Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stena Line - Mini Cruise - €5

• 12-08-2013 9:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭DJMG92

Not sure if this was posted before but Stena Line are doing a summer offer that you can travel to Hollyhead for the day on the boat for only €5 per person.

Select Dublin to Hollyhead as route, then select foot passenger.

http://www.stenaline.ie/cruises

The booking part on the website is down, but if you call there call centre they will take the booking for you over the phone as I just booked it.

" Why not enjoy a day out with a difference!

Spend the day cruising on the Irish Sea for just €5 per person return.

Whilst onboard you can enjoy the superb range of offers available in our shop including fragrance, wine and confectionary! Not to mention the tasty treats served in our restaurants. All this AND Free WiFi and movies onboard – what are you waiting for – book now!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Was considering booking a trip for the family until I saw
    *Customers are not permitted to disembark in Holyhead or Fishguard.

Even if you were able to spend a couple of hours there it might be worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭DJMG92

Yeh, that's the only bad thing, but not bad for a cheap day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭mada999

am i missing something here? you go to hollyhead but you cannot get off the boat ?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

mada999 wrote: »
    am i missing something here? you go to hollyhead but you cannot get off the boat ?:confused:

Get off the boat ? In Holyhead ? I'd pay an extra fiver to not have to disembark there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Nice bit of sea air

Does seem silly though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Yup, its fúcking bizzare.

However, if they let you off the boat, you could just leave, and use the €5 fare as a cheap way over to Wales for the day, and fly back or whatever.

You don't even have a room, so you can't use it as a discreet way to bang someone for the day :P

Great for Boat enthusiasts maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

heres an idea could you lets say book the 5 euro thing and another 5 euro back on a diffrent day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭vickers209

Wonder how they can stop u getting off?? Only thing is u wouldn't have a boarding pass to get back on.
    I was looking at goin over to wales for few days shortly but with car me and passenger it works out over €400 return if I booked herself on as a foot passenger for a fiver and same on way back would be a nice saving if she got into car with me exiting the ship.

they would have no way of stopping you getting off. There is also on the UK website 5 pounds on the way back so book the 5 euro ourwards and 5 pounds back on a day you want to come back on then your all set. Just hop on a train then to somewhere decent like Liverpool, Chester etc and your in for a good cheap trip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Yup, its fúcking bizzare.

However, if they let you off the boat, you could just leave, and use the €5 fare as a cheap way over to Wales for the day, and fly back or whatever.

You don't even have a room, so you can't use it as a discreet way to bang someone for the day :P

Great for Boat enthusiasts maybe?

You can book rooms on board for around 40Euro

And if they'd let yuou off the boat in Wales i'd be off in a heartbeat, visit the folks (45mins away from port), stay the night, then get another 5 euro trip back.

That's why they won't let people off cos people like me would take the piss

Imagine the disdain on your partner's face, when they realise that this lovely little surprise, doesn't actually entail a few days in Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Thegalwayman

Ridiculous offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Ridiculous offer.

Not really ive got a seven and five year old who would love this little adventure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

No disembarking, and no luggage. Still, could be a fun day on the ship.

Terms and Conditions

• *Customers are not permitted to disembark in Holyhead or Fishguard.
    • Cruises are by foot only and are the same price for children (4–15 years).
    • Infants (0–3 years) travel free.
    • Available until 10 September 2013.
    • Book a minimum of 48 hours in advance of travel.
    • Only available on the routes specified.
    • No refunds if the booking is cancelled.
    • No luggage permitted.
    • It is not valid in conjunction with any other offer, discount or promotion including Tesco Clubcard tokens.
    • €3 service fee applies to non–web bookings.
    • No charge for payment by debit card. However a €6 handling fee applies to payment by credit card.
    • Persons found to be misusing the day trip fare will be surcharged at the standard rates.
    • Stena Line reserves the right to withdraw or make minor changes to all products up to 36 hours prior to departure.
    • The Stena Line Terms of Business together with these special conditions apply to all bookings and travel.

Thoie wrote: »
    No disembarking, and no luggage. Still, could be a fun day on the ship.

Terms and Conditions

• *Customers are not permitted to disembark in Holyhead or Fishguard.
    • Cruises are by foot only and are the same price for children (4–15 years).
    • Infants (0–3 years) travel free.
    • Available until 10 September 2013.
    • Book a minimum of 48 hours in advance of travel.
    • Only available on the routes specified.
    • No refunds if the booking is cancelled.
    • No luggage permitted.
    • It is not valid in conjunction with any other offer, discount or promotion including Tesco Clubcard tokens.
    • €3 service fee applies to non–web bookings.
    • No charge for payment by debit card. However a €6 handling fee applies to payment by credit card.
    • Persons found to be misusing the day trip fare will be surcharged at the standard rates.
    • Stena Line reserves the right to withdraw or make minor changes to all products up to 36 hours prior to departure.
    • The Stena Line Terms of Business together with these special conditions apply to all bookings and travel.

With those rules it makes for a very dull day

Thoie wrote: »

Terms and Conditions

• *Customers are not permitted to disembark in Holyhead or Fishguard

so if you don't return on ship they will charge your card the standard fare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

The ferry to Holyhead is about the most unevenful journey ever. The boat is very boring compared to a boat to France.

Irish ferries is having a sale to France and that is worth the cheap fare. There is 20% off till tomorrow FR20OFF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Smash The House

Ridiculous offer.

