Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 163: ALDO VS. JUNG

• 01-08-2013 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭

UFC 163: ALDO VS. JUNG
    Date: August 3, 2013
    Venue: HSBC Arena

Jose Aldo vs. Chan Sung Jung - for featherweight title
    Phil Davis vs. Lyoto Machida
    Cezar Ferreira vs. Thiago "Marreta" Santos
    Thales Leites vs. Tom Watson
    John Lineker vs. Jose Maria

PRELIMINARY CARD (FX, 8 p.m. ET)
    Vinny Magalhaes vs. Anthony Perosh
    Sheila Gaff vs. Amanda Nunes
    Neil Magny vs. Sergio Moraes
    Ian McCall vs. Iliarde Santos

PRELIMINARY CARD (Facebook, 6:30 p.m. ET)
    Josh Clopton vs. Rani Yahya
    Francimar Barroso vs. Ednaldo Oliveira
    Viscardi Andrade vs. Bristol Marunde

BT SPORTS AT 3AM FOR US

I would love to see jung take the belt of aldo but just
    don't see it happening
    Zombie has been training like a demon for this and said in
    the countdown video that he would give his life to be
    the champion
    I hope he fights sensibly and sticks to whatever gameplan
    he has prefight
    Think the main card will be won by brazilians even if
    two of those five fights are contested by the natives

Not sure what else to say :)

hoping machida takes the win but I've a feeling it won't
    be exciting to watch but it'll be better than jake and rory surely
    machida pts for me

Watson leites another potentially interesting match up and I'm only
    thinking that if watson can keep this standing
    otherwise I think he could spend most of this on his back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I can't see the zombie getting past Aldo at all. I think Aldo wins by tko in the 2nd or 3rd. I reckon Aldo leg kicks him to pieces in the lead up to the finish.

I'll be rooting for Watson too. I like him as a fighter and want to see him do well but this could be a difficult challenge for him. Should be a great fight either way.

And I get to watch this in a pub again. Happy days! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

oh yeah, rub it in why don't ya el guapo :p

mailburner wrote: »
    oh yeah, rub it in why don't ya el guapo :p

If you insist......

I'll be heading back to Hooters where I can sit drinking at the bar, watch the fight, and get served chicken wings by hot women wearing tight tshirts and hot pants.

:p

El Guapo! wrote: »
    If you insist......

I'll be heading back to Hooters where I can sit drinking at the bar, watch the fight, and get served chicken wings by hot women wearing tight tshirts and hot pants.

:p

You're annoying me now (depressing me rather)
    Must give you my number/email for when you're in hooters next ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

The gambling man in me wants to throw a score on the Korean Zombie to win @6.5 but it's pretty obvious that Aldo, as Guapo said, will kick the legs off him in the first two rounds to prevent him shooting for a takedown.

I also think the Machida/Davis fight will be a total bore fest. As good as it was to see Davis improve his striking it wasn't exactly exhilarating to watch.

Jung's plodding style will be his downfall. If he keeps Aldo on the ground he can take advantage of his conditioning problems also Jung hasn't been 5 rounds ever iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Lambasted

This isn't on any channel???
    I've just checked old espn, new bt sports 1 and 2, and setanta. It's not listed??!!
    Ive been looking forward to this one for ages.
    I know there's lots of threads already on UPC's crap communication with the changeover of coverage so I rang them and took the 2 months free offer and now I can't even find the event
    Anyone know anymore?

Lambasted wrote: »
    This isn't on any channel???
    I've just checked old espn, new bt sports 1 and 2, and setanta. It's not listed??!!
    Ive been looking forward to this one for ages.
    I know there's lots of threads already on UPC's crap communication with the changeover of coverage so I rang them and took the 2 months free offer and now I can't even find the event
    Anyone know anymore?

its down as being on bt sports
    couldnt find listing for btsports anywhere though

http://uk.ufc.com/event/UFC163#/fight/Jose-Aldo-Chan-Sung-Jung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

It's listed on BT Sports 1 for me on Sky.

11pm Saturday is "UFC - The Story so Far"
    Midnight - UFC 163 Countdown
    Sunday 1am prelims
    3am main card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

****, do i need to subsribe now from upc? Thought the first one was aug 17th. Do i ring setanta or upc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Tubbs4

adamski8 wrote: »
    ****, do i need to subsribe now from upc? Thought the first one was aug 17th. Do i ring setanta or upc?
    ring upc if you cant log in through their site.
    First 2 months are free. They will tell you T&C on the phone for cancelling.
    Its 16 a month.

