Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feet, Don't fail me now

• 30-07-2013 9:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭

New log to track my efforts for this year's DCM. I got accepted on to the list of pacers. This being my first time pacing, coupled with the fact that I was late to submit my name and have less marathons under my belt than others means that my target time is the new and relatively slow time of 4h50m. While this is slow, it does present the challenge of running for almost 5 hours at a pace of approximately 10m30s per mile. I've tried this once and it's not easy as the natural tendency is to speed up to a more natural and comfortable pace.
    I'm using a rehash of last year's plan (which was itself a mish-mash), but without the emphasis on speedwork. Instead the midweek runs will be just miles, probably with some intervals, fartlek etc. thrown in to relieve boredom. The long runs will be the key here, used to get used to running the slow pace, time on feet and build endurance. The plan itself started yesterday, so it's on the short side for a marathon plan and comes off the back of a 4 week period where very little running, but a lot of all day walking was done.

Goals for the plan/marathon:
    • Most importantly, to be a great pacer. Aside form anything else, to me this means being able to run the distance at a rock steady pace with very little variation mile to mile.
    • to use the training period to enable me to run the full 26.2 miles with no fuel (or as little as possible). I've been doing this as much as possible this year already, but never did more than 20 miles.
    • to build a great endurance base for an attempt at doing next year's Donadea 50k in 3:45, which would be a 45 reduction on this year's effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Best of luck with it. Might be a good idea to try the Athlone 3/4 @ 10.30 to get use to the feeling in a race environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

statss wrote: »
    Best of luck with it. Might be a good idea to try the Athlone 3/4 @ 10.30 to get use to the feeling in a race environment.

Yeah I'll be looking to do something like that. Last year the Eco2Run 20 mile race was on in the Dublin docks, hopefully this will be on this year also, it's a lot closer to home!

EDIT: the eco2Run race is on the 29th Septempber, and as it happens, I was scheduled for a 20 mile run that day. Nice. http://eco2run.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Dont worry to much about the pace yet. Things may change prior to race day and your slot could change. If you are still feeling that the pace is too slow on race day you can carry me for a while :D

Monday and Tuesday: 5 miles each night. Hard going after doing f-all for a few weeks. Went out on Monday looing like a New Balance shop puked on me, with new NB runners, shorts and top. Shoes irritated the soles of my feet, shorts chafed my leg and top chafed my nipples :D. I think the soles of my feet may have gotten soft walking around in flipflops and barefeet during the holidays as my normal runners hurt a bit too last night.
    Last night, running at 8 mile pace felt like it was very slow, which means I'm not as unfit as I thought, but also means that 11 mile pace is going to really suck :o

Still trying out new gear. This time is was the injinji toe socks. These look hilarious when you put them on, but feel very strange. It's not right having fabric between your toes. Once you put the shoes on however, they feel normal again. I can't imagine what they would be like with a pair of fivefingers though. 'Twas a nice evening so I put on my short shorts and singlet to show off the old tan ;).

Did a bit of a run too, about 5 and half miles. Worked up a good sweat as it was so humid and did some strengthening exercises when I got home.

I had my first taste of running very slowly on Saturday. In the morning I did 10k, just a normal everyday run. I was due to do 10 miles on Sunday, but I was sat at home on Saturday night watching some poxy kids film, so I decided to treat myself to a lie in on Sunday and get the 10 miles out of the way there and then. Normally for LSRs you would run at a slower pace than your PMP, but this was never going to happen. I just left the house and tried to run as slow as I could for as long as I could. The first mile passed in 10 minutes. It wasn't unpleasant, but I felt very self conscious and felt like I had to explain to all the people I met that I was, in fact, able to run faster, but I was running slowly for a reason :o. After the first mile I knew I had to slow down and sure enough my 2 mile clocked in at 10:31, so some progress there. Miles 3 & 4 got progressively slower, 10:35 & 10:40, aided by a mile and half of gradual incline. It was at this stage that I finally started to sweat. Mile 5 meant putting the brakes on as it was a decent bit of downhill, so I reduced myself to a shuffle, but managed a respectable 10:50. I was getting used to the pace now, physically, but mentally I was too impatient. I'll really need to let myself relax into these runs and know that they are going to take time. Mile 6 finally passed in 10:54. As I reached mile 6 I was passing the Mosque in Clonskeagh. The smell of food from the restaurant, combined with pending rain and a dying MP3 player all combined to help make the decision to call it a night at 6 slow miles and just head for home at a normal pace. I sped up to about 9 minute miles, which isn't fast, but felt like I was doing 4 minute mile pace after the comparative crawl I was doing.
    All in all, I was pretty happy with my first attempt at slow. I can see boredom being a problem on actual long runs in the future

