Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thursday Galway

• 31-07-2013 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭

Not going to back much tomorrow but I see one of my selectiona has collapsed from 16's in price 8-1 with some! Thomas Edison similar to carlingford lough must have had this race and only this race in mind this year and the horse is one I've been backing all year in the hope they will allow it to run its race. Tomorrow is his race..we will see how good he really is! I fancied both piqué sous and TE but given the way the ground has gone it would be no surprise to see PS being pulled from the card.

Outside of TE, I like both Elliot horses and think both could easily run into places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

In the first I can tell you Roving Lad is working out of his skin should be 33/1 but when the owners/ Paul Gilligan from Craughwell just outside Galway city are on it will be short.This lad is seriously fancied but like all young chasers the ground is an issue but he jumps brilliant at home NAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Having backed Ted Veale at Cheltenham, i think he's the one to be on tomorrow, although at 4/1 he's not great value.

At a bigger price i also like the look of Drive Time. He went off fav for this last year off a much lower mark, he's been laid out for this again clearly and wont mind the ground going soft. At 14/1 he's worth an ew saver as i expect TV to win!! :P

Another one i like the look of at Galway in the 3.00 is Cheval Rouge.
    Needs to bounce back from a poor run(too bad to be true) lto, but if she can reproduce her second to Sweet Lightning in the Irish Lincoln she'll be bang there at 14/1 off the big weight. Drawn well and wont mind the ground softening. Tricky race, but she caught my eye (like so many fillies do ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Fancy Barack but with Smullen up he'll be several points shorter than he should be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Might be worth changing title to Thursday 31 July unless we want a separate thread for Goodwood.

Three fancies for goodwood tomorrow: thunderstrike, mushaakis, yourartisonfire. Long distance race looks there for Mount Athos but i'm not backing him - just happy to watch.
    Was a little disappointed that excessive knowledge failed to win today. In the
    race he ran with just the judge, ninjango ran well. He was a nr last Saturday or the Saturday before, he's being aimed at the stewards cup on Saturday.

Good luck tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Slattsy wrote: »
    Having backed Ted Veale at Cheltenham, i think he's the one to be on tomorrow, although at 4/1 he's not great value.

At a bigger price i also like the look of Drive Time. He went off fav for this last year off a much lower mark, he's been laid out for this again clearly and wont mind the ground going soft. At 14/1 he's worth an ew saver as i expect TV to win!! :P

Another one i like the look of at Galway in the 3.00 is Cheval Rouge.
    Needs to bounce back from a poor run(too bad to be true) lto, but if she can reproduce her second to Sweet Lightning in the Irish Lincoln she'll be bang there at 14/1 off the big weight. Drawn well and wont mind the ground softening. Tricky race, but she caught my eye (like so many fillies do ;))
    On the ground Ted Veale is almost unbeatable but his other horse is decent .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Might be worth changing title to Thursday 31 July unless we want a separate thread for Goodwood.

Three fancies for goodwood tomorrow: thunderstrike, mushaakis, yourartisonfire. Long distance race looks there for Mount Athos but i'm not backing him - just happy to watch.

Was a little disappointed that excessive knowledge failed to win today. In the race he ran with just the judge, ninjango
    Good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

sting60 wrote: »
    On the ground Ted Veale is almost unbeatable but his other horse is decent .

Don't really agree with this statement. He's definitely no mud lark and would be better on a sound surface. Handles it well enough but has put up some bad performances on heavy ground as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

Willie has always banged on about Pique Sous needing good ground but he's won on soft/heavy plenty of times and Ruby has picked him in the knowledge that the weather and ground was likely going to deteriorate. He's drifted now out to 9/1 which looks too big to not back as he looks very well handicapped off 137.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Don't be fooled by ruby on pique sous. He picked to ride him since before last week. His decision was made before the bad forecast. I'd be pretty sure he won't be running tomorrow if conditions are that bad. That's the reason we didn't seem him on grass until march.

