Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birr country fair

• 24-08-2013 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭

Anyone going to Birr next weekend,planing on going myself to get a few training dummies and maybe a jacket for winter..
    Was there 2 yrs ago and enjoyed it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Anyone going to Birr next weekend,planing on going myself to get a few training dummies and maybe a jacket for winter..
    Was there 2 yrs ago and enjoyed it..

Ya heading off on Saturday with herself and kids should be a good day she likes the gardens in birr so ill be let off the string

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

No I have work Saturday and hopefully I'll be killing stags on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

Going to head in on Sunday after I do a morning flight. Only live 10 miles away so I'm lucky.

Beretta Man,Let me know if you're definitely coming up.Myself and Tom( who got OZ off you) will meet you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Think I'll be heading Saturday, never been before, if the weather's good, the family might come.

No chance of going Sunday, as above, plan to be walking the fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Will be heading there as to what day dont know as yet, was there 2 years ago spent a fortune.But had a great day got some great photos of the Mate Fishing in a Field, we had a great laugh afterwards looked odd with no water if you can picture what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Beretta man

Jimy1971 wrote: »
    Going to head in on Sunday after I do a morning flight. Only live 10 miles away so I'm lucky.

Beretta Man,Let me know if you're definitely coming up.Myself and Tom( who got OZ off you) will meet you.

Ya mate will do,will be good to meet up..
    Don't know yet if its the Saturday or Sunday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

Will be goin down Saturday,didn't get to go last couple of years,so its my first time goin ,it would be good to put faces to names where would
    Ye meet up down there..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Yea hoping to get there, just not sure if it will be Saturday or Sunday yet.
    I am going to give stalking a miss on the first this year as the place is always alive with lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

yeah heading down on the sunday,gonna meet up with the lads from the irish hawking club and lads from the irish falconers club,always great to have chat with like minded people.Missed it last year so hoping its better than the 2011 fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭alsace royal

hi lads
    what is the main attractions? havent been at a fair in years last one was in meath i think????
    would it be worth the drive from sligo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

heres a link.see what you think as thats a long drive you talking about.
    http://www.irishgameandcountryfair.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I was thinking of purchasing a mod very shortly. Don't have the money just yet. Would it be worth my while getting it for birr. Or would one be only expectng small discounts down there.

You'll always get a good deal on Sunday. Lads dont want to be carrying as much stuff back with them.

Ya mate will do,will be good to meet up..
    Don't know yet if its the Saturday or Sunday..

I'm working Saturday so wont be able to make it then,let me know

Jimy1971 wrote: »
    You'll always get a good deal on Sunday. Lads dont want to be carrying as much stuff back with them.

Ye i was thinking Sunday evening about 4 o clock. Alright not sure if I'm heading Saturday or Sunday doe.

You may well get a good deal down there especially on the Sunday afternoon. But throw up a post in the for sale/wanted section of the caliber and types of mod you are open to, and see what lads might have hanging around that they would let go cheap. I have an ATEC in .308 and plan to sell it on at a good price. Guys in similar positions will all have something that can be got at the right money.
    Best of luck and hoping you get what you want.

Ape Owners wrote: »

thanks lad, found a list of what going on from it. think i will dodder down on the sat as will be in the feild sunday, should be a good day out:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

thanks lad, found a list of what going on from it. think i will dodder down on the sat as will be in the feild sunday, should be a good day out:)

il let you know if were going alsaceroyal,were suposed to be going on the saturday and might have room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Never been. Thinking about heading up sunday. How is it fixed for parking etc. Is there an entry fee and is it wellies job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

No I have work Saturday and hopefully I'll be killing stags on Sunday

Hopefully same as that :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

jap gt wrote: »
    Never been. Thinking about heading up sunday. How is it fixed for parking etc. Is there an entry fee and is it wellies job

plenty of parking,entry fee at the gate and a little walk in, and the boots should do you

What is the entry price does anyone know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

Havent been since it was held at Emo but would love to go a run on Sunday. Is it ok to bring dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

I'm nearly sure it was 15 euro for an adult last year, i thought it was a bit steep:mad:

Edit: just googled it i was right:

Saturday 25 & Sunday 26 August
    Irish Game and Country Fair, Birr Castle Demesne
    The best of country sports & rural living.

Admission applies: Adult €15 Child €5.00 Family €35

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I might be up there. Not sure what day yet, I won't know for sure until Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Is there any allowance made for kids under a certain age ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭lucky john

What is the entry price does anyone know.