Sporadic update :D

All going to plan up to Saturday, when I did my first 20 of the 12-week plan. Felt a bit of a head cold and sore throat coming on Friday, but nothing too bad ( first illness in over three years), so headed out with 4 euros in my pocket to buy water as my throat felt very dry. Listening to the football on the radio, the miles ticked by easily. I wasn't trying to go too slowly, just enjoying the nice weather and running routes I hadn't previously taken.
    The nipples started to chafe after ten miles or so, so I made a pit stop in chapelizod for a bottle of blue power are and a tin of Vaseline :D. Headed home via the inchicore, the canal and ranelagh ( always a bevy of lovely food smells in that village).
    20 miles exactly act 9:30 pace, which was the easiest 20 I'd ever done and it felt it. Unfortunately I now have a chest infection, which knocks this weeks running out a bit. Hopefully be back on track for the HM on saturday

Saturday, Dublin Half marathon, 1:59.xx. Was a bit worried about this as it was my first time pacing and was fretting about the backpack, the pace, the flags etc. I also have had a cold all week with a pretty bad chest so that meant no running all week except for a few miles on Thursday evening to make sure I could still run :P. In the end it all turned out ok, got to meet a few boardsies that I had not met before, the backpack was mostly OK (except for the excessive sweating it caused), I didn't lose my flag and I think I only ran too fast once. It was a hot day and we lost a lot of folks on the hills coming up to the finish, but we managed to coax a good few over the line just under the two hours.
    Strangely, even though is was only 13 miles and 9:00 pace, my quads are still a bit sore today, like they felt the first time I did the DCM. I did a gentle 5-miler yesterday morning to try to loosen things up, but it didn't have any affect on the quads and my calfs (calves?) were rock hard. I'm putting it down to the weather and the cold.

So it turns out that I'm not broken. 5.5 miles this evening and felt great going it, finishing off with a couple of sub 7 minute miles. All this slow running is making me slow, so 7 minute miles feel really fast ��. Warm weather and bright orange top made for very visible wetness though, which probably wasn't great to look at. Made,me feel like a proper runner though ��

everything moved forward one day this week as the missus is going out for that fake day of celebrations on Thursday. This meant a 10 mile last night. Very strange weather conditions indeed. Running up the strand road in Sandymount it was so foggy that you couldn't see past about 10 metres on to the beach. However I was trundling along nicely and took in a nice uphill drag for miles three to five, going from Blackrock Park to Mount Anville, where it was a completely clear night. It wasn't steep enough to be unpleasant either on the way up or on the way back down. Then back to the soup along the coast and home. 10 miles in 85 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

PaulieC wrote: »
    took in a nice uphill drag for miles three to five, going from Blackrock Park to Mount Anville, where it was a completely clear night. It wasn't steep enough to be unpleasant either on the way up or on the way back down.

I presume this means you didn't go up from Foster's Avenue!

No :P. Up Mount Merrion Avenue and up through some streets around Mount Merrion, incl through a church and up past Deerpark motors

Grand run on Saturday. Set out at 2:00pm in the lovely sunshine with no particular route in mind, but needing to run 20 miles. Had the radio on TodayFM, listening to the football so all was set. I had a vague intention of doing my normal loop (usually home->NCR->PP->Ballyer->Grand Canal->Home or variation of depending on distance), but that went out the window almost instantly. I headed up past the Aviva and then followed the Dodder walk up to Ballsbridge, on to Donnybrook and up towards UCD. Despite not knowing where I was going, I felt like I should be doing more miles than I was (makes no sense I know), so headed into UCD and did an anti-clockwise loop of the trails, coming out at Clonskeagh. From there, on to Bird Avenue and up through Dundrum. Just past the Town Centre, I noticed a little park I'd never seen before so I headed in there and started following a path to Marlay park. A couple of wrong turns later I entered Marlay Park and too the WW route to the south gate. Took a left here and headed up towards Lamb Doyles, which was a bit tight at times. From lamb Doyles I went right and up to Barnacullia. It really is beautiful up there on a sunny day with great views out over the city. Headed back down from there to Stepaside and then it was pretty much downhill from there, through Sandyford Ind. Estate, Stillorgan and Mount Merrion Avenue, back tot he beach and home. The route I took was actually 20.05 miles, so pretty accurate.
    Have a 22 coming up this weekend and if the weather is nice I might take a more direct route up to Ticknock and take in a few trails up there. Either that or run on the WW proper from Marlay park (although that relies on me not going out on Saturday night :D)

5.5 miles on Monday. Can't remember the time, but it felt fast at the time, compared to Saturday's slowfest (which was 20 miles @ 10:00 pace average. probably a bit faster, but had to stop once for a few minutes to get a fly out of my eye :p)

