Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Passat CC v Accord

• 29-07-2013 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭

So lads, hoping to pick up one or the other soon. Have had my heart set on buying myself an Accord for a while, but have recently also developed a horn for the Passat CC (ref bazz26's beauty!). Will be looking at getting a diesel as I do some pretty long trips from Kerry to Roscommon and Donegal. Probably a 2009 or 2010 if I can stretch, will be buying in the UK.

So can I have some opinions, I am interested as to which car would you choose and why?

Passat CC or Accord?? 80 votes

Passat CC
    0% 0 votes
    Accord
    100% 80 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Passat CC because its rarer and interior is better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Accord cause you cant kill them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Elephant Man from china

Honda accord will literally go forever.. But the passat cc is far nicer car.. Can't be much of a saving importing other of these from the UK is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Depends on how you drive but the Accord will only get you at best 50mpg(I've never gotten it, missus has) and worst 40 mpg(me).

After that it's down to your taste in aesthetics and what you want in a car.
    The Ex has full leather, satnav,sensors all round,reversing camera, air con, electric sunroof and other bits and bobs as standard. Only thing it does have which I never use is the voice activated phone, a waste imo.

Running costs are very affordable, outside of the oil which only gets dearer every service(every 12k miles or so without looking).
    I've never driven a CC but they're a nice looking bus, never seriously looked at one because the buttons are the same as in my Transporter van. No disrespect to any CC drivers, just my thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

No contest for me, the VW would win every time. The Accord is a nice car but the Passat CC is much more refined and feels more special IMO.

The Passat will also be way better on fuel than the Honda. I drove a 2009 Accord on my commute one of the days last week and my E280 CDI Merc is actually better on diesel on the motorway than the Honda. The Passat would be substantially better than either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

I was looking at bringing back an Accord top spec 09, feckin VRT is 3950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I looked at the Accord and while it was better kitted out (EX model) it just lacked what would make it really stand out from its rivals. After doing a bit of research I also found that the 2.2 DTEC while will most likely prove to be very reliable it is not the most fuel efficient engine given the size of the Accord and modest power output from a 2.2 litre diesel engine. Yes you can get a more powerful Type S 180ps but they are rare and go for silly money.

If you are going for a Passat CC then be aware that it was mid 2010 when they became a 5 seater, up to them they were a 4 seater only but even the middle seat in the 5 seater is almost useless to an adult. UK CCs are speced different compared to Irish models. For example a basic UK CC is lower spec than a basic Irish CC but there tends to be a better choice in higher spec GT models about in the UK. I'd avoid basic UK models are they are really no better equipped than a regular Passat Comfortline. If you get one with 18" wheels then tyres are not cheap, they are an awkward size (235/40/r18) and mid range branded tyres cost around €150 a corner. Just something to be aware of. Blue Motion models appeared in around 2010 and offer slightly better fuel economy but have lower emissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

The Passat CC is a very beautiful car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

Thats a tough one, even coming from a Honda fanboy.

The Accord will be better specced for the cash/year/mileage, more reliable too. The CC, oh dear God its a fabulous looking classy car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Thats a tough one, even coming from a Honda fanboy.

The Accord will be better specced for the cash/year/mileage, more reliable too. The CC, oh dear God its a fabulous looking classy car.

Exactly what I would say! Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Thanks lads for everyone's opinions.

The CC would be great but it looks like its just slightly out of my reach moneywise. The vrt for one is over 5 grand and it sounds like itd be expensive to maintain, €150 a corner for start!! My budget is about 15 grand so I reckon an 09 accord with full spec should be attainable. Thanks for your replies again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Let us know how you get on and pictures!! :)

It'll be a few weeks yet but I definately will!!

• Moderators Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

I dare ya to say no to a CC!

IMAG0456.jpg

IMAG0468.jpg

The accord lost its looks for me after the 7th gen (Pre 2008)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭batman2000

After doing a similar comparison, I'm picking up my 2009 CC next week (silver)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭batman2000

Mine does not have front fogs. Has anyone installed front fogs??

I dare ya to say no to a CC!

IMAG0456.jpg

IMAG0468.jpg

The accord lost its looks for me after the 7th gen (Pre 2008)

large_homer.drool.jpg

Pics like this make it hard to think of anything else! Yours looks fantastic with the deep black paint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Not a big fan of modern VW's but I like the look of the CC's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

The CC has a nice rear pity about the front though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

recyclebin wrote: »
    The CC has a nice rear pity about the front though.

Go to specsavers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭d1234

I would have to go for the Accord cause the cc has a terribly low roof :(

d1234 wrote: »
    I would have to go for the Accord cause the cc has a terribly low roof :(

I had a 6ft 4 buddy of mine in the back who's head didnt touch the ceiling.

As for fogs... its on my scary to-do list. DIY on a B6 Passat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

that passatt cc does nothing for me (not that i'd ever buy one anyway or be able to afford one) just looks like a passat.

