Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

reseeding

• 13-08-2013 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

Im hoping to reseed a bit of grass whats the latest I could leave if I were to let it grow a much as possible burn off, cut and bale, then either stitch or powerharrow and spread seed , in other words when would I want to be spraying it, any opinions on guttler . Machine vs powerharrowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

dharn wrote: »
    Im hoping to reseed a bit of grass whats the latest I could leave if I were to let it grow a much as possible burn off, cut and bale, then either stitch or powerharrow and spread seed , in other words when would I want to be spraying it, any opinions on guttler . Machine vs powerharrowing

Bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Spray now, plan for harrowing in about 2 weeks or when ever dead. Do it soon or it will get too late.
    Saw one field last year harrowed in september just as the weather broke again. They didn't get to seed it untill may this year, and it's well back on what it should be. I'd s the nutrients got washed away without a root to hold onto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

How about direct stitching in, then burn off, lime / granlime when old pasture has burnt, 2 bags / acre 10-10-20, roll at some stage.
    Anyone tried this method where old pasture is burnt off straight away after new seed has been applied?

MfMan wrote: »
    How about direct stitching in, then burn off, lime / granlime when old pasture has burnt, 2 bags / acre 10-10-20, roll at some stage.
    Anyone tried this method where old pasture is burnt off straight away after new seed has been applied?

Cant imagine that working, stitching machine has to break the ground, so with too much cover It would not work very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

This is a good question lads are always talking about this method of reseeding and there's never much word about results from it:(

Ready to go with stitching grass seed will be spreading 2 bags gran lime, when the seed is put in, can I put watery slurry over the limed ground and then the 10 10 20 when the grass emerges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Ready to go with stitching grass seed will be spreading 2 bags gran lime, when the seed is put in, can I put watery slurry over the limed ground and then the 10 10 20 when the grass emerges

Um.., what order are you doing this in? Would perhaps shake on the granlime first, then 10-10-20, then stitch in seed, (lightly harrow to cover seed?) and roll. Doubt if there's a need for any kind of slurry at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lambofdave

I would only use slurry if it was very dry weather wise, to put moisture in the ground what ever you do if using slurry do not use it with dairy washings are silage effluent in it.

Make sure the lime is gone before using the slurry as you could cake the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lambofdave

Um.., what order are you doing this in? Would perhaps shake on the granlime first, then 10-10-20, then stitch in seed, (lightly harrow to cover seed?) and roll. Doubt if there's a need for any kind of slurry at this stage?

No need use a harrow to cover the seed if using a direct drill to stitch in.

Just using very watery slurry , this was advised by seeding man was a bit concerned about slurry going after lime , but it seem if not worried about nitrogen loss from slurry then its ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

I disced 12 acres last week after i cut silage off it and sowed rape in it. Rape is up yesterday two leaves showing. Will spray it off again in the spring, disc it and sow grass, think its a very easy and quick method

jersey101 wrote: »
    I disced 12 acres last week after i cut silage off it and sowed rape in it. Rape is up yesterday two leaves showing. Will spray it off again in the spring, disc it and sow grass, think its a very easy and quick method

The contractor has been booked, cuttler stitching machine, so discing not an option the question is about gran lime followed by dilute slurry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

We have 20 acres to reseed. 10 acres burned off, will mow and wrap next week. The other 10 has been grazed tight and ready for the sprayer.
    We got quoted for stitching and plough/powerharrow/sow. €25 an acre in the difference. The ground is very dry and hard, we're tempted to go the whole hog and plough/till/sow. Any advice?

The contractor has been booked, cuttler stitching machine, so discing not an option the question is about gran lime followed by dilute slurry

When i was on placement for college the farmer stiched in grass. He cut silage, sprayed off ground, spread 3 bags of 10-10-20, stiched in grass seed, spread dairy washings and spread lime a few days when the washings had gone in. Worked faorly well only prob was he sowed it a bit late and didnt get to graze it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

+ 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

After discing what do you do to prepare the seed bed and how did you spread the grass seed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Is it too late to chance reseeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

how many units of nitrogen would you put in with a reseed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

maxxuumman wrote: »

Hope not some to do next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

how many units of nitrogen would you put in with a reseed?

