Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home made pigeon spinner.

• 10-08-2013 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Today I had a few hours spare and an old wiper motor.

So I stripped it and got a bar put it cross it and wired it to the battery. It spins fairly well and I'd hazard a guess and say its the right speed. Not to fast but not to slow either.

I had to rush of and meet tawny owl. So I didn't get a chance to make a stand for it. What sort of height should it be off the ground I was struggling to come up with an idea to make a stand with stuff around the shed. So has any one got any ideas of a stand I can use make or can the motor sit on the ground and spin from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

hows thing I made one last year and only used it once I took it out of the shed today to get it ready I will take a picture and throw it up so you can see it

Attachment not found.pig 002.JPGthis might give you an idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Ye sound that would be great thanks.

I should take a picture of mine so it gives an idea of what needs to happen to mount it. How did you find it was it any good.

used it once and straw got tangled around the motor and drained the battery ...I charged the battery today and got over an hour out of it so I will need a few batterys but I can get them for free

That the right looking yoke infairness. What lenght did you make the arms on it. Is that half inch copper your using.

no its 6mm round bar that I only taped on today I was using 10 mm bar with a cradle to mount the dead bird but it was very heavy so I ordered two foam birds today ..keeping it light weight it important I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Johnny max

I made a good for mates and I use the cow sticks ya get at the ploughing
    light and very flexable

Cow sticks ye could work alright do you have any specs you made it to.

I had a leghnt of half inch copper there was thinking of using that but was unsure how long it would last. So I just got a flat bar half inch by 4-6 mm put a hole in it and bolted it straight on. There about 2half foot either side in lenght.

what battery are you using on pigeon magnets and how long do you get my arms are just over 4 half foot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Johnny max

have them made on stand 3ft over ground and arms are 3ft6" long
    batterys are the same as the lamping ones 7amp, I bring twe when going
    and have switch on magnet.

my batteries are 12v 7a and they last no time and my motor gets hot ..how long you get from a battery and do you know what car the motor came from

The battery I have is a 12v 17.2 amp I think its what I bring for my lamp. Great lenght of time out of it to be fair I may leave the magnet on tomorrow and see how long it runs that for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

If you need anything welded let me know.

Will do thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

If u get ya hands on a relay switch you can program different settings for speed on it.
    Bit more complicated but can work a treat and can be used with a Remote and aerial.
    There's a pigeon magnet on donedeal for sale and has been for about a year and no one has bought it yet. Dodgy work if say but to make it with wiper motor can be set on different speeds with a relay.
    Was told an old Nokia phone can work as a remote.
    Anyway that's my two cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

When i made mine i used the fan speed switch off the heater out of the scrap car where i got wiper motor off of

I have a speed switch there I can use how important is the speed of the spinner. What hight of the ground should the birds be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Here's a pic of the one we made.It works well with no speed switch

DSCF0471_zps5fe08eab.jpg

DSCF0473_zpsa4e2afac.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Found these videos on youtube.

Whats the story with the electrics are they difficult to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

thats the way i made my one sorta only i cut corners and made mine out of what ever i had. i made the long bars to hold the birds on with old tent polls grand and light didnt bother with a speed either works fine with out diff speeds mines connected to a car battary last for every.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

supposidly an electric window motor works better as its draw less power than the window wiper motor so the battery lasts longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

threw on together myself this morn outa bits lyin around and wiper motor outa car i use for spare parts for my own car.. i used a car battery and tent poles for the arms...where to get foam decoys is my next problem as u need them light as possible...would a wing of real pigeon either side work???!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

i just tie clip a pigeon ive shot onto mine and it works perfect or i often use the shell pigeon decoys that works too