Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crash at Convention centre, Dublin

• 05-08-2013 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭

Hey, was just passing a convention centre near IFSC, and the road is closed off, there is a car completely wrecked (imagine a huge truck hitting car at high speed), there is lots of puddles (assuming oil or coolant or maybe petrol?)

Any idea what happened?

P.S - anyone else noticed there seemed to be an increase of road accidents this bank holiday weekend? could this be related to the Oxygen festival? (I mean people could be drink driving coming from it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0805/466420-dublin-crash/
    A man in his early 20s has died in a road crash in Dublin.
    Two other men were injured, one seriously, in the crash on the North Wall Quay at about 2.40am this morning.
    The men were travelling in a taxi that had been taken from its owner.
    No other vehicle was involved.
    Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to contact Store Street Garda Station on 01-6668000, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800-666-111 or any garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

BMJD wrote: »

So they basically hijacked a taxi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

seems like it, hope the taxi driver doesn't lose out on too much work as a result

BMJD wrote: »
    seems like it, hope the taxi driver doesn't lose out on too much work as a result

That would be interesting to find out how did that happen.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/man-dies-after-hijacked-taxi-crashes-into-dublin-bridge-1.1485116

Seems like they stole the taxi (possibly for a joyride etc) and slammed themselves into the bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Maybe for a joyride but could have been for a crime planned in the next week or so. Gangs need stolen cars.

A taxi was hijacked two weeks ago outside St James Hospital. Was used in a robbery and the taxi was later found with pretty much no damage.
    Was on the main radio shows like Joe Duffy and the taximans comrade was telling me about when I got him one morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I imagine the taxi driver was given a complimentary taxi to use. My OH brother is a taxi driver and he had a brand new Octavia at his front door a few hours after a smash. Didn't end up out of pocket because of it.

Hope this taxi driver wasn't injured when it was being taxi and isn't too shook up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I imagine the taxi driver was given a complimentary taxi to use. My OH brother is a taxi driver and he had a brand new Octavia at his front door a few hours after a smash. Didn't end up out of pocket because of it.

Hope this taxi driver wasn't injured when it was being taxi and isn't too shook up.

I wouldn't, I would say that IF it was a rental then the rental company provided a different car if he requested one, if he was an owner driver he will have to source a replacement taxi on a rental basis until such time as the insurance sort them selves out. On a secondary point, as the vehicle is a de facto crime scene then the Garda will probably hold onto it for a while before the insurance even get a look see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Watching the news report, 'the RSA are concerned, as there were no deaths on the same weekend last year'.

Road fatalities will never disappear, the figures compared to last year are very similar, so have we reached the lowest that we're likely to reach?

Also, maybe if the ****s hadn't stolen someone's car and hadn't been driving (presumably) quickly to get away from their own crime scene, they wouldn't have crashed.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    I wouldn't

Back to the doctor for us all to have our pills reviewed as this imaginary car from his insurance company has made two seperate appearances after accidents (new Octavia base model).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 sofitalliah

ottostreet wrote: »
    Watching the news report, 'the RSA are concerned, as there were no deaths on the same weekend last year'.

Road fatalities will never disappear, the figures compared to last year are very similar, so have we reached the lowest that we're likely to reach?

Also, maybe if the ****s hadn't stolen someone's car and hadn't been driving (presumably) quickly to get away from their own crime scene, they wouldn't have crashed.

I was thinking the same thing too. If you are planning on nicking a Taxi make sure to check your blind spots and drive cautiously. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Back to the doctor for us all to have our pills reviewed as this imaginary car from his insurance company has made two seperate appearances after accidents (new Octavia base model).

Do tell us then which insurance company are providing curtesy taxis with their policies, I'm due to renew soon and that would be a major plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Instant karma, as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It's shocking that a Taxi was taken, the potential to kidnap members of the public while pretending to be a Taxi is huge, there should be an alert that goes out similar to the one last week where the guy was missing with his 2 kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Anything to be said in memory of the chap now deceased?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

myshirt wrote: »
    Nothing civil.

shedweller wrote: »
    Nothing civil.

Appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Appalling.

In his memory I'd like to put him forward for a Darwin award. That better?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

No loss to society and I'm deadly serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Appalling.

So what do you think should be said about him or are you just trying to stir?

Play with fire and you eventually get burnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

May have been "forced" into doing it - you'd never know - not that it matters much now to him or the car owner now

It'd be a poor excuse of a criminal gang that'd send some of their best men out to get a getaway car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭ffocused

Another Chevrolet Epica lost far too young. RIP my friend from an Epica driver.

By the way, recently I brought up a shining lasers into drivers eyes topic, that's actually just around the corner where crash happened, I wonder could those guys could be of "that" type.

P.S - in other words - scumbags as they were called in my other thread. or just a coincidence.

Ain't trying to stir no. Genuine sentiment.

It's a very dangerous public attitude for everyone to be saying f#ck him, good riddance.

Because lads, there will another, and another after him, and another after him if we continue like that.

