Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you/do you illegally download stuff?

• Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

Mostly tv shows that cannot be gotten from sky, but since I pay for sky and Netflix (and barely ever watch them) I feel somewhat less guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

No, never do. I'm a huge music fan and I believe in supporting it. Never bought into the whole record labels are evil nonsense either. Live music and recorded music to me are two very different things ( and I love them both ) but again don't buy into the idea that its ok to steal one thing if you pay for the other. Maybe I should just put this into the unpopular opinions thread instead....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

10 liars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

jjpep wrote: »
    No, never do. I'm a huge music fan and I believe in supporting it. Never bought into the whole record labels are evil nonsense either. Live music and recorded music to me are two very different things ( and I love them both ) but again don't buy into the idea that its ok to steal one thing if you pay for the other. Maybe I should just put this into the unpopular opinions thread instead....

I'd say of any music I'd go to their concerts, you're not really supporting the artist by buying their music 99.9% of the time. They get feck all of the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

SV wrote: »
    I'd say of any music I'd go to their concerts, you're not really supporting the artist by buying their music 99.9% of the time. They get feck all of the money.

Sorry but that's a bit naive. Bands don't get a huge amount of money from gigging/touring. And whatever about how much money they get from their deal with their record label they get nothing from all the people who profit from piracy.

Also not all music/musicians are suitable or capable of doing live performances.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

I have and unlimited 150mb connection and 10TB of storage, what you think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Do proxys or vpn count so you can tv shows from the States that otherwise would be blocked because of IP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Doylers wrote: »
    I have and unlimited 150mb connection and 10TB of storage, what you think

I think you've got a porn archive

ColeTrain wrote: »

Thought google was for that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Sorry but that's a bit naive. Bands don't get a huge amount of money from gigging/touring. And whatever about how much money they get from their deal with their record label they get nothing from all the people who profit from piracy.

Also not all music/musicians are suitable or capable of doing live performances.

They get far more than they do from buying an album, that's for sure.

I'm pretty sure you're the one who's being a bit naive, hell, Macklemore encourages downloading his album illegally. Then again he's not signed to a record label..funny the difference there.

I don't know of any artist I listen to that isn't capable of doing a live performance, or suited to it for that matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

ColeTrain wrote: »

Who downloads porn :confused::P

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Like who? If a band sounds sh1te live then that's the bands fault, even more reason to not buy overproduced albums where they're made to sound better than they actually are.

I download stuff, I used to have a huge dvd collection and have downloaded a lot of things I already owned, don't really feel guilty about getting a HD version of a movie I already bought before on DVD. I'd never download cams of new movies though the quality is always rubbish, dunno how people think it's the same thing as seeing something in a cinema, the way a film is meant to be watched.

Doylers wrote: »
    Who downloads porn :confused::P

same people who pay for porn? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

SV wrote: »
    They get far more than they do from buying an album, that's for sure.

I'm pretty sure you're the one who's being a bit naive, hell, Macklemore encourages downloading his album illegally. Then again he's not signed to a record label..funny the difference there.

I don't know of any artist I listen to that isn't capable of doing a live performance, or suited to it for that matter.

You are correct sir.

Years ago before Mtv bands would have to tour and play live to the masses as thst was the only way of exposing their new material. There were few radio stations, a handful of music press and we used to take our vinyl to eachothers houses for our friends to listen to.
    I saw Iron Maiden in '83 on a thirteen month world tour playing all sizes of venues. Nowadays all these 'big' stars just play packed arenas who charge a fortune for the tickets because thst is exactly how they now coin it in.
    Bands used to make a loss touring but not anymore.

Incedently, a lot of artists are signed up to 360 contracts which basically gives the record company a percentage on everything that the artist earns whether it be record sales, concert sales, merchandise, media income or anything else linked to the artist's earning capabilities.
    Record labels are no mugs, they have moved the goalposts due to piracy.

And yes, I do download illegally. Having bought vinyl, then the CD, may have seen them live, point blank refuse to pay again for the same digitsl material.

Have you looked at how much ticket prices are and how much tours gross now ? Staggering.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Mech1

Overnight I downloaded "reeling in the years" all episodes from 1962 to 2009 watching it now, best RTE programme ever!

12.2 Gb so be warned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    Just wondering are there people that dont as a matter of principle?

I like to be constantly downloading illegally as a matter of principle.

Movies,music,software,games,if its there ill download or stream it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Effort of downloading! I just buy what I want!

Daddy, I want it, I want it, I want it, I said...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Daddy, I want it, I want it, I want it, I said...

Obviously! Ya don't think I got this name for nothing like :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sirsok

If it's a movie, I'll usually go cinema to see it and if I thought it was exceptional I'd get it on DVD but I did download my fair share. Same with music, if I really enjoyed it I'd buy the album. But have downloaded loads!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I only download the odd song from Youtube. I don't have the patience for downloading films and TV shows. Maybe when the fibre optic broadband is available I'll start doing that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Songs, games, movies, TV shows - you name it, I've probably downloaded it. Less and less with games now, and generally if I really, really like it - I'll buy it. With smart phones the way they are these days you can legitimately listen to just about any song you want off Youtube, so I just download them once to save myself the excess downloading by my phone. I use Netflix as well, so obviously downloading movies and TV shows has decreased slightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Dick Masterson

I downloaded 79.6 GB of Top Gear recently. Have about 700 GB of mostly television programs on my 3TB external hard drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I downloaded 79.6 GB of Top Gear recently. Have about 700 GB of mostly television programs on my 3TB external hard drive.

Jaysus your mad!!!.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

Yeah I torrent everything. I don't feel bad about popular music or movies because I feel they are making **** tons of money anyway, but I wouldn't illegally download any music from an upcoming artist I'd like to see do well yano. The worst I've felt for downloading something was on of the Adobe Suite packages. Downloaded it then realised it was worth a couple grand. Ended up deleting it in my shameful state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Aspiring wrote: »
    Yeah I torrent everything. I don't feel bad about popular music or movies because I feel they are making **** tons of money anyway, but I wouldn't illegally download any music from an upcoming artist I'd like to see do well yano. The worst I've felt for downloading something was on of the Adobe Suite packages. Downloaded it then realised it was worth a couple grand. Ended up deleting it in my shameful state.

Ohh please tell me more. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 EdwardSnowden

I downloaded something once...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

I would never download music or games, so only films / software, and with netflix and others I rarely download movies / TV these days