Well lads, so I finally made my mind up :D

2cifehj.jpg

sm3hfo.jpg

Got it at Cargiant. Have to say, having read CiniO's review of dealing with them, I was rather surprised to find the car in immaculate condition inside and out. Although this might have been because they knew I was coming to look at that particular car (I had reserved it the day before), or indeed the previous owner may have cleaned it before it went to Cargiant. I dont know. I'd definately recommend dealing with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

good choice mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Accord all the way.

Drove a 2008 1.6 blue motion Passat a few weeks back. Plastic's/Dash inside felt like they have come off a cheap Chinese's toy car...not nice at all!

Accord's are a great car, solid build and more reliable to!

Accord all the way.

Drove a 2008 1.6 blue motion Passat a few weeks back. Plastic's/Dash inside felt like they have come off a cheap Chinese's toy car...not nice at all!

Accord's are a great car, solid build and more reliable to!

The 1.6 TDi Bluemotion Passat didn't appear until 2010. :confused: Also there is a big difference in fit n finish between a regular Passat and the CC.

This is mine:
    100_0148_zps0e018382.jpg

BTW, well wear with the new car OP.

Was most definitely a 1.6 Diesel si ingot the year wrong :o

Nice enough to drive but just didn't feel solid for a big car. Maybe im spoiled with my S80 :P

Great choice on the accord, great looking car. Really like the interior

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

bazz26 wrote: »
    The 1.6 TDi Bluemotion Passat didn't appear until 2010. :confused: Also there is a big difference in fit n finish between a regular Passat and the CC.

BTW, well wear with the new car OP.

I thought the Passat CC interior was pretty much a carbon copy of a normal Passat?

The fully specced Passat CC I sat in MSL Sandyford a few years back was certainly as achingly disappointing to sit inside as a normal Passat (which is a shame as they nailed the exterior pretty much spot on).

Tragedy wrote: »
    I thought the Passat CC interior was pretty much a carbon copy of a normal Passat?

The fully specced Passat CC I sat in MSL Sandyford a few years back was certainly as achingly disappointing to sit inside as a normal Passat (which is a shame as they nailed the exterior pretty much spot on).

The CC's dashboard was an updated version of the original B6 Passat and then put in the B7 Passat in 2011. The rest of the CC's interior with the exception of some switchgear doesn't share anything with the regular Passat and having sat in many regular Passats, feels better put together. Also Irish spec CC interiors seem less attractive, the fake wood inserts on the dashboard and door cards are kak imo. They also get a crap standard stereo.

Accord interior is not great either, too many buttons cluttered around the dashboard imo and some of the switches look like they were taken straight out of the Accord I had in the 1990s.

Also Irish spec CC interiors seem less attractive, the fake wood inserts on the dashboard and door cards are kak imo. They also get a crap standard stereo

All Irish spec cars are crap in comparison to the same spec elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

The CC's dashboard was an updated version of the original B6 Passat and then put in the B7 Passat in 2011. The rest of the CC's interior with the exception of some switchgear doesn't share anything with the regular Passat and having sat in many regular Passats, feels better put together. Also Irish spec CC interiors seem less attractive, the fake wood inserts on the dashboard and door cards are kak imo. They also get a crap standard stereo.

Accord interior is not great either, too many buttons cluttered around the dashboard imo and some of the switches look like they were taken straight out of the Accord I had in the 1990s.

media?id=d44a5f12b11a55463e53df0c57aa8e16&width=1024&height=768
    media?id=a527c6dcfd0404a74b1ca9b932cfdc36&width=1024&height=768

Not meaning to pick at you, but hardly a "big difference in fit and finish" when it comes to the interior. Different seats, marginally different door cards, and a digital CC panel. Everything else looks lifted from the standard Passat.

As I said, achingly beautiful on the outside, achingly dull on the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Honda accord will literally go forever.. But the passat cc is far nicer car.. Can't be much of a saving importing other of these from the UK is there?

It will just seem like forever. Passat CC is indeed a thing of beauty

media?id=d44a5f12b11a55463e53df0c57aa8e16&width=1024&height=768
    media?id=a527c6dcfd0404a74b1ca9b932cfdc36&width=1024&height=768

Not meaning to pick at you, but hardly a "big difference in fit and finish" when it comes to the interior. Different seats, marginally different door cards, and a digital CC panel. Everything else looks lifted from the standard Passat.

But there is one big issue with that Passat!!

Of course they have similarity's, hence why it was originally called the Passat CC but they also don't share lots of things though. Door cards are different because the doors are not shared, even the electric window master switch on the driver's door is different. I was skeptical when I was looking at them first too but when have been in one for a bit you do see the extra bit of attention to detail over the normal Passat.