Tubbs4 wrote: »
    ring upc if you cant log in through their site.
    First 2 months are free. They will tell you T&C on the phone for cancelling.
    Its 16 a month.

But does that mean i have to sign a new 12month contract with upc?

From the terms it looks like another 12 months but better to ask on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Lambasted

I wasn't given any t &c's on the phone today. Nothing mentioned about a new 12 month contract that I just read about on another thread

Lambasted wrote: »
    I wasn't given any t &c's on the phone today. Nothing mentioned about a new 12 month contract that I just read about on another thread

Probably not a 12 month contract then. Just saw their t&c on upc.ie about addiing bt sports. That's why I would ask on the phone as I am not a 100%.

Hope this is a good card with no fights like last time with Rory.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

Does anyone know what the Craic is with bt1 and sky?

Just saw this is not on espn.

I don't have bt :-(

Package wrote: »

have to pay a sub for bt with sky
    sad but true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

You need to pay 19.99 a month to get BT Sport. Its part of the setanta package

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

are you serious?

so the espn charge just disappears and you have to set up a new package?

they could have told us this,, BASTARDS

are you serious?

haha, youd be lucky , afaik the espn charge doesnt dissapear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

are you serious?

In fairness there is an 11 page thread on this forum discussing it. I'm not sure how you could have missed it either as the UFC's deal with BT Sports has been widely discussed since it was announced months ago. Not just on here, but on all the major MMA sites.

And if you're with Sky you will have stopped being charged for ESPN last month. Don't know about UPC.

brian stann interviewing the winner of the second fight
    He's a natural and a refreshing change from annick, even florian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Mike Goldberg and Rio Dayyyyy Janeiro. I had forgotton all about it. Grrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭seklly

Nice submission!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

mailburner wrote: »
    brian stann interviewing the winner of the second fight
    He's a natural and a refreshing change from annick, even florian
    Agreed more listenable than those other two for sure

I'm in Hooters watching the fights and there's tv screens everywhere showing different sports.
    On one tv there's a swimsuit pageant on, and guess who's presenting it?...........

..........Chael Sonnen.
    Is there no end to this mans talent?! :D

Oh, and Kenny Florian is co-presenting it. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Stann is excellent alright. I wish the UFC would train either himself or Florian to do the main commentary job so that they can get rid of Anik. He's really the weak link in the whole thing.

For some reason every time I see Anthony Perosh I think of the Aussie guy from the Simpsons with the giant boot who was going to kick Bart up the arse.

Well that was impressive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Perosh must have somewhere else to be. That was fast

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

another accumulator down the tubes

First shot was outta the top drawer

Clocked 14 seconds

Stann is excellent alright. I wish the UFC would train either himself or Florian to do the main commentary job so that they can get rid of Anik. He's really the weak link in the whole thing.

Yeah Anik is a bit of a disappointment. He was refreshing at first but everyone realised very quickly it's not the job for him.
    He was great on Inside mma though and everyone thought he'd do well in the job. He really doesn't fit the role though.

Very good first round by those flyweights those knees were disgracefully low though

Hope Leites takes this, I always feel he was a bit hard done by with his release from the UFC back in the day.

Total destruction of Watson there. It was heading for a 10-8 round till he stood up I reckon.

I can't see Watson getting out of this one.

Total destruction of Watson there. It was heading for a 10-8 round till he stood up I reckon.

I can't see Watson getting out of this one.
    Either can I Leites reallly made Watson look like he was picked up off the street for the first 4 mins. A very complete ground clinic

Another dominant round from Leites.
    I have to hand it to Watson though, he hasn't took a step backwards the whole fight. He has some heart.

Judging by that round Watson could get a punchers chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Was Watson shown up to be a bit out of his depth there? He has entertaining fights and is British so is useful to UFC, but I've always felt he's not anywhere near the top level of fighters.

leggo wrote: »
    Was Watson shown up to be a bit out of his depth there? He has entertaining fights and is British so is useful to UFC, but I've always felt he's not anywhere near the top level of fighters.

I like Watson but he was totally lost there. He's not contender level and he's probably not gonna get there either going by that performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Mutante is definitely one to watch. I know Santos was a fill-in but that was still impressive.

Yeah that was impressive. Cracking left hand to start it all off.

Rd 1 to Machida I reckon.

Defo think Davis needs to lay off the kicks Machida seems to have those well sussed seizing oppurtunities including the slight flurry there in the first

Tight enough 2nd round but Davis might have stole it with the takedown near the end.

Davis really needs the takedown earlier in the third, closer round there