Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tullamore show

• 08-08-2013 11:51am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Anyone thinking of heading to this on Sunday?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

blue5000 wrote: »
    Anyone thinking of heading to this on Sunday?

Hopefully, but did I read somewhere that it will be scaled back from previous years? Only go for machinery so if less stands at tullamore, we might go ploughing instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I was thinking of heading up with the kids if we are all in a mood for driving . Ive never been before and I heard its a bit nicer than the ploughing ?
    What time does it open at ? I will make an early burst if possible ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

We normally go. As far as I'm aware, it's as big as ever.

Time is usually spent 50:50 between the cattle and the machinery stands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Haven't been to the Ploughing in the last few years, so Tullamore will be given a miss this year!

They should have more defined rows at it, it's harder get around and see everything without missing something, is what I found about Tullamore Show the last time I was at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

was looking for a few bits and ploughing was going to be a no go.so I headed up to tullamore and got all the things I wanted ...crush gate etc
    find it a nice mix between cattle and machinery if weather ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Have gone the last few years in a row and wouldnt miss it now. Way prefer it to the ploughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Never been, won't have time to get away this weekend, will have to try to make the ploughing instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

We're off to it with a few cattle. Always a good show for the little I get to see of it. Far far better in most ways compared to the ploughing. Hope it's as good this year as the past few years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

We're off to it with a few cattle. Always a good show for the little I get to see of it. Far far better in most ways compared to the ploughing. Hope it's as good this year as the past few years.

what sort of cattle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Never been but heading up this year to see how it goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

1chippy wrote: »
    Never been but heading up this year to see how it goes.

Yep going to head up. Always enjoy it. Easier to get around than the ploughing and less teenagers drinking and townies being there to be seen because its the main event that week.

Was going by the site of the ploughing this evening. I see they've started laying all the track and putting up the perimeter fencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

where is the ploughing this year?

razor8 wrote: »
    where is the ploughing this year?

Near ratheniaka/ stradbally in co Laois. Up the road from where electric picnic is held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

myself and my colleague are putting in a trade stand for the 1st time at the ploughing - will let ye know the stand number soon so ye can call in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Tullamore show organisers should be onto the Offaly coco and get the ragworth pulled on the sides of the road all around the area especially on the main roads leading into it
    great way of encouraging farmers to get rid it out of there own land when you see it along all the roads :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

2nd cut done so im going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

what sort of cattle?

Pedigree Simmentals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Any one in at the event at the meat village in the show grounds tonight, I thought mairead mc Guinness was very good, all the factories sponsored the food, drink etc it was also good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

rancher wrote: »
    all the factories sponsored the food, drink etc it was also good.

by God you lads are easily bought

'twas open to everyone

Well how did the show go? Was it any good?

Muckit wrote: »
    Well how did the show go? Was it any good?

Good day out got there early and left early. No traffic problems. Rain stayed away. Nice and compact got to see all the stands I wanted to. Good machinery stands all I needed was money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

Rain was just starting as we left the carpark at around 3, we were there since around 10, easier than ploughing to get around

'twas open to everyone
    I called in and found it the most uninviting stuffy nosed shower that were about as aproachable as a badger in a snare. The ifa seriously needs to look after real farmers rather than the back scratching snooty shower than just seem to ooze with the attitude were important and your not.
    Apart from that a great day, well organised i thought , a lot of very helpful stands. i even got a job out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

What were the cattle stands like? Much quality on show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Some great cattle there.

Lots of lovely Holstein cows aswell Jesus they were beauties.

A small display of jerseys/ shorthorns and pure friesans aswell.

The beef cattle were top notch , Glad I went now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Is it better than the ploughing for dairying? Ploughing is just hassle with walking, I probably would have went to this today other than I was busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

It's a bit better I suppose more cows but ,maybe a few less stands with milking machines bulk tanks ect.

1chippy wrote: »
    I called in and found it the most uninviting stuffy nosed shower that were about as aproachable as a badger in a snare. The ifa seriously needs to look after real farmers rather than the back scratching snooty shower than just seem to ooze with the attitude were important and your not.
    Apart from that a great day, well organised i thought , a lot of very helpful stands. i even got a job out of it.

