Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First car choice for a 17 year old?

• 31-07-2013 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jordanfaf

Im going to be getting my first car in october, but im stuck between a few choices, my parents have given me about 6000-7000 euro in total, and I plan on going as a name driver on my mums policy (thats what my brother has done until now). The cars I have been looking at are is an EP honda civic 1.4, my favourite choice but the car is old and has a reputation with boy racers.

Next is a 2006-2008 opel astra 3 door 1.4. Looks really good but im worried it will be a bit slow

A 2008 seat ibiza sport. Its the old model, my dad more so wants me to get this one, but my brother has the newer model leon, so im not mad on the idea.

2006 fiat grande punto sporting 1.4. I love this car, but it only has 4 seats and a thing called hillhold, which I hear is a neusance.

And im open to anymore suggestions people have. All the cars I listed are in my budget, my parents are willing to go a little over for something I really like, but im trying to find something cheap and cool (like the civic) because money is tight at the moment, but my parents just always wanna please us kids.

Thanks for all the suggestions, my most wanted is the civic, pending insurance quotes are not too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Go out and get yourself a Suzuki Swift 1.3 (2005-2011 model).

Picked one up as my first car 2 years ago when I had just turned 17. Perfect car to start out on, everything in the car is so simple and fluid. I work in a warehouse where we ship cars day in day out and have to drive them at least some distance before entering/leaving a container. This car topped even the best of high end cars in terms of simplicity.

After my first service a month or so after I had bought the car I was told there was something minor wrong with the gearbox and that I should get it checked out. The problem definitely existed from the old owner because the noise he was pointing out was in fact there when I bought the car. 2 years on and the gearbox still soldiers on no bother, not to mention is passed the NCT again in between.

So yeah, pick one up. The 2006 model I have you could probably pick up for around 3,500 euros now.

You'll probably turn around and say granny car but sure look. At 17 you're going to have an awful time getting insured on anything 1.4+

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,457 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

You would be better off asking this question in the motoring forum.

This forum is more about public transport, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Thread moved

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

mad muffin wrote: »
    What 17 year old wouldn't want one?

A 17 year old with a bit of sense probably.

Suzuki swift would be bang on the money for me also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

jordanfaf wrote: »
    Im going to be getting my first car in october, but im stuck between a few choices, my parents have given me about 6000-7000 euro in total, and I plan on going as a name driver on my mums policy (thats what my brother has done until now). The cars I have been looking at are is an EP honda civic 1.4, my favourite choice but the car is old and has a reputation with boy racers.

Next is a 2006-2008 opel astra 3 door 1.4. Looks really good but im worried it will be a bit slow

A 2008 seat ibiza sport. Its the old model, my dad more so wants me to get this one, but my brother has the newer model leon, so im not mad on the idea.

2006 fiat grande punto sporting 1.4. I love this car, but it only has 4 seats and a thing called hillhold, which I hear is a neusance.

And im open to anymore suggestions people have. All the cars I listed are in my budget, my parents are willing to go a little over for something I really like, but im trying to find something cheap and cool (like the civic) because money is tight at the moment, but my parents just always wanna please us kids.

Thanks for all the suggestions, my most wanted is the civic, pending insurance quotes are not too high.

You say you want something cheap but you are forgetting the massive cost of insurance for all the cars you listed which are all "boy racer" cars. Obviously your parents will be paying the insurance as well as paying for the car.

Some adverts on Adverts.ie which might suit

http://www.adverts.ie/car/ford/fiesta/2006-ford-fiesta-for-sale/3482297

http://www.adverts.ie/car/nissan/micra/2007-nissan-micra-for-sale/3502294

http://www.adverts.ie/car/kia/picanto/kia-picanto-automatic/3470857

http://www.adverts.ie/car/opel/corsa/2006-corsa-cheap-tax-low-klms/3499377

http://www.adverts.ie/car/suzuki/swift/2007-suzuki-swift-for-sale/3499321

http://www.adverts.ie/car/opel/corsa/opel-corsa/3492201

There are loads more reasonably priced small cars with small engine size which will usually mean lower cost insurance and safer for younger inexperienced drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

A 17 year old with a bit of sense probably.