And all VW interiors have been traditionally dull and uninspiring but that hasn't changed much to this date. Even the Golf Mk VII interior is hardly ground breaking in the style department. But then again the Accord interior is hardly a place of beauty either is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Got it at Cargiant. Have to say, having read CiniO's review of dealing with them, I was rather surprised to find the car in immaculate condition inside and out. Although this might have been because they knew I was coming to look at that particular car (I had reserved it the day before), or indeed the previous owner may have cleaned it before it went to Cargiant. I dont know. I'd definately recommend dealing with them.[/QUOTE]

Is there much haggle room with these guys??

Lovely car btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭enumbers

zero wiggle room

enumbers wrote: »
    zero wiggle room

Exactly.

Liam, the price you see on their website is the price you pay, along with a £100 admin charge. No haggling.

Just as well - I hate haggling :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

deccurley wrote: »

Got it at Cargiant. Have to say, having read CiniO's review of dealing with them, I was rather surprised to find the car in immaculate condition inside and out. Although this might have been because they knew I was coming to look at that particular car (I had reserved it the day before), or indeed the previous owner may have cleaned it before it went to Cargiant. I dont know. I'd definately recommend dealing with them.

Beautiful car :)

BTW - if you got my cargiant review as negative, then it means it didn't write it right.
    My experience with them is 90% positive, and I just highlighted bad things to make others aware what they can expect.
    But if I was to buy another car now, Cargiant would be the first place to look at. My civic so far has travelled about 15k km, and is running great. Didn't develop any problems, and I really enjoy driving it.

Have a nice motoring with your new Accord :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭boardie100

2cifehj.jpg

sm3hfo.jpg

Lovely car, i'm looking at the accord too and was thinking of heading to england to buy..... do you think you saved much purchasing it over there?... what was the vrt on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I like the look of that cc but I reckon the body's writing checks that the chassis and engine can't cash

boardie100 wrote: »
    Lovely car, i'm looking at the accord too and was thinking of heading to england to buy..... do you think you saved much purchasing it over there?... what was the vrt on it?

The VRT is a bit sore on my bum all right - 4 grand. But its an EX model so I knew what I was getting myself into there. I still reckon I saved a couple of grand buying it over there, the EX spec is rarer here and so commands more of a premium. Anything like it that I saw here was either going for megabucks or had really high mileage.

@CiniO, sorry, now I'm the one not being clear - your review actually encouraged me to go to Cargiant, but when you said that you found that the car wasnt properly clean, I assumed mine wouldn't be either, thankfully it was :D

The VRT is a bit sore on my bum all right - 4 grand. But its an EX model so I knew what I was getting myself into there. I still reckon I saved a couple of grand buying it over there, the EX spec is rarer here and so commands more of a premium. Anything like it that I saw here was either going for megabucks or had really high mileage.

@CiniO, sorry, now I'm the one not being clear - your review actually encouraged me to go to Cargiant, but when you said that you found that the car wasnt properly clean, I assumed mine wouldn't be either, thankfully it was :D

thanks for the info... its good to see another positive review for car giant... i hope you enjoy the car, i'm very jealous! ...
    What did it set you back in total in the end?.

I really want one :)

Cheers, I will enjoy it, I've wanted one for so long and it took a lot of saving and looking around but I'm finally there. :D

All in all I'm out €16,800 between the Car, VRT, a flight from Kerry - Luton, Diesel to get the car home, food on the journey, and the Ferry from Fishguard - Rosslare. If you can find the car here for anything remotely near that price then you have better eyesight than I do! The travelling and bringing it home is a bit of a pain, but there's a certain amount of novelty to it which cancels that out.

Cheers, I will enjoy it, I've wanted one for so long and it took a lot of saving and looking around but I'm finally there. :D

All in all I'm out €16,800 between the Car, VRT, a flight from Kerry - Luton, Diesel to get the car home, food on the journey, and the Ferry from Fishguard - Rosslare. If you can find the car here for anything remotely near that price then you have better eyesight than I do! The travelling and bringing it home is a bit of a pain, but there's a certain amount of novelty to it which cancels that out.

yeah its a bit of travelling alright but worth it if you get the car you really want.... what year is it by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Donnchadh

I've a Passat CC up for sale on adverts if anyone is interested!

http://www.adverts.ie/car/volkswagen/passat-cc/2009-volswagen-passat-cc-2-0tdi-cr/3707009

Donnchadh wrote: »
    I've a Passat CC up for sale on adverts if anyone is interested!

http://www.adverts.ie/car/volkswagen/passat-cc/2009-volswagen-passat-cc-2-0tdi-cr/3707009

Ill buy your leather interior off you if you want :D

Hope that timing belt is changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Donnchadh

Ill buy your leather interior off you if you want :D

Hope that timing belt is changed.

It's not leather :cool:

Donnchadh wrote: »
    It's not leather :cool:

Screen%20shot%202011-06-04%20at%209.10.52%20PM.png

And the timing belt doesn't have to be changed on these until 180k km or every 5 years.