Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One night stands??

• 30-07-2013 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭

I was out with girls from work at the weekend (we're ll in are early 30's) and well most went home with a randomer....I thought fair play to them... is it just that i'm older and less judgmental or the fact that the girls explained they dont feel the need for a man & just wanted a bit of fun for one night only.... my friends are good looking & they just don't want the effort off a bloke. the attitude i have is their strong minded girls and know what the want so why not hav fun! once their careful!! Is it more acceptable now a days....?? Are is it still classed as being "sluts". just curious on what people think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Can I have their numbers pls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Fair fcuks to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I remember this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I hate one nightstands. There either has to be a pair on either side of the bed, or none at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭topcatcbr

I hate one nightstands. There either has to be a pair on either side of the bed, or none at all.

Totally agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Sandypants

pharmaton;I remember this thread.

I had a quick look for a similar thread...well half looked! it was just on my mind i talked to a bloke about it and he was like if he slept with a girl the first night and liked her he'd have no bother asking her out...would the getting to "know her" not be an anti-climax.... cause he's already slept with her!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Sandypants wrote: »
    pharmaton;I remember this thread.

I had a quick look for a similar thread...well half looked! it was just on my mind i talked to a bloke about it and he was like if he slept with a girl the first night and liked her he'd have no bother asking her out...would the getting to "know her" not be an anti-climax.... cause he's already slept with her!?!
    I think you'll find it filed away under "slut" or something similar, was a riveting read!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

What club yous go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Girls like sex too shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Ahh things were much simpler in the late 80's early 90's when people had fcuk buddies. Sooo much less hassle than a relationship and safer than going off with a stranger:D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

What pub were you in....i just want to know coz im doing a survey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Someone actually had to ask if one night stands were acceptable?

Pumpkinseeds;Ahh things were much simpler in the late 80's early 90's when people had fcuk buddies. Sooo much less hassle than a relationship and safer than going off with a stranger:D

Even buddies are an effort .... all that texting trying to line the up for the night....meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You want four nightstands?!?

Weird... :confused:

Soooo sandy youuuuu comeee here often

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

One night stands are fine in pretty much everyone's view bar the bible nuts I think. If they were doing it every weekend though I think more people might be inclined to see is as being promiscuous and then frown a bit at it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

wrote:
    Even buddies are an effort .... all that texting trying to line the up for the night....meh

Effort??

You free later?
    Yup
    Nice one, call over later so
    See ya then..

Yeah, those conversations are a killer.
    All that effort is a mood killer.. :p

Pumpkinseeds;Ahh things were much simpler in the late 80's early 90's when people had fcuk buddies. Sooo much less hassle than a relationship and safer than going off with a stranger:D

Nah we were all generally in the pub so there was very little planning/thought involved, other than scratching an itch really:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Anyone about later??

One night stands are fine in pretty much everyone's view bar the bible nuts I think. If they were doing it every weekend though I think more people might be inclined to see is as being promiscuous and then frown a bit at it.

Meh, feck them. Anyone who thinks like that is an uptight idiot.

Long as it's all consensual, nobody gets hurt then fill, fuck, and feck off as often as you like in my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

ardinn wrote: »
    Anyone about later??

a/s/l?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I like cake.

And titties

strobe wrote: »
    a/s/l?

Bit personal to be asking of he's average, small or large in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

One night stands can be fun. It's very nice to be approached by a lady and told "You look like fun. Let's go have some fun." I'm going to say the word fun again, because there's a message I'm trying to drive home with it.

I like cake.

And titties

In which order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

Nah we were all generally in the pub so there was very little planning/thought involved, other than scratching an itch really:D

Let's hope none of your friends are scratching an itch this morning, wha'.

Badum tish etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Specialun wrote: »
    In which order

Cake off titties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

A lot of my friends are like this, I just tell them people who call them sluts are assholes and not worth their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

^ Damn, I thought I was quoting Sandy there. Joke fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

where do all these one night stand women disappear to when I'm out and about ? :(

Let's hope none of your friends are scratching an itch this morning, wha'.

Badum tish etc.
    I doubt it, those Aids tombstone ads voiced by John Hurt were still fresh in peoples minds in those days. I remember when I turned 18 and started going to pubs, my Mother told me that while I was old enough to drink and smoke and make my own decisions, I was never to come home and tell her I was pregnant:eek:

dd972 wrote: »
    where do all these one night stand women disappear to when I'm out and about ? :(

To Coppers!!!

I doubt it, those Aids tombstone ads voiced by John Hurt were still fresh in peoples minds in those days. I remember when I turned 18 and started going to pubs, my Mother told me that while I was old enough to drink and smoke and make my own decisions, I was never to come home and tell her I was pregnant:eek:

But you came in falling over yourself, puke everywhere while spluttering and wheezing like an old mattress though, right?