It ain't human. And laugh all you want, cos you're only selling yourself short;if we don't question why dublin is producing young men like this, the societal damage eventually spreads to you 'good people' and then you'll start giving a sh!t.

Any death in tragic circumstances is not to be celebrated.

It's unnerving and babaric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You have to agree that it is hard to have sympathy for someone who hijacks a car then kills himself in a crash.

I have plenty of sympathy for genuine road deaths, but find it hard to summon up any in this case. It was their own doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Borini

I know it may sound harsh as he is someone's son but it is the last mistake the driver will ever make....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Have'nt seen anybody celebrate this lads death. I've seen refusal to be upset about his passing which I can understand but no celebration and no gloating.

NIMAN wrote: »
    You have to agree that it is hard to have sympathy for someone who hijacks a car then kills himself in a crash.

I have plenty of sympathy for genuine road deaths, but find it hard to summon up any in this case. It was their own doing.

That is the default position of many yes, unfortunately.

The thrust of this thread should be on the law abiding citizens; the taxi driver trying to earn a crust and the rest. Yes. I agree.

The victim is the most important now. And we should stand in support, and against this type of crime.

Nevertheless, celebrate the death of a young man?

That is abhorrent.

Every child cries the same when they are born; no matter where it is in the world.
    It's what happens after that that shapes and moulds you.

And for me it is every bit as shocking that despite a large economic boom, there is still spots of Dublin at severe socio economic disadvantage, and still parts of Dublin producing young men like this.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Do tell us then which insurance company are providing curtesy taxis with their policies, I'm due to renew soon and that would be a major plus

Why on earth do you think I'd make this up?

You'll have to wait but I'll ask later if the OHs brother is around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

disgraceful that front page given completely to this scumbag in this mornings heralds. referencing fact he just found out he going to be a dad!!! wheres the sypathetic headline for the taxi driver whos potentially off the road this mornin.....who maybe wont get insurance to look at him (keys left in car scenario....not sure how that works tbh). this scummer wasnt too worried about his unborn child or anyone else's he may have hit when he got in the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭bidiots

That is abhorrent.

Who's celebrating? People are entitled to their opinion ffs

That is abhorrent.

Having been the victim of a home invasion where my car was targeted this was the preferred outcome for the scumbags who kicked in my front door at 3am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Good riddance to bad rubbish?

Appalling.

Nothing appalling about it, He terrorized an innocent man going about his business and stole his car. Just because he was a **** driver does not automatically entitle him to instant sympathy from law abiding citizens.
    Ain't trying to stir no. Genuine sentiment.

It's a very dangerous public attitude for everyone to be saying f#ck him, good riddance.

Why> It is a case of good riddance to have this scum in a hole in the ground. If this had gone another way we could be reading about how this lowlife had stolen a taxi, crashed into a family car killing 2 adults and 3 kids so **** him!:mad:
    Because lads, there will another, and another after him, and another after him if we continue like that.

There will always be crime i just hope that ones like him die in the exact same way or if possible worse.
    It ain't human. And laugh all you want, cos you're only selling yourself short;if we don't question why dublin is producing young men like this, the societal damage eventually spreads to you 'good people' and then you'll start giving a sh!t.

Any death in tragic circumstances is not to be celebrated.

It's unnerving and babaric.

There is crime EVERYWHERE not just Dublin. And no one is "celebrating" his death we just don't feel any sympathy for a dead car-jacker.

The thrust of this thread should be on the law abiding citizens; the taxi driver trying to earn a crust and the rest. Yes. I agree.

The victim is the most important now. And we should stand in support, and against this type of crime.

That is abhorrent.

Every child cries the same when they are born; no matter where it is in the world.

And for me it is every bit as shocking that despite a large economic boom, there is still spots of Dublin at severe socio economic disadvantage, and still parts of Dublin producing young men like this.

Again please show where someone has "celebrated" his death, just because you are not seeing the old "ah poor lad i bet he was from a broken home and on drugs" Blah Blah does not mean people are celebrating they just don't care about a dad lowlife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Let his family celebrate his life, I won't.
    If it was my family member I'd almost be ashamed of my family being dragged through the gutter, because I was a scumbag.

And the line it's the governments fault the rest of the country got rich these guys stayed poor, I'm sorry but f**k off, the benefits for never working a day in your life are not to bad!

Sometimes stop blaming the country and start blaming yourself for being too lazy, or going through life thinking I don't need to pay for sh1t when I can take it by force.

Somebody forced him to hijack a car, sure they did.

I might sound a bit harsh.

But yeah there is too families ruined at the moment, his and the taxi drivers.
    The guy actually earning a crust needs to sort out how he's going to continue earning a living now. (No life ain't all about money, but bills mortgages etc need too be paid still).

And every town in Ireland has these thugs in it, so stop thinking its just Dublin, it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That is abhorrent.

I certainly am not celebrating. I would never celebrate the death of anybody, all I am saying is that I do not feel sorry for him. He was an adult and made the choice to steal the car. Many people come from disadvantaged backgrounds, but they don't all steal cars.