Suzuki swift would be bang on the money for me also.

A 2.0 saloon car that averages 24MPG for a 17 year old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Get a banger for 2 grand you will appreciate it more and get those learner scrapes and dents out of the way.

Well for some getting 6-7000 handed to you but thats too much for a new younger driver who will be relatively new to driving.

Im not begruding you a nice first car but you would be much better off and save your parents afew bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

If I was you I would spend less on the car so you could get your own insurance, as if you are the main driver of the car then you are not actually covered to drive it all the time under a named policy(so I believe open to correction on that).

Your 17 so you don't need a fast car, get something nice and steady for your first car. Something that looks nice but is low on insurance.

A 2.0 saloon car that averages 24MPG for a 17 year old...

My first car was a 2ltr rear wheel drive. And I wasn't much older than OP (18)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

2006 fiat grande punto sporting 1.4. I love this car, but it only has 4 seats and a thing called hillhold, which I hear is a nuisance.
    I own a GP and have also been in the 3 door - it has 3 belts in the back (see pic below). Also, great choice for first car, 5 star safety rating, easy to drive and good on MPG and won't push past €4500 for one but because people in Ireland rarely buy top spec - there will only be a handful of 1.4 16V available.

PS: Never heard of "hillhold" before, seems to be on newer models but I sure haven't seen it on a 2006.

904233.jpg

My first car was a 2ltr rear wheel drive. And I wasn't much older than OP (18)

Probably when Premiums,tax and fuel costs weren't at the same level as today however.

Yep :D

Petrol was below 50c a ltr.

But I don't think OP has to worry about that? After all his folk are giving him €6,000-€7000

When I bought my first car 1980 (Mitsubishi Sigma) I had to spend my own AUS$2,0000 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jordanfaf

Sprrratt wrote: »
    Go out and get yourself a Suzuki Swift 1.3 (2005-2011 model).

Picked one up as my first car 2 years ago when I had just turned 17. Perfect car to start out on, everything in the car is so simple and fluid. I work in a warehouse where we ship cars day in day out and have to drive them at least some distance before entering/leaving a container. This car topped even the best of high end cars in terms of simplicity.

After my first service a month or so after I had bought the car I was told there was something minor wrong with the gearbox and that I should get it checked out. The problem definitely existed from the old owner because the noise he was pointing out was in fact there when I bought the car. 2 years on and the gearbox still soldiers on no bother, not to mention is passed the NCT again in between.

So yeah, pick one up. The 2006 model I have you could probably pick up for around 3,500 euros now.

You'll probably turn around and say granny car but sure look. At 17 you're going to have an awful time getting insured on anything 1.4+

Hmm, I dunno, my cousin got a brand new swift in 2006 and has had nothing but complaints about it. My dads bringing me to look at some cars nexxt weekend, ill take a look at some swifts and see how I feel Thanks :)

Have ever seen how bendy a back cover is from a Samsung phone (Galaxy series)? Well the Swift interior is like that.

Make sure you poke and prod the plastics. ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,344 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Get a Micra and keep the extra money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Have ever seen how bendy a back cover is from a Samsung phone (Galaxy series)? Well the Swift interior is like that.

Make sure you poke and prod the plastics. ;)

Sammy covers are only bendy when removed; perfectly rigid when snapped in.

Here's a better analogy:

Do you know the way Iphones are a big girl's phone? Well the Suzuki Swift is a bit like that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Yaris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

spurious wrote: »
    Get a Micra and keep the extra money.

I agree, best option for a first run around. Cheap to run, tax and insure. Risky spending €7000 on a first car without a bit of driving experience.

Sammy covers are only bendy when removed; perfectly rigid when snapped in.

Here's a better analogy:

Do you know the way Iphones are a big girl's phone? Well the Suzuki Swift is a bit like that too.

