Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vuelta a España 2013 - General race thread **Spoiler tags required**

• 21-08-2013 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭

Hola mi amigos, it's time for the last Grand Tour of the season, the Vuelta a España! :)

Everyone will be glad to hear that the 68th running of The Tour of Spain has, similar to the last few years, a very mountainous route, with the peloton having to face a whopping 11 summit finishes :eek: :D
    Although last years winner Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff) is not defending his title, there are some top-class riders taking part. The 2013 Giro d'Italia winner Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) has entered, along with the 2009 Vuelta winner Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), multiple grand tour podium finisher Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), 2013 Volta a Catalunya winner Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp), Sergio Henao (Sky), 2013 Giro d'Italia Young Rider winner Carlos Bentacur (AG2R La Mondiale), the current World Road Race champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC), the current World TT champion Tony Martin (OPQS) and multiple Classics winner Fabian Cancellara (Radioshack Leopard) to name but a few!

The route:
    The Vuelta starts this Saturday, August 24th, and runs up until Sunday September 15th. There is a total of 21 stages, and the riders will cover a total distance of 3,358.9 kilometres. The race is made up of the following stages: 6 flat stages; 13 mountain stages (including 29 mountain passes and hills); 1 team time-trial stage (27 km); and 1 individual time-trial stage (28 km).

cartel-640.jpg
    eoby.jpg

The Contenders:

All the teams have yet to announce their finalised line-ups, but check here for an up-to-date start list. The 2013 Giro d'Italia winner Vincenzo Nibali is the pre-race favourite, and after having won the Vuelta back in 2010, he is the man to beat. He skipped the Tour de France, so he's well rested after his grand tour win in Italy earlier in year. And Astana have named a very strong team for the race, with Brajkovic Fuglsang, Tiralongo, Grivko and Tanel Kangert and Iglinsky all ready to help Nibali. The only negative for Nibali is that he may be out of form, but having clocked up some miles in his legs from the recent Tour of Poland and Vuelta a Burgos, he will only get better as the race goes on.

Joaquim Rodriguez has managed to finish on the podium of his last 3 Grand Tours, but has never been on the top step. Maybe this will be his year? After finishing last year as the No. 1 ranked rider, Purito has had a slightly indifferent 2013. He has been very consistent, with podium finishes at the Tour de France, Liege-Bastogne-Liege and the Volta a Catalunya, but he only has 2 stage wins to his name (at the Tour of Oman and Tirreno-Adriatico). Importantly, Rodriguez has spent time this year in the wind tunnel improving his TT ability. That should really be beneficial to him in the Vuelta considering that there aren't as many overall GC contenders that are TT specialists in the race. Oh actually, maybe I should tell the story as to why he is called Purito ..... :D :pac:

Team Sky will have Sergio Henao as their team leader for the Vuelta. The 25 year old has had an impressive 2013, given the fact that he is rarely team leader, with mountain-top stage wins at the Volta ao Algarve and Vuelta al Pais Vasco, and a 2nd place finish in La Fleche Wallonne. Sky's strength in depth is really evident when you look at some of the domestiques that Henao will have at his disposal. He'll be helped out by the Giro runner-up Rigoberto Uran, and also by Vasil Kiryienka, Christian Knees, and Dario Cataldo; none of whom took part in the TdF this summer. Rigoberto Uran is probably a stronger GC rider than Henao, but he seems to be paying the price for deciding to leave Team Sky at the end of the season (for OPQS).

Alejandro Valverde has been Mr. Consistent this season with impressive finishes in the Classics (2nd in Amstel Gold and Classica San Sebastian, 3rd in L-B-L, and 7th in La Fleche Wallone), in stage races (7th overall in the Critérium du Dauphiné and 9th overall in the Tour de Romandie) and a solid 8th place in the TdF (despite losing a bucket load of time thanks to a mechanical and the cross-winds). Valverde has the full support of his Movistar team since Quintana hasn't entered the Vuelta, and with domestiques such as Eros Capecchi, Beñat Intxausti, and Sylwester Szmyd to call upon, he won't be too far off the top step of the podium.

The young Colombian Carlos Bentacur who rides for AG2R has had a fantastic 2013 so far, finishing 5th in the Giro, including 3 2nd place stage finishes, and eventually winning the Young Rider's competition after an epic duel with Majka. He also came 3rd, 4th and 7th in La Fleche Wallone, L-B-L and the Tour of the Basque Country respectively. Unfortunately, AG2R have chosen a relatively weakened team for the Vuelta compared to the TdF squad, and this will surely have an effect on Bentacur's overall GC chances. In saying that though, Bentacur will definitely feature in the mountains and has the ability to win a stage or two.

Team Saxo-Tinkoff are strong favourites to repeat their performance from the TdF, and win the team classification. They have Amstel Gold winner Roman Kreuziger, who also finished 5th in le Tour (and could have finished higher if he didn't have to work for Bertie), Also there is the Polish sensation Rafal Majka (7th in the Giro, and recently 4th in the Tour of Poland), and of course Nicolas Roche who audaciously said he was aiming for a Top-5 placing. Nico does perform well at the Vuelta, finishing 7th, 12th, 13th and 16th in his 4 attempts, but it's hard to see how he can finish even in the Top-10 this year considering he's not the sole team leader. He has lost some weight coming into the race, so it'll be very interesting to see what effect this has. The Saxo squad also contains Chris Anker Sørensen, Nicki Sørensen, Michael Mørkøv, Matteo Tosatto, Evgeny Petrov, and Oliver Zaugg.