I do feel sorry for his family and those that cared for him. But I will not be thinking too much about him today. We all make decisions in life and sometimes there are serious consequences. His had the ultimate consequence. I am just glad that he didn't kill an innocent driver or pedestrian in the accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Skangers feed off liberal attitudes like that. It allows them prey on the weakness of honest, decent, law abiding citizens. There are disadvantaged areas in all parts of Ireland and the majority of people try to be valuable members of society. Those who CHOOSE another path deserve no sympathy when things go against them and earn our vitriol when they injure or kill an innocent person by their actions.

It would appear that, at this stage, no bystanders were hurt and that is all the matters.

Sympathies to the taxi driver if he can't get his vehicle replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,526 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It seem's more than likely that if the three gents had not got involved in the stealing and taking of a car from it's owner at knifepoint, they would be still healthy and walking about free as a bird. What happened was brought about by their own actions, including (according in today's papers) by the stolen car-driver's attempt to overtake an articulated lorry. I wouldn't cry for them, but would for those O/P's affected by their criminal actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

That is abhorrent.

Don't mix up lack of sympathy and celebration.

On the other hand, if this happened more often to these pieces of shít, the world would be a better place.

Every child scumbag cries the same when they are born; no matter where it is in the world.

And for me it is every bit as shocking that despite a large economic boom, there is still spots of Dublin at severe socio economic disadvantage, and still parts of Dublin producing young men scumbags like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I just wonder when we (both as a Government and as a society) will start to get properly tough on crime. What will be the breaking point you'd have to wonder.

I can have no sympathy for the dead individual. I'd even reserve sympathy for the family, who in many (Most?) cases are the root cause or at least have facilitated such behaviour.

All I know, is that the particular individual won't be committing anymore similar (or worse) crimes in the future. I can only see that as a good thing for society.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It's not the parts of Dublin that produce gentlemen like this - it's the parenting.
    There are many fine lads from certain areas, who have never set foot in or near a stolen car because they have been brought up to know it is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

On a more practical note, attitudes like "let's ignore the fact this guy was part of the merry scum of earth group and mourn his passing" cause a problem for decent citizens. As somebody might have noticed, the media have been quick to jump on the "excessive speed" bandwagon as if stealing a car, driving it like a lunatic (possibly under the influence or/and drunk) was not a factor in the crash.

Expect a speed camera to pop up where accident happened (if there isn't one already). Everybody knows speed cameras will stop drunken/junkie criminals driving a stolen car like the bat out of hell, while leaving alone the people driving to work every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Uriel. wrote: »
    I just wonder when we (both as a Government and as a society) will start to get properly tough on crime. What will be the breaking point you'd have to wonder.

It's going to be hard to do with their police force so undermanned, underequipped and with so little morale.

They've raped the service so much in the past few years that they will effectively reap the rewards of their savage cuts very soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

I feel sorry for the guy's family, but he would have known the risks he was taking when he hijacked the taxi.

As for the guys going on about the taxi mans lost earnings, would you ever get a life, ffs.

I feel sorry for the guy's family, but he would have known the risks he was taking when he hijacked the taxi.

As for the guys going on about the taxi mans lost earnings, would you ever get a life, ffs.

Taxi man can't work, can't feed his kids, can't pay his bills etc. I feel more sorry for him than some lowlife who took it away from him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

bumper234 wrote: »
    Taxi man can't work, can't feed his kids, can't pay his bills etc.

Oh **** off would you. Have a bit of perspective.

I think everyone has. Why should an innocent working man fall foul of a thief.

The perspective is a scumbag died doing something he shouldn't have been doing. He died because he drove at high speed and hit a bridge. After that bridge he is nearing Dublin city center therefore he could have potentially killed many innocent people. The taxi driver was terrorized into handing over his car at knife-point yet you are expecting us to feel some sympathy for this scumbag? It's you who needs to gain some perspective son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

MugMugs wrote: »
    It's going to be hard to do with their police force so undermanned, underequipped and with so little morale.

They've raped the service so much in the past few years that they will effectively reap the rewards of their savage cuts very soon.

To be honest, I am not so sure that effective policing is our Biggest problem. I think we need to really look at our court system, our social welfare and revenue systems and our means of punishing people.
    It is ridiculous, for example, that you can clock up large amounts of convictions and face relatively little punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Damien360

Uriel. wrote: »
    To be honest, I am not so sure that effective policing is our Biggest problem. I think we need to really look at our court system, our social welfare and revenue systems and our means of punishing people.
    It is ridiculous, for example, that you can clock up large amounts of convictions and face relatively little punishment.

Even worse than that, when you report an offense and give the name of the individual, and it is deemed a small offense, you will be told "we will get him for something bigger". This happened me.

We wait and wait in this country until someone gets seriously hurt or killed and then the guards act. Petty crime is low on the radar. But that is where every crook starts and the scale works upwards.