Rossom re Ted Veale and the conditions, very difficult to tell when Ted veale was actually getting true rides or
    Not given the trainer

3.00 Galway

Measured Approval 12/1

A 9lb rise to a mark of 79 for a half length victory LTO (front 2 5L clear) seems a bit harsh but I've always felt that Pat Flynn's 5 year old has had the ability to take off and be a much better animal than his career suggests and from a good draw in stall 3 and on ground that will be no problem for him I'm hopeful for a big run from this son Acclamation. A horse who can sometimes miss the break, Measured Approval sauntered to 2 wins last Autumn (2nd time off a 12lb lower mark) before his form tailed off and after running well enough on a few occasions everything clicked for Measured Approval in a race that was clearly his target (Flynn now won it 3 of last 4 years) when overcoming the widest draw at Ballinrobe to score over this distance under Danny Grant. Dropped in from his horrid berth, Measured Approval made good progress down the outside having been dropped out at the rear of the field and after engaging in a battle with the very game Apache Gold before the top weight mastered him late on to score with a little bit in hand. It's going to take a career best for Measured Approval to land this contest but I definitely feel he has the talent to do so and having gotten his head back in front last time I expect him to be full of confidence. Although this is a much tougher race, Pat Flynn has his horses in great form at the moment and had a couple of 2nds at Galway yesterday and I hope Measured Approval can go one better here today.

4.55 Galway

Missunited 9/1 & Hisaabaat 18/1

This looks a top class renewal of the Galway Hurdle and with horrific weather forecast its going to be a massive slog and given that none of the first 5 home in the Galway Plate yesterday carried more than 10-11 I'm concentrating on those at the foot of the handicap. Granted, 2 miles over hurdles isn't the same as 2m6f over fences but a low weight in the likely dire conditions looks key and the two I have come up with are Missunited and Hisaabaat. Looking first at Missunited, this top notch dual purpose mare represents the shrewd Michael Winters who won this last year with Rebel Fitz and he seems to have protected this 6 year olds lovely mark of 134 on what will be her handicap debut. An easy winner at the course over 18f back in September beating the talented mare Zuzka, Missunited landed a pretty decent Grade 3 hurdle back in March beating Twigline in what looks useful form. Although she bombed out in a Grade 1 at Fairyhouse on her final start over hurdles later that month, she has been in fine fettle on the flat finishing 2nd in 3 consecutive Listed contests and although a bit disappointing at Roscommon earlier this month I am sure her trainer will have her spot on for this and judged on her flat/hurdling exploits a mark of 134 seems very fair. Robbie Power takes the ride on Missunited for the first time today and the very testing conditions should pose no problem to her. Another point that could prove crucial is that Missunited is a stout stayer who has won over 1m6f on the flat and that stamina could prove crucial in a race that will clearly take a lot of getting home. With Michael Winters knowing what it takes to win the race, Missunited has clearly been laid out for this and off a lovely racing weight of 10-8 I think she's got a superb chance of winning this having proven course form in the book.

I would have been kicking myself for not having backed Hisaabaat if he wins given his claims are so obvious judged on last seasons form and although he has proven a shadow of himself on numerous occasions this season if the 'King of Ballybrit' Dermot Weld has plotted him up and has him back to his best today then I don't think he'll be beaten. Runner up to subsequent Champion Hurdle 3rd Countrywide Flame in the Triumph Hurdle and a Grade 1 winner either side of that at Leopardstown and Punchestown, Hisaabaat showed outstanding form in his juvenile campaign but to say he has been abysmal this year is an understatement. Comprehensively beaten in 4 hurdle outings and a flat race this year, Hisaabaat has looked nothing like the horse he was last year but he has resultantly fallen to a mark of 134 which makes him look ridiculously well handicapped on last seasons form. Despite being so poor this season, Dermot Weld sounded quite bullish on ATR yesterday about his chances and if the legendary trainer can apply the midas touch he could scoot in here with a first time visor. With a definite liking for testing conditions, the very talented Michael Nolan comes across to his homeland for this one ride and takes over a very valuable 3lb to give Hisaabaat a lovely racing weight of just 10-4 and if the Hisaabaat of last year shows up then 18/1 will look a ridiculous price. If he's completely gone off the ball then he'll finish out with the washing here but if Weld has indeed plotted him up for the race specifically and he's back to himself then I don't think Hisaabaat will beaten and at 18/1 I'm definitely willing to take that chance.