Betting Odds: V Nibali 9/4; J Rodriguez 5/2; A Valverde 4/1; S Henao 11/1; S Sanchez 14/1; C Bentacur 14/1.
    D Martin is 40/1 and N Roche is 80/1.

Live TV coverage and highlights on Eurosport, and daily highlights on ITV4.

Finally, for a bit of craic, don't forget to enter the Velogames fantasy cycling game. Darkglasses has set up a Boards league, check out this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

What do ye think of Betancurs chances for a podium, he fought hard for me in the Giro for a top 5 finish. Will the Giro lads have a natural advantage over the Tour competitiors with the greater recovery

I am surprised Uran is not leading the Sky challenge as he was far stronger than Henao in the Giro, perhaps a pointer to who they reckon might stay with sky next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

catweazle wrote: »
    What do ye think of Betancurs chances for a podium, he fought hard for me in the Giro for a top 5 finish. Will the Giro lads have a natural advantage over the Tour competitiors with the greater recovery

Betancur's definitely got the talent, he's as good a climber as anybody and this is a good parcours for him, and not the strongest field. However, I just don't think he has the team to deliver him to a win. He's also going to lose a shed-load of time in that long ITT. It does take in a Cat 3 climb, but he's struggled badly in longer TTs as opposed to shorter ones in the past.

Top 5 but not a winner for me.

It's also no help to Betancur that Ag2r haven't sent Kadri and Gadret, they would be very useful to him.

Is he the acknowledged team leader this time, I think himself and little pozzi were joint leaders in the giro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭AnotherView

I reckon J-Rod will win this ....(unless of course I have just given him the kiss of death)

Expect also a stage win from Dan and a very good showing from Nico

Is he the acknowledged team leader this time, I think himself and little pozzi were joint leaders in the giro

It's him and Pozzovivo again.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/betancur-and-pozzovivo-lead-ag2r-la-mondiale-at-the-vuelta-a-espana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Anyone know if there's an Official Programme available in the shops for this, similar to the Tour one for the last few years and the Giro for the first time this year?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Really looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Off we go again, another 3 blissful weeks of cycling madness.. 11 hilltop finish lines, easy to see how none of the big sprinters are getting involved... Looking forward to the daily threads from OP, the dubious tipping from Darkglasses :D and the sight of Nibali breaking them all in the final week to claim his Giro/Vuelta double.. Vamos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Anybody know who is doing the commentary for Eurosport.

Is David Harmon back or will we have Kirby again??

bazermc wrote: »
    Anybody know who is doing the commentary for Eurosport.

Is David Harmon back or will we have Kirby again??

Its Mr Kirby :eek: and Brian Smith

That means no SK.... Disappointing

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Aww was hoping for SK :(

Hard see past Nibali,Valverde,Rodriguez,Kreuziger for GC.
    Elsewhere Uran will be chomping at the bit in the mountains i feel after his fine showing in the Giro and not running with sky in tdf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

That means no SK.... Disappointing

Well he will be in Waterford on Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

With Paddy Power Kreuziger is 50/1 and Mollema is 80/1. I reckon there's a bit of value there for betting each way.

Ok bet for top 5 but I don't think either will win

I think a stage win for Dan the man is a good bet ...bet odds are low though

Also a good GC placing for el Nico is a good bet ...probably better odds

Sanchez and Nieve are also good bets, as is Brajovic for top 10

Good news

Sean Kelly will be in the commentary box from Monday onwards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭themandan6611

reckon Dan will be top 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

for mad irish fans boyles offering 6/1 both roche and martin come top 10 not for me mind.

Arroyo is my dark horse to win the vuelta

Will their be a stage 1 thread?

I agree I think both Roche and Dan will struggle to hit top 10, 6's very skinny, or stingy more like.. A stage win for Dan is very likely however. Best of luck to both.

manafana wrote: »
    Will their be a stage 1 thread?

It's here :)

merci

Saxo-Tinkoff are doing backstage videos for the Vuelta on their Youtube channel. Similar idea to Orica-GreenEdge, but probably not as much craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Itziger

If I were a betting man and had a good few bob (and knew how Betfair worked!), I'd lay Roche all day long. Can't see him coming in Top 6 or 8. Might just about squeeze into Top 10. What's each way for this, top 3?

Itziger wrote: »
    If I were a betting man and had a good few bob (and knew how Betfair worked!), I'd lay Roche all day long. Can't see him coming in Top 6 or 8. Might just about squeeze into Top 10. What's each way for this, top 3?

I would agree with you , I would be very doubtful he would make top 10 either. Theres an awful lot of strong climbers in this race

Is there time bonuses for this race?

