Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tormented Dolphin may have to be destroyed

• 06-08-2013 11:29am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭

Basically the story goes like this; During the good weather a few weeks ago, groups of Numbskulls down in Clare were trying to pour cider down "Dusty" the Dolphins blowhole, trying to jump on her back and grabbing on to her fin. As a result, this once friendly Dolphin is now attacking people in the water off Doolin with one woman receiving broken ribs, compressed vertebrae and lung damage after being rammed last Sunday. And there's a suggestion that the Dolphin may have to be destroyed. :eek: Under the circumstances, I think it would be much fairer to accommodate the Dolphin in this situation and let people who choose to swim in these waters know that they will be swimming at their own risk due to the behavior of certain inbred people.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/fears-tormented-dolphin-may-kill-a-swimmer-238812.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

becost wrote: »
    Basically the story goes like this; During the good weather a few weeks ago, groups of Woolybacks down in Clare were trying to pour cider down "Dusty" the Dolphins blowhole, trying to jump on her back and grabbing on to her fin. As a result, this once friendly Dolphin is now attacking people in the water off Doolin with one woman receiving broken ribs, compressed vertebrae and lung damage after being rammed last Sunday. And there's a suggestion that the Dolphin may have to be destroyed. :eek: Under the circumstances, I think it would be much fairer to accommodate the Dolphin in this situation and let people who choose to swim in these waters know that they will be swimming at their own risk due to the behavior of the natives.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/fears-tormented-dolphin-may-kill-a-swimmer-238812.html

Another animal paying the price for human stupidity!

Edit: no cruelty charges over the cider???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

The **** is a wollyback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Yeah, human stupidity causing the destruction of an animal for being an animal...

I hope in the least them jackasses that were hurt by it were heavily fine for being there in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Woolybacks are the reason we can't have nice dolphins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

trying to pour cider down "Dusty" the Dolphins blowhole, trying to jump on her back and grabbing on to her fin.

I've had nights like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

It would be poetic justice if those scumbags were the ones destroyed, by the dolphin crushing them against the rocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

kona wrote: »
    The **** is a wollyback?

Another word for a knuckle dragger I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Waste of cider.
    We all know dolphins prefer Budweiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Jelly2

I am shocked by this story; I knew there had been issues recently about people antagonising the dolphin but I can hardly believe that someone would attempt to harm her by putting cider in her blowhole. There is no contest in this story - these type of people must be prevented from interfering with the dolphin, rather than moving her or worst still putting her down. I'll be watching out for updates, because if there is any question of either of these happening I'll want to protest against it properly.:mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

While obviously regrettable, something has to be done if the dolphin is attacking innocent humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The **** is a wollyback?
    It's a person from outside Liverpool. How OP knew this fact is beyond me.
    Maybe he's from Doolin.

The **** is a wollyback?

Woollyback...refers to a person from a rural area associated with sheep-rearing. Unfortunate name to use in your otherwise excellent post OP; what on earth makes you assume the campers who tried the cider trick were from the country?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Go dolphin, if people weren't so fcuking moronic it wouldn't be acting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

While obviously regrettable, something has to be done if the dolphin is attacking innocent humans.

What about the people attacking an innocent dolphin

There doesn't seem to be any question of this. All of the attacks have been on people who have tried to grab her etc. The answer is for people to have respect, and stay well away from her. It's not difficult to understand but some people have no cop on or just don't consider that an animal is not a toy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Basically the story goes like this; During the good weather a few weeks ago, groups of Woolybacks down in Clare were trying to pour cider down "Dusty" the Dolphins blowhole, trying to jump on her back and grabbing on to her fin. As a result, this once friendly Dolphin is now attacking people in the water off Doolin with one woman receiving broken ribs, compressed vertebrae and lung damage after being rammed last Sunday. And there's a suggestion that the Dolphin may have to be destroyed. :eek: Under the circumstances, I think it would be much fairer to accommodate the Dolphin in this situation and let people who choose to swim in these waters know that they will be swimming at their own risk due to the behavior of certain inbred natives.

