Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man down Raheny/Clontarf coast road Dublin.

• 04-08-2013 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭

Beside St. Annes park, fire engine in attendance, cyclist wearing An Post gear. Hopefully you're ok. Looks like there wasn't another vehicle involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Beside St. Annes park, fire engine in attendance, cyclist wearing An Post gear. Hopefully you're ok. Looks like there wasn't another vehicle involved.

Heading outbound? If so the road there is more likely to cause an accident than other vehicles. The surface is concrete joined by a dash of tar with the gaps perfectly placed to catch a bicycle wheel.
    There have been numerous falls there and the council have paid damages as a result in the past, but still they see no need to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yeah.. The cyclist was tfavling towards Howth. He looked like walking wounded, my passenger just told me so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

This section of road is bloody ridiculous, I have reported it, along with the dirt of the cycle track into town a couple of months back. DCC contacted me regarding the cycle track and they duly cleaned it but told me my issue with the road was with the roads department of DCC and that a request would be put to them to contact me, to date I've heard nothing!!

It's a shockingly bad section of road and I dont see why it hasnt been fixed yet! I did notice on Friday that the drains along there have been spray painted blue so obviously they are possibly going to do something. I've nearly come off the bike a few times, hopefully the cyclist is alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭whacker00

Fell there myself a few months ago, the gap in the road caught my wheel and over I went. Bike ended up in the middle of the road and i ended up against the curb. Minor cuts and embarrassment having to scrape my bike up from the growing traffic.

Hope that cyclist is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Would it be possible for the users of this forum to write to the council in question? I'm sure if they got enough emails from cyclists concerned about the state of that road, something might happen.

When I started cycling, I went out that way. Wheel got caught, went into a crazy wobble but somehow stayed up. A van had been driving alongside me and I still shudder when I think what might have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Had a major wobble there myself last year, was going > 30 km/h. Somehow stayed up. A friend crashed there a few weeks back, again thanks to the gap in the concrete. He needed stitches.

It a disgrace that one of the most popular leisure cycling routes in the city takes you over this.

Incidentally isn't this very near Fintal O'Toole Way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

He was on a stretcher by the time I got there. Hope he's ok.

On my way back out, saw a small patch of oil close by. That stretch is getting beyond ridiculous. I see the drains are spray painted blue, so DCC must have done idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Heading outbound? If so the road there is more likely to cause an accident than other vehicles. The surface is concrete joined by a dash of tar with the gaps perfectly placed to catch a bicycle wheel.
    There have been numerous falls there and the council have paid damages as a result in the past, but still they see no need to fix it.

I nearly went there a few years back. It had just started raining and the front wheel just went into one of the ridges, i dont know how it didnt fully go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Would it be possible for the users of this forum to write to the council in question? I'm sure if they got enough emails from cyclists concerned about the state of that road, something might happen.

When I started cycling, I went out that way. Wheel got caught, went into a crazy wobble but somehow stayed up. A van had been driving alongside me and I still shudder when I think what might have happened.

Hi Dirk,

This is the status of my request to DCC, just updated it again asking for details:

Service Request: 488278 -
    Track between Mount Prospect Ave & Watermill Rd at Dollymount is very dangerous

Request Number 488278
    Status Waiting
    Problem Summary
    Track between Mount Prospect Ave & Watermill Rd at Dollymount is very dangerous
    Assigned Service Representative Roads Maintenance,

General Information (For any questions please call 01 222 2222)

Status Waiting
    Request Type Report Problem Cycle Track
    Reported On 10-MAY-2013 12:32:46

Going to contact them tomorrow by phone to see what information I can get!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Briando

Bambaata wrote: »
    I nearly went there a few years back. It had just started raining and the front wheel just went into one of the ridges, i dont know how it didnt fully go!

Exact same situation myself. Its like a trap for people on bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ChainWhip

I had a heart stopper there a few weeks ago too. Caught a crevasse, and blew out my front tyre in my attempt to stay on.

