Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yay or Nay on German plates?

• 11-08-2013 10:29pm
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Lads
    What are the thoughts there with German plates.
    Lad bought this car off me last Wednesday and has it readvertised now with german plates, not sure what he is up to, regardless, he put german plates on it and I was wondering what ye thought of them.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo-st-diesel/5478435

As one lad said to me, the mondeo isn't a German car.... :D

German plates? 33 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 33 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Why is he selling so soon?

And they are wrong on anything but a German car.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

ba_barabus wrote: »

Hard to know tbh, he texted me asking for any of the lads who showed interested before he bought.....
    Said the car "wasn't for him", I suspect though that, if he had checked before he bought the car... that he found out the tax is out Aug 2013, that on the garage receipts on the "work to be done" it says new back shocks, fly wheel.

Listen, I don't know why, the car was bang on, he can do what he likes with it, I was just curious as I thought that it wasn't going to make a big diff spending 30 euro on new plates on a non german car! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I find it funnier that the first few pics actually have normal plastic plates on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

No, pressed metal irish plates are the only ones to get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Not unless it's a german registered car.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I find it funnier that the first few pics actually have normal plastic plates on
    I know! They are the ones I had on it.
    Cienciano wrote: »

As in standard plates?

I was "half" thinking of putting them "German" plates on my VRS....... would u boys beat me over the head for it.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,483 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

There missing the dashes and County name too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Stick some Belgian plates on that mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Cienciano wrote: »

Or plastic irish ones ?

Depends on the car really... my old civic had one metal plate on the back and a plastic one on thefront. I never got around to ggetting a plastic for the back ! But it originally had metal ones and i think it looks better with plastic.

But it depends on the car if it should be metal orplastic.

Anyway ddefinitely not germen unless its a german registered car in Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Not German plates, but I think the German font suits the Irish reg plates. As long as it's all legal it's fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Sobanek wrote: »
    Not German plates, but I think the German font suits the Irish reg plates. As long as it's all legal it's fine :)

I could almost swear that it needs the county name in irish for it to be legal and pass an nct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I think I've seen that car somewhere not so long ago. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

yop wrote: »
    Lads
    Lad bought this car off me last Wednesday and has it readvertised now with german plates, not sure what he is up to, regardless, he put german plates on it and I was wondering what ye thought of them.

Did you sell it for much less than his advertised price?

Those pictures with plates might get attention of some lads, but IMHO it's nonsense.
    Plate is just for identification, and I can't see how someone can think that one plate looks better than other. But it's just my opinions.

The most ridiculous are lads with "D" underneath EU flag and Irish number plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I could almost swear that it needs the county name in irish for it to be legal and pass an nct

That's why I said as long as it's legal :D

CiniO wrote: »
    I think I've seen that car somewhere not so long ago. :cool:
    lol, where did you see it?

CiniO wrote: »
    Did you sell it for much less than his advertised price?

Those pictures with plates might get attention of some lads, but IMHO it's nonsense.
    Plate is just for identification, and I can't see how someone can think that one plate looks better than other. But it's just my opinions.

The most ridiculous are lads with "D" underneath EU flag and Irish number plate.

Bought it for 5k. I had it on dd for I would say 6 weeks, started at 6200 -> 0 calls, 5800-> offered 4750, then I reduced it to 5600 for about 3 weeks and it nothing at all.
    Finally said that with the tax up at the end of Aug I would dip it to 5400 and let it off.
    Had 5 interested parties, 1 was to come on the Wednesday evening, 1 was due on the Sat and one wasn't sure when he would come. The other didn't turn up and then this lad bought.

So them plates aren't actually legal? Didn't know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

So them plates aren't actually legal? Didn't know that.

Those ones definitely aren't. No dashes, No county in Irish above the reg. Font looks oversized too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

I liken German plates to vinyl wraps.
    The first time I saw it I thought it was deadly. Matt black 645.
    Then I started seeing wraps on everything from 316 (with oblig m3 badge) to a Renault megane.
    They've just became **** and tatty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I detest that font with a passion

dgt wrote: »
    I detest that font with a passion

So to just clarify that... if I put plates like that on my VRS, you won;t like them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

So to just clarify that... if I put plates like that on my VRS, you won;t like them :D

Isn't the more important question, whether YOU'D like them?

True. I think they "distinguish" a car a bit, make it look less same-y, but i think the ones he has there on that are a little too much for an auld lad like me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,483 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Like any trend they started out being nice because they were kind of unique/rare, then they became popular and before you knew every muppet in the country had them. Now the skangers have embraced them so they are tatty and tasteless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

tacky imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Not my cup of tea but each to their own I guess.