Destroy the idiot people, not the dolphin! :mad: Poor thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

I honestly don't see why this dolphin is being put down. Its a wild animal and it was reacting to a threat, and now its violent towards the threat, humans. If it was a dog who attacked a person, it would be put down, but a dog is a domesticated pet, the owners responsability. A dolphin has no owner, and should be protected. Unless someone wants to call Neptune and tell him to get his dolphin in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The **** is a wollyback?
    It seems it's a person from a rural area. OP assumes that because the incident happened in Clare that those responsible were local despite it being a popular camping destination for foreign tourists and Dubliners. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Must have been bulmers...

Surely that dolphin will tell all the other dolphins the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jelly2 wrote: »
    There doesn't seem to be any question of this. All of the attacks have been on people who have tried to grab her etc. The answer is for people to have respect, and stay well away from her. It's not difficult to understand but some people have no cop on or just don't consider that an animal is not a toy.

Indeed, a large wild animal which is deceptively strong. It's not seaworld or a flipper movie, A dolphin in the wild needs to be shown respect.

PucaMama wrote: »

They should be prosecuted. I'm not condoning their actions whatsoever, they're complete dicks as far as I'm concerned.

they're invading the dolphin's space, its her environment not ours, if a dolphin strolled onto a city street and started punching people in the face then it'd be an issue, dumbasses going swimming with a wild animal then getting injured is just Darwinism in full effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Obviously, in the interests of balance, we're having them put down too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Just don't go out there in the sea with it, it's that simple.

No-one p*sses about with what people percieve as wild animals or bulls in fields. If you get killed it's your own stupid fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I honestly don't see why this dolphin is being put down.

It will only be put down if it kills someone, which hopefully now won't happen if people heed what the IWDG are saying. But people being people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ireland is extremely lax when it comes to convicting people for animal cruelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

In fairness it seems that the dolphin is attacking random swimmers now and not just those who engage it. If that's the case then the dolphin would need to be destroyed as it isn't really practical to have a dangerous wild animal attacking swimmers at a popular tourist destination.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

biko wrote: »
    It's a person from outside Liverpool. How OP knew this fact is beyond me.
    Maybe he's from Doolin.

Woolyback has it's origins in people from the Welsh valleys but can also be used to describe rural Irish people.

Jelly2 wrote: »
    Woollyback...refers to a person from a rural area associated with sheep-rearing. Unfortunate name to use in your otherwise excellent post OP; what on earth makes you assume the campers who tried to cider trick were from the country?????

If you read the article it says "local" campers.

Meaning people camping in the locality FFS.

FTA69 wrote: »
    In fairness it seems that the dolphin is attacking random swimmers now and not just those who engage it. If that's the case then the dolphin would need to be destroyed as it isn't really practical to have a dangerous wild animal attacking swimmers at a popular tourist destination.

If it's going out of its way to attack swimmers in other areas then that's different, but its still a sh1tty situation that some absolute clowns affected an animal's behaviour and now it has to die as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I really don't see why this dolphin should have to be put down because of a pack of morons. If sufficient warning signs are put up telling people not to swim in the locale and to leave this animal alone surely thats enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I'd hardly call people tormenting the animal as 'innocent', i.e. - Pouring cider down it's blowhole, jumping on it's back, yanking it's fins, etc...

BeerWolf wrote: »
    I'd hardly call people tormenting the animal as 'innocent', i.e. - Pouring cider down it's blowhole, jumping on it's back, yanking it's fins, etc...

I'm clearly not referring to them. It's not that difficult to realise that.

It seems it's a person from a rural area. OP assumes that because the incident happened in Clare that those responsible were local despite it being a popular camping destination for foreign tourists and Dubliners. :rolleyes:

I'm going on what the examiner reported.

