Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

brown nosing yanks

• 21-08-2013 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

The article below just got me thinking about the amount of ass kissing we Irish do to american's and how cringe worthy it is.First you have the whole JFK thing. Fair enough he has strong Irish roots but still making him a free man in every Irish city and in Galway naming the main city square after a man that visited the place once is a bit over the top. Surely there are people who have made a far greater contribution to the history of Galway that such a prestigious square could be named in honour of. Now Limerick city council want to name a bridge after him even though there's already a primary school named after him in the city.

Then you have O'bamas:) visit to Monegal and the twinkly eyed villagers awestruck at the great powerful man's return "home" and of course the song theres no one as Irish as Barack Obama that goes with it.

Seriously, do people have so little pride that they fell the need to brown nose yanks at every opportunity.
    http://www.limerickleader.ie/what-s-on/arts-entertainment/call-to-rename-shannon-bridge-in-honour-of-jfk-1-5406523

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

i totally agree. it's been going on for years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

And what's with airports? Am I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Tourism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Finton90 wrote: »
    The article below just got me thinking about the amount of ass kissing we Irish do to american's and how cringe worthy it is.First you have the whole JFK thing. Fair enough he has strong Irish roots but still making him a free man in every Irish city and in Galway naming the main city square after a man that visited the place once is a bit over the top. Surely there are people who have made a far greater contribution to the history of Galway that such a prestigious square could be named in honour of. Now Limerick city council want to name a bridge after him even though there's already a primary school named after him in the city.

Then you have O'bamas:) visit to Monegal and the twinkly eyed villagers awestruck at the great powerful man's return "home" and of course the song theres no one as Irish as Barack Obama that goes with it.

Seriously, do people have so little pride that they fell the need to brown nose yanks at every opportunity.
    http://www.limerickleader.ie/what-s-on/arts-entertainment/call-to-rename-shannon-bridge-in-honour-of-jfk-1-5406523

This is John Gilligans little tirade off again. Hes at it for the last 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Maybe you are just insecure about being Irish and it seems cringeworthy to you because it's
    "The Yanks". Streets and bridges all over the world are named after foreign persons of note. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

MadsL wrote: »
    Seriously?

Honestly, What are you? you're here all day trying to push your agenda in Ireland but as far as I can tell you live in Yankestan.

Maybe you are just insecure about being Irish and it seems cringeworthy to you because it's
    "The Yanks". Streets and bridges all over the world are named after foreign persons of note. Get over it.

as we all are aware, it goes deeper than that - People walking around with pseudo american accents, carrying on like they're carrie from Sex and city and all these americanisms basically degrading our true culture from what it was and what it should be.

the naming of city spaces/bridges/buildings etc SHOULD be named after Irish people of note, in this country and not American Heroes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Yanks are what drive the tourism of ireland. all it takes is a little top o the mornin

surely then, all the more reason to make our country more "Oirish" by naming our places after irish heroes???

why would they travel all the way here for the same ol' same ol'...

sure they do be loving temple bar and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Keno 92 wrote: »
    And what's with airports? Am I right?

And those little packs of peanuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Tourism.

Hmm. Lots of Americans visit Cuba and the US has been throttling it for decades. One wonders how places like Cuba would have faired had it not been on the end of crushing US vindictiveness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Finton90

pundy wrote: »
    surely then, all the more reason to make our country more "Oirish" by naming our places after irish heroes???

why would they travel all the way here for the same ol' same ol'...

sure they do be loving temple bar and all that...
    Completely agree. I have american friends who thought that it was really weird that eyre square in the heart of Galway city, the so called most Irish city in the country was named after JFK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Agreed, its embarrassing

as we all are aware, it goes deeper than that - People walking around with pseudo american accents, carrying on like they're carrie from Sex and city and all these americanisms basically degrading our true culture from what it was and what it should be.

the naming of city spaces/bridges/buildings etc SHOULD be named after Irish people of note, in this country and not American Heroes

Most major cities have places named after international statesmen/women. Should we deliberately exclude Americans? Or should they only include ones of Irish descent, like Kennedy? Oh, right.

Exactly how has Irish culture degraded? Has it not expanded, like Irish peoples horizons and tastes have? Or would people be happiest if everyone was singing diddley eye, dancing jigs and drinking Guinness on a Saturday night in preparation for Mass on Sunday followed by a thorough rogering by the Parish Priest? Don't think I don't appreciate modern Irish music and literature, but most people bemoan a culture that belongs firmly in the past.

Culture evolves, like everything else. Most of the world enjoys aspects of American pop culture, everything from Springsteen to Breaking Bad, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. It reflects the adaptable mobility of taste on a world wide scale, and you can't throw that into reverse without blanking out the internet, broadcasting and all modern media.

yeah, that's the sort of post-colonial insecurity I was referring to alright.

Streets in Amsterdam are named after people and places all over the world. I don't see anyone pulling their hair out (and they have considerable hair...) that these names might make them less Dutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

So in you disgust of the intrusion of USA in Ireland you post a thread on an Irish website about USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Completely agree. I have american friends who thought that it was really weird that eyre square in the heart of Galway city, the so called most Irish city in the country was named after JFK.