Exactly what I thought, until I found a swift sport its a 1.6 but I just got a quote of 2500 on my own policy so I will probably be allowed get that on my mums policy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I know of a good few people who's parents were contributing to there first car and they insisted they had to get a five NCAP star car and they didn't want it to be a small little car either. So most of these people got Focuss, Golfs or Astras.
    This might be why the OP doesn't want a micra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

This puts my six page thread dedicated to a €1550 micra to shame :)

Happy driving OP!

I know of a good few people who's parents were contributing to there first car and they insisted they had to get a five NCAP star car and they didn't want it to be a small little car either. So most of these people got Focuss, Golfs or Astras.
    This might be why the OP doesn't want a micra.

Well Lagunas are probably the safest cars on the roads and comfortable.Shame the electronics are crap in them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

If you're worried about an Astra being too slow, consider the fact that every car you could ever get into has the speed ability to turn your body into a pile of guts all over the pavement. If you really don't want to be seen as a boy racer, don't be looking for speed.

The Astra is a great car and is fast too. Many insurers see civics as boy racer magnets and charge higher premiums for them.

Don't get a micra though. They really are just too small and dangerous imo. Astra, Focus, Golf, Leon, Pisschat etc are all good choices.

Be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Avoid a Civic unless you've got another €6k to insure it. Anything with Sport in the name is going to be a red flag for insurance too.

Get something cheap and get the insurance in your own name with the balance of the money available to you - it'll pay off big time in years to come when you build up NCB in your own name.

Everyone at 17 wants something fast and good-looking but the reality is that a fast car when you've no experience will kill you. It sounds harsh, but it's reality. At 17 I really wanted an Escort Cosworth - I can look back now and realise how bad an idea that would have been (if I could have afforded the thing in the first place :D ).

I'd consider a mid 00s Fiesta 1.25. They're cheap to buy, good enough to drive and parts for Ford are pretty cheap. And there are lots of them around in scrapyards for secondhand body panels ;)

The other important consideration here is that until you pass your test, your use of the car is limited anyway since you must have a licenced driver with you at all times. It might be worth holding off on the purchase until you've got this out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

If you're buying the car for yourself, insure it in your own name. Do it right from the get go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Mazda 2
    1.3 litre
    84,000 Kilometres
    Road Tax €225
    Full service history
    Very frugal engine easily gets 45 miles to the gallon.
    Price: € 6,495

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/price-drop-mazda-2/5308076

Full-21315718.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Jordan5372

You sound spoilt.

goz83 wrote: »
    If you're worried about an Astra being too slow, consider the fact that every car you could ever get into has the speed ability to turn your body into a pile of guts all over the pavement. If you really don't want to be seen as a boy racer, don't be looking for speed.

The Astra is a great car and is fast too. Many insurers see civics as boy racer magnets and charge higher premiums for them.

Don't get a micra though. They really are just too small and dangerous imo. Astra, Focus, Golf, Leon, Pisschat etc are all good choices.

Be safe.

Im not worried about fast in the sense of "am I gonna win a race" im worried that the car wont have the power to overtake on the motorway, or struggle to get up a steep hill, my cousin has a 1.2 polo and it has that problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Jordan5372

i have a 1.2 corsa and it struggles up hills fully laden, but so what, what do you expect, its a 1.2!!! i have more than enough power to overtake a car doing 70MPH on a motorway, any faster is illegal. 1.2 engine is more than enough for a learner and inexperienced driver like yourself.

Jordan5372 wrote: »
    You sound spoilt.

Im not going to deny, my parents were brought up spoiled and now they do the same to me and my brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Surprised nobody has brought attention to this.

The kid is 17 and he's already complaining about the thoughts of a slow car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Hi OP!
    I can see where your coming from. You just want a nice car as your first car.
    I'd say get what you want. Be it a an Astra or Punto. I also say have a look at Golf and maybe a 3 door carolla. If you were interested in a focus I say you would find the 1.4 one really slow. If you have the money to get a nice car and your parents and yourself are happy with it go for it. Just remember to get insurance quotes before you buy anything just in case the insurance would be very high. I know loads of lads who stated off in 1.4/1.6 cars on there own insurance and they managed just grand with the power/insurance costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

im worried that the car wont have the power to overtake on the motorway

I'm worried that you seem unaware that you're not legally allowed to drive on a Motorway on a Provisional......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Get something with Electronic Stability Control and a 5 star NCAP Rating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

goz83 wrote: »

That approach is never going to work. It's the equivalent argument of telling him to not stick his dick in a girl cause he is going to get some horrible STD. Every part of him will fight you on it because he wants to do it.

