the boss in work so good to go! :) Registration sorted this morning so all I need to do now I wear my bicycle saddle for two weeks straight to get used to the aches and pains.:P

Hi Everyone,
    Plans are forging ahead for Cas 2014. We would love to hear from everyone who took part in last years event, cyclists, volunteers, homestay providers, hotels, gardai, etc., etc. We have got an incredible positive feedback. We want to work on that.
    Because the Cycle Against Suicide 2013 was such a great experience for a lot of people we foresee a big interest in 2014. We want it to be even better. I am threading uncertain territory here by asking for criticism but we would appriciate feedback. 2013 was a steep learning curve. We are addressing the obvious one of delays in delegating homestays. There will be no evening school presentations.
    We are going to need more beds. Your help in getting friends and relations along the route to host cyclists would be fantastic.
    In the meantime, have great fun training for a 14 days holiday on the saddle. Check out Cycle Against Suicide facebook page to connect with all the goings on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

Hoping to do this next year as far as Waterford from the start with at least two others. Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

what do you do about getting home at the end of the day? Do you stay night and cycle home or is there transport organized?

If you are doing one day of the cycle you will have to make your own arrangements getting to and back from the venue. Boards is a great place to arrange shared transport.
    If you are doing more than one day we will do our best to arrange overnight accommodation for you. See registration form on the website www.cycleagainstsuicide.com .

done a couple of days last year and it was brilliant, full 2 weeks next year all going to plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Scrumdog

Did the last 4 days last year. It was brilliant. Met some amazing people along the way. Will do some more days again next year. Can't wait.

done a couple of days last year and it was brilliant, full 2 weeks next year all going to plan
    Fantastic.

Scrumdog wrote: »
    Did the last 4 days last year. It was brilliant. Met some amazing people along the way. Will do some more days again next year. Can't wait.
    Yeah, we are all so excited too. It is great to be talking in the North this time. Any fellow Northern cyclists out there?

Scrappy600 wrote: »
    Hoping to do this next year as far as Waterford from the start with at least two others. Looking forward to it
    You will be overnighting in Carlow. Great support already there, lots of plans afoot.

have signed up for the whole thing, now to get used to living on the bike for 2 weeks
    You will have a fantastic time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭robs1

Dinodog. we are doing the last three stages and are hoping to see the giro aswell as its on in the north at the same time. what time of the day do the cycles usually finish

robs1 wrote: »
    Dinodog. we are doing the last three stages and are hoping to see the giro aswell as its on in the north at the same time. what time of the day do the cycles usually finish
    Friday May 9th.
    Maghera Registration 8.30am. approx
    Presentation 9.15 -10.30 am approx.

Belfast Lunch stop 1.00pm ???
    Presentation

Portadown End of days cycle ( 5.00/6.00pm ???)

Sorry I cannot be more precise at this stage.
    Giro d'Italia are in Belfast on Friday 9th starting @ Titanic, then via Stormont to Donegal Sq. Interesting.

Is maghera to portadown not on the Friday???? the giro time trial is on the Friday in belfast.

robs1 wrote: »
    Is maghera to portadown not on the Friday???? the giro time trial is on the Friday in belfast.
    Sorry. You are right. I have corrected above

Thank god. i think the time trial is on in the evening in belfast. should be a great cycle. looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Jersey arrived this am, better get the Km's in, it'll be here before we know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

For anyone interested in doing a stage, or stages for The Cycle against Suicide 2014.

http://www.cycleagainstsuicide.com/cycle-2014/

I would defo be up for the Ennis- Galway- Tuam stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mickmcl09

Done all 14 days of CAS 2013, besides the cycling, it was some learning experience in terms of mental health.
    From a cycling perspective, it was more like the sportives of old - it wasn't a race.
    It goes along at about 20-24km/h.
    For fitter cyclists this proved to be a little frustrating, especially if they were only doing one day. There was lots of tyre marks left on the bumper of the lead car to prove it. Initially, it's difficult to get what the event is really about if you approach it with a racing or a run of the mill sportive in mind.
    BUT, a lot of the fitter cyclists doing say 3 days plus, started helping weaker cyclists get through the day and it really brought the camaraderie to another level. IMO, the speed was perfect because it prevented the peloton from stretching any further - sometimes there was as much as maybe up to 10km of a stretch from the lead car back to the broomwagon.
    The downside to making it any faster is that the lead bunch end up waiting at the side of the road getting cold, waiting for everybody to regroup, before entering big towns as a group, "shoulder to shoulder" as they say, to get the most impact. It was great, going through all the places as one big group. There was a brilliant feel good factor to be had as local bystanders came out to cheer the group.