I'm from Galway and I thought it was really weird when I heard that they'd renamed Eyre Square after JFK. Because no one ever calls it that. It's Eyre Square, like. :)

Jester252 wrote: »
    So in you disgust of the intrusion of USA in Ireland you post a thread on an Irish website about USA.

Yeah, its not about the intrusion, its about those low-bred yanks. The OP ought to be more annoyed about landmarks being renamed after major corporations, but no its about the yanks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Yes you do.

Ill be back on Friday ....pucker up !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memorials_to_John_F._Kennedy#Europe

You're right OP, it's such an Irish thing to brown nose those feckin' Americans. :rolleyes:

blackwhite wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memorials_to_John_F._Kennedy#Europe

You're right OP, it's such an Irish thing to brown nose those feckin' Americans. :rolleyes:

Jaysus, the French really love him! Wonder if they know that Americans think they're "cheese-eating surrender monkeys". ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭todders

The Irish are sycophants, a nation of good looking sycophants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Serious question. When did they rename Eyre square, and is it Kennedy square, JFK square or John F Kennedy square? This is the first I've heard of it

JFK bridge is all well and good, but what'll they call the red light district?

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/local-news/limerick-signs-changed-to-read-red-light-district-1-5406150

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Yeah, its not about the intrusion, its about those low-bred yanks. The OP ought to be more annoyed about landmarks being renamed after major corporations, but no its about the yanks....

I miss the Grand Canal Theatre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Candie wrote: »
    Most major cities have places named after international statesmen/women. Should we deliberately exclude Americans? Or should they only include ones of Irish descent, like Kennedy? Oh, right.

Exactly how has Irish culture degraded? Has it not expanded, like Irish peoples horizons and tastes have? Or would people be happiest if everyone was singing diddley eye, dancing jigs and drinking Guinness on a Saturday night in preparation for Mass on Sunday followed by a thorough rogering by the Parish Priest? Don't think I don't appreciate modern Irish music and literature, but most people bemoan a culture that belongs firmly in the past.

Culture evolves, like everything else. Most of the world enjoys aspects of American pop culture, everything from Springsteen to Breaking Bad, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. It reflects the adaptable mobility of taste on a world wide scale, and you can't throw that into reverse without blanking out the internet, broadcasting and all modern media.

Funny thing is though, America doesn't have any particular cultural identity. North America, or the United States even, is a mixture of cultural identities. Ireland HAS had a specific cultural identity, for a number of years, and this has been our springboard for tourism.

Now we are becoming a more multi-cultural society, but we're still trying to sell "diddly aye" to American tourists who wouldn't spend Christmas. How many more Irish landmarks are named after foreign dignitaries long dead? A disproportionate amount are already named after JFK, and there is already a school in Limerick named after him.

It's a bridge over the River Shannon, hence "Shannon Bridge", makes more sense than renaming something just for the sake of it. And this from the article is definitely renaming something just for the sake of it-

Meanwhile Cllr John Gilligan, who has submitted a similar motion on recognising Brian Boru outside City Hall, is supportive of the plan.

“Next year will be the 1000th anniversary of Brian Boru’s death at the Battle of Clontarf. Most people in Limerick wouldn’t be able to tell you that the square in front of City Hall is called Merchant’s Quay, which is quite meaningless. I think it would be appropriate to also have in the square a statue of Brian Boru and of one of the Vikings there as the Vikings founded the city of Limerick and Brian Boru built it. It would be something unique and something for tourists as well,” said Cllr Gilligan.

Cllr Gilligan also believes Limerick City of Culture 2014 provides an opportunity for the people of the city to suggest new names for George’s and Charlotte Quay.

It'd surely be more in their line now to be discussing of ways to revitalise the dead city centre retail sector so that on the off chance tourists get lost on their way to Dublin that they might spend a few euro in Limerick city if there was anything besides a cash converters or a euro shop to spend it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

We should rename O'Connell St in Limerick to MLK drive. That'll show them yanks!

Czarcasm wrote: »

It's a bridge over the River Shannon, hence "Shannon Bridge", makes more sense than renaming something just for the sake of it. And this from the article is definitely renaming something just for the sake of it-

AFAIK, locals still call it "the new bridge" and you'd have a job trying to convince them to call it something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

"Independent councillor Pat Kennedy ", he just wants the bridge renamed to kennedy bridge to suit his own name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

I, for one, welcome our new American overlords.

Candie wrote: »

I have no problem with people being interested in american pop culture i am myself, and am not for a minute saying that people should only watch RTE, listen to trad and eat potatoes but it just gets to me that JFK came to Limerick once every to give a speech and as a result he is a free man of the city, has a school name after him and now maybe a bridge as well. Surely native Limerick people who have given up a lot of their time working in their community are more worthy of these honours. But then again i'm not surprised the world is always style over substance.

And the pope's cross? that doesn't annoy you?

Muise... wrote: »
    JFK bridge is all well and good, but what'll they call the red light district?