Op, couple of things. I'm going to put this in terms you can hopefully understand.

Really fast cars are like really hot young women. They are loads of fun to have a go on and look great.

But after a while you realize that its costing you a fortune. And when you do take her for a spin it tends to be really quick, with a decent chance of arriving early or not arriving at all.

They also will cost you a fortune in the long run, yearly expensive jewelry costs, constant party's at the local pub with you dropping 70-80 on drink for her.

Then you might have a accident, leave a mark. But she just won't let you forget that, she will be showing it to you every time you see her. And its cost to remove that mark, maybe even a 2k holiday needed depending on what you did.

In the end you will just be wondering why you thought she was fun in the first place.

Pick a average bird, one who doesn't attract that much attention. She will still be fun in the sack and you will get so much better at it over the next few years. You will have loads of money left to do the things that you want, shes easy to keep as long as you pay her some basic attention. And if you kick her in the night by accident and leave a bruise, you both won't mind so much because it was a accident.

And if shes pissing you off in a couple of years, drop her for a better model.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    I'm worried that you seem unaware that you're not legally allowed to drive on a Motorway on a Provisional......

I know that, but I plan on having the car for a few years so I will almost definitely be on the motorway in it

That approach is never going to work. It's the equivalent argument of telling him to not stick his dick in a girl cause he is going to get some horrible STD. Every part of him will fight you on it because he wants to do it.

Op, couple of things. I'm going to put this in terms you can hopefully understand.

Really fast cars are like really hot young women. They are loads of fun to have a go on and look great.

But after a while you realize that its costing you a fortune. And when you do take her for a spin it tends to be really quick, with a decent chance of arriving early or not arriving at all.

They also will cost you a fortune in the long run, yearly expensive jewelry costs, constant party's at the local pub with you dropping 70-80 on drink for her.

Then you might have a accident, leave a mark. But she just won't let you forget that, she will be showing it to you every time you see her. And its cost to remove that mark, maybe even a 2k holiday needed depending on what you did.

In the end you will just be wondering why you thought she was fun in the first place.

Pick a average bird, one who doesn't attract that much attention. She will still be fun in the sack and you will get so much better at it over the next few years. You will have loads of money left to do the things that you want, shes easy to keep as long as you pay her some basic attention. And if you kick her in the night by accident and leave a bruise, you both won't mind so much because it was a accident.

And if shes pissing you off in a couple of years, drop her for a better model.

Haha love that. Ill probably go with the astra. They look good and are pretty cheap to run and I can always add alloys and bits to make it more personal

I don't read anywhere OP saying he wants an economical cheap to run and repair first car?

OP's parents obviously have money and are willing to spend it on their son.

OP is right to be worried about under powered cars. They can be just as dangerous as higher powered ones.

There's the over confidence. Sure this ar is under powered. What trouble could I get into?

Then there comes a time when you need the extra power overtaking and you don't have it. There's a lot of places where you might need to overtake in Ireland and ther is the stupid habit of some Irish drivers to suddenly accelerate when you try to overtake them.

Also the sooner you learn to drive a higher powered car the better a driver you will be in the long run.

There's a lot of people who have been driving around in piddley little 1ltr cars and once get into a higher powered car get into trouble because they aren't used to all the power.

/rant. :P

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Im not going to deny, my parents were brought up spoiled and now they do the same to me and my brother

That's very honest of you - fair dues.

I reckon a 17 y.o. on a learner permit driving accompanied (as you must) would be well advised go for a low power car at least to start with.

Once you've gained a bit of experience, and hopefully passed your test, have a look at 1.4l cars.

p.s. You aren't allowed drive on motorways as a learner driver.

That's very honest of you - fair dues.