Normally 15 euro/person but there's probably a family price as well.

Havent been since it was held at Emo but would love to go a run on Sunday. Is it ok to bring dogs?

Yep. Loads of dogs around.

jap gt wrote: »

Its a good site and the forecast is looking good for the two days so no wellies this year for a change.

garyc007 wrote: »
    il let you know if were going alsaceroyal,were suposed to be going on the saturday and might have room

cheers for that garyc007 , few of my mates are coming along so im collared to drive, thanks tho and if your going enjoy it man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭shotie

whats the best day to go down for good deals on items??

shotie wrote: »
    whats the best day to go down for good deals on items??

The Sunday would be the best...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭shotie

hope to get a shot in at some duck the sunday moring but still will have plenty time id say to get ready and head for birr sould be a day well spent in all. can have a duck or two ( if im lucky) for the dinner when get home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Pretty poor planning putting it on this weekend....:rolleyes:

Down on site in birr today. Its looking really good. Place is as dry as I've seen it and there seems to be a lot of trade stands going up. Should be a good one.

Be great to meet up with some of the lads off here if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭Invincible

If ye are down there lads, check out Houwers Taxidermy, sound lady and the finest work you will encounter.

http://www.taxidermyni.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Pretty poor planning putting it on this weekend....:rolleyes:

Agreed, it seems a bit mad. 1 week earlier would have been great. None the less I'll still hit it up on Sat with the clan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

Ape Owners wrote: »

The link says that the fair this weekend is part of "The Gathering" but didn't "The Gathering" refused to have anything to do with hunting in a thread here a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Cheaper tickets for Birr Game Fair 2013 !

I just came accross this on the net ...... www.nosalmonfarms@sea.com are offering 100 discounted Tickets for Birr Game fair in order to raise much needed funds for their campaign. Normal price is 15 euros but they are selling them on-line for 10 euros. It seems you can just go to their website and buy the tickets with your credit card or via Paypal etc....

I have no connection to that group but just thought I'd give the heads up on it , as every little helps !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pfizer

We at Rathcormac gun club
    Are going to The Birr Game this weekend please call to our stand and say hello.
    We have a large display which profiles us as a club, What we do and How we do operate.
    We look forward to meeting everyone, including some of our Facebook,youtube and Twitter followers, whom we often communicate but rarely meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭clivej

National Association of Sporting Rifle and Pistol Clubs (NASRPC)

Have their marquee up again this year so please all call in and say hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Be proably down Sunday,weather permitting too..No point in going out on the 1st,moon phase is wrong for the critters to start moving.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Heading tomorrow hope to be down around 2 or so, looking forward to it.
    Its the kick off for the season really.

Looks like I'll be heading over today(Sat). Should be a good day out.

Anyone get to see the fair today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭fitzy_fitzy

Ya first time going.
    My budget was small this year, next year hopefully more money.
    Enjoyed it.
    Was disappointed with some of the spaniels. One poor fellow was so nervous he was only walking to heel, while your man keep trying to cast him out.
    Saw the father of my bitch, hollydrive theo. Nice dog.
    Will go again next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Disappointing!

Poor selection of stalls, not a lot of dogs and too much non related stuff on sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭clivej

I had money to spend today but as last year only sh!te stalls again.
    Only that there were plenty of my friends there it would have been a bad day out.

The centre display ring had plenty going on and was entertaining all right.
    Gun dogs were good to see as I don't have a gun dog myself and enjoyed watching them do their stuff.

Will I go again next year, ell only 'cos my mates do.

I was fairly disappointed tbh. I think attendance was way down compared to previous years. The main car park was less than half full where as 2 years ago it was hard to find a space by 3 o clock.

Nasrpc had a great tent with plenty of guns on show and plenty of information available. It's good to see target shooting disciplines being promoted and it shows people who aren't involved in shooting sports what goes on instead of hiding behind closed doors. Well done guys!

Few pics from the day:

IMG_2590_zpscea07bfb.jpg

IMG_2598_zpsae42a4a6.jpg

IMG_2602_zps748897c3.jpg

IMG_2609_zps49605bc1.jpg

IMG_2617_zps547c79ab.jpg

IMG_2623_zps8f71fba1.jpg

IMG_2649_zps6f76d8c1.jpg

IMG_2664_zps6ebc1c0f.jpg

Jim Corcoran Taxidermist:

IMG_2605_zps090b8b39.jpg

IMG_2606_zps969ab18a.jpg