Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish MEP makes complete ar$e of self & us by suggesting new intifada in Middle East

• 24-07-2013 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

http://www.jpost.com/International/Irish-MEP-condemned-for-suggesting-Palestinians-return-to-intifada-320918

Look, wherever your views fall on this conflict (and my own sympathies would be with the Palestinians), this sort of talk on our behalf from this unelected gobsh1te is sheer, bloody insanity.

A new intifada? Really? Because the last one worked out so well for the Palestinians and the Israeli's, did it?

Perhaps Paul should take a break from high-flying conflict diplomaticy, and get his well-payed self back to work maybe trying to allieviate the pressures Ireland is under in Europes.

Or is "the Revolution" too important for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Waits for re-regs .............

*should put up a warning in the OP. That link is to the jersalem paost*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I knew it would be Paul Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

efb wrote: »
    I knew it would be Paul Murphy

Let me guess, it was the "Irish MEP makes complete ar$e of self" part in the thread title that gave it away? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

The guy is a complete clown.

On the same week Israel and Palestine agree to resume peace talks, he comes out with this shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Anyone see Judith Grayson's comment at the bottom?

"Quite likely he was drunk at the time. the irish not only have the highest rate of alcoholism, add bipolar disorder to that. a real jew haters paradise, backward and medeival, deeply corrupt and inculcated from birth by the church with virulent anti-semtism."

Looks like she won't be touring Temple Bar any time soon!

"Quite likely he was drunk at the time. the irish not only have the highest rate of alcoholism, add bipolar disorder to that. a real jew haters paradise, backward and medeival, deeply corrupt and inculcated from birth by the church with virulent anti-semtism."

Yeah, the JP is a rag with a particular chip on their shoulder regarding ourselves - expect a lot of hate and abject racism in the comment boxes!

Still, thought it might be interesting to see his idiocy written from their perspective.

And yes, the clowns timing is aweful...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

brimal wrote: »
    On the same week Israel and Palestine agree to resume peace talks, he comes out with this shite.

The Israeli state doesn't want peace - it wants the West Bank and it'll have it. Israel chose occupying territory over peace a long time ago.

The fact that Israel's greatest shield in the UN is brokering the peace talks is fucking farcical.

The Israeli state doesn't want peace - it wants the West Bank and it'll have it. Israel chose occupying territory over peace a long time ago.

The fact that Israel's greatest shield in the UN is brokering the peace talks is fucking farcical.

So the answer is a fcuking hopeless uprising that would kill hundreds if not thousands and set back even what little has been or could be achieved, all spurred on by some idiot MEP trying to sound as "revolutionary" as possible while masking his private school accent, and who would be nowhere near the danger-zone when the shots start firing?

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    So the answer is a fcuking hopeless uprising that would kill hundreds if not thousands

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

spot on
    So the answer is a fcuking hopeless uprising that would kill hundreds if not thousands and set back even what little has been or could be achieved, all spurred on by some idiot MEP trying to sound as "revolutionary" as possible while masking his private school accent, and who would be nowhere near the danger-zone when the shots start firing?

you don't remember the way he was treated during a protest at a council meting in dublin not so long ago, i'd say he's gotten stuck in a little more than you might have!

also, those who wish to settle in other peoples territory and do deals with d-evil behind them will never be in the danger zone either, unless of course they fall out with the rest of them in the closed loop at the top that is!!

hello Israel and NSA associated fcukers!!

you don't remember the way he was treated during a protest at a council meting in dublin not so long ago

What, when him and a few of his fellow crusties tried to forcibly break up a democratically convened council sitting as a publicity stunt? To my memory he was ridiculed for it, and rightfully so - the clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

this sort of talk on our behalf from this unelected gobsh1te is sheer, bloody insanity.

Unelected? The clue is in his job title - MEP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He wasn't elected though. He was co-opted. Joe Higgins was elected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair to the guy, I don't think he know what the word intifada means. He seems to be implying there should be a mass uprising and protests along the lines of the arab spring. But most of the arab spring uprisings have been peaceful (at least by the protesters. For example in bahrain it was a peacefull uprising that was violently crushed).

If that's what he meant then he makes sense. The whole conflict out there could use a mass peaceful protest. If he meant an actual intifada, he's a moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Grayson wrote: »
    To be fair to the guy, I don't think he know what the word intifada means. He seems to be implying there should be a mass uprising and protests along the lines of the arab spring. But most of the arab spring uprisings have been peaceful (at least by the protesters. For example in bahrain it was a peacefull uprising that was violently crushed).

If that's what he meant then he makes sense. The whole conflict out there could use a mass peaceful protest. If he meant an actual intifada, he's a moron.

I think he means Arab Spring in the actual Libya-Syria-Egypt sense (with violence) rather than the liberal 'it was social media and about women's rights and democracy' fantasy version. As a revolutionary socialist I doubt he has much problem with what he believes would be legit violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Intifada means Uprising.

The Arab spring was an intifada. Poor chosen words, I agree, especially in a time when the general public is so grossly misinformed about the world.

He should have stuck to his first language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

To be fair he has been to Palestine many times. Plus, as in the article, was on the flotilla. Not that this impresses me personally, but he is hardly some coward when it comes to getting down and dirty.

This fool is proof that the selection of "Reserves" for MEP's is flawed. If MEP's cannot see out their full term (for any reason other than their death), the seat should be left vacant. Clare Daly and Ruth Coppinger turned down this post after Joe Higgins was elected to the Dail. He is paid to represent Ireland in Europe and if he's neither willing or able to do this, then he should step down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Yeah, the JP is a rag with a particular chip on their shoulder regarding ourselves - expect a lot of hate and abject racism in the comment boxes!

Still, thought it might be interesting to see his idiocy written from their perspective.

And yes, the clowns timing is aweful...

When you read some of the anti Semitic stuff that gets put on here, particularly in relation to Alan Shatter, it isn't difficult to see where that chip comes from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

What an ignorant b!tch.

As much I don't support the MEP's suggestion, calling someone opposed to the Israeli government a "Jew hater" is retarded. People have an issue with the government, not with Jews!

F*ck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭theSHU

No-one voted for him. He dosn't represent anyone but himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

When you read some of the anti Semitic stuff that gets put on here, particularly in relation to Alan Shatter