Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halls Personal Statement Advice.

• 22-08-2013 1:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    So just as a guide to all the people who will be making applications to live in halls. I taught it would be good if people who have previously applied and got in, gave some tips on what to include, et cetera.

Any advice would, i'm sure, be much appreciated by all those who will be applying whenever those damned student i'd come out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Good post from the Accomodation thread here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86138814&postcount=18

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 582 ✭✭✭sleepyheadh

well maybe just keep this as a 100% Halls thread, a lot of information on that post relates to digs and apartments. what i intended was to have this a post outline handy tips, i.e. what to say on your application to help your chances of getting a place in Halls.

sorry "paperclip2" i think i misunderstood your comment, i couldn't see the relavent bit in that post, apologies!

yes more stuff like that would be great! cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Justice!

Hi sleepyheadh! I managed to get into Halls last year. The first thing I imagine they would consider is that you live far away enough to justify getting halls. So people from say Donegal, Sligo, and especially a foreign country would have a very good chance of getting halls.
    After that, I would emphasise a desire to make new friends and really put an effort into getting into the "halls community". Saying you wish to try such things as "halls come dine with me" if you like cooking and wishing to jam with other students in the music room is often a good way to do this.

Also since there are quite a few foreign students who are placed in trinity halls, putting forward a desire to meet students from other countries and cultures is an idea, especially if you are studying a foreign language.

According to his opening speech last year, the warden said he read every application, and he said he went for the people who sounded the most honest, and the ones who sounded like they really needed the boost of living in halls and would add a lot to the community.

Anyways best of luck in your application! Halls is a lot of fun and DEFINITELY worth putting aside a few hours making sure you've made a good application :)

PS maybe dont make it super long since the warden probably doesn't want to read an essay.

thanks justice that was some great advice, cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭RabbitHearted

Would Offaly count as being far enough away? :p

yes, just of curiosity, what would of been the nearest living person that got accepted that you knew of!

Ok well I was sharing with two guys who both lived in D4, which I guess would count as being extremely close. (Like one literally had a house down the road!) However I reckon they might have put their cork addresses on the form.. :O

Tbh I don't know what the longest legitimate distance was, however I'm sure anything thats like an hours drive or more should be fine, with a good application. So I reckon Offaly is grand! I'm from Galway myself.

cool cool, cheers for that!

Also here's a quote from the Trinity Halls application page: "Preference will be given to applications who can demonstrate how they might contribute to life in Hall and who show an appreciation of the fact that living in close confines with 1,000 other residents requires a degree of flexibility and consideration." http://www.wardentrinityhall.tcdlife.ie/rooms/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 HelloFluffy

How long should the application be, roughly?
    Cheers by the way, this is really helpful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

How long should the application be, roughly?
    Cheers by the way, this is really helpful!

1800 characters apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ellrb

This is what the application looks like...
    Screen shot 2013-08-22 at 11.00.11.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

ellrb wrote: »
    This is what the application looks like...
    Screen shot 2013-08-22 at 11.00.11.png

I like how the only thing you're decided about is that you're prepared to accept a room in a mixed gender apartment ;):D

haha I guess my priorities are low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭RabbitHearted

can someone explain the difference between cunningham and the modern rooms? like what are the differences/pros and cons of each? because the website isn't exactly clear :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Daleyford

Writing 1800 words on what you can contribute is slowly killing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

I've been struggling with accommodation, there could be something in the pipeline but it's not 100% certain, so I'm thinking about applying to Halls.

If I get offered a place and I don't need it, are there protocols in place for not accepting the offer and then having the college pass it on to someone else, or in applying are you pretty much telling them that if you get the room you ask for you'll want it?

I am with a group that are looking for a house and I would prefer that to Halls (Halls sounds brilliant and everything, but my girlfriend is considering moving in with me after a few months and that couldn't happen with Halls!) but I don't want to be left without a place to stay if we can't get anywhere. At the same time, I don't want to apply for Halls and then not need it, potentially giving someone that really needs it a panic attack when they don't get their offer along with everyone else.

As long as I can be sure that, should I need to, I can without hassle decline a room offer and have it swiftly passed on to whoever's next in line that needs it more than I, I'll be okay. That is all, of course, assuming I even get offered a room in the first place.

