Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Pubs in OZ - Dodging vomit and flying fists

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Anyone who has travelled around Europe will realise the pure hypocrisy of this. I've been interrailing 3 times and it's very common to see Aussies making absolute fools of themselves, to at least the same degree as many Irish over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There was no violence or drunkenness in Australia before the Irish started going over there a few years ago. Fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I blame Ned Kelly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

This journalist is clearly on the way to a much deserved Pulitzer Prize!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

The level of idiocy and drunkenness is at Celtic tiger levels over there but to suggest that it is something alien to the Aussies is taking the urine. They can mix it with the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

That's a desperate article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

they dont actually slag irish people though, just irish bars.
    Which lets face it, are usually plastic shíte abroad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

traditional Irish delicacy - the kebab

What?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

In fairness you can't blame people for being upside down with drink when they get to Oz.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Ahhh, the Cock & Bull in Bondi, good memories! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Not the first time Aussies have ran a story like this. Singling out one nationality is uncalled for imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Not the first time Aussies have ran a story like this. Singling out one nationality is uncalled for imo.

I think we might be annoying them though as we tend to live there and aren't on holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

i watched that. the police and the mayor disagree that the pub they're ranting on about is a particular menace. It's really shoddy journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Grandeeod wrote: »

Fixed that for you. Can't believe you didn't use that as a pun in a thread about drinking on After Hours. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Ship a few more over I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

This is the country that spawned Rupert Murdoch.
    I would scrutinise any sort of news report from there. I doubt it's a true reflection of the general populace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

He's just looking for a story and a few minutes of fame.

The worst pub experience I ever had was in an Australian pub in Vienna around Halloween a few years back. I still shiver when I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Is it now fashionable for journalists everywhere to write articles in the voice of old, prudish 70's sitcom characters?

That article was seriously tiring to read, what with all the forced hyperbole. You could imagine that the editor enforced some kind of joke quota on the hapless writers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Stevie888

We are by far and away the worst behaved group on the work holiday visa though, some serious head wreckers over there pissing off the locals. Surprised it isn't a lot worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Pang wrote: »
    He's just looking for a story and a few minutes of fame.

The worst pub experience I ever had was in an Australian pub in Vienna around Halloween a few years back. I still shiver when I think of it.

...go on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭justforlaugh

i bet it mostly English people fighting each other in Irish pubs giving the Irish a bad name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

i bet it mostly English people fighting each other in Irish pubs giving the Irish a bad name

Yeah thats it.

<loses faith in humanity>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

There was no violence or drunkenness in Australia before the Irish started going over there a few years ago. Fact
    This is totally true. Unfortunately, along with the Irish, the british also sent many other nationalities there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

whinging pom...oh, no..wait. Hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

thought it was dogging.
    i am disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

From looking at the site it also says that Rolf Harris has been arrested for sexual offences.

He must have been exposing his didgeridoo in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

mikeym wrote: »
    From looking at the site it also says that Rolf Harris has been arrested for sexual offences.

He must have been exposing his didgeridoo in public.

To two little boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

People in glass houses.....

I had the misfortune to end up in The Church (an Aussie haunt) in London one Sunday a few years back. I have never in all my life seen carry on like I did there, and at the Aussie bar we went on to later.

I can't even describe the unfunniness of the 'fun' being had by hammered Aussie backpackers at 4 O'Clock on a Sunday afternoon. It was mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

The Woolshed in Dublin and Cork can be a bit of a disgrace too! Did a few Rugby games in these haunts and they pissed on the street outside in broad daylight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

This was the first article linked from your post OP. Some quality journalism all right:

http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/home-garden/dog-eats-paralysed-man8217s-testicle-while-he-sleeps/story-fngwib2y-1226689510173

As an aside, those two lads photographed don't look to be the .... 'fightiest'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

someone made the point earlier that it could also other nationals giving the Irish bars a bad name

I worked in 2 different Irish bars in Germany and ran one in Greece, and in Germany it was Americans and British who were the biggest trouble , and in Greece it was English - hands down,
    not saying the Irish were saints but in percentage terms of trouble they did not make the top 5

i never had to belt any Irish with a pool q across the head for trying to storm the bar

but...... i have some mates living in Australia decades and they are coming back with some horror stories of the Irish "on tour"

some stereotypes are true - and this goes for all nations , some Australians are know as aggressive Racist knob jockeys for a reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

That article is feckin hilarious. Because it's got a hint of truth to it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

sadie06 wrote: »
    People in glass houses.....

I had the misfortune to end up in The Church (an Aussie haunt) in London one Sunday a few years back. I have never in all my life seen carry on like I did there, and at the Aussie bar we went on to later.

I can't even describe the unfunniness of the 'fun' being had by hammered Aussie backpackers at 4 O'Clock on a Sunday afternoon. It was mental!

There are plenty of Irish that go to the Church!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Playboy wrote: »
    There are plenty of Irish that go to the Church!

Oh I know! My point is, the 'on tour' mentality is prevalent amongst many nationalities when they gather in a country other than their own, and the Aussies are capable of extreme messiness!

