Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Lovely Girls Competition - The Rose of Tralee 2013

• 19-08-2013 10:35am
    Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

You know the summer is coming to an end and it's time to get the uniform and the school bag ready when the Rose of Tralee is on the telly box :D
    0004e366-360.jpg

The Rose of Tralee International Festival is one of Ireland's largest and longest running festivals, celebrating 54 years in 2013. The heart of the festival is the selection of the Rose of Tralee which brings young women of Irish descent from around the world to County Kerry, Ireland for a global celebration of Irish culture.

Slide%20International%20Roses%202013%20escalator.jpg

The 2013 Roses

Presented by Dáithí O Sé the 55th International Rose of Tralee Selection will be broadcast live from the festival dome in Tralee, Co. Kerry on Monday 19 and Tuesday 20 August 2013 (from 8pm).

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/rose_of_tralee.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

It's always seemed kind of sleazy to me ever since Daithí married the young Rose a few years ago.. I can't look at the thing without thinking "Daithí, ye boi ye, has his pick of all the flowers again this year"..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

The Rose of Tralee is so bad it's good.

Remember the Dublin Rose, Siobheal Nic Eochaidh's cringey hip hop dance a few years ago :o She reminded me a little of former 'Off The Rails' presenter, Caroline Morahan.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

If you struggle to cope with the awkward break for the news during the ROT every year, help is at hand ...
    For the first time ever, the Rose of Tralee festival 2013 becomes a truly multiplatform experience in a brand new 'Live from the Red Room' RTÉ Player experience, giving festival fans never-before-seen access to the back-stage green room and all the craic surrounding the festival. The programme will be shown live, worldwide on RTÉ Player and RTÉ's YouTube channel on August 19th and 20th at nine o'clock.

Presenter Colm Flynn will reveal the craic, the chaos and the back-stage glamour with the Roses, their lucky escorts and a host of celebrities. Wherever you are in the world, enjoy the atmosphere on your laptop, phone or tablet as you "peek" behind the red curtain at a uniquely Irish event and all the fun that goes along with it!

http://www.youtube.com/user/rte

Skid X wrote: »
    If you struggle to cope with the awkward break for the news during the ROT every year, help is at hand ...

http://www.youtube.com/user/rte
    Thanks for that Skid :)

I do hope that 'Jonjo The Miser' will be joining us this evening, the Rose of Tralee thread wouldn't be the same without his Spanx ratings :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Is there a running order for this?

Good Evening All!

I'm not liking Daithi's beard.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭rainyrun

Good evening!! Clare dress blends in with the stage a bit!!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I've been shouting 'shut up Daithí' since it started. Long night ahead I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Standards have slipped this year

rainyrun wrote: »
    Good evening!! Clare dress blends in with the stage a bit!!
    It suits her but it does blend in with the stage a bit too much :D

Those Clare wellies might catch on.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Jakers Mary k is a yummy mummy

Evening All :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

That brother thing will surely go down as one of the all time cringiest moments in Irish television history.

Boston rose hair color is gorgeous

keith16 wrote: »
    That brother thing will surely go down as one of the all time cringiest moments in Irish television history.

It's up there with hip hop rose alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭timbertime

keith16 wrote: »

Ah crap went to make tea, what I miss?

The Monaghan Rose reminds me a little of Neve Campbell

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQR4Ff6H1d1aG55mh6FK4giRmRSOP_YogBZVu0O4kJzmCcQuI7M

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭OrangeVarnish

MrsD007 wrote: »
    The Tyrone Rose reminds me a little of Neve Campbell

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQR4Ff6H1d1aG55mh6FK4giRmRSOP_YogBZVu0O4kJzmCcQuI7M

Shes the Monaghan Rose, but very good spot!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Can't believe it's this of year already, feels no length since the 2012 one. :eek:

Good Evening, btw :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Good Evening All!

I'm not liking Daithi's beard.
    He's applied for a job with SIPTU:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I love the Americans or Australians with the story of great great great grand mother from "Trolley, Co Kerry". With little knowledge of Ireland, but decided to enter anyway.

Is it just me or does Daiti make it cringy and difficult to watch most of the time?

It looks like the Donegal Rose borrowed a wedding dress.

Would be a fab wedding dress :)

Why didn't she name the maker :(

Lisha wrote: »

Probably a good thing since it doesn't fit her very well. It's identical to a dress that was available when I was looking for my wedding dress.

Lisha wrote: »

I think she did the dress maker a favour as it is ill fitting across the shoulders.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

How much is she getting for that Paddy Power plug?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Her hair is a bit too 'Gone With The Wind' for me! :p

Jaysus, I'm watching the rest of this from behind my sofa :o

She's not a great singer but her father is so cute.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Who told that one she could sing?