Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi hijacker/ never talk ill of the dead

• 06-08-2013 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-killed-in-taxi-hijack-had-just-learned-he-was-dadtobe-29477422.html

You probably heard the story. 3 guys threaten a taxi driver with a knife and steal his taxi and speed off. 700m later one of them is dead and the two others are injured.

Low and behold we have family coming out saying the guy who died was a lovely man. Now he way well have been but I don't think any of my friends or family would pull a knife on somebody to steel their car. I kind of doubt he was a nice guy.

So is this just one of those things people do when somebody is dead that they ignore the persons faults? There is another story in the news about a 14 year old shot by the police in the US. The police claim he had a gun and raised it to them the mother says he was no angel but a great person and didn't have a gun. He was arrested before for attempted murder with a gun but the victim/witness didn't ID him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭JJayoo

You will always stick up for your family, even if they are cuunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

One more scumbag off the streets I say.

He could have easily killed another person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Didn't he have a kid on the way too ,he would have properly stopped hijacking taxis when the kid was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

The man who died clearly had no regard for others. He didn't care about the taxi driver, and he certainly didn;t care for other road users. My sympathy is very limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Didn't they say the same about that scum bag Ryan that was killed a while back

Lovely chap that never hurt anybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Didn't he have a kid on the way too ,he would have properly stopped hijacking taxis when the kid was born.

at least thats what his solicitor would have told the court (if he was before the courts on any charges)

reality is as long as he was with the same friends he is(was) more likely to re-offend ... kid or no kid, having a child is often used by defendants to get a reduced/non-custodial sentence.... and it works....like many of the other "methods" used by the courts solicitors, .... multiple adjournments (extra payday for solicitor) and multiple excuses.... there was a few cases in district court today where the defendant "couldn't make it into court" because of the bus strike - despite living less than a couple of kms from the court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I don't understand the people who are "Deeply saddened" by this. He was clearly an aggressive crook and unfortunately for him is paying the price for his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

There's surly a dole thread around somewhere to get outraged at or at least have the decency to let him get cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'm not big on gloating over someone's death even if they were acting the bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Good riddance scumbag.

I'm not big on gloating over someone's death even if they were acting the bollocks.
    Who's gloating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It's just the Irish way. My uncle died a while back and everyone was going on about how great he was, and how he was 'troubled' rather than just being honest and saying he was an alcoholic scumbag who had done nothing but cause trouble for anyone connected to him from the day he was old enough to buy a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

No winners there unfortunately. Best thing is at least they didn't kill any innocents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

“He was very badly injured. He could only be identified by the lightning bolts he had etched into his hairstyle,”

I'm saying nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

“There’s not one person wouldn’t like Danny,” he added.

Except y'know the father of three kids who's car he hjiacked at knifepoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

kneemos wrote: »
    There's surly a dole thread around somewhere to get outraged at or at least have the decency to let him get cold.

It isn't about whether he was a scumbag or not it is about people saying nice things about the person who obviously was in the wrong.

“He was the salt of the earth. He was gullible and would do anything to fit in, but he didn’t think of the consequences.”

I don't believe statements like this. If anything it makes out the person was a fool and misses what "salt of the earth" should mean. Effectively blaming the other two involved for convincing him to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

You wouldn't download a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Driving up the quay the wrong way when he crashed according to The Rag.

Lucky he only killed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    It isn't about whether he was a scumbag or not it is about people saying nice things about the person who obviously was in the wrong.

“He was the salt of the earth. He was gullible and would do anything to fit in, but he didn’t think of the consequences.”

I don't believe statements like this. If anything it makes out the person was a fool and misses what "salt of the earth" should mean. Effectively blaming the other two involved for convincing him to do it.