Sorry if that all was a bit convoluted, I just got my ID there so I'm trying to decide what to do here. :/

Just realized its 1800 characters. aw man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Jessica173

Do you have to write the full 1800 characters? Is 900 too short?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Eoin247

Guys this is what it says on the application:

"Supporting Statement: (Max. 1,800 characters).
    Please state relevant grounds to support your application and also list briefly your hobbies and interests."

Briefly is in bold on the actual application, and it clearly says a max not min of 1800.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭yournerd

Whats
    single
    Apartment Double
    Apartment Single
    Double Flat
    Apartment Twin
    Double Single

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭YoursSincerely

yournerd wrote: »
    Whats
    single
    Apartment Double
    Apartment Single
    Double Flat
    Apartment Twin
    Double Single

?

My question exacly I want to apply for a single room in cunningham but that list came up and im confused, could anyone who has applied let me know please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

My question exacly I want to apply for a single room in cunningham but that list came up and im confused, could anyone who has applied let me know please

Single means Cunningham.

Cunningham is grand, a little short on cooking space though. Lived there in first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Akari

You probably all know this, but just in case anyone's gearing themselves up for an essay, it's 1800 characters- NOT words!
    1800 words is nearly 3 typed A4 pages. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭howaya

it would be a good idea to mention any involvement you may have had in clubs & societies, or in s.u. representation should you have had any involvement in those scenes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 LG92

Does anyone know what room options come up when you select Trinity Hall Modern Apartments as your preferred choice? Any replies would really be appreciated as when i applied i didnt see all these different room options that people are talking about!! :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 lod531

Here are two useful links:

TCD Room Types

TCD Room Rates

The options went similar to the rates, really. Halls appartment single, Halls apartment twin, Cunningham, on Campus (though as far as I know new entrants have a snowball's chance in hell of getting Campus). Those are the ones I remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Dropping No Eaves

Silly question, but how do you apply? I've been looking through the site and I can't find the app form. :/

You fill out an online application on this page
    https://www.tcd.ie/accommodation/StudentsandStaff/Students/ApplyOnline/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Dropping No Eaves

The character count, does that include spaces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

The character count, does that include spaces?

Usually does, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 HelloFluffy

Aaaand the first round of offers is out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 nbrady95

For other people who didn't get offered a place this round when you log in to the application page on the trinity hall website does it say your application has not been reviewed yet? I'm just hoping this means i have a chance of being offered a place in the second round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Legion.

Anyone else not get a place? Now it looks like imma have to come down from Donegal to try and sort something -.-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Legion. wrote: »
    Anyone else not get a place? Now it looks like imma have to come down from Donegal to try and sort something -.-

far end of Roscommon and no offer for me. really don't understand how i didn't get an offer

Same as that but sure what can ye do?

commuting it is :(

for anyone that didn't get in, on the accommodation.tcd site, does it say "Your application has not been reviewed yet", does that mean i have a chance in the second round or am i gone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭YoursSincerely

From Cork and didnt get a room, what the hell am i going to do now :(

I know a boy from Monasterevin in Kildare who got a room... If you dont know where it is, google maps it. Fuming.

stuff like that annoys me. 2 lads from the same area as me but far better off got in. they must just go by how much you bs on the how much you will add to the halls community

for anyone that didn't get in, on the accommodation.tcd site, does it say "Your application has not been reviewed yet", does that mean i have a chance in the second round or am i gone ?

Says the same on mine I'm wondering the same thing.

nbrady95 wrote: »
    Says the same on mine I'm wondering the same thing.

were you a late applier ? just wondering if the warden checked through the first batch and then was no places left for those who get their numbers later than others, and we'll be counted in the next round

No I applied on the Tuesday I seen people on Facebook saying its just a glitch on the site, anyone know what the chances of getting a place in the second round are?

Im a boy from Kildare.. who got accommodation. My course is very demanding course in relation to hours of study and lectures. It doesnt all come down to location. It also comes down to how helpful and useful accommodation in Dublin would be in relation to the individuals studies I believe. You should try looking up at accommodation at Marino!
    :o

31 peeps got it in 2nd round last year :/

yournerd wrote: »
    31 peeps got it in 2nd round last year :/

Ah so our chances aren't very high , anyone know any other student residences close to the city with available places?