5.35 Galway

Shalaman 10/1

Bet365 were insane to price up Shalaman at 14/1 and although that price has been clipped in I think they've completely gotten this runner all wrong and 10s is a huge price. Last year Denis Hogan ran the incredibly well handicapped and progressive Inis Meain in this corresponding race last year (now 40lb higher rated) and although that horse bumped into a similarly well handicapped 3 year old in Call Me Bubbles I think Shalaman could have been targeted at this race for some time. Having only made his debut back in March and very lightly raced to date, Shalaman landed a big gamble in the stewards room on his last start and I think there is a lot more to come from him. Having used his first 3 runs to get a mark and after a moderate handicap debut, Shalaman ran with much more enthusiasm on his 2nd start in a handicap when 3rd over a mile at Limerick last month before landing a gamble in the stewards room up to 11f at Killarney a few weeks ago. Under todays pilot Leigh Roche, Shalaman was held up in the rear of the field before making smooth progress towards the business end of the race. Looking like the winner all over, LeighRoche inexplicably tried to go for a gap between horses in the final furlong and although he (luckily) got the race in the stewards room when running on having switched late Shalaman was clearly the best horse in the race. That form was boosted when the 3rd won at Leopardstown off a 2lb higher mark and an 7lb rise to 67 seems fair and is a mark I definitely feel is well within his ability. Although the heavy going will be vastly different to what he faced the last day, he seemed ok on soft ground 2 starts back and a few of his half siblings have form on easy going and I don't think it will be a problem. Leigh Roche takes the ride again this evening and a handy 3lb off his back and having screwed up the ride last time I am sure he'll do everything in his power to ensure victory at a track he rides well. At a track where the draw is so important, Shalaman has bagged a lovely draw in stall 4 and if acting on the likely swamp then I think he'll take an awful lot of beating at a double figure price I did not expect to see available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

rossom wrote: »
    Bet365 were insane to price up Shalaman at 14/1 and although that price has been clipped in I think they've completely gotten this runner all wrong and 10s is a huge price.

They must've heard you! 7/2 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

thank god off the mark with good day yesterday, more overnight rain and hardly that sunny so i expect ground on the sot side today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Anyone else think King George River is overpriced at 14/1 in the first at Goodwood. Was no match for Intello but ran a good race in behind him and in his two races before that beat Senockian Star and Henry The Aviator who have since boosted the form. Ran well for a long way behind Mukhadram the other day before fading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Shalaman out of the 5.35 at Galway. Just been declared a non runner.

Day 4 at Galway from me

Sad see Castle bar sling is a non runner. Expecting softish conditions. Also realised how much galway loves 1m 100yards handicaps seems be half of the handicaps are over the mile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

manafana wrote: »
    Day 4 at Galway from me

Sad see Castle bar sling is a non runner. Expecting softish conditions. Also realised how much galway loves 1m 100yards handicaps seems be half of the handicaps are over the mile

I had that one in my L15:mad:

NRs galore today, pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I can see there been more non runners, its absolutely pelting it down here, think the ladies might be better bringing their wellies today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Torrential rain in Galway at the moment. Wonder is there a doubt about today's racing if it keeps up?

RedPeppers wrote: »
    I can see there been more non runners, its absolutely pelting it down here, think the ladies might be better bringing their wellies today :)

got like the chances sendmylovetorose if its heavy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

Guys, it's been a while.

5.00 at Nottingham I really like WAR POET at 11/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

just tuned in and seen rebel fitz at evens

missed the off by seconds
    probably a gift that was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Miracle of medinah has done nothing wrong in her racing yet and is improving all the time, If the horse was at a bigger stable he'd be a few points shorter no doubt. I've taken the 9/1 e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Very impressive from Rebel Fitz, barely came off the bridle.

Johner wrote: »
    Very impressive from Rebel Fitz, barely came off the bridle.

yeah couldnt see a reason to take him one, hes 5-10lbs better than any of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,115 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Last bet of the week Thunder Strike.

• Site Banned Posts: 11 Cyber735

same here,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

If Histaabaat wins today Weld should have his trainers license taken away from him:rolleyes:

If he wins today i will cry long and hard

UrbanSea wrote: »
    If he wins today i will cry long and hard

Me too had a nice wedge on him at Cheltenham, Punchestown and Fairyhouse. Ran absolute stinkers so I honestly couldn't back him with anybodies money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Went with brown panther last min :)

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Went with brown panther last min :)

Won very nicely, I would say they are kicking themselves they didn't go to Royal Ascot with him.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Me too had a nice wedge on him at Cheltenham, Punchestown and Fairyhouse. Ran absolute stinkers so I honestly couldn't back him with anybodies money.

