Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reasonable sports cars on the market

• 29-07-2013 8:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭

I'm delighted to be in the market for a weekend car, just for fun.
    I've reached an age where the insurance companies find that acceptable. That also means I am looking for something that has actual suspension and not ridiculous low profile tyres.

I've a budget of about €7000 for the purchase so I'm not looking for something new, the first 2 digits on the number plate doesn't bother me. The car will do very little mileage so fuel consumption is not a concern. Keeping the car on the road is though so I don't want something that is 1800 per year in tax then!

Problem is I know very little about the cars in this segment, haven't driven any of the suggestions below so I'm really looking for a starting point.

My first thought was a Mazda MX-5. Been described by many as an excellent car, there are plenty of them around, this seems like a sound call. My only gripe is it's a convertible, I think I'd prefer a coupe. I do believe this is the one to beat though.

Honda S2000, slightly better looking, a bit more power but apparently the MX-5 is more fun. Again, this is a convertible.

Mazda RX-8, good looking car, interesting engine. Very practical, with the 4 doors and all, is it too heavy? will it be fun enough?

Nissan 350Z good bit more power, coupe, but will it be too expensive to own with that big engine? Is it too big & heavy?

I'm looking for thoughts on the above and any other suggestions are very welcome. As I said, I know very little about the cars in this segment so I'm more looking for a starting point than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

dantastic wrote: »
    Mazda RX-8, good looking car, interesting engine. Very practical, with the 4 doors and all, is it too heavy? will it be fun enough?

Interesting is one word for the Rotary engine. needs to have been owned by someone with an Obsessive approach to maintenance, and they give a lot of trouble, consume a lot of very expensive oil, drink petrol, are prone to "warm start" problems, and are on borrowed time when most motors are just "run in".

I've seen a number of Rx-8 owners leave their cars running at petrol stations because they are afraid to switch them off and then restart a minute later. ditto, the bloke idling his Rx-8 while herself does the shopping.

A real pity, because one of those with a dumb-ass, unburstible 4 pot Mazda motor would be sweet, and would have been a Toybaru 10 years before they thought of it.

Get an Mx-5 or a Honda 2000. If it is a weekend car, you might as well have something impractical and special. You can get a clip on hard top for the Mx-5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

As I said, I know very little about the cars in this segment so I'm more looking for a starting point than anything else.
    You need to get out there and start driving as wide a selection as possible. A sports car is an emotional purchase - nobody else can tell you what will work for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah the MX5 is the one I'd go for too.
    If it's only for weekends why not get a convertible? It'll sit in a garage the rest of the time.

Don't go for anything that will require a lot of work like the rx8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Focus ST would pretty much fit your criteria tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Anan1 wrote: »
    You need to get out there and start driving as wide a selection as possible. A sports car is an emotional purchase - nobody else can tell you what will work for you.

Not everyone has all the time in the world to spend test driving each and every car though, hence the OP has listed his criteria and is looking for suggestions as to what a wide variety of people suggest. With a short list he can go out and begin testing those cars.

Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭d1234

166man wrote: »
    Not everyone has all the time in the world to spend test driving each and every car though, hence the OP has listed his criteria and is looking for suggestions as to what a wide variety of people suggest. With a short list he can go out and begin testing those cars.

Simples
    It's a weekend, fun car - half the fun is in going out, looking at different cars, driving them, researching them, etc etc !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Op what about a BMW Z4?

It might be just on the edge of your budget though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

d1234 wrote: »

Nowhere in the OP does it say 'I am a trainee hairdresser'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭dantastic

Wow, this got going fast :) thanks for the responses.

I will go out and look at cars and test drive but I really need a bit better of a starting point.
    Good call re the RX-8, It's one of them cars that need a loving touch indeed. I do like the look of it but I'm not looking for practicality at all. It's a car to go and pick up a 99, not shopping.

Hyundai couple, simply is not cutting it at all, way too underpowered.

Focus, that car is really not doing it for me at all. I could never feel for that thing, I actually feel pretty strongly against it.

I should probably mention as well that our other cars are a big 4x4 and and alfa 159 so we're looking for something significantly faster and nippier than the alfa...