Sections along that stretch are akin to the moon surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

That used to be my main route when I started cycling a good few years back, serious wobbles on that stretch! Agree with Dirk re: contacting the local authorities, there's been success with this in the past.
    Hope the cyclist in question is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Pretty sure if you cycle slowly enough past that part you'll see my soiled cycling shorts from when I hit a gap and nearly went over.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Got caught in that crevice a few weeks ago. Luckily, it was dry, and I managed to hold it together but it scared the crap out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Being somewhat familiar with how to get things done in a Council I would advise to get a local councillor or even a td involved. Preferably one who is reasonably pro cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

detones wrote: »
    Being somewhat familiar with how to get things done in a Council I would advise to get a local councillor or even a td involved. Preferably one who is reasonably pro cycling.

I think I'll write to Finian McGrath, he's the TD for around there isn't he..... oh, wait... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Zyzz wrote: »
    Pretty sure if you cycle slowly enough past that part you'll see my soiled cycling shorts from when I hit a gap and nearly went over.. :(

Does that mean you got home with no shorts?

I'd imagine the threat of frequent litigation might lubricate the wheels of progress too

Does that mean you got home with no shorts?

I'd imagine the threat of frequent litigation might lubricate the wheels of progress too

I always keep my limited edition boards.ie cycling thong in my cycle bag just in case. XXL tends to just about cover the meat and two veg! :pac::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

I always keep my limited edition boards.ie cycling thong in my cycle bag just in case. XXL tends to just about cover the meat and two veg! :pac::cool:

"410... it's not just a forum"

Saw what appeared to be another faller on that stretch this morning. He was getting back to his feet as I passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Lambretta

That section of the Road is extremely dangerous.

I agree we need to start writing to the Councils about the safety and conditions of Roads such as this section with gaps in the surface along Dollymount and the constant encroachment by drivers into the cycling lane in dangerous proximity to cyclists along this stretch and the Rock road in Blackrock. I know the Garda conduct regular speed checks but it would be helpful if they could start to prosecute drivers who drive both recklessly and aggressively close to cyclists.

A generic note written up here could be forwarded to the councils. I will send emails into the DLCC about the Rock Road and DCC later about the surface condition along Dollymount/Clontarf Road and the possibility of also erecting signs to warn motorists to keep a clear distance between them and cyclists. Keep the pressure on the authorities to do the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

For that section between the wooden bridge and bull island where you have to cross the road and cycle down by St.Anne's, we should do a video Casey Neistat style with all the cars that park along there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

I cycle this route a lot - where abouts is this hazard? On the left side outbound after the non wooden route out to the bull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

a148pro wrote: »
    I cycle this route a lot - where abouts is this hazard? On the left side outbound after the non wooden route out to the bull?

I cycle this way twice a day. There are a few cuts which, if one is not paying due attention, could cause you difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

I nearly came off twice on this section during the week. The first time my wheel went into groove just after Wongs. Nearly Sh1t myself as doing 35k or so, the momentum got me out. I moved out more into the centre of the road to avoid same and just as I was crossing further up to get onto the cycle track. My wheel went into another groove in the middle of the road.

How I didn't go over the handlebars and under an oncoming car I don't know. Really unnerved me. Someone in Dublin City council should get fired over this especially as its been brought to their attention many times now.

I'll be taking it up with them as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

An update, I have written to Dublin City Council, Finian McGrath and Alan Farrell of FG re this death trap.

It'll be interesting to see if anything is done in 2014 never mind this side of Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭DaithiMC

Incidentally isn't this very near Fintal O'Toole Way?

Yes, this is close to the stretch of 1km that Tintin O'Foole walks and bases his entire opinion on cyclists behaviour on.... http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/cycling-is-a-good-thing-and-boy-do-cyclists-know-it-1.1423498 ....It'd be great to have a job you could just walk out the door and whatever you observe on the way to work get paid for writing up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭DaithiMC

AmberGold wrote: »
    An update, I have written to Dublin City Council, Finian McGrath and Alan Farrell of FG re this death trap.

It'll be interesting to see if anything is done in 2014 never mind this side of Christmas.