A few times, some (not many) of the lead group would pull in at the side of the road for a few minutes to clap for and encourage some of the rest of the participants. This would give them a chance to blow off a bit of steam by catching back up with the lead group or more importantly, some might spot someone who might be struggling (physically) and they'd accompany them to the next stop.

What was great about the event?
    - the hospitality
    - the food!!!
    - it was extremely educational
    - the camaraderie among strangers
    - making life long friends

I could go on.
    Keep up the great work Dinodog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Im thinking of entering the whole event, I only just noticed the Giro on the same time which is a shame as I had planned to go watch at certain points.

Would be great if the CAS organisers could schedule in rest stops at decent viewing points! (routes may need to be slightly adjusted) Just a suggestion but would be another avenue of raising awareness! Especially given the prestige the Giro brings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

"Simple Things" the Cycle Against Suicide album will be released tomorrow: http://www.cycleagainstsuicide.com/simple-things/

Mugser wrote: »
    "Simple Things" the Cycle Against Suicide album will be released tomorrow: http://www.cycleagainstsuicide.com/simple-things/
    Launch of album today on the Colm Hayes Show on 2fm with live performance. Fantastic. I am getting some CD's for Christmas presents. Beautiful songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭kala85

Thanks for the information about the CAS 2013 Mickml. How much training would you need to do in order to do the whole lot of the CAS 2014 do you think? Considering the pace would not be that high would it be fairly achieveable if I was cycling three times a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

kala85 wrote: »
    Thanks for the information about the CAS 2013 Mickml. How much training would you need to do in order to do the whole lot of the CAS 2014 do you think? Considering the pace would not be that high would it be fairly achieveable if I was cycling three times a week?

Yes. I believe their average speed is quite low and the distance per day is not huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mickmcl09

kala85 wrote: »
    Yes, it's achieveable! 3 is grand for now.
    You'll make it a lot easier for yourself if you could up it to 4 times a week come February. Get a cycling partner(s) for yourself, it makes it easier to put in the miles.
    There's a few cycling groups around the country preparing for it. There's a CAS Phoenix park group on facebook that cycle out to Howth most Sundays. There's also a group down around Wexford / Carlow if you look up Joe Dixon Photography on FB.
    I know most of the cyclists in both groups and I often wish I was back in Ireland so that I could pop up for a spin with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Can second everything Mick says there. I dfid 6 days and had a blast. My one tip - two bib shorts! The days are quite long and i think the hardest part for most is the time in the saddle, physically you'd be well able for it if you are managing 3 to 4 spins a week but the arse cheeks could still get sore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

I am planning on taking my summer holidays from work to do the two weeks, would anyone know where exactly were stopping every day so I could start booking a room to stay in hotels or BnBs or anything?

I wouldnt be up for homestays, I will leave those to students or unemployed who might not be able to afford accomodation but are looking to stay over nights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭dogsears

ghogie91 wrote: »
    I am planning on taking my summer holidays from work to do the two weeks, would anyone know where exactly were stopping every day so I could start booking a room to stay in hotels or BnBs or anything?

I wouldnt be up for homestays, I will leave those to students or unemployed who might not be able to afford accomodation but are looking to stay over nights

This - 2014 stops - shows where it finishes up at the end of each day.

Its up to you and the state of your bank account obviously, but I'd say you should still consider the homestays, the proportion of people doing it who are students or unemployed isn't colossal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭midlands1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

dogsears wrote: »
    This - 2014 stops - shows where it finishes up at the end of each day.

Its up to you and the state of your bank account obviously, but I'd say you should still consider the homestays, the proportion of people doing it who are students or unemployed isn't colossal.

Ah well to be honest my bank account is only really there for the likes of this so I dont mind its basically a holiday for me and I have went on and seen prices of hotels/bnbs/lodges throughout the cycle and it adds up to roughly €665 give or take a bit either side for accommodation throughout so its ok :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Rua_ri

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Ah well to be honest my bank account is only really there for the likes of this so I dont mind its basically a holiday for me and I have went on and seen prices of hotels/bnbs/lodges throughout the cycle and it adds up to roughly €665 give or take a bit either side for accommodation throughout so its ok :)

If last year is anything to go by, then that will be some fantastic holiday.
    Well done and enjoy it !

We will be looking for discounts in hotels etc for the cyclists. We plan to put them up on facebook for each host town. Well done for taking on the 14 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Diddlina

Anyone know of any training plans for this. And what you'd need to be doing in order to be able to do it comfortably. Cheers!