My comment referred to the trade networking event in the meat village last night with mairead mc Guinness, factories, breed societies, agri suppliers, farmers, teagasc .........is that what you're writing about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

My comment referred to the trade networking event in the meat village last night with mairead mc Guinness, factories, breed societies, agri suppliers, farmers, teagasc .........is that what you're writing about

one big happy family, dont rock the boat whatever you do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

one big happy family, dont rock the boat whatever you do
    ye i couldnt handle anymore of that

No i meant the ifa tent sorry if i didnt read the proceeding lines properly.
    And No i dont want to get into an argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Just in the door. We were there at 9am. Enjoyed it. Some lovely beef cattle on show. Did anyone see the two little girls with the bb bull calf in the young handler class? Enjoyed the sheep section. Great quality on show. Machinery stands were good. Didn't seem to be as many as last year though. Lots of junk stands there to make a quick Buck. Overall a very enjoyable day. Tired now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Timmaay wrote: »
    Is it better than the ploughing for dairying? Ploughing is just hassle with walking, I probably would have went to this today other than I was busy.

Wasn't many of the big dairy players there.gasgoine was all I saw.there was a very good display of dairy animals there.by jaysus some work goes into showing them .very impressive show in general and prefer it to ploughing.outside of the dairy side of things the stealth engineering stand caught my eye.a neighbour of mine set it up and had a new trailor there on demo.no need to tip it when emptying as it is all pushed out.,compacts grass when filling and has more than 60% capacity than a standard Kane.

Was there much there in the line of sheep and sheep related stands?

We were at it and thought it was a great day . One thing I liked was that the speakers werent blaring every two seconds like it would be in the ploughing .
    Some lovely cattle on show , I thought the commercial cattle were better than the pure breds .

Was there much there in the line of sheep and sheep related stands?
    Nice few pens of different breeds of sheep , you would have definitely found a ram to bring home :P
    Did anyone see the three lambs side by side in pens ,one was under fleshed , one was the right weight for the factory and the other was overweight ? Jasus I thought there was nothing between them , it just goes to show you would want to be on top of your game with them

Raging. Something at home came up and we couldn't go. Was looking forward to it all week. Was going with the intention of looking at a few rams and and also a bit of sheep equipment.

We're many of the sheep equipment suppliers at it?

moy83 wrote: »
    Nice few pens of different breeds of sheep , you would have definitely found a ram to bring home :P
    Did anyone see the three lambs side by side in pens ,one was under fleshed , one was the right weight for the factory and the other was overweight ? Jasus I thought there was nothing between them , it just goes to show you would want to be on top of your game with them

That was the Offaly Lamb Producers stand, my oh is chairperson, she was on the stand all day,.....said there was huge interest in those lambs, there was two guys there from ICM as well.....think they had to go for cover a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

went up in the afternoon. Had 40 minutes to run round getting prices for a new crush and a quick gander at the parthenaise cattle and then had to spend the rest of the time at the Macra farmskills final

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I wonder what would it be like to have a boards meetup at some of these events. A good few of us were there and we probably passed each other by without knowing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

I wonder what would it be like to have a boards meetup at some of these events. A good few of us were there and we probably passed each other by without knowing it.

You should never meet your heroes!

He get ten miles west of you he wouldn't be long wilting though :pac:

He wouldnt have to go ten miles west of me at all for that to happen . There were some nice shorthorns on show that would be a grand sight to see back on the hills around you . No shearing or anything !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

great idea blue5000. would be on.

got a nice backing bar there. that was my goal going.

not as many deals to be had as last year i thought with show prices etc

You should never meet your heroes!

Ya true. There's bob the builder. We have " bob the boll** that knows everything" :-D only joking we love ya really bob!

He wouldnt have to go ten miles west of me at all for that to happen . There were some nice shorthorns on show that would be a grand sight to see back on the hills around you . No shearing or anything !

I'd miss my most favouristist job ever, like a hole in the head :D You're the second fella this weekend suggested cattle.

TUBBY wrote: »
    great idea blue5000. would be on.

got a nice backing bar there. that was my goal going.

not as many deals to be had as last year i thought with show prices etc

Was on the lookout for one of those bars myself which one did you go for?