Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cathal Pendred trying out for TUF?

• 11-08-2013 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭

Cathal tweeted this about an hour ago:

Cathal Pendred ‏@PendredMMA 1h

I just booked my flights for the Ultimate Fighter trials. I'll see you in 2 weeks @danawhite ;)

Is he trying out for TUF? Seems like a step down for him if he is but if its his only route into the UFC then theres not much he can do.

Best of luck Cathal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

If he is going for TUF then I don't see it as a step down at all.
    I've said before that I think TUF is a perfect platform for him to get into the UFC.

He'll get better name recognition once the public watch the show, rather than going in as a newcomer nobody has heard of.

He may develop a fan base which could lengthen his stint in the UFC if he becomes popular.

It'll be a great learning curve for him and he'll be eased in rather than being dumped in against higher level guys.

I think the slower pace would suit him better rather than the whirlwind that McGregor is in at the moment.

Perfect choice in my opinion and I wish him the best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,218 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Is he trying out for TUF? Seems like a step down for him if he is but if its his only route into the UFC then theres not much he can do.
    How so? A step down from what exactly.
    If he qualifies for the show, he is prob guaranteed at fight on the finale card. No matter what way you look at it is a step up from his current level.

CW is a great promotion for developing fighters, but it is what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

Conor in the UFC, Paddy the Hooligan in TUF and maybe Cathal Pendred too depending on how he gets on? and a new black belt just promoted there recently I hear.... good times at SBG yeah? and what's this about a big new SBG training center being built somewhere? anyone know anything about it?

...and what's this about a big new SBG training center being built somewhere? anyone know anything about it?

Havent heard anything about that.
    I do know they recently opened a place in blackrock. That's 3 gyms they have now.

John Kavanagh mentioned it on that radio show when they were in the states recently for the VISA thing.... 8000 square feet, on a main road etc... just hope it's on one of me bus routes : ) maybe he was referring to the Blackrock gym but I don't think so, sounded bigger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

I heard it was going to be pretty close to the current HQ on Longmile Road but bigger and shinier. Industrious bunch in there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭liverbear

Conor in the UFC, Paddy the Hooligan in TUF and maybe Cathal Pendred too depending on how he gets on? and a new black belt just promoted there recently I hear.... good times at SBG yeah? and what's this about a big new SBG training center being built somewhere? anyone know anything about it?

Seen Paddy on the trailer. Did he def make the house??

actually I don't know for sure tbh I saw him in the trailer and I'm takin it he's in from some hinting comments on here : ) but I don't know... hope he is though coz he's a gas man from stuff I've seen on him and he's damn good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭stephen1990

liverbear wrote: »
    Seen Paddy on the trailer. Did he def make the house??

I think that's taking from the fight to get into the house...I've seen clips of people that have made it through and haven't seen him yet.

Would love him in. Be great craic. From comments here and on other blogs about missing training etc could be in but i doubt it. His facebook never was closed like normans and a few other things make me think he might have lost out in the fight to get in. Hope i am wrong. Either way great guy, bright future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

Hope he nails it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭nino1

Does Pendred have the personality to be picked for tuf?

It seems personality is nearly as important as skill level for this show

Paddy is in. Jk has a picture up going to the first screening with conor tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

liverbear wrote: »
    Paddy is in. Jk has a picture up going to the first screening with conor tonight.

Thanks for the spoilers. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Hadn't it already been well publicised that Paddy had gotten chosen for the show?

paddy-holohan-tuf-18.jpg

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Hadn't it already been well publicised that Paddy had gotten chosen for the show?

Isn't there a preliminary fight to get into the house?

Hence I took liverbear's comment "Paddy is in" to mean that he has passed that stage and got in to the house.

If I'm picking it up wrong then apologies.

What's worse is that the actual ad has a bit of a major spoiler in it! I'll say nothing about it in case you haven't spotted it. It's a bit silly though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭TheKingslayer

I don't think pendred has the skills to dine at the top level if I'm being honest. Is a couple of levels technically below McGregor, and it's unlikely he'd make much impact at his weight class. Some lads like McGregor and Jon Jones are destined for greatness, but a slugger and a plodder like Cathal will end up on the scrapheap very quickly, the sport is littered with examples.

I don't think pendred has the skills to dine at the top level

Some lads like McGregor and Jon Jones are destined for greatness

Did you not just post a detailed breakdown about how McGregor is going to lose in Boston and how his ground game has more holes than a teabag?