Indeed.
    I was on that ferry crossing last year in which was supposedly "high season"
    Boat was completely empty and just depressing. Two coffees cost around €6, as everything is at a premium and in sterling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

o2 money card or similar disposable debit card to the rescue.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Not valid weekends either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

adamski8 wrote: »
    Not valid weekends either

Last time I checked, Sunday was part of the weekend ;)

• Take advantage of great shopping and dining deals
    • Available Sunday – Thursday
    • This is a non–landing trip*
    • Travel up to 10 September
    • Book by 8 September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Why can't you get off?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭anuprising

Hootanany wrote: »
    Why can't you get off?:(
    because like an airport the company must pay per passenger passing thru the ferry port so if you don't get off they don't have to pay your port fees making the trip cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

anuprising wrote: »
    because like an airport the company must pay per passenger passing thru the ferry port so if you don't get off they don't have to pay your port fees making the trip cheaper
    and, its as much an effort to get bums on seats to use the restaurants and bars as anything.

Michael o leary said he would have no problem giving away seats on his planes if they spent enough on other stuff to make him a profit.
    What Stena are doing with the day cruise is not far short of doing that.

BTW, the prices for food on the ferries arent that bad to be honest. They are cheaper than UK service stations. Much cheaper in fact.
    Heres the menu offerings :
    http://www.stenaline.co.uk/ferry/our-ships/stena-adventurer/resturantandbar/

including deals like:
    Family meal deal only £25 for any 2 adult meals + up to any 3 kids’ meals + up to 5 hot/cold drinks
    (excl. alcohol)
    or
    Barista Meal Deal: £4.99 for any sandwich plus a muffin or pastry plus any small hot drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

am i the only one thinking booze cruise?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭DJMG92

brightkane wrote: »

Thats why I booked it :)

Certainly not! It's the only reason I'm here :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,271 ✭✭✭Yggr of Asgard

No and I am considering booking it just for the fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭andersat2

gonna take a slab of bulmers with me on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭DublinBeaker

How long does the crossing take ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

TBH, drink is not great value on the ferry - either from the bar or from the duty free.

The offer sounds like my idea of hell - the ferrys are quite comfortable and all, but food is very expensive and not great quality and there's feck all to do, no great views. There's far better ways of spending a day than this - imo anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

Not really ive got a seven and five year old who would love this little adventure.

Free movies too! I have an eight and six year old who are delighted at the prospect! I have 75 year old who is keen too! Each to their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

andersat2 wrote: »

One of the reasons Ferry travel is dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Wally Runs wrote: »
    Free movies too! I have an eight and six year old who are delighted at the prospect! I have 75 year old who is keen too! Each to their own.

It's not going to be pleasant for them if some others are going on it as a booze cruise.

Aw don't ruin it :(

Wonder what movies they're showing , don't think there's cinema on fishgaurd route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

You've obviously never been in holyhead! theyre doing u a faour alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

drunk-woman-steals-a-ferry-and-yells-i-am-jack-sparrow-funny-newspapers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

Wonder what movies they're showing , don't think there's cinema on Fishguard route
    http://www.stenaline.ie/ferry/movies-onboard/

OZ THE GREAT AND POWERFUL
    RISE OF THE GUARDIANS

Not the latest releases, but when you are eight!

Does say the free movies shown in living room and the cinema not free though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Never get outta the boat man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

damian139 wrote: »
    You've obviously never been in holyhead! theyre doing u a faour alright

Some nice little pubs in Holyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭niallam

Some nice little pubs in Holyhead

I thought so too.
    We went in my brothers stag to Bangor, best stag ever, boat over was great, boat back even better. Cans, docking station and great craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Dudda

How do they stop you getting off the boat? I’ve only ever had my tickets checked getting onto boats, not off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

about 7/8 years ago they ran something from Rosslare to fishguard. £30 got you 9pm sailing there, dinner, a cabin, and band and disco. You couldn't get off boat and were back in Rosslare at 8am next morn or something.

Was the best craic and would deffo do it again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

I'm actually amazed at the responses. It's a simple trip there and back, great if you've kids involved and not something you do every other day.

I don't understand what there is to complain about. If it sounds poxy to you then just don't go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

There isn't a rule against complaining. Sure the country is powered by it.

My 2yo would probably love it, but I'd be concerned about the slabsters, and I say that as a former slabster myself, on the old Cork-Swansea ferry. If I was on the piss, I'd be worried about screwing it up for families on board. It could be a recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Think it's weird there is such a difference in price just because you can't get off at the other side.

It's a pity the ferries aren't more competitive. When you imagine their capacity and how they could market (soccer matches and the like) there's no reason that they should be empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Think it's weird there is such a difference in price just because you can't get off at the other side.

It's a pity the ferries aren't more competitive. When you imagine their capacity and how they could market (soccer matches and the like) there's no reason that they should be empty.

I always thought the ferry was super competitive.
    Especially if you can bring your car + all your stuff and not have to go through a metal detector almost naked.

I always thought the ferry was super competitive.
    Especially if you can bring your car + all your stuff and not have to go through a metal detector almost naked.

im being quoated 420 for car, driver and 1 passenger on boat

just done a quote online ryanair to fly return to manchester for 2 with 1x15kg bag
    including parking at dublin airport for 7 days, car hire for 7 days for €320 take the bag off that you get it for €270.

Think i might flying and saving my €100 or €150 if i can fit what i need into hand luggage