10 miles on Tuesday. I had zero interest in doing this last night with the weather the way it and it being dark at 6:30 pm. Got ready with the waterproof jacket as it was throwing down. Ended up carrying my jacket for 9.5 miles as it didn't rain once and I was too warm. There was a decent headwind heading up the beach, but for once the wind stayed blowing in the same direction for more than 2 minutes and I was able to enjoy its gentle push on my back for 3 miles on the way home. 10 miles in 84 minutes.

decided to be clever last night after carrying my jacket for most of the run the previous night, so took no jacket. It proceeded to p!ss out of the heavens :o.
    Run can be described thusly: ran up along the beach, wind in my face, rain hitting my front. Reached the turnaround point, ran back down the beach, wind at my back, rain soaking the rest of me. Shower was lovely afterwards.
    Interestingly, there was a dead dolphin on Sandymount strand, right beside the promenade. There was a large bite out of its head/neck area. It was being fecked into the back of a DCC rubbish van when I passed it on my way back.

Had planned to do 22 miles on Saturday. Has planned to leave the house and head for the hills, reckoning that my house to the top of Tibradden would be 11 miles or so. Came back from training the youngsters and of course the missus had changed my plans :eek:. I now had a window of just three hours to get a run in, so I headed out the door and up along the beach through Sandymount, Booterstown, Blackrock, Salthill, DL, Sandycove, Dalkey to Killiney, ending up somewhere on Vico road. I reckoned that I'd get 20 miles in in the three hours I had, but that would mean running faster than I have been for my long runs (9:30 - 10:30 so far) so far. The (relatively) faster speed and the outrageously beautiful weather (and the fact that I had only a bowl of cornflakes 4 hours earlier) made this the hardest run I've done so far.
    In fact, I had run out of sweat on my way back from Killiney so I stopped in Teddy's for a bottle of water. I was a bit worried for a few miles (and warm), but I started producing some sweat a few miles from the end. There were countless people out swimming at Salthill, so many in fact that there was a queue to get into the water. Same for Sandycove and the 40-foot.
    Was feeling very tired by the end and stopped to walk a couple of times as I was banking some time under the 9:00 pace.
    And I got sunburnt. In October!!

All in all, 20.00 miles at exactly 9:00 pace.

Did five miles last evening to stretch the legs. It was still very frickin' warm. Looking forward to the cold, frosty nights of winter now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Hows life hitting that 11 min mile pace :) Going to have a few goes hitting it for a decent time this week!

still not managed it! I had planned to average it on Saturday, but that went out the window. Might try again this Saturday with another 20. I am mildly concerned that I haven't run for more than 3:20 hours yet, considering it's another 1:30 on the day

Might try again this Saturday with another 20.
    Same here, Im away at weekend actually, but have a couple of different time windows where I can get a 3+ hour run done. Somewhere between Thurs, Fri or early morning while away.
    I am mildly concerned that I haven't run for more than 3:20 hours yet, considering it's another 1:30 on the day

I think it will be about fuel on the day, and also the fact that we may well need a toilet break at some point and managing that, just simply out there for so long. The runs I have done at 10.30 plus time are so easy my body is not all that stressed at all, the only problem is not speeding up due to feeling so good :) SO having a few pacers will be good, we can keep each other honest :D

so all the running is pretty much done at this stage. Managed to get 10 miles at about 10:30 pace on Saturday morning (after a fill of Sierra Nevadas on Friday night watching the Ireland boys playing the German men) before speeding up a bit to about 8:30 pace for a few miles at the end.
    Big decision now is whether or not to try to go without food on the day. I reckon a big bowl of muesli beforehand would be enough, but almost 5 hours is a long time without any food on a normal day never mind while running. I might bring a Wispa or something, that worked for me during Donadea and maybe pick up a bottle of the generic sports drink they have
    decisions decisions

A strange run last night. 5 miles done, splits were something like 9:30 (albeit with a minute of waiting to cross a road), 8:20, 7:50, 7:30 and 6:50. I wasn't consciously trying to speed up, must have been hungry or something.
    Great that the weather is now getting really good for running. Nothing like standing at your front door, shivering in shorts and tshirt, waiting for the satellites to come, breath clouding up in front of you. Love it. Unfortunately it's bloody gorgeous today and I'm sitting at my desk, looking out at Three Rock, wishing I wasn't here, but up there. Time to dust off the trailers I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

I'm the same - love the winter, running in the frost. In fairness I get sunburned when I use anything stronger than a 40 watt bulb so that probably influences me a bit.