Maybe the media shouldn't be giving grieving family members the opportunity to share their views on the guy. You can hardly expect them to be come across as unsympathetic to their son, or brother or whatever.. when he's not even in the ground yet. And besides, who the fcuk wants to hear what they have to say anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

He was a dirty ****ing scumbag who probably never contributed anything to society other than misery.
    Delighted he got written off, hopefully more go the same way, it's his kind that will have boiling water over you in bed wanting the keys to your new car you paid for after the government took their cut to keep him in "benefits".
    There's a better chance his kid might turn out like a human now rather than a animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ray Palmer wrote: »

Maybe he was salt of the earth and gullible and maybe he didn't think of the consequences.I don't understand how people get off on calling a recently dead young man who they know nothing about every name under the sun,scummy carry on in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Tbh, and I know people have their opinions and thats fine and perfectly normal, but a young man is dead from a tragic accident.
    I would say think of the grieving family and friends of his and any bad thoughts you may have for whatever reason, keep it in your head, its a horrible thing for anyone to go through.
    Opinions are all well and good, but where a death is concerned like this, there best kept quiet if they are anything but decent, for the sake of the family/friends at least.

I know of this young man who died, and I can honestly say he wasnt a scumbag as people are saying here, and believe me I have no problem calling anyone a scanger/scumbag when I can see that they are from their actions towards myself etc no matter who they are, but I never once had any reason to see him as that.

He made a a major mistake, a very very tragic one, and now he has past, dont see why he deserves to be slated like this imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭donaghs

and the fact that he's a D4-head too (of a sort...)

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Tbh, and I know people have their opinions and thats fine and perfectly normal, but a young man is dead from a tragic accident.
    I would say think of the grieving family and friends of his and any bad thoughts you may have for whatever reason, keep it in your head, its a horrible thing for anyone to go through.
    Opinions are all well and good, but where a death is concerned like this, there best kept quiet if they are anything but decent, for the sake of the family/friends at least.

And ignore the fact that he terrorised some poor bloke trying to earn a living and smashed his Taxi into a bridge not only putting the Taxi man off the road but also ending his own life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭conor2469

Maybe he was salt of the earth and gullible

I still don't get how robbing a taxi at knifepoint makes him gullible. Did someone in the pub beforehand tell him it wasn't illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

Corkbah wrote: »
    at least thats what his solicitor would have told the court (if he was before the courts on any charges)

reality is as long as he was with the same friends he is(was) more likely to re-offend ... kid or no kid, having a child is often used by defendants to get a reduced/non-custodial sentence.... and it works....like many of the other "methods" used by the courts solicitors, .... multiple adjournments (extra payday for solicitor) and multiple excuses.... there was a few cases in district court today where the defendant "couldn't make it into court" because of the bus strike - despite living less than a couple of kms from the court.

Ii wasn't my fault your Honor, it was the drink and the drugs........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Maybe he was salt of the earth and gullible and maybe he didn't think of the consequences.I don't understand how people get off on calling a recently dead young man who they know nothing about every name under the sun,scummy carry on in my opinion.
    From the story above, it's safe to say he was a scumbag. Known to the gardai too. Him getting killed doesn't change that.

Anyone remember Charlie Haughey when he died? You'd think he was a saint that donated his life to helping the homeless the way people were talking about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Jebus, do people really look at the world in this black and white way?

People who commit awful, monstrous crimes are capable of doing nice things, forming positive relationships and having people who love them. And people who are well meaning - even heroic - can do catastrophic damage to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I know of this young man who died, and I can honestly say he wasnt a scumbag as people are saying here, and believe me I have no problem calling anyone a scanger/scumbag when I can see that they are from their actions towards myself etc no matter who they are, but I never once had any reason to see him as that.

He made a a major mistake, a very very tragic one, and now he has past, dont see why he deserves to be slated like this imho.

I carry a knife with me everytime i go on a night out.

And sure if i cant afford a taxi home when i blow all my money on booze Sure i rob one.

Only a minor mistake yaaaaknowwww.....

Glass houses N ALL....

wha wha

MugMugs wrote: »
    And ignore the fact that he terrorised some poor bloke trying to earn a living and smashed his Taxi into a bridge not only putting the Taxi man off the road but also ending his own life?

Im not saying ignore it if thats what your thinking etc, but there is no point in slating someone whos gone now - I think hes suffered tbh - Im not saying put on any type of fake niceness if you dont mean it but just keep your opinions to you if yourself, for the sake of the family/friends if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

Because his "major mistake" could have cost innocent people their life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I have no sympathy for any of them. Better they killed / mangled themselves than some poor fecker crossing the road or driving past. Fúck the 3 of them.

listermint wrote: »
    I carry a knife with me everytime i go on a night out.

