Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gards took car

• 21-08-2013 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

the gards took my car last nite i was on a northern reg i didnt have insurance so im going to get banned i realise that. but my car is still at the garda station they said customs had to check it but i rang up today and didnt really get an answer.

anyone know the craic with getting my car back i know i'll have to pay the vrt but i just want the car back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Are you from the North? How long have you owned the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭ron28688

ted1 wrote: »
    Are you from the North? How long have you owned the car?

i'v owned the car about 3 months but i live in the south

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

€125 impound fine.
    10% fine of the value of the car as determined by revenue.
    The vrt.
    Fine for late payment of vrt.
    Plus any fine you get in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Did you have insurance to a northern address or no insurance at all?

I didnt have any insurance at all :/ i know im proper caught here it was stupid to be driving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

ron28688 wrote: »

Customs may accompany you to the Nct centre to register the vehicle, when you've paid the Vrt(plus possible late registration penalties) they will give the car back to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

nice to see the guards getting another uninsured driver off the road.

wesf wrote: »
    €125 impound fine.
    The vrt.

someone was mentioning 600 euro for customs to release it to me, is that true? i just want the car released at this ment in time i'll deal with the courts later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056822317/1/#post82041752

Only back from a ban and your caught again. Tell them to scrap the car, I don't wanna meet you on the road anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭wingnut

€125 impound fine.
    The vrt.

You may have to get it insured and provide evidence of that too.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056822317/1/#post82041752

Only back from a ban and your caught again. Tell them to scrap the car, I don't wanna meet you on the road anyway.
    understandable

wingnut wrote: »
    You may have to get it insured and provide evidence of that too.

I was thinking of getting it transported out of the garda station? Will they allow that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Highly illegal not to register it here. One of the sanctions available is forfeiture of the vehicle...I wouldn't count on getting it back http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/moving_to_ireland/coming_to_live_in_ireland/importing_car_into_ireland.html

athtrasna wrote: »
    Highly illegal not to register it here. One of the sanctions available is forfeiture of the vehicle...I wouldn't count on getting it back http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/moving_to_ireland/coming_to_live_in_ireland/importing_car_into_ireland.html

but im going to pay the vrt there and then if they allow it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I was thinking of getting it transported out of the garda station? Will they allow that?

Yes, assuming you mean on a tow truck. You'd have to vrt it but you wouldn't need tax/insurance

Its a vw bora 1.9tdi.
    how much am i looking at here before they release it?

but im going to pay the vrt there and then if they allow it

If being the key word. You're supposed to NCT the car within 7 days and register and pay VRT within 30 days, given the fact that you've been driving it for 3 months down here, and without insurance, you'd be bloody lucky to get it back IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

someone was mentioning 600 euro for customs to release it to me, is that true? i just want the car released at this ment in time i'll deal with the courts later

VRT is going to be at least 720 euro alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

The Guards won't release it until you show documentation to prove its Taxed and insured. Why would they impound it for you not having insurance and then allow you drive off in it still uninsured?

If being the key word. You're supposed to NCT the car within 7 days and register and pay VRT within 30 days, given the fact that you've been driving it for 3 months down here, and without insurance, you'd be bloody lucky to get it back IMO.

i wasnt actually driving until 2 weeks ago because it didnt have an engine when i bought it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Your gunna get dry bummed

The Guards won't release it until you show documentation to prove its Taxed and insured. Why would they impound it for you not having insurance and then allow you drive off in it still uninsured?

Tow truck was my intentions

wrong

BX 19 wrote: »
    VRT is going to be at least 720 euro alone.

ok thank you. So 720 for vrt, 120 for impound.. any other costs before they release it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

You'll have to contact NCTS about getting a VRT appraisal - www.revenue.ie has a calculator that should give you some estimate. The vehicle will have to be booked into an NCT centre and transported there to be inspected before you can pay VRT. This either happens on the back of a truck or you tax/insure it and drive it there.

ok thank you. So 720 for vrt, 120 for impound.. any other costs before they release it?

Did you read the link I posted. Forfeiture is a real option.

also will i need to provide proof of ownership?

Did you read the link I posted. Forfeiture is a real option.

But i want the car back its worth alot of money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

Tow truck was my intentions

In that case, I'd imagine you'll need to pay the VRT still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

the gards took my car last nite i was on a northern reg i didnt have insurance so im going to get banned i realise that. but my car is still at the garda station they said customs had to check it but i rang up today and didnt really get an answer.

anyone know the craic with getting my car back i know i'll have to pay the vrt but i just want the car back
    As a matter of interest, where did you get nabbed? I've been seeing the Guards pulling over quite a lot of yellow reg's in the last few weeks...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Maybe get a cheaper car and pay your insurance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Bye bye licence.

Citizensinformation.ie
    Motor insurance offences: generally punishable by a fine of up to €2,500, disqualification of one year or more for a first offence and two years or more for a second offence, and, at the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment not exceeding six months. Where the court decides not to impose a disqualification drivers convicted of a first offence of driving without insurance will incur 5 penalty points on their licence record in addition to any other penalty imposed by the court.

Have you considered a bus pass?

it's not your choice, it's the authorities'. Can depend on who you meet. You broke the law, two of them at least, there are consequences!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Not worth that much if you are willing to risk losing it by driving illegally. You deserve to see it crushed into a small metal block in front of your eyes and then be made pay for the cost.

Maybe get a cheaper car and pay your insurance!

im getting banned so no point...
    I want the car back thats all.. i know im going to lose the license

What year of a car is this, model of a bora etc

If you sell the car back into NI you won't have to pay the VRT, but you will still get hit with a fine.

im getting banned so no point...
    I want the car back thats all.. i know im going to lose the license

What use is the car if your banned for the second time.

In the other thread you say " you wouldn't dream of getting insurance on a 1.9 as its to dear"

Do us all a favour and stay of the road.

What year of a car is this, model of a bora etc

2001 bora sport tdi red d red i 115bhp

ted1 wrote: »
    What use is the car if your banned for the second time.

In the other thread you say " you wouldn't dream of getting insurance on a 1.9 as its to dear"

Do us all a favour and stay of the road.

ok im young and stupid, when i said that i only had a provisional license

Actually, if it has only had an engine for the last 2 weeks, you might not have a fine either.

As a matter of interest, where did you get nabbed? I've been seeing the Guards pulling over quite a lot of yellow reg's in the last few weeks...

they got me in ferrybank waterford, he stopped me on suspicion of drink driving but i was all clear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Do you know OP the likes of you really annoy me. You are worried about yourself and being out a pocket while you drive around uninsured. If you hit someone then what happens.

A jail sentence is possible for driving uninsured - I am hoping you get that.

2001 bora sport tdi red d red i 115bhp

Hardly worth a lot, can't see it being worth much more than the combined fines/vrt etc. Although you still need to get it back and sell it to cover the fines

ok im young and stupid, when i said that i only had a provisional license

Bollox your over 24 that's not young, and its no excuse.
    What uninsured drivers are, are a burden on society loading everyone else's insurance.

Actually, if it has only had an engine for the last 2 weeks, you might not have a fine either.

Really? how can i prove that it didnt have an engine tho

Hardly worth a lot, can't see it being worth much more than the combined fines/vrt etc. Although you still need to get it back and sell it to cover the fines

yeah thats exactly what i want to do, sell it on and forget about cars for the next 2-3 years

anyone want to buy a bora?

they got me in ferrybank waterford, he stopped me on suspicion of drink driving but i was all clear

So you obviously weren't driving in a normal manner, your story keeps getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

It's worth about 1200 without a test if all else is straight on it.
    Let them have it