Done the last few long runs without food before or during the run, and its been fine tbh

Also wondering what to do on race day

Done the last few long runs without food before or during the run, and its been fine tbh

Also wondering what to do on race day

Yeah, I'm the same myself. I did 3 20 milers over the last 5 weeks, non with any food, just a drink. I know in one part of my mind that I don't need anything, but in the panicky part of my mind, I think I'll need a picnic or something :P.
    Just to avoid the uncomfortable feeling of hunger, I'll probably bring a packet of breakfast biscuits or something like that. The wispa will probably melt and that's no use to anyone.

Reading logs and general chit chat about DCM got me a little worried about "Heartbreak Hill" (stupid I know). So, last night I left the house and up through Donnybrook/Beech Hill to join the DCM route at the bottom of Clonskeagh to run the last few miles of the route, including the aforementioned hill. There was a guy running about 100m ahead of me that I first spotted in Ballsbridge so I used him as an unknowing pacemaker. As it happened he seemed to have the same thing on his mind and I stuck with him all the way to the bottom of Fosters Avenue, where he upped and left like a fart in the wind. Anyway, back to the hill. The drag up through Clonskeagh is pretty flat, hardly a hill at all. Coming up Roebuck road you get a view of the hill that probably makes most people cry on the day - it looks massive and steep and all things that one would associate with heartbreak in a hill. However, once you actually get tot he bottom, you can see that the top is less than 100 m away and it's not even that steep, so it's almost over before it begins really. You then have Fosters to coast down for a bit while you get your faculties back in order (mostly mental ones I would think). Followed the route back to the top of Bath Avenue, where I took a right and headed for home. Coming down Merrion Road I ran in the cycle lane, stepping onto the path when bikes were coming). It's amazing the difference in speed and rhythm you notice between running on a nice, smooth road and an up-and-down, covered with wet leaves path.

All in all, 8 miles in 62 minutes, 7:44 pace, ranging from 8:22 for the first mile to 7:16 for the last mile.

Reading logs and general chit chat about DCM got me a little worried about "Heartbreak Hill" (stupid I know). So, last night I left the house and up through Donnybrook/Beech Hill to join the DCM route at the bottom of Clonskeagh to run the last few miles of the route, including the aforementioned hill. There was a guy running about 100m ahead of me that I first spotted in Ballsbridge so I used him as an unknowing pacemaker. As it happened he seemed to have the same thing on his mind and I stuck with him all the way to the bottom of Fosters Avenue, where he upped and left like a fart in the wind. Anyway, back to the hill. The drag up through Clonskeagh is pretty flat, hardly a hill at all. Coming up Roebuck road you get a view of the hill that probably makes most people cry on the day - it looks massive and steep and all things that one would associate with heartbreak in a hill. However, once you actually get tot he bottom, you can see that the top is less than 100 m away and it's not even that steep, so it's almost over before it begins really. You then have Fosters to coast down for a bit while you get your faculties back in order (mostly mental ones I would think). Followed the route back to the top of Bath Avenue, where I took a right and headed for home. Coming down Merrion Road I ran in the cycle lane, stepping onto the path when bikes were coming). It's amazing the difference in speed and rhythm you notice between running on a nice, smooth road and an up-and-down, covered with wet leaves path.

All in all, 8 miles in 62 minutes, 7:44 pace, ranging from 8:22 for the first mile to 7:16 for the last mile.

I prefer to call it the Clonskeagh Murderhorn :pac: Seriously though the hill is over before you know it.

I remember coming up to it during my first DCM and seeing the huge "Welcome to Heartbreak Hill" banner. I nearly shat myself, even though I had live on Roebuck Road for two years a number of years back and had walked up that hill every day going to work.

Seriously though the hill is over before you know it.
    You run up actual mountains now, where even goats dont go, so you are not a representative sample :)

But yea, I cycled it over the summer, and wondered what the big hassle was, but that said at my first DCM, when I ran the last 10 miles with one fecked leg, I was in *AGONY* at the top of that little bump [and the 4 hour pacers flew passed me about 1/2 a mile further on] :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

I can see boredom being a problem on actual long runs in the future
    dont worry u get used to it,,free ur mind of all thoughts dat are not impure

ultraman1 wrote: »
    dont worry u get used to it,,free ur mind of all thoughts dat are not impure

Been doing that for ages Anto, not just while running :D

I managed to do most of the longer runs on a Saturday afternoon with football on todayFM for company. Then switch to music when that absolute bellend, Johnny Lyons came on after five.

was out last night and did the last loop of the DCM, from the Shelbourne Road to the end. Surprisingly, it's only about 1.5 miles although it feels so much longer on the day. While on the route I was imagining the day itself and what it's going to be like with the crowds and the atmosphere.
    Looking forward to it now, although I feel like I'm not prepared. I think that's down to the fact that because I'm pacing I didn't really put as much effort in as I did previously, but looking back, I actually did more miles this time.
    Also, bumped down from 4:50 to 4:40, which brings the pace up to about 10:40, which is what I was just about able to do on my long runs.