The Z4 would need a bigger budget or you are looking at cars with high mileage or questionable repairs etc. Good call but I think a good one is outside of my current budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

How about a Honda Integra DC5? youd get an 04 for 7k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

d1234 wrote: »

The words reasonable,sports or car are not the first words that pop into my head when i think about those balls of dung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

@Op, in your position I'd go for the S2000 100% :D

(come to the next motors meet and get TT to take you for a spin in his;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

S2000 all day long

Wouldn't describe an ST as a sports car personally more a practical car with a wookie living under the bonnet that gets angry over 5000rpm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well few options:

Mazda mx5 - all around fantastic car and not just fore weekends. Our one is being used as daily driver for 4 years now. You will find one under the budget and you will be able to put a few mods and touches on it with all left over cash.
    Honda s2000 - same as Mazda with more power and little bit bigger price tag and running costs. Lovely car too.
    Subaru impreza 2 door coupe type-r - a boxer engine in coupe body. Fantastic car, but you should be able to find one for your budget. Just be careful, a lot of them are crashed repaired. If you can't find type r, then get yourself a clean classic sti impreza.

I can't really suggest any of the Ford ST or golf gti as those are more of a daily cars with fun attached to them, then a full nuts fun weekend car.
    Other option would be to look for something rare and fun like old American muscle cars. There was one sold by a member on boards here. A lovely Trans am. Keep in mind, that these cars use cheap classic insurance and 50eu road tax per year. You could save fortune on tax and insurance and put more towards car it self.

Wow, this got going fast :) thanks for the responses.

I will go out and look at cars and test drive but I really need a bit better of a starting point.
    Good call re the RX-8, It's one of them cars that need a loving touch indeed. I do like the look of it but I'm not looking for practicality at all. It's a car to go and pick up a 99, not shopping.

Hyundai couple, simply is not cutting it at all, way too underpowered.

Focus, that car is really not doing it for me at all. I could never feel for that thing, I actually feel pretty strongly against it.

I should probably mention as well that our other cars are a big 4x4 and and alfa 159 so we're looking for something significantly faster and nippier than the alfa...

Have you actually driven one, genuine question.

Because they are superb. (Seriously superb)

listermint wrote: »

I haven't, but to me it just screams boy racer. Same goes with a few other cars suggested. They may be good cars but I would find it difficult to get over the stigma attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Rx 8? Will you man up a bit and get a proper one ;-)
    Bmw e39 m5 for that matter. Plenty out there you can bring home for 7k.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Another s2000 lover here. Very nice car. Bomb proof mechanically and you can get a hard top for them too. No hint of boy racer from them either.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

cronin_j wrote: »
    How about a Honda Integra DC5? youd get an 04 for 7k

the skang is strong in this one.

bmstuff wrote: »
    Rx 8? Will you man up a bit and get a proper one ;-)
    Bmw e39 m5 for that matter. Plenty out there you can bring home for 7k.

Sure, it's probably a mighty car but where's the magic? It's just a 5 series. Too big of a car as well.

I really think the starting point is the mx5 and the s2000. Still looking for other suggestions too but those two come well recommended so far anyway.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Whatever about that the skangers will want to steal it so security will be a real headache. Chances of having it for a year without some scumbag mouthbreather attempting to steal it will be low. Plus IMH anyway that was the start of the dilution of the pure Type R concept(that and the breadvan Civic).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Yep. It was nice, but I found it somehow uninvolving for me. I know I know most would disagree, but that's how I found it. The boy racer aspect wouldn't worry me. Hell I drive such a car as is, but then again I'm so damned sexy I get away with it. YMMV.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Sure, it's probably a mighty car but where's the magic? It's just a 5 series. Too big of a car as well.

I really think the starting point is the mx5 and the s2000. Still looking for other suggestions too but those two come well recommended so far anyway.

I was going to call you out on calling a m5 "just a 5 series". It is anything but.

However, it is not a sports car, and it is a big car. I ditched my (humble diesel) E60 because it was just too big, fat and heavy.

Small is always more fun, even if it is a bit less comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

The tax would be....harsh but you could get one of these within your budget.

Have to call you on that specific part,

If you are asking where the Magic is in an M5, well then tbh i think you need to go out and actually drive some of the cars suggested. Because if you truly want a weekend car, Id be going on test drives of most of the suggestions. no one can tell you what the differing feelings are from driving the models. Everyones different. The biggest thrill ive ever had was in a skyline because it was gut wrenchingly insane.

ford_focus_st-03-L.jpg

just as much i disagree that the ST is typically boy racer either. Comment seems quite the clarkson. Styling is farely sedate

That ST needs moar black wheels !

MOAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Op the M5 will blow you away.
    It does not feel like a big car, once you put your foot down it feels a lot different.

It in a different class to the other cars here.