I reckon a 17 y.o. on a learner permit driving accompanied (as you must) would be well advised go for a low power car at least to start with.

Once you've gained a bit of experience, and hopefully passed your test, have a look at 1.4l cars.

p.s. You aren't allowed drive on motorways as a learner driver.

It's funny reading comments like this, having grown up in Australia. It used to be why don't you start with a 2ltr and then move up to a V6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Nissan Almera, 1.5 petrol engine, cheap to insure, decent amount of power (more than enough for a novice) 3 or 5 dr hatch is good looking without looking too boy-racerish, very good roadholding and most importantly, bullet proof engine and gearbox, which is pretty much the last nissan that has that 'fire and forget' approach to maintenance. The engine also has a timing chain instead of belt, which will be more forgiving when you undoubtedly strain the engine by pulling away from junctions or go up hills in the wrong gear with not enough revs. You'll pick up an 06 one up with change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

You said in your first post that money is a bit tight.

With this in mind I'd opt not to have a car and instead spend the money on a few years in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

An ep civic is a dinosaur compared to many of the other options you list, so I would avoid it entirely!

An Astra would be nice if its in budget, and I got a lift in one of those Fiats before and was impressed.
    Since none of these are high performance motors, I would consider the interior features and toys pretty important since you are going to be cruising about rather than ragging it. Some of them have much better audio systems, Opel used to be pretty good with a lot of speakers in them, but I don't know of recent ones. If you are enjoying the trip, then theres no rush getting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Fiat punto elx 1.2l petrol. My first car... never had any trouble with it, very easy to drive including city driving which makes parking handy. Can honestly say i think I breezed through my driving test because the car was perfect for learning in. You buy one for well under e3k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

rizzodun wrote: »
    Nissan Almera, 1.5 petrol engine, cheap to insure, decent amount of power (more than enough for a novice) 3 or 5 dr hatch is good looking without looking too boy-racerish, very good roadholding and most importantly, bullet proof engine and gearbox, which is pretty much the last nissan that has that 'fire and forget' approach to maintenance. The engine also has a timing chain instead of belt, which will be more forgiving when you undoubtedly strain the engine by pulling away from junctions or go up hills in the wrong gear with not enough revs. You'll pick up an 06 one up with change.

Engine and gearbox are far from bulletproof on these to be fair. Even late ones didn't have standard ABS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Engine and gearbox are far from bulletproof on these to be fair. Even late ones didn't have standard ABS

You're right on the ABS, but speaking from personal experience I've had two and my parents have had one, plus I know of people with two more, never a days bother with any, maybe we've all been lucky, but then my experience is limited to these,civics and a couple of others, and I probably sound like an almera fanboy!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I have an Opel Astra Sport edition from 01, it is a 1.4. It was my parents car and I bought it of them when they wanted to buy a new car for my mother. It's an absolute dream to be honest. Never had a problem, easy to drive and has great handling but most importantly for me ( driving three years but still on a provo) is that it has some great safety features, not sure if they came on non-sport models, but it gave me great piece of mind as a first car.

Insurance was cheap enough aswell, sub 1k on a provisional and don't have any negative associations. I service the car myself every year, to the tune of €45 ( latest one just done last week) . Over 100k on the clock, and every year the spark plugs come out indicating the car is running lovely.

I'd be a massive supporter for the Astra from your list.

Also, I frown upon some of the what can only be described as jealousy here by alot of posters on little moral crusade here? Fair play to you OP. My parents arn't well off etc. but they always tried to give me the things they never had as kids, and I always respected that and made sure to take advantage of what they gave me (i.e first person in my family to complete college etc). Appreciate your folks throwing you some serious bean for your first car, and maturely adhere to any recommendations or rules they put in place. When I first got insured on my Ma's car, agreed that I'd never take it out on my own, unless with one of my parents. After 8 months they were happy enough with how I drive and started to let me drive by myself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

TheDoc wrote: »
    ....When I first got insured on my Ma's car, agreed that I'd never take it out on my own, unless with one of my parents. After 8 months they were happy enough with how I drive and started to let me drive by myself.

Still on a learner permit?