DCM 2013, 4:40 pacing group. Chip time 4:38:52, Gun time 4:39:52

First time pacing in DCM. Originally meant to be doing 4:50 but moved into 4:40, which was closer to the pace I had been consistently able to do in my long runs. Preparation over the weekend was a little more 'relaxed' than it would have been if I wasn't pacing. Basically a few pints on Friday, a few more on Saturday and then fancy dress on Sunday night, so I only had a couple of non-alcoholic Erdingers. I was dressed up as Walter White, complete with chemical protection suit and headgear so I was sweating and got worried about getting dehydrated!
    On the morning, got to meet some of the other pacers, including my fellow 4:40ers, Vaggabond and Aimman and headed up to Fitzwilliam to stand around in the bitter cold for an hour to listen to the life stories of randomers :D. Had a bit of craic there with the folks, some doing their first, some trying to improve etc. etc. and before long we were off. What was a cold, cloudy morning soon turned into a lovely sunny autumn day and it was lovely to be running the streets of Dublin at a nice, leisurely pace. Even running up Chesterfield Avenue was pleasant.
    There were a few chats here and there with some of the folks that were running with us and I think everyone was feeling OK, right up to Crumlin where everyone in the group greeted Aimman's Mam and Dad.
    The group continued to ebb and flow as we lost some folks and picked up others, but there was a core of about 4 or 5 that stuck with us and coming up to "heartbreak" hill, there were a lot of worried people. We tried to minimize the worry, as we did with all the uphills, but it was obvious that people had heard horror stories. As it turned out (as it always turns out), it wasn't as bad as all that. I think the wall of sound (or greeting or whatever it was called) was a great idea. It split the hill in two and everyone knows that two small hills are easier than one big one. I stopped near the top to try to make sure that all of our permanent paces made it and then continued down towards the Stillorgan road.
    Despite running the merrion road about twice a week, I'm always surprised at how long it is and this was no different. Still, kept on plodding, trying to reassure the doubters that we were indeed close to the end. I got a nice surprise on Shelbourne road to see my family there out to cheer me on. Apparently they weren't sure if they were going to come out as I wasn't doing a 'proper' marathon :D. I've found in previous years that it was a great boost to have them there, just in the right place as it pushed me on to the end and this time was no different - Aimman and Vagga had to call me back after crossing the Grand canal bridge as I was getting caught up in the excitement!
    Coming down Westland Row I felt a tap on my back and turned around to see a woman running behind me. She told me that she had been trying to catch us for the last five miles, was desperate to get in under 4:40. She then thanked me. I told her that it was her that caught us, that we didn't slow down to wait. There were a few people like that in the last couple of miles. As we came around to Nassau street, Aimman and Vagga pushed ahead and I slowed down to wait for a guy that had been with us since the very beginning, never venturing more than a few yards ahead or behind us.
    He was clearly suffering now so our last couple of hundred yards were spent with me telling him he could do it and him telling me he couldn't! I won in the end, and he crossed the line with about 15 seconds to spare.
    Going around to collect my bag I started to feel very cold. The cold that only a hot shower and cup of tea can stave off so I headed home. I had fully intended to go to McGrattans but I was so cold and didn't actually know where it was I didn't have the will to find it.
    I must say, I really enjoyed pacing. After a shower and something to eat, I headed out for a few pints and it was very funny to see the confusion on people's faces when they asked me what time I did. Most of them were at a loss to know why I came in under my target time, but that was an hour and ten minutes slower than last year. I gave up trying to explain the pacer's job after a while...life's too short.
    Once again, the support was wonderful, but sure everyone already knows that, right ??

Did a gentle three miles last night, just to loosen out the quads and calves. It turns out that I have a gift for pacing. The three miles were done in 9:21, 9:21 and 9:20 :D

I have some black(ish) toes today. Does that make me a 'real' runner ? Or just real stupid for wearing runners that were not quite big enough for a marathon ?

two weeks on and still getting questions, blank looks and condescending comments about my 'time' in DCM :D.
    In those two weeks I've been pretty much just dicking around, running, but with no focus while I decide on which direction to take. I'm torn between aiming for a sub-3 in next year's DCM and all that that entails or going longer. I'm signed up for Donadea, but I'd love to do WW ultra, Conn Ultra and maybe look at the 100k in Staplestown in May.
    While deciding, I'm hoping to actually use the Parkrun laminates I made ages ago this Saturday in St. Annes. I'm also signed up for the Run The Line in a few weeks, which I'm really looking forward to. Hopefully it's a day like today and I'm out running on Three Rock instead of just looking out the window longingly at it.
    With a view to getting some speed back in my legs (I use the word speed in a relative sense :D), last night I did some intervals. Specifically, I did 4 x .5 miles @ ~6:00 min pace with a .5 mile jogging recovery and a 1.5 mile warmup and cooldown either side. To say I enjoyed it would be stretching it a bit, especially the 2nd interval when I had a stitch in my back :eek:, but it was great to get out and get the legs and lungs working again.
    The smell around the docks wasn't so pleasant though.