"One group of local campers, it emerged, allegedly attempted to pour cider down her blowhole."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Woolyback has it's origins in people from the Welsh valleys but can also be used to describe rural Irish people.

Smacks of city boy superiority complex to me.

I'm going on what the examiner reported.

"One group of local campers, it emerged, allegedly attempted to pour cider down her blowhole."
    They were camping locally, they could have been from anywhere. Doolin is a very popular camping destination for surfers from Dublin. Why on Earth would somebody from Doolin be camping in Doolin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Another animal paying the price for human stupidity!

Can we not fit knives to the dolphins nose and flippers, then no one will want to go near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You've raised the bar for all of us and I thank you

Yes, but that might mean campers from the campsite a few hundred yards from the pier...
    Anyway, it's a minor quibble in a great post, and thanks for bringing wider attention to the dolphin's plight.

Meaning people camping in the locality FFS.

Really? So if the story was about a robbery in Dublin and they said they believed it was a group of local criminals, would that mean they were criminals from the other end of the country stealing in in the locality? Don't be such a gobshite. :D

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

There is no reason at all to put this poor animal down!
    It is "our" own fault if the dolphin is now aggressiv, the humans well deserve it.
    There should be signs out and whoever ignores it, has to deal with it at their own risk.
    Nature also "fights" back sometimes, I hope karma will hit those idiots HARD!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

joe stodge wrote: »
    Can we not fit knives to the dolphins nose and flippers, then no one will want to go near it.

Like military dolphins?

Just what the dolphins need, more humans interfering.

They were camping locally, they could have been from anywhere. Doolin is a very popular camping destination for surfers from Dublin. Why on Earth would somebody from Doolin be camping in Doolin?

I think they probably mean Clare people when they say "local". Shut up. Your annoying me know.

Really? So if the story was about a robbery in Dublin and they said they believed it was a group of local criminals, would that mean they were criminals from the other end of the country stealing in in the locality? Don't be such a gobshite. :D

Poor comparison, because campers are almost always not from the local area in which they camp. Locals from Doolin camping in Doolin? Not likely.
    Anyway, can we all just leave this bit of the OP's opening post go, and concentrate on the important part?

krudler wrote: »
    If it's going out of its way to attack swimmers in other areas then that's different, but its still a sh1tty situation that some absolute clowns affected an animal's behaviour and now it has to die as a result.

Awful and tragic I agree. My experience with beautiful nature spots is that there will also be a small minority of utter twats who will f*ck it up for everyone else. A dolphin's blow hole is it's way of breathing like, and some dope tries to pour a load of Linden Village down it. We had kestrels nesting in the yard I where I used to work in East London and one of the fellas working there killed one with an empty bottle. A swimming hole I know in West Cork was ruined by people I know throwing empty cans all over the place. It's sad.

celica00 wrote: »
    There is no reason at all to put this poor animal down!
    It is "our" own fault if the dolphin is now aggressiv, the humans well deserve it.
    There should be signs out and whoever ignores it, has to deal with it at their own risk.
    Nature also "fights" back sometimes, I hope karma will hit those idiots HARD!

And what happens if the dolphin kills a child? Or some American tourist having a dip? Is that just tough sh*t as well is it? There's no doubt it's a tragic state of affairs, but if the dolphin is attacking random people then there's only one realistic option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Kicking Bird

And what happens if the dolphin kills a child? Or some American tourist having a dip? Is that just tough sh*t as well is it? There's no doubt it's a tragic state of affairs, but if the dolphin is attacking random people then there's only one realistic option.[/QUOTE

There's never just one realistic option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

And what happens if the dolphin kills a child? Or some American tourist having a dip? Is that just tough sh*t as well is it? There's no doubt it's a tragic state of affairs, but if the dolphin is attacking random people then there's only one realistic option.

As I said, there should be signs and information so that people will know what is going on!
    And then its on their own risk. If they ignore the signs (the same as the lads ignored the animal by "abusing" it), then its their own fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Dolphins are just gay sharks