Regardless of index I always go 3 k gallons slurry(if its there)and 3 10 10 20 followed by bag of pasture sward after 4 weeks.sounds overkill but always works for me.new seed needs lots of n p and k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

maxxuumman wrote: »

Definitely not. If this weather keeps up I will reseed up to the 15th of October after crops, cant be a bit of optimism:)

just do it wrote: »
    After discing what do you do to prepare the seed bed and how did you spread the grass seed?

there was a ring roller/crumbler on the back of the disc and this left a good seed bed so we just sowd the seed and rolled it in. Looks fairly uniform ill know better when it gets some rain and it really starts to grow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Definitely not. If this weather keeps up I will reseed up to the 15th of October after crops, cant be a bit of optimism:)
    Thats the style :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

It is not just the weather it is ground temperatures in the south of the country ground temperatures are about 17c this is 2.5 degrees above normal. Unless we get a lot of cold rain they will take a while to drop below good growing temperatures. Conditions are very good for reseeding, Clover growth may be risky but it is worth a gamble. Fields reseeded now may well be able to grazed by light cattle in November or else will have a good cover in February for early turn out of light cattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

It is not just the weather it is ground temperatures in the south of the country ground temperatures are about 17c this is 2.5 degrees above normal. Unless we get a lot of cold rain they will take a while to drop below good growing temperatures. Conditions are very good for reseeding, Clover growth may be risky but it is worth a gamble. Fields reseeded now may well be able to grazed by light cattle in November or else will have a good cover in February for early turn out of light cattle.

I seeded 5 ha on Fri and would hope to graze with cows in oct!!!!

delaval wrote: »
    I seeded 5 ha on Fri and would hope to graze with cows in oct!!!!

A lot will depend on ground conditions and type of land reseeded. Last year I reseeded dry ground in August and did not graze until March. So maybe I am being pessimistic with my dates. Also dairy cows can often do less damage as you will be moving them every day and they will have full bellies all the time. Heavier beef cattle can do a bit of damage if they are in a place a few days too long as well as they might be being fed outside. Even this can happen with light beef stores.

As well 5 days can make can make a big difference in germination this time of year. With me Grazing conditions and condition and type( direct drilling as against one pass discing) of reseed would dictate when you would let them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Finally managed to get my bit of re-seeding done yesterday but I'm a bit disappointed with how rough the ground is after I rolled it.

it got 2 or 3 runs of the power harrow and seeded on the last run but I'd no access to a land leveller so I just spread the granlime and fertiliser and rolled it, problem is that my roller is a bit on the light side (didn't realise the water had leaked out of it and the stud is welded shut) so it didn't level the tracks from the power harrow as good as I'd like.

its fine driving in the same direction as it was seeded but if you drive across the field its a bit on the bumpy side.

So do I risk trying a chain harrow on it and re-rolling it or just try and get a heavier roller to do the job or will it settle in time.

live an learn I suppose

Dozer1 wrote: »
    Finally managed to get my bit of re-seeding done yesterday but I'm a bit disappointed with how rough the ground is after I rolled it.

it got 2 or 3 runs of the power harrow and seeded on the last run but I'd no access to a land leveller so I just spread the granlime and fertiliser and rolled it, problem is that my roller is a bit on the light side (didn't realise the water had leaked out of it and the stud is welded shut) so it didn't level the tracks from the power harrow as good as I'd like.

its fine driving in the same direction as it was seeded but if you drive across the field its a bit on the bumpy side.

So do I risk trying a chain harrow on it and re-rolling it or just try and get a heavier roller to do the job or will it settle in time.

live an learn I suppose

If you can get a heavier roller straight away that grand if not I let alone you would not want to roll 48 hours after seed spread. It will settle in time anyway. Roller should be a winter project to fix up properly. You can also roll in 4-6 weeks time if weather permits if you think it needs it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Thanks Pudsey, won't get to it till Saturday I'll just pick the stones and leave it a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

Hope to do some ploughing and then power harrow and seed next week. just waiting to cut silage on the ground as the crop is fairly poor. I wonder as i am going to plough right after taking the silage off it is there any need to spray off with roundup. I would not have thought so as it is not bad with weeds or rushes. Another question i have is as the land has already this year got slurry in spring and 2 bags fert to the acre for both cuts of silage would i need to fertilise after reseeding ?

k mac wrote: »
    Hope to do some ploughing and then power harrow and seed next week. just waiting to cut silage on the ground as the crop is fairly poor. I wonder as i am going to plough right after taking the silage off it is there any need to spray off with roundup. I would not have thought so as it is not bad with weeds or rushes. Another question i have is as the land has already this year got slurry in spring and 2 bags fert to the acre for both cuts of silage would i need to fertilise after reseeding ?