I love this city, it's a runner's dream. I left work at 12:00 and within 20 minutes of running I was on the trails on the foothills of Three Rock. They were bloody steep, but I was on them. That makes me happy.
    Specifically, I went up there to check out the start of the Run The Line route so I made my way, via the quite steep backroads, to Lamb Doyles and then from there up to the start of the trails. I'd say the first .5 miles of Run The Line will see a lot of walking, as the initial trails are very steep, before levelling off a bit.

I reckon I'll need a warmup before this race if the start is going to be that steep!

definitely don't want to be starting it cold.

A nondescript run of about 6 miles on Thursday night, legs still a bit stiff from my first foray up the hills for a long time. Was taking it easy with an eye on doing the Parkrun on Saturday morning. Was all set for St. Annes and doing my first Parkrun until my "better" half, who was in her mother's, rang and said there was an emergency. We were due to go to a 50th Birthday party on Saturday night and after talking with her sisters (who were also going), realized that she had no shoes so would need to go into town on Saturday morning, meaning I would have to bring the kids to their match. FFS. I had even not gone for my usual Friday pints so I'd be fresh. At least I got a bit of lie-in, but the pristinely laminated Parkrun barcode remains unbothered by use. Made up for it somewhat in the afternoon with 13.5 miles. I had meant to do 12 @ 8:30 pace, but miscalculated the route somewhat, so ended up doing 12 @ 8:20 pace and then the final 1.5 at a more relaxed 9:00 pace. I found it a bit tough, but is probably understandable due to all the slow running up to the DCM.

30/11 Run The Line ~16 miles in 3:01

I was hoping to do this last year, but since it fell just three weeks before DCM I thought better of it. The day started early and not too well after a couple of pints the evening before turned into too many :o. At least it was clear and calm out. And cold. Perfect weather for it. I picked stats up in Rathmines early enough so I would be able to get parked at lamb Doyle's, which meant we were about 90 minutes too early. After registering, which took all of a minute, we seriously considered going with the early starters at 10, but since we had arranged with Micilin Muc, we thought it would be a sh1tty thing to leave him behind. So we sat back in the car, put on the heating and took note of the talent ( and also opposition). Our reasoning in the car on the way up that there would be a good few plodders didn't look to be sound as the place was full of gnarly guys and gals who looked like they'd just come down from the mountains only to race back up.

The start of the race was the toughest part. After a couple of hundred metres on the road we turned on to the trails. Problem was that it was a singletrack. That meant a bit of a melee as about 200 people tried to enter and everything came to a halt. Having had been up that part of trail a week before I knew what lay ahead so I wasn't too bothered about rushing into it so just hung around at the back, watching with amusement as folks jostled for position. Again, knowing what lay ahead, I knew that there'd be a good bit of walking at the start and so it was, for about 1km until parts of the trail levelled off. The real running only started when we got to the 'top' and turned right and headed towards the forest. It was good to get the legs moving and started to pass a few people, which left me about 5th from last as we entered the forest :D.

This part was new to me as I normally take the high road (literally and metaphorically) at this point, but it was a lovely trail which then dumped us out at the edge of the forest onto more uphill narrow path, which meant more walking. This pattern continued on and off until we got to the fireroad which meant an uninterrupted 1.5km of running and a loosening out f the calves. Some more slow climbing up the east side of Two Rock until it flattened out somewhat and we got running again. This is what it's all about. Clear skies, cold wind blowing and dashing through the muck and puddles. Happy days. Along this stretch, past the fairy castle and down the south side of Two Rock I managed to pass a good few people (that I had passed previously and who had passed me on the uphills :o). I stopped at the bottom of the hill, at the intersection of the DMW and WW and had some jellies and a cup of water courtesy of one of the volunteers. Regrouped with Statss at this stage, had a quick discussion about cutting bait and heading off down the short course route before deciding that that would be the worst decision possible at that time, then headed on towards Tibradden.