Well I think you will be surprised by Nico

And 6/1 is not a bad bet for both Irish in top 10......however I think Martin will not do top 10 as he is saving himself (wisely IMO) for Worlds and Lombardia (and he is not the most robust rider)

There are good climbers in the Vuelta true but a lot are not 'match fit' and others may have had a long season already so its more open that you'd expect

Good question on the time bonuses, don't know tbh. Important as there's only one Individual TT. On Betfair Roche is 5/1 to finish in top 6. Poor value. His only chance would be for Kreuziger to have a major early problem and the team to back him to the hilt.

Is there time bonuses for this race?

Yes, for all finishes. 20, 12, and 6 seconds for the top 3.

There are time bonuses

Kreuziger at 50 is worth 2 yo-yos. Thing is, they price it up like a horse race. Like, there are lads at 500/1 who would need 140 riders to fall off the side of a mountain to have any chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

From a quick look at Ladbrokes the most enticing bets there seem on the KOM front, generally featuring the GC contenders but much more generous comparative odds.

http://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-gb/Cycling-c110000020#

Admit never to have heard of second fav, Amets Txurruka . . . wondering is it likely to be like the Tour with the odds stacked in favour of a top GC rider mopping up enough points to beat the guys who end purely focused on the KOM?

Ok Betancur it is for me so, either a top 3 or 6 whichever I can better odds on betfair. I remember him him being very strong on the mountain sprint finishes in the Giro

pelevin wrote: »
    From a quick look at Ladbrokes the most enticing bets there seem on the KOM front, generally featuring the GC contenders but much more generous comparative odds.

Admit never to have heard of second fav, Amets Txurruka . . . wondering is it likely to be like the Tour with the odds stacked in favour of a top GC rider mopping up enough points to beat the guys who end purely focused on the KOM?

Txurruka is very in the mold of a Moncoutie, very strong on his day, rides for spains 3rd team which gave him a bit of chip on his shoulder

Txurruka has had an impressive season so far. Can't remember exactly but I think it was the Tour of the Basque Country in which he was pretty much in the break every day and won the KOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

is it not 10, 6 and 4

I'm unsure, I had read in places like GCN and cyclingnews in the run-up to the Vuelta that it was 20, 12 and 6. Then Brian Smith said in the commentary today that it was 10, 6 and 4 like you said. Neither is infallible, but I guess if the commentators are still saying it's 10, 6 and 4 tomorrow then that's correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I'm unsure, I had read in places like GCN and cyclingnews in the run-up to the Vuelta that it was 20, 12 and 6. Then Brian Smith said in the commentary today that it was 10, 6 and 4 like you said. Neither is infallible, but I guess if the commentators are still saying it's 10, 6 and 4 tomorrow then that's correct.

I was watching highlights on itv4 and im pretty sure that's what they said.

Velonews report that it's 20, 12 and 6 here : http://velonews.competitor.com/2013/08/vuelta-a-espana/course-preview-the-2013-vuelta-is-one-for-the-climbers_299876

Inrng report that it's 10, 6 and 4 here: http://inrng.com/2013/08/vuelta-jerseys/

Clear as mud as usual.

Put a fiver at 10/1 on Betancur yday for KOM. Disastrous opening TTT good news maybe on that front! Though to add while a traditional part of the sport I find it very unfair GC riders on smaller teams like AG2R virtually guaranteed to lose time, & maybe plenty of it, to the bigger teams in that way. It more or less says to win Grand Tour, you've got to join the big money teams.

Dan Martin lost a lot of time yesterday also...But I do not see it as any great loss because it can take pressure off for GC and he can ride for stage wins in last week and be at top form for Worlds.....(I worry about his health and 3 week grand tours)

Astana look mighty...not just Niabali but Brajkovic, Fulsang, Grivko, Kangart, etc...such a strong team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

Good interview with Dan on velonation talking about his prospects. Maybe hold the bets on him for the first week! Worlds very much his focus

http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/15322/Dan-Martin-Interview-My-ambition-is-to-be-world-champion-Im-not-going-to-stress-about-GC.aspx

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Sean Kelly back to do co commentary tomorrow. Lovely.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Put a fiver at 10/1 on Betancur yday for KOM. Disastrous opening TTT good news maybe on that front! Though to add while a traditional part of the sport I find it very unfair GC riders on smaller teams like AG2R virtually guaranteed to lose time, & maybe plenty of it, to the bigger teams in that way. It more or less says to win Grand Tour, you've got to join the big money teams.

he reported as saying he didnt want race here, likely he does little till final week

manafana wrote: »
    he reported as saying he didnt want race here, likely he does little till final week

I know, heard that bit of news here too late for me poor fiver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Perhaps everyone else has long since seen this, but I've just noticed that the Vuelta route book is available to download:
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzDEK1vYnwstZ3hNYTNfOFhsTVU

It's very beautiful and has loads of lovely maps and graphics and all, but it's almost entirely in Spanish, of course.
    Anyone know if an English language version exists anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

For any UPC customers the Vuelta has been accessible the past few evenings for the highlights. My guide is still saying program not available but picture & sound working perfectly. Better picture then watching online although its just the highlights.

Eurosport or ITV4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Eurosport or ITV4?

Sorry - ITV 4