Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The song you will forever associate with your Leaving Cert

• 09-08-2013 12:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭

What song will always remind you of your LC? For my JC the songs "Stereo Love" and "Love The Way You Lie" were being played everywhere so whenever I hear them it immediately takes me back.

For the LC I listened to the song Together by The XX pretty much on the way in to every exam I sat to get me pumped up. :p I was also on a massive Joy Division binge for that period so a good few songs from Unknown Pleasures particularly Disorder will forever remind me of the Leaving Cert. :cool:

So, what are your LC songs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Where is the Love (Black Eyed Peas) Hated that fuppin song at the time, still do.
    Listened to a lot of Oasis stuff at the time, Definitely Maybe and Heathen Chemistry, oh and Coldplay's A Rush of Blood to the Head album, for some reason found it very calming!

Bastille, Dubstep and Paramore's self titled album. All a bit different to each other..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Paramore - Now. That sh*t got me pumped for the LC :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭007driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Brian_Zeluz

Midnight Train (Don't Stop Believin') - Journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Macklemore - 10000 Hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

• Call Me Maybe
    • Call My Name
    • We Are Young
    • Payphone

All HUGE last year during June when I was doing the Leaving UGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Dropping No Eaves

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

came out just as it started, and i listened to the album every minute i wasnt in an exam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭WilhelmFink

Panic! At The Disco, Fall Out Boy

I did my LC last year....

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

On those hard nights of note writing Savant was better than injecting coffee. These two were probably most played.

And then there was alot of Eminem too. This probably most of all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Kodaline- High Hopes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭aimzLc2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

Kodaline - High Hopes
    Bastille - Pompeii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭therambler

Livin' On a Prayer- Bon Jovi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

That fûcking we own it song by Wiz Khalifa and that 2 Chainz chap, one of the lads played it in the car on the way to every exam from the library

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Robin Thicke song-I feckin hate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Robin Thicke song-I feckin hate it!

Blurred lines??

Tis a serious tune! Even better when ya have a few naggins in ya :D

Daniel7740 wrote: »
    Blurred lines??

Tis a serious tune! Even better when ya have a few naggins in ya :D

HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT-The message behind the song (Youre a good girl/I iknow you want it, sounds like something some psycho rapist would say to his victim), the video, and ESPECIALLY THE BIG FRICKIN BRIGHT RED "'#THICKE" through out the video!!!!!! THAT, THAT, THAT, JUST UGHHHHHHH

# Should only be used when displaying a number and used in Venn diagrams, wouldn't mind it as much if it was the THICKE (It would still annoy me a bit) its the freaking hashtag, I hate it when people say things like hashtag awakward or hashtag delighted irl, or outside of tw!tter. To use it in a music video is subliminal messaging "Talk about me on tw!tter/face book, get the word out about this song" and encouraging its use irl and I cant STAND IT

IT DRIVES ME FRICKIN MENTAL

ARGHHHHHHHHHH

HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT-The message behind the song (Youre a good girl/I iknow you want it, sounds like something some psycho rapist would say to his victim), the video, and ESPECIALLY THE BIG FRICKIN BRIGHT RED "'#THICKE" through out the video!!!!!! THAT, THAT, THAT, JUST UGHHHHHHH

# Should only be used when displaying a number and used in Venn diagrams, wouldn't mind it as much if it was the THICKE (It would still annoy me a bit) its the freaking hashtag, I hate it when people say things like hashtag awakward or hashtag delighted irl, or outside of tw!tter. To use it in a music video is subliminal messaging "Talk about me on tw!tter/face book, get the word out about this song" and encouraging its use irl and I cant STAND IT

ARGHHHHHHHHHH

So you're not a fan?

How could you tell?! :eek:

ARGHHHHHHHHHH

Did we just become best friends?

Someone. Else.

*Reaches out for hug*

The worst think about it is that, in spite of my bitter hatred of that awful "song", I still find myself droning "Hey hey hey" for a while after every time I hear it!

Its a catchy tune like it will get in your head, the same way Barney and Bob the buiulder does ;)

Bob the builder is a commie. One of the red menace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Young bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Wasn't this thread in AH 20 mins ago?
    Carry on young folk. :p

Guys, I don't remember seeing this posted (I'm on my phone, too lazy to check)
    But did we all somehow forget Daft Punk - Get Lucky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

5 days of study for the last exam.
    22nd of June, 2011: Economics.
    Finish in good time. Walk home, earphones in..
    BAM!

Talk about feeling like a motherf*cking champion. I'll never forget that walk home. I could have stopped a speeding car with my bare hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

I totally ruined A Lack Of Colour by Death Cab For Cutie for myself. :( Just listened to it there to check and yep, it still brings back awful memories of coming home from last year's geography exam... :eek: Transatlanticism suffered a similar fate.

Gotta Have You by The Weepies was a song someone linked in a music thread just before the exams last year which I liked and proceeded to listen to a lot too...again, slightly ruined.

Payphone is more associated with summer and waiting for results to me though, so not too bad. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭shootie

Has to be Get Lucky, that was over played to death around that time.

Some I remember studying often to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I must be the only person who hates Get Lucky. Such an incredibly boring song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jebus. The song that reminds me of the LC is 'I'm free' by The Soupdragons.

I'm old. I did the 'inter cert' too. Before ye were born!

LC will soon be a distant memory for ye. Life flies by. Make the most of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

+1 here! I do recall though it became a gag at the time when we were doing all nighters before exams yeno, "up all night to get lucky" :pac:

In my darkest hours of 6th year I'd listen to All Time Low- Therapy, and bawl my eyes out (HL maths I'm looking at you).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭shootie

+2.

I said it on twitter once, the reaction was equivalent to letting off a loud fart in mass and everyone staring at you like this

bert_eyes.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Ompala

Alive by Pearl Jam, always felt the chorus was fitting after a long exam!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Radioactive by Imagine Dragons is another song that was played a lot around the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭aimzLc2

Radioactive by Imagine Dragons is another song that was played a lot around the time.

I only heard that song for the first time the other day! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I was listening to a lot of Ceol and Rí-rá CD's.
    Macklemore - 10000 Hours

I wish that song was around the time of my Leaving Cert!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

only finished this year, our grad song was let her go, but the her was changed to him as it was an all boys secondary school

I played this one when leaving the school on the last exam.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Don't really remember thinking about it at the time, but the number one when I did my Leaving was 'Suicide is painless', the M.A.S.H. theme - cheery stuff.

That is just unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

50 cent - In the Club
    R kelly - Ignition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

ARGHHHHHHHHHH

It's a serious tune I think, if you hate that video watch the unrated version which got kicked off of YouTube :pac:

Who cares about the story the song is telling, it's a good song!

Now if you want strange lyrics, I think 212 could be the song to listen to :P

Try Guilty Conscience by Eminem for strange lyrics. That is story telling.

Daniel7740 wrote: »
    It's a serious tune I think, if you hate that video watch the unrated version which got kicked off of YouTube :pac:

Who cares about the story the song is telling, it's a good song!

Now if you want strange lyrics, I think 212 could be the song to listen to :P

I am not denying its a catchy tune, its repetitiveness is most likely a factor :p
    I just hate it all though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭YoursSincerely

Basically both of Funs albums - some nights and aim and ignite, in particular the songs be calm and the gambler, I literally used to sing be calm when I was freaking out it was great