Firstly it's a mistake not to burn off the old sward before ploughing as even if it looks clean you still want to kill off the old grass.secondly you really need to fertlise wit 3 bags of 10 10 20 and 2 tonne of line per acre or 2 bags of gran lime unless ph is 6 .slurry applied in spring is well gone as us the 2 bags of fert per acre you put out for both cuts.this could be the reason your silage is so poor as to md it was under fertilised for silage.reseeding is the best money a dairy/beef farmer will spend in a year as it will grow your cheapest feed.dont skimp on fertiliser /spray.also don't forget the post emergence spray and a bag of can/pasture sward a month to 6 weeks after seed is in.then graze often to aid till wring.

A lot will depend on ground conditions and type of land reseeded. Last year I reseeded dry ground in August and did not graze until March. So maybe I am being pessimistic with my dates. Also dairy cows can often do less damage as you will be moving them every day and they will have full bellies all the time. Heavier beef cattle can do a bit of damage if they are in a place a few days too long as well as they might be being fed outside. Even this can happen with light beef stores.

As well 5 days can make can make a big difference in germination this time of year. With me Grazing conditions and condition and type( direct drilling as against one pass discing) of reseed would dictate when you would let them in.
    Pudsey

Your spot on I will get enough cows in to graze in one go. Even if its s light cover I will make every effort to get it grazed. Unless it spills altogether we will be able to graze.

It's direct drilled so sod still on it and with quick on and off grazing should be possible, I hope

My biggest concern is lack of moisture as I'd like to get weeds up and sprayed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Firstly it's a mistake not to burn off the old sward before ploughing as even if it looks clean you still want to kill off the old grass.secondly you really need to fertlise wit 3 bags of 10 10 20 and 2 tonne of line per acre or 2 bags of gran lime unless ph is 6 .slurry applied in spring is well gone as us the 2 bags of fert per acre you put out for both cuts.this could be the reason your silage is so poor as to md it was under fertilised for silage.reseeding is the best money a dairy/beef farmer will spend in a year as it will grow your cheapest feed.dont skimp on fertiliser /spray.also don't forget the post emergence spray and a bag of can/pasture sward a month to 6 weeks after seed is in.then graze often to aid till wring.
    How long would i have to leave it after spraying before i could plough it. I would be afraid it might end up being too late to seed.

k mac wrote: »
    How long would i have to leave it after spraying before i could plough it. I would be afraid it might end up being too late to seed.
    About 5 days

mahoney_j wrote: »
    About 5 days

Spray about 5 days before you cut and plough immediately after bales removed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Thinking of spreading hybrid seed to spruce up silageground that is starting to thin.no scutch or weeds sso will just spread 4 bags on 12 acres on put slurry on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Lad arrived 5min ago with direct drill, cant remember when.them fields were reseeded last

simx wrote: »
    Lad arrived 5min ago with direct drill, cant remember when.them fields were reseeded last

Have you a pic of driller. What type of machine is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

delaval wrote: »
    Have you a pic of driller. What type of machine is it?

sorry only seen this now, never took pic, its a moore drill

We got the 9 acres in yesterday before the rain. A little disappointed that only 9 bags of seed were used after leaving out 11 to be put in. Otherwise a good job.

getting bit pissed off waiting for the contractor to turn up to do mine at this stage:mad:

What area are you in? Bob doing a bit of contracting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

A few years ago after a late 3rd cut I gave 9 acres a few runs of a springtine harrow spread grass seeds and rolled, got great result

Ah Bob keeps telling us that Meath land isnt worth doing anything with ;)

How long are ya waiting now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I hope your not the man that asked me to do some seeding, I will be on tomorrow if I said I would, or the day after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

red bull wrote: »
    A few years ago after a late 3rd cut I gave 9 acres a few runs of a springtine harrow spread grass seeds and rolled, got great result
    I think that's the trick with overseeing, sow at the shoulders of the year when old grass isn't growing.

Bizzum wrote: »
    How long are ya waiting now?
    10 days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

has anyone sprayed with roundup in late september and if so did ye get a good kill,

can you leave ground sprayed off over the winter, I know you cant leave it ploughed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

have 10 acres ploughed since sat ,disced it yesterday,leval it tue and set,25% of land reseeded this year so hope for extra grass next year and then can get higher % reseeded as a result.