Fair compromise to me any how!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

dd972 wrote: »

well i'm out of the game 6 years now, married with children now,

but in my hayday 18-21 i had one **** buddy on and off in between boyfriends, it was the perfect arrangement, there were no romantic feelings on either side we were good friends and it was a purely sexual relationship. i learned so much from him,

but of course i was called every name under the sun by my ex's at the time (i was always upfront about this guy, as we'd just be friends when either of us was in a relationship) slut, whore, had to be something wrong with me...etc

it was only before i met my now husband i grew the confidence to own the fact i love sex and i am not ever going to be ashamed of that fact, i am very open about sex and i talk about it openly, even with the fact that i am married now,

my husband knows everything, and he supports me and my love of sex, he also gets all the benefits of it too. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

These days i'm bored with the one night stand thing.The only time i'd go for one would be with an older woman.Somebody's gotta show some love to the 40 year old single mothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,115 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

hoodwinked wrote: »
    well i'm out of the game 6 years now, married with children now,

but in my hayday 18-21 i had one **** buddy on and off in between boyfriends, it was the perfect arrangement, there were no romantic feelings on either side we were good friends and it was a purely sexual relationship. i learned so much from him,

but of course i was called every name under the sun by my ex's at the time (i was always upfront about this guy, as we'd just be friends when either of us was in a relationship) slut, whore, had to be something wrong with me...etc

it was only before i met my now husband i grew the confidence to own the fact i love sex and i am not ever going to be ashamed of that fact, i am very open about sex and i talk about it openly, even with the fact that i am married now,

my husband knows everything, and he supports me and my love of sex, he also gets all the benefits of it too. :D

You hardly expect your boyfriends not to be uncomfortable that between boyfriends you had a f*** buddy and you were good friends with him. I am not judging you but their is no way i would get involved in that situation.

1ZRed wrote: »
    But you came in falling over yourself, puke everywhere while spluttering and wheezing like an old mattress though, right?

Fair compromise to me any how!
    Nah, I'm a bit of a control freak and I never really got hammered to that point very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Fun Fun Fun.
    Sarky wrote: »
    One night stands can be fun. It's very nice to be approached by a lady and told "You look like fun. Let's go have some fun." I'm going to say the word fun again, because there's a message I'm trying to drive home with it.

Absolutely. You are right on the money. It always irritates me when people, nearly universally women, come out with this "fun" lark. "Oh, I just want some fun".

The OP claims she is totally fine with her friends behaviour but still refrains from saying the word like it dirty or an admission of something. What does that tell you?

There is no shame in it, so come out and say it. It's sex. You want sex. No relationship, just no strings attached sex. The euphemism is unnecessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Nuts102 wrote: »
    You hardly expect your boyfriends not to be uncomfortable that between boyfriends you had a f*** buddy and you were good friends with him. I am not judging you but their is no way i would get involved in that situation.

well they were always fine with it, until we broke up (due to unrelated issues) then the name calling started. and it wasn't just over the F buddy, any one night stands i had were always thrown in my face, because i was a 'slut' and girls "shouldn't have sex unless they love the person"

also with the F-buddy we weren't good friends as in we hung out all the time, we were good friends as in i could always talk to him about anything, months could go by without contact and we could send one text and it was like the last time we spoke,

and if they were uncomfortable with that friendship my Friend understood that (he was a guy too) and had no problem backing off, he would just say "give me a shout if you want" we were cool like that.

Kirby wrote: »
    Absolutely. You are right on the money. It always irritates me when people, nearly universally women, come out with this "fun" lark. "Oh, I just want some fun".

The OP claims she is totally fine with her friends behaviour but still refrains from saying the word like it dirty or an admission of something. What does that tell you?

There is no shame in it, so come out and say it. It's sex. You want sex. No relationship, just no strings attached sex. The euphemism is unnecessary.

fair eno, good point....sum good aul swinging out of the chandler dirty SEX!!!

I hope Chandler has a strong back.

Nah, I'm a bit of a control freak and I never really got hammered to that point very often.

Well this is where you and I begin to differ greatly :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Sarky wrote: »

Not the only thing you're trying to drive home. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I was out with girls from work at the weekend (we're ll in are early 30's) and well most went home with a randomer....I thought fair play to them... is it just that i'm older and less judgmental or the fact that the girls explained they dont feel the need for a man & just wanted a bit of fun for one night only.... my friends are good looking & they just don't want the effort off a bloke. the attitude i have is their strong minded girls and know what the want so why not hav fun! once their careful!! Is it more acceptable now a days....?? Are is it still classed as being "sluts". just curious on what people think.

I don't see anything wrong with it but their age did make me think of this: http://www.ted.com/talks/meg_jay_why_30_is_not_the_new_20.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Mickey H wrote: »
    Not the only thing you're trying to drive home. :D

Indeed. Penis references are fun too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

My view is that everyone has a sexual history. Alot of people have one night stands. Obviously some more than others and some less than others. I am not into one night stands personally, more a relationship guy but that's just me. But perfectly normal having one night stands.

I'm in a long term relationship right now but lets just say I was single and I met a girl next week and she does it for me. Would like to get involed with her. Obviously she's going to have a sexual past. That's cool. It's only an excessive amount that would be a put off. Say like being single for nearly 2 years and slept with 190+ guys in that time .... now that's excessive :pac:

But i've noticed on here that you cant say that. You 'cannot' be turned off by a girl by having an issue with sexual past and I think that's madness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

There's something wrong if a woman in her 30's is out having one night stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭ted1

becost wrote: »

Utter nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Amerika

I found I could have a one night stand with just about any girl I pleased.

(Unfortunately I rarely pleased any)

becost wrote: »

Nope nothing wrong with it....their just tired of meeting the wrong ones...doesn't mean their needs stop.... even in the grand old age of being in the 30's!!