If you think the S2000 is too chav (which it isn't) then maybe a BMW 645ci.

A sports car doesn't have to be a 2 door roadster its about how it makes you feel behind the wheel.

Nice cars always attract negative labels from begrudgers regardless of the badge.

Make a list get out there and get test driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

E36 m3 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

bazz26 wrote: »

OP doesnt want to pay the tax. . . ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

What about an early Porsche boxster. Early ones are going from €4500 up to €8000.

If you think the S2000 is too chav (which it isn't) then maybe a BMW 645ci.

A sports car doesn't have to be a 2 door roadster its about how it makes you feel behind the wheel.

Nice cars always attract negative labels from begrudgers regardless of the badge.

Make a list get out there and get test driving

Wont get a good one for 7K.

And again the OP doesnt want to pay the tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Grow up ffs. A clean unmolested DC5 is one of the nicest cars on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP doesnt want to pay the tax. . . ;)

He was considering a Nissan 350Z in his original post which costs the same to tax plus a Focus ST and M5 has already been mentioned too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

How about an old alfa spider? You'd probably have to bring it in from the uk?

Another option would be a lancia delta integrale?

Scortho wrote: »
    How about an old alfa spider? You'd probably have to bring it in from the uk?

An Alfa Spider (or GTV, or a FIAT Coupé turbo) might fit the bill, but integrales are very high maintenance.

bazz26 wrote: »
    He was considering a Nissan 350Z in his original post which costs the same to tax plus a Focus ST and M5 has already been mentioned too.

Didnt see the 350Z

Focus is a 2.5

The M5 was not mentioned by the OP>

Don't think the S2000 is chav, I really like it. :)

BMW 645 - very nice. But would I get a good one for the money? Same with the Porsche, would love one but I think I'd need a bigger budget. The tax on both makes them less interesting as well.

The focus and the m5 might both be excellent cars but neither tickle my fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Scortho wrote: »

That is so not an option for a reasonable sports car,good ones cost serious money and bad ones will break you. I'd say you would spend less running an E39 M5 for a year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

I'd also consider looking at older cars, such as:

BMW E36 328i Sport (with LSD!)
    190bhp Toyota Celica
    Mk 2 MR2 Turbo
    Toyota Supra, Nissan 300ZX (if you can find an unmolested one)
    See if a R32 Golf or VR6 Corrado is around at that price level
    Even a late Pug 205 1.9GTi or BMW E30 325i Sport will put a big smile on your face, if you can find some clean ones
    3 litre Alfa 156 or 166 would be leftfielders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

what about mr2,plenty of power even if not turbo,also coupe,design is still head turning to this day,engines are proven to be one of the best ones,and if owned by enthusiast will be giving joy for many years to come.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mr2-gts-t-bar-turbo/5367084

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

From what has been suggested I'd go for a S2000 myself but here's something a bit different........

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-sl-class-300-24v-new-nct/3650177

View2-13042069.jpeg

Cheap Classic insurance possible as it's over 20 years, tax it for 9 months for €1250 or a full year for €1500, and it probably has no depreciation which should be considered too. Parts are cheap enough on older Mercs and there are a couple of good independent specialists in Ireland who can work on the car.

The 24v is fast and the car handles well for it's size (drove one a few times years ago).

Something small and light and purpose build definitely, not a big car with big engine.
    The MR2 - definitely interesting!
    The golf or the various BMWs are sporty cars, not sports cars.
    I wouldn't pass the actual sports cars like the supra for instance bit it would be a daunting task to find an unmolested one.

How about an older Lotus Elise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭niallu

As a focus ST owner i'd definitely reccomend one.

After owning it a year, I still love to get out for a spin in it. I can drive into work in traffic comfortably, and then let rip on nice country roads at the weekend.

Tax can be an issue (mine is on the new system so about €1200 pa).

As mentioned previously, an S2000 would also be great!

Personally I'd go for a 350z though.....great looking car, and even the earliest models from 2003 havn't dated at all! If you are willing to spend the €1500 odd in tax though!

I actually think that RX8 would be the perfect choice for the OP. They have a low tax and seem to be very reasonably priced second hand. And no, they do not drink expensive oil (rotary uses some, but mineral seems to be best suited for for this engine so dirt cheap). And they have no emissions test in NCT, so no yearly worry of whether it will pass or fail :-)

They don't like for short trips (short commute, trips to shop, etc) but would be grand for a weekend car where the engine is guaranteed to reach full operating temperature every time. Also, they do like their petrol but having it as the third car would make this a less of point.