That said, Id put Japanese plates on my car if I thought Id get away with it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Should the poll options be "Ja - Schnell " and "No - they don't like it up 'em " ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Its your car, yours to modifly in whatever way pleases you. What I think should have no effect on that but that's what this thread is about, finding out who likes/dislikes those plates....?

On the flip side, I use blocky felt style font on my plates, sure not everyone will like them but I don't care very much,my car not theirs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

True. I think they "distinguish" a car a bit, make it look less same-y,

I use these holders to get the same effect :D

olqd.jpg

photo1ctw.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

If I were a Cop I'd pay extra special attention to any car with those plates on them.

Not that I'm vindictive or anything :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

The pressed metal and german font are acceptable but putting the D Instead of the IRL is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

ba_barabus wrote: »

And they are wrong on anything but a car in Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

nay in this instance

Considering my first car was something like this, in grey and not lowered with the stripes down the side!!
    German plates would be tame! :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTAIMnSnKMbnayBdi6DZNvqrTo52cfUJlRLgXUlFciC_M5xp6He

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

a big "Hell No" to any of those German plates on any car. Except if you are in Germanyland.

Keep it standard lads.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I have them on my vrs. I liked the look of them. Doesn't seem to bother anyone. World is still turning. Success!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Liking the rammstein plate holders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,667 ✭✭✭✭vectra

bazz26 wrote: »
    Like any trend they started out being nice because they were kind of unique/rare, then they became popular and before you knew every muppet in the country had them. Now the skangers have embraced them so they are tatty and tasteless.

Let me get this correct.

Simply because someone else's taste and like differ from your's they are automatically a Muppet and a Skanger.?

@ Yop

Just di it.
    I fitted mine this morning. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Lads

urg.
    (to the eye of someone living in germany for 10+years) the font is completely wrong on that yoke.
    For example, the M is too compressed and the 6 is the wrong shape - so basically its completely the wrong font.

heres a proper Munich plate BMW for reference
    http://s1.cdn.autoevolution.com/images/news/bmw-usa-announces-2012-528i-pricing-39002_1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I like them on proper german cars, but think they look silly on other cars.

Understand it is a polarizing subject, but I just think the DE font adds so much to a car's look. I've got full de font on my e60, even with the D in place of the IRL.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I have them on my 535d.

Germon font, with the strike throughs, but i do have the dashes, county and IRL logo on the side.

Like others have said, its personal choice, just because i like sausages, hash browns and egg mayo on a sambo, doesnt mean that everybody else has to like it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I actually think that if youre going to do it then go the whole hog and put the D on the country part, put the stickers in the middle etc. Basically make it look as authentic as possible rather than doing a half ass job of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Sounds like a very tasty sambo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I really really can't see the point :rolleyes:

Apart from looking like a tosser I'd presume its also illegal as they're non standard plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

KTRIC wrote: »
    Apart from looking like a tosser .
    Take your personal abuse elsewhere, uncalled for
    I'd presume its also illegal as they're non standard plates.

They are not illegal if you have the dashes, the IRL in the flag and the county name above the letter.

I really really can't see the point :rolleyes:

Apart from looking like a tosser I'd presume its also illegal as they're non standard plates.

A bit harsh tbh, each to their own, even it offends your eyes! :)

vectra wrote: »
    Let me get this correct.

Simply because someone else's taste and like differ from your's they are automatically a Muppet and a Skanger.?

@ Yop

Just di it.
    I fitted mine this morning. :P

Throw up a pic there muppet when you get a chance, want to see them skangers plates ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Max Power1 wrote: »
    They are not illegal if you have the dashes, the IRL in the flag and the county name above the letter.
    theres a spec provided in the law on how plates must look and once you stick to that (i.e. use of dashes etc) you're fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,667 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Throw up a pic there muppet when you get a chance, want to see them skangers plates ;)

Here you go mr muppet :)

I really like the way they turn my car into a skangermobile :D

[IMG][/img]DSC_1315_062_zpsee779238.jpg

DSC_1316_063_zps7d7fbefb.jpg

DSC_1318_065_zpsaad844ed.jpg

DSC_1319_066_zps530aa6dd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I wonder what 132-C-321 is on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Marcusm wrote: »
    I wonder what 132-C-321 is on?

2013 Volkswagen Passat CL 1.6tdi M6F BMT 105HP