Well further up the road towards Sutton, they did lay down new surface a few months back. On my cycle back from Howth on Saturday I noticed that another group of workers were busy pulling it up to get at something or other - planning geniuses at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I presume the current line is that there's no point fixing anything on the road, as the S2S cycleway is "imminent". But perhaps I'm being cynical. Let us know!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Other than to annoy the sh1t out of Finian McGrath (which is a good enough reason) why did you contact the TDs? Is this not a council only issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

CramCycle wrote: »
    Other than to annoy the sh1t out of Finian McGrath (which is a good enough reason) why did you contact the TDs? Is this not a council only issue

This is Ireland - where national politicians elected to represent the public interest and judged solely on their ability to get roads fixed ;)

Jawgap wrote: »
    This is Ireland - where national politicians elected to represent the public interest and judged solely on their ability to get roads fixed ;)
    Serves us right for having 166 people to do the job of 55 at most. Between fixing roads and fighting each other they have no time to actually run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Went down myself at that location yesterday; got the wheel caught in the little groove. Anyone know how I go about making a complaint to the council?

Sorry to hear that, but it is fairly inevitable that there will be casualties with that particular surface.
    Try here, or here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Sorry to hear that, but it is fairly inevitable that there will be casualties with that particular surface.
    Try here, or here.

Thanks for that. Doubt I'll get much response from them but worth a shot.

Hit the bars, shifters, crank and saddle fairly hard of the left side. Have carbon bars, seatpost etc... so i'd not be worried about them being damaged. Would it be worth getting a LBS check out the bike?

Thanks for that. Doubt I'll get much response from them but worth a shot.

Hit the bars, shifters, crank and saddle fairly hard of the left side. Have carbon bars, seatpost etc... so i'd not be worried about them being damaged. Would it be worth getting a LBS check out the bike?

You're asking the wrong man here. I don't trust carbon even when it's perfect! I'd be straight down to the LBS with that.

If you're using the online form to log a request, make sure to take a note of the request number when it's complete as they don't email confirmation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Contact the Councillors for the area and they will make representations on your behalf.
    http://www.dublincity.ie/YourCouncil/Councillors/YourLocalCouncillors/northcentralcouncillors/Pages/default.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Nedkelly24

I wonder what would happen if a heap of lads in boards kit turned up with a bag of sand and cement and fixed it themselves. ????

Nedkelly24 wrote: »
    I wonder what would happen if a heap of lads in boards kit turned up with a bag of sand and cement and fixed it themselves. ????

Would have to be the lime kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

If you touch the road, you Will be responsible for the next person who
    has an accident there . If the council touch the road surface they are acknowledging there
    is a problem and they will be responsible for the next person who is hurt. If they do not touch yer road, surely there cannot be a problem. This is how the council thinks.
    Here in Cavan we had a guy decided to highlight the problem and went and bought gallons of yellow paint painted round potholes and cracks and depressions. He called himself " The pothole terror"
    The council got so fed up with him highlighting their shortcomings, they took him to Court and the judge give him a choice , cease and desist the painting, or go to jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

That section should get a new surface soon as the Giro will be using that stretch of road next May.

greenmat wrote: »
    That section should get a new surface soon as the Giro will be using that stretch of road next May.

Going by Irish standards, there will still be road works going on when the Giro passes it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Going by Irish standards, there will still be road works going on when the Giro passes it..

Wouldn't be surprised but I'm sure the Giro organisers have already inspected the route and just told them to resurface the entire route from the border to the finish line, because most of it is in ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Might be a few of these signs around too I'd say

cyclestreets30858-size640.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I see this evening that the stretch alongside St Anne's Park has repair markings painted on. Does this mean they're about to do something with it?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

Once its been bought to their attention a few times and they've had reasonable time to repair it they're goosed if someone sues them. Probably paid out a few claims and now its stopped being economical to pay the claims rather than fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

We've been waiting months for them to fix this stretch, yet within the space of a few hours they've ripped up and repaired the majority of paths around Artane to install water meters :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭MrJetlag

I dont cycle that route but if it was me and I went down on this section of road and was hurt after this issue had been highlighted, I'd be contacting my solicitor and instructing him to serve papers on Dublin City Council.

Might be a few of these signs around too I'd say
    There were two of them on the Clonskeagh road the other day and I could not figure out why considering the cycle lane wasn't blocked, the road was still usable/not impeded and foot pad was still open for pedestrians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

CramCycle wrote: »
    There were two of them on the Clonskeagh road the other day and I could not figure out why considering the cycle lane wasn't blocked, the road was still usable/not impeded and foot pad was still open for pedestrians.

Enforced cyclocross training. A new government initiative.