And sure if i cant afford a taxi home when i blow all my money on booze Sure i rob one.

Only a minor mistake yaaaaknowwww.....

Glass houses N ALL....

wha wha

I never said it was a minor mistake, it was a tragic one, and hes paid for it greatly tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

JJayoo wrote: »
    You will always stick up for your family, even if they are cuunts.

And he was one hell of a cuunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I never said it was a minor mistake, it was a tragic one, and hes paid for it greatly tbh.

I usually hate these gloating threads but calling what he did a mistake is just egregious hand wringing, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

He could be gullible but not salt of the earth. You have to do good deeds and not bad deeds to be salt of the earth. It's from the bible and pretty much says if you aren't good then you aren't salt of the earth.

He threaten to kill a man, stole from him and then was drink driving at speed. Not admirable actions and certainly not salt of the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

True enough, and why should opinions change just because someone died?

Would they be allowed to call them a scumbag if he was caught and spend over night in jail.

Or should people adopt some sort of faux sadness for an 'Adult' whom went about putting a knife to the throat of another human being.

dukedalton wrote: »
    Because his "major mistake" could have cost innocent people their life.

I see what your saying, but they didnt, so saying this about this situation doesnt mean anything as that didnt happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

MugMugs wrote: »
    Who's gloating?

Seriously?
    Dean0088 wrote: »
    One more scumbag off the streets
    Gatling wrote: »
    Didn't they say the same about that scum bag Ryan that was killed a while back
    Plug wrote: »
    Good riddance scumbag.
    kona wrote: »
    He was a dirty ****ing scumbag

Im not saying ignore it if thats what your thinking etc, but there is no point in slating someone whos gone now - I think hes suffered tbh - Im not saying put on any type of fake niceness if you dont mean it but just keep your opinions to you if yourself, for the sake of the family/friends if nothing else.

I don't get it to be honest.

It's a real case of the family should bury their heads into the sand here.

Their son/brother/uncle/fella was not a nice guy. I think they need to wake up and smell the bacon on that one.

They chose to go public here. Well the public are speaking back to them.

listermint wrote: »
    True enough, and why should opinions change just because someone died?

Would they be allowed to call them a scumbag if he was caught and spend over night in jail.

Or should people adopt some sort of faux sadness for an 'Adult' whom went about putting a knife to the throat of another human being.

No, Im not saying anyone to change their opinions as thats part of basic humanity really, but theres nothing wrong with just keeping them quiet and to yourself, especially if you didnt know the person/family involved imho anyway.

Nothing comes from either slating someone or being fake nice about them after their gone, both arent good ways to be, but in cases like this if you cant say anything nice then just dont say anything would be my motto tbh but maybe thats just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

Frankly I don't see why his family needed to come out to make a statement about what a nice guy he was?

His actions were his actions and people can form their own opinion(s) of him based on those. Personally I feel very sorry for the innocent people who are caught up in this (i.e. the taxi driver and the emergency services who have to deal with the mess left behind).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭conor2469

I see what your saying, but they didnt, so saying this about this situation doesnt mean anything as that didnt happen.

but what could easily have been will always influence peoples reactions.
    When I heard this news break I immediately thought back to this:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/joyride-teen-jailed-for-eight-years-over-two-garda-deaths-25917318.html

At least he only killed himself and injured his two scumbag friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

It's not a tragic mistake to rob a car at knifepoint, terrorise the owner and charge the wrong way creating deadly risks on the road. It's a chain of deliberate crimes.

Whether he died or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

The terror of the ordeal for the taxi man. The disruption caused to his life both mental and financial must be horrendous.

Fcuk him. Lets hope other scroats are watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

No, Im not saying anyone to change their opinions as thats part of basic humanity really, but theres nothing wrong with just keeping them quiet and to yourself, especially if you didnt know the person/family involved imho anyway.

The family chose to go public. The public are responding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Don't know why they decided to hijack a taxi, they only live maybe at best 10 min walk away from home just over the East Link bridge. Seems they did it with intent to rob(or god forbid "joyride"), not for getting stuck miles from home. Stupid decision which they paid highly for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Hardly a tragic accident. There was a f*cking ridiculously easy way for him to be still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He was probably a lovely fella too who was just led astray. The third one still in de hostibble must be the bollix out of them