The route over Tibradden was not the lovely DMW route, but rather its much less pretty older cousin. It was pretty much a 9-inch wide track enclosed in heather and when it did open up, it was only for those lovely peaty puddles, the ones that claim the shoes of the unlaced. I got going here and passed a few runners before getting stuck behind a plodder. This was very frustrating as there was no way to pass him in the narrow trails. I eventually got my chance and got past him, only to get caught up towards the end of the trail where the pace had slowed to walking again ahead of me. Mr. plodder took his chance here and got in front of me again which was an annoyance as when the running started again, there he was, plodding ever onwards. We finally got back onto the more established Tibradden trail and I was able to speed up again, right down to the checkpoint. I spent longer than I should have at the CP, getting drinks and jellies and futzing with my gloves and generally delaying to avoid starting the slog up Cruagh. While I was here, nearly all the blokes that I had passed since the fairy castle arrived and left before me. I was sensing a pattern emerging here :(.

I have ran around Cruagh a couple of times before, both times having parked in Tibradden car park. This time was different. It was longer and steeper than I recalled. While going up the hill, Enduro passed me on his way back, which was mightily encouraging :rolleyes:. I stopped for a wee and saw that Statss was just behind me so we made our was up to the turn off together. This was a pleasant surprise as I thought from looking at the map that we would follow the fireroad the whole way around, but instead too a sharp left and onto the boardwalk. Once through the forest, we got out onto open mountain and a nice rocky trail down along the side of the forest. I was able to get the legs moving again and took off as fast as I though was safe, passing about 10 people on the way down this part of the trail. There were a few twists and turns and it all felt familiar to me as I had been through some of these trails before. Got back onto the fireroad and then took an unexpected, but totally welcome turn into the forest and a brilliant trail that took us the scenic route back to the start of Cruagh.

When I got back to the CP in Tibradden, I got a very quick drink and got back onto the trail as I decided not to lose all those places again. A slog up the rocky path and then running again as I had the bit between my teeth and wanted to get as far from last place as I could :P. I traded places with another runner on the way back up to the WW and then sped up heading down towards the turn off to Kilmashogue. We then took a sharp left and headed down into a valley, one that I've never been before either, but it was a lovely natural wood and a place that I'll be heading back to for sure. This was followed by another slog up familiar trails, now back in Ticknock, walking with the bloke who I'd been passing and getting passed by earlier. I was never so happy as when I saw the boneshaker again and knew that it was almost over, just a sweet mile or so of downhill left, so I took off again as fast as I could to the finish.
    Just checked the results now and I finished in 94th out of 189 starters, so just about in the top half (although if you take out the DNFs it's not :P).

Things I've learned about mountain running:
    • I really am terrible on the uphills. This is something I really need to improve.
    • I'm OK to good on the downhills. If I had more strength for going uphill I'd be a halfway decent mountain runner.

a few miles this evening to loosen out the legs. Had a wee think about things too while I was running. When I saw the official results of Run The Line today I was disappointed for some reason, even though I knew the time I did. Having thought about it a bit longer I'm still disappointed with my ability to get up hills without having to stop and walk, but given the fact that I passed half the course between the start of the trails and the end of the race. Most of this was done going down hills so I think I'm doing something right.
    I have decided that, since I liked the few mountain runs I've done so much, I owe it to myself to get stronger on the hills so that's what is in my immediate future - running up hills.

Any tips for getting up them more quickly would be very much appreciated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Any tips for getting up them more quickly would be very much appreciated...

do what I do - just avoid them!!

to get the exhilarating feeling of bombing down the hills one must get to the top of them first :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Good stuff on the race.

I found my uphill running improved by running plenty of hills and doing intervals (on road/flat). That and doing IMRA races. The weekly Wednesday races were great sessions. Same with the winter league.

Pacing can be tough though.

Tuesday: 2m warm up, 6 x .2m reps up Mount Anville Road, jogging back down the hill recovery for each one. First one was fast, 2,3,4 were less so, 5 & 6 were fastest, but felt slowest as I was wrecked. 2m cool down around the UCD trails, frightening the ****e out of myself in the dark :D
    Wednesday: 7.5 miles steady on an unfamiliar route. Griffith avenue is one long, straight road. Very dull.
    Saturday: 16m @ 8:02 pace. First 8 averaged about 8:30, net uphill, including decent drag from Ashtons in Clonskeagh to The Beacon Hotel in Sandyford. Second 8 averaged about 7:30, net downhill from Sandyford down to Blackrock and along the beach to pick up the kids at a party in Sandymount. (it's very awkward being asked into posh people's houses with sweat dripping off your face and stink lines coming off your body :o). Happy enough with this run, felt like I could have done another few miles at the same pace.
    Sunday: 3.5 miles at ~ 9:00 pace. Had a feed of pints on Saturday night and had to be in Tallaght at 10 am, so had a large fed of chips and homemade burgers and then felt like I should have a run. Almost got sick three times and had to stop and walk while the sick feeling went away. Felt better afterwards though.
    Monday: 6.25 miles at ~8:00 pace. I didn't have my garmin, but ran for 50 minutes on a loop from work, down the Leopardstown racecourse access road, up Glenamuck road, down to Stepaside and back down to Leopardstown, where I see that DLRCoCo are doing their bit to fcuk up the traffic a bit more by installing yet more traffic lights on the Leopardstown Road. Cocks.