For the record, I can't understand why anyone, of any nationality would want to spend 5 mins in The Church.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    someone made the point earlier that it could also other nationals giving the Irish bars a bad name

It really, really isn't. A high proportion of Irish over in Oz are an absolute disgrace, I'm surprised more isn't being made of it in the media. And most backpackers from other nationalities wouldn't dream of ever going to one. It's the irish themselves giving the irish bars a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Stevie888 wrote: »
    It really, really isn't. A high proportion of Irish over in Oz are an absolute disgrace, I'm surprised more isn't being made of it in the media. And most backpackers from other nationalities wouldn't dream of ever going to one. It's the irish themselves giving the irish bars a bad name.

plenty has been on the media about it , problem is the slant taken,
    so it's all Irish that are causing the trouble at Irish bars ?
    none of the locals or other tourists are getting ****faced ?

as i said in my post , the Irish are no saints , but from my vast experience of Irish pubs abroad - it aint just the Irish - far from it

as for only the Irish frequent the Irish bars , try reading the the comments on the site , majority are positive , majority are from locals

you see , most educated people will understand that just because some of one nation act like savages , does not mean the rest are like them.

Its called not being ignorant.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    plenty has been on the media about it , problem is the slant taken,
    so it's all Irish that are causing the trouble at Irish bars ?
    none of the locals or other tourists are getting ****faced ?

as i said in my post , the Irish are no saints , but from my vast experience of Irish pubs abroad - it aint just the Irish - far from it

as for only the Irish frequent the Irish bars , try reading the the comments on the site , majority are positive , majority are from locals

you see , most educated people will understand that just because some of one nation act like savages , does not mean the rest are like them.

Its called not being ignorant.

I'm going by what I saw first hand so no ignorance here. Yes, it is overwhelmingly Irish causing the trouble. We are starting to get quite a bad reputation over there not only amongst locals but with other backpackers aswell, and believe me, it's fully justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

they dont actually slag irish people though, just irish bars. Which lets face it, are usually plastic shíte abroad

And, much more importantly, with their foreign soccer sh ite blaring every night killing conversation, pubs in Ireland are now as plastic as plastic Paddy can become.

Culturally, with some notable exceptions like The Gravediggers, the traditional Irish pub as a community centre is dead in Dublin and what's left is an impersonal tv-dominated space of noise where muppets sit around and watch the same commercial "sport" pulp as people in Britain, having little or no connection with the local community or interest in it.

The new 'plastic Paddys' are right there in those Irish pubs following the latest fashion as told to them through a tv box. Because "Irish pubs" do precisely the same outside Ireland they become "plastic Paddys".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

Stevie888 wrote: »
    I'm going by what I saw first hand so no ignorance here. Yes, it is overwhelmingly Irish causing the trouble. We are starting to get quite a bad reputation over there not only amongst locals but with other backpackers aswell, and believe me, it's fully justified.

First hand?

You've met the majority of Irish people in Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

event wrote: »
    they dont actually slag irish people though, just irish bars.
    Which lets face it, are usually plastic shíte abroad

True, can't wait to get home next month and go for creamy pints in Dublin, mother reilly's, macsorely's, long hall and so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I'm in Brisbane where there is naturally quite a few Irish and I have heard nothing derogatory at all.

However, mention the word Perth and Irish in the same sentence and it's widely known what carry on happens there.

What is happening and reported from Perth is giving the Irish a deserved reputation there but as usual there is a lot more good than bad in Australia but when dies that ever sell papers etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    And, much more importantly, with their foreign soccer sh ite blaring every night killing conversation, pubs in Ireland are now as plastic as plastic Paddy can become.

Culturally, with some notable exceptions like The Gravediggers, the traditional Irish pub as a community centre is dead in Dublin and what's left is an impersonal tv-dominated space of noise where muppets sit around and watch the same commercial "sport" pulp as people in Britain, having little or no connection with the local community or interest in it.

The new 'plastic Paddys' are right there in those Irish pubs following the latest fashion as told to them through a tv box. Because "Irish pubs" do precisely the same outside Ireland they become "plastic Paddys".

It's shocking Joe, I passed a cross road this morning and people were selling bleedin newspapers. Newspapers Joe, not one comely dancing maiden to be seen anywhere. I blame sky tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Truth always hurts somewhat eh? Can't have it both ways. We are a nation of fun loving people that are great craic for tourists, as well as wife beating drunks whose kids are young alcoholics.

Proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

And the outback boozers are havens of gentility serving cups of Earl Grey Tea I suppose?

Pot/kettle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Right, are we pretending that a vast contingent of the Irish in Oz aren't over there treating it like an extended holiday and drinking their loaves off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"What's that skip, you say trolls exist in the print media as well?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

That article would be pretty factually correct IMO.
    Most domestic Australians would be used to a more staid social environment than the Irish away from home pub scene would cater for. A lot of socialising takes place in venues such as Leagues clubs where it's ok to squander your children's food money on pokies, but it's not ok to wear a t-shirt. The average socialising Australian, regardless of age would have a more limited, narrow-minded outlook on many things, including alcohol (this may not be a bad thing) and the type of environment in which to consume it. The Irish backpacker scene in Australia would be fun, but not particularly responsible and very few of the "Oirish" establishments over there would pass muster. As long as they had pool tables and cheap jugs of beer the backpackers didn't care.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Right, are we pretending that a vast contingent of the Irish in Oz aren't over there treating it like an extended holiday and drinking their loaves off?

Not at all, I'm sure there's plenty being right *****. The point is that the Aussies are conveniently forgetting that their backpackers do the exact same stuff in Europe all year round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

good article. You'd want to be a raging spa to go to irish pubs abroad.

Funny thing is, I've heard first hand from people whining about the horrific racism and hardships they've endured in oz (being on the receiving end of a comment or two) and then whinging about the 'polish' and blacks taking the jobs in ireland :D

First hand?

You've met the majority of Irish people in Australia?

No, when did I say I did?! I think you are confused. I said any trouble I have seen has almost always been caused by Irish people, not that I have met them all. That would be just stupid.