Make your mind up?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

MrStuffins wrote: »

paddy-holohan-tuf-18.jpg

This series is going to be a clusterf*ck in every sense of the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Fluffy Stuff Buffer

It's going to be like Sex House.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0App7QizQCU

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Isn't there a preliminary fight to get into the house?

Hence I took liverbear's comment "Paddy is in" to mean that he has passed that stage and got in to the house.

If I'm picking it up wrong then apologies.

Was that picture. Only looking now and by a count we are no nearer to knowing if he is in the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Who are the coaches for the season Cathal's going for? Either not been announced or i've missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Dave 101

scudzilla wrote: »
    Who are the coaches for the season Cathal's going for? Either not been announced or i've missed it

No they Haven't been announced yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Junior D

Whats Cathal's plan if this gamble doesn't pay off?
    I mean, what if he doesn't win/get a ufc contract out of this? He's basically said that he's done as much as he can and as much as he wants already outside the ufc, so if he doesn't get it, what next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭TheKingslayer

he has talked about making a return to playing thirds rugby with Blackrock.

Junior D wrote: »
    I mean, what if he doesn't win/get a ufc contract out of this? He's basically said that he's done as much as he can and as much as he wants already outside the ufc, so if he doesn't get it, what next?

In all honesty, he's (arguably) the #1 WW in Europe right now. I can't see him making the Preliminary Round.

If he doesn't mess up and lose that, he'll most likely get a fight at the finale one way or another

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Has he given up the CW belt now ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭LaughOrDie

Junior D wrote: »

Didn't he recently get an offer from WSOF? But he's still in contract with CW.

If he doesn't get into the UFC, he can surely get a contract with another promotion once he's out of contract.

http://severemma.com/2013/07/pendred-turns-down-wsof-contract-willing-to-wait-for-ufc/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 pbee

Will he be competing at Middleweight for this?

Yup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,094 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Good write up here on what the fighters go through Cathal gets mentioned as well.

http://ca.sports.yahoo.com/news/baboon-banana-fighters-look-earn-spot-reality-tv-100008315.html

Signing off also was a legal thumbs-up to "inclusion of material in the series and other programs which may be potentially embarrassing or emotionally trying, which may not be completely accurate in depicting my actual statements, thoughts, beliefs, motives, emotions, states of mind, health status, actions or ideas, or which may have the effect of reflecting negatively on me or my reputation."

They're basically saying:

"You hereby agree that if we want to manipulate things to make you look like a complete f*ck head on tv, we can do so".

Who do you tink will coach

any news on the TUF thing?

They all signed non disclosures to the tune of 5 million dollars, so probably wont here anything until the cast is announced. Unless he lets slip to one his team members and it gets put here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭d_jordan

If he does get in I think it works in his favour thats its a middleweight season, if you look at the history of tuf most of the winners are the guys that generally dont have to cut/worry about keeping their weight down during the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭thehairyone

Looks like Cathals (and maybe Chris fields?) TUF fight were a couple of days ago in vegas.

Heres dana talking about Conor mcgregor and the fact that he was at the TUF try outs:

http://youtu.be/Ay5daTm7Y0U?t=17m19s

Makes sense that hes there to support Cathal and maybe chris, would also explain his tweets from las vegas aswell. hope they both got through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭thehairyone

Pendreds last tweet on the 15 Oct to his girlfriend:

Cathal Pendred ‏@PendredMMA 15 Oct

@MicheleMcGrathx I miss you! I'll see you at Christmas. I love you x #soon

He hasnt tweeted since (which is unusual for him). Not sure if he tweeted it before or after his TUF fight though.

But it certainly looks like he got into the house. No tweets from chris fields since the 13th of October but hes not as prolific a tweeter so hard to tell if it means anything.

I have a feeling he is in!

for anyone who wants a look at him

Cathal-Pendred-Chael-Sonnen.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Cathal-Pendred-Chael-Sonnen.jpg

Ha look how small his fist is compared to sonnens!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Dave 101

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Ha look how small his fist is compared to sonnens!!

Sonnens is closer to the camera which makes it look a lot bigger

Sonnen also grew up on a farm. Everyone knows farmers have big shovel hands!

Yeah, sure look at this picture of his father....

250px-Bighand.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Dave 101 wrote: »

Ah Jaysus he's about 2 inches closer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,768 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Dave 101 wrote: »
    Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus he's about 2 inches closer!

PDVD_003.jpg