Time to dust off this motherfcuker...

I lost a couple of weeks around Christmas due to a chest infection which is just about clearing up now (you know the phase - regular and easy production of nice, lumpy phlegm :pac:). My goal from a long time back was to go for a sub 4-hour in the Donadea 50k, but I have had quite slow progress, literally, speeding up after DCM. It's amazing the way you get used to very slow, when even 9-minute miles feel fast. Feel like I'm just about getting a bit of speed (it's all relative of course) back and feel a lot better for it. I doubt I'll be in shape for a sub-4 attempt in Donadea, but I'll be trying to get as close as I can. So, from memory, the last 9 days:

Wed 1st: 5 miles at 7:42 pace. Sweating out the poison from the night before.
    Thur 2nd: 4 miles at 7:55. Can't remember anything about this run.
    Fri 3rd: 5 miles at 7:53. Don't remember this either, but Connects says it was at 8:50 am, so it must have been an effort to get back into early mornings before returning to work on the 6th.
    Sat 4th: 16 miles at 8:02. Now this one I remember. Spent the first tow miles willing myself not to go straight home and try again I the afternoon. After getting onto the Royal canal I was OK and started to get into it. Ran up the Royal as far as Ashtown and then over to the PP and ran around the perimeter, didn't want to attempt the trails as it was still quite wet. Splits go from 8:41 for the first mile to 7:13 for the last, but it averages out at about 8:20 for the first 8 and 4:40 for the second 8.
    Sun: 7 miles at 8:21. Pretty much just a recovery/leisurely thing. Ran through Rathmines for the first time evah! (The big chuch is pretty impressive up close) Through Dartry, Milltown and Herbert Park on the way home. My new 7 mile loop.
    Mon: 6 miles. Can't remember the pace, but it was a pretty poxy run home form work, just to get some miles in.
    Tue: 10 miles with 4 miles warm up at around 8:20 pace, then 8 x 250m Hill reps up Mount Anville with jogging recovery, followed by 4 miles at 7:30 pace home again. Those numbers don't add up, so it was probably less than 4 miles out and back.
    Wed: 5 miles at lunchtime, around Stillorgan and Sandyford. Pace averaged out at around 8:00 I think.
    Thur: 8 miles in 62 minutes, so somewhere south of 8:00 pace. 2.5 miles warm-up followed by 6 x .44 (I thought it was .5 miles honest!) reps at 5:45 pace with walk/jog recovery. Couple more miles home at 7:30 pace.

Fri a leisurely few miles around Irishtown Nature park, then pints.
    sat 20 miles @8:10 pace (I think). Did 4 miles before meeting up with Statss who brought me on a 12 mile loop around parts of Dublin I've never run around before. A bit of company made the miles tick by nice and fast. Had to the last 4 myself, which were that little bit more difficult. First time running more than 12 miles in my NB MR1400, which I think are a bona Fide replacement for my Green Silence.
    Sun Woke up hungry so went for a run to get breakfast. 3.5 miles, very cold, windy and damp. 55 miles for the week.

Mon: another poxy home from work run. I can't figure if it's due to long runs at the weekend or carrying a (not that heavy) bag that is causing my legs to be extremely dead on these runs home, but I hate them. Junk miles at their most rotten.
    Tue (PM): first of two 10-mile run runs. Done purely to get miles on the board for Donadea. 7:35 pace, including 2 7-minute miles up hill from Blackrock up to Deerpark.
    Wed (AM): Legs were a bit stiff from last night, so I decided that this would be an 8:30 avg pace run. The first mile ticked past in 7:15, 2nd a bit slower as I stopped to help a woman from driving onto the motorway the wrong way :eek:. Wanted to see the lane the Krusty was doing his hill sprints so headed up towards Barnaslingan. 'tis a nice wee hill alright, might use it myself for similar purposes in the future. Got soaked on the way back, but now feeling grand after a nice hot shower and salmon risotto for lunch. 10ish miles at 7:45 pace.

Generally feeling a lot better about Donadea now. I'm happy that what feels like really slow pace is generally under 8:00.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Hey Paulie, Planning a sub 4 in Donadea myself (along with another crusader Paulie by the name of Yifter), be great to have another one on the bus. That would give you a new Marathon pb too, right?