There has been cash for it though, more than likeky the Weld factor, but you never know, he could have been kept for this.

Poxy race to call, small bets, 50's only :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Galway Hurdle

Shadow Catcher seems great value here at 40/1 in a few places, given his very good performance behind the favorite at Cheltenham. He has a very big turnaround in the weights, and has form on soft ground in the past. Although he was poor last time its to be expected given the value of this race and id assume today would be his target.

1 Point EW 40/1 Stanjames/BetVictor

Im looking at Too Scoops in the big one after it got in to the race.
    HdeB is a great at laying one out.

I'm on Ted Veale, and will be having more than too scoops if he wins.

wild coco really does look good.

over in galway the rain seems to have made it easier to narrow down these fields.

I'm on Ted Veale, and will be having more than too scoops if he wins.

Im split down the middle on TV, i do think he could take the beating but 4/1 is too short and im wary he could be handicapped properly now.
    In the back of my mind i I just wonder was Cheltenham 'his big day'...

50/50 :o

I wouldnt put you off anything in the race, but you know where I stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

there's another big one in ted I reckon
    God I hope so anyway
    was part of my best days punting all year at chelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Bookies getting smashed in Galway again with every fav winning so far.

I hope the apple cart is upset in the next.

I'm on Rawnaq at 20-1 with powers paying 5 places.

Im a click of a button away from going in on Hisaabaat again, will I or won't I :o

4.55 Galway

Missunited 9/1

This looks a top class renewal of the Galway Hurdle and with horrific weather forecast its going to be a massive slog and given that none of the first 5 home in the Galway Plate yesterday carried more than 10-11 I'm concentrating on those at the foot of the handicap. Granted, 2 miles over hurdles isn't the same as 2m6f over fences but a low weight in the likely dire conditions looks key and the two I have come up with are Missunited and Hisaabaat. Looking first at Missunited, this top notch dual purpose mare represents the shrewd Michael Winters who won this last year with Rebel Fitz and he seems to have protected this 6 year olds lovely mark of 134 on what will be her handicap debut. An easy winner at the course over 18f back in September beating the talented mare Zuzka, Missunited landed a pretty decent Grade 3 hurdle back in March beating Twigline in what looks useful form. Although she bombed out in a Grade 1 at Fairyhouse on her final start over hurdles later that month, she has been in fine fettle on the flat finishing 2nd in 3 consecutive Listed contests and although a bit disappointing at Roscommon earlier this month I am sure her trainer will have her spot on for this and judged on her flat/hurdling exploits a mark of 134 seems very fair. Robbie Power takes the ride on Missunited for the first time today and the very testing conditions should pose no problem to her. Another point that could prove crucial is that Missunited is a stout stayer who has won over 1m6f on the flat and that stamina could prove crucial in a race that will clearly take a lot of getting home. With Michael Winters knowing what it takes to win the race, Missunited has clearly been laid out for this and off a lovely racing weight of 10-8 I think she's got a superb chance of winning this having proven course form in the book.

Unbelievable for Michael Winters small stable to win the hurdle twice in a row. Great dual purpose mare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 maxmo

Well done Rossom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

Unbelievable for Michael Winters small stable to win the hurdle twice in a row. Great dual purpose mare.

cheers rosom,
    lashed a fiver on him this morning and hissabaat after reading your post.
    first winner all week.

ruled out misunited last pity, great training

Cheers lads. Didn't realise until seeing the result but Hisaabaat managed to grab some place money too.

Thats some improvement out of Hisaabaat to finish 5th :rolleyes:

Yeah dirty cheats. What a coincidence Weld has all these unbelievably handicapped horses year after year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭mountai

Cheers lads. Didn't realise until seeing the result but Hisaabaat managed to grab some place money too.

Does this mean the bookies pay out on E/W bets???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

mountai wrote: »
    Does this mean the bookies pay out on E/W bets???

If you bet with PaddyPower or Bet365 then yes it does.

To my knowledge they were the only bookies paying 5 places.