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/local-news/limerick-signs-changed-to-read-red-light-district-1-5406150
    Bill Clinton and Monica Lewinsky street.:)

And the pope's cross? that doesn't annoy you?

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

stoneill wrote: »
    We should rename O'Connell St in Limerick to MLK drive. That'll show them yanks!

What would it show them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Down with this sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

They should rebuild it completely of silicone and borrow large amounts of money to do it.

Then name it after an American.

Honestly, What are you? you're here all day trying to push your agenda in Ireland but as far as I can tell you live in Yankestan.

What's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

I knew the country was doomed the day i couldn't find Coffee on the menu in a Coffee shop

Or chips on the menu in a chipper ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

There's Pragues, and Ottawas and Delhis and Londons and all kinds of other placenames from all over the world given to towns in the US. What's your point?

It's mortifying when people make a fuss over the fact that some American is one eighth Irish or whatever. A great many Americans have hugely mixed ancestry. The Irish bit is just one little part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Muise... wrote: »
    I'm from Galway and I thought it was really weird when I heard that they'd renamed Eyre Square after JFK. Because no one ever calls it that. It's Eyre Square, like. :)

It wasn't fully renamed as it's still Eyre Square on maps for the general square but the grassy area within Eyre Square is called Kennedy Park or something. However Kennedy Park is still in Eyre Square. It's silly but that's the official situation as far as I understand it.
    OU812 wrote: »
    Serious question. When did they rename Eyre square, and is it Kennedy square, JFK square or John F Kennedy square? This is the first I've heard of it

During 1963 actually. He was here only a few months before he was shot and I think it was named during his visit. It's only really seen on maps though and as I posted above Kennedy Park is considered to be within Eyre Square. Or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

'Our true culture' ?
    Pray tell what 'culture' would that be?

Drinking, vomiting, violent street-crime, yobbish behaviour, drug taking, hand-bag snatching, thieving, constant whinging to Joe Duffy about being 'victims' of this or that, robbing Taxis and driving them into bridges, begging, murdering & robbing old folks in their homes, wearing balaclavas, inventing cool stuff like the car- bomb, the bicycle bomb, the nail-bomb, the proxy-bomb, 'fighting' a Civil War that ended yonks ago before any of us were born, Institutional child abuse, hating the Gardai, 'The Brits,' The Yanks, The French, the Egyptian Arabs, The Iranian Arabs, (but we just love those Arabs in Gaza) hating the Israelis, & these days, loathing The Peruvian Authorities and anyone else when the notion strikes us, hating The Yanks in public, (but quietly trying every trick in the book to get a J1 Visa)

(Sorry if the above sounds nasty or flippant but I'm a confused & cantankeous ole geezer)

Or would our Culture be;
    Riverdance, Sean Nos singing, the GAA, The Late Late Show, The Rose of Tralee and Wee Daniel, Uncle Gaybo, Jaooo Duffy, Fionn Mc Cool, the Little People, Darby O' Gill, Paul Mac Grath, Jack(ie) Charlton, Wee Leprachauns, The Quiet Man, atin' spuds, slurping Guinness 'til it comes out our ears (and other orfices) Italia 90, singing Ole Ole Ole while waving the National Flag with the name of a Pub scrawled thereon. Going to Mass just to criticise our neighbours outside the Church Gates, Faction Fighting, Gossiping, Confession once a month, voting for the same Political Party as our Great Granpappy did, using 19th Century terms that most don't know the meaning of... i/e blue-shirts, stickies, etc, giving up sweets for Lent, going on 'Retreat 'to Lough Derg, climbing the Reek in our bare tabs & getting arseified drunk on St. Patricks Day?

Is that our 'real' culture?

But if it isn't, wtf is our culture, at all, at all? :D

By the way, I'm in my 60s, Irish, and I tend to get confused lately when the words Irish & Culture are used in the same sentence :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I'm a bit sickened to see things named after JFK not because he's American but because I don't find him to be a particularly admirable figure. But can't please everyone, I suppose. I just don't really get why he's revered by so many. (Ryan Tubridy being the most high profile admirer) Is it the fact that he has Irish blood? Is that it? MMMMkay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

maybe the Yank brown nosers just don't want to be droned ? :D

It wasn't fully renamed as it's still Eyre Square on maps for the general square but the grassy area within Eyre Square is called Kennedy Park or something. However Kennedy Park is still in Eyre Square. It's silly but that's the official situation as far as I understand it.

During 1963 actually. He was here only a few months before he was shot and I think it was named during his visit. It's only really seen on maps though and as I posted above Kennedy Park is considered to be within Eyre Square. Or something.

or the Plaza...

Oh and by the way there is also a housing estate named,Kennedy Park, after JFK in Limerick as well. Forgot that one. Think he has enough already surely.

By the way, I'm in my 60s, Irish, and I tend to get confused lately when the words Irish & Culture are used in the same sentence :)

"Whenever I hear [the word] 'culture'... I remove the safety from my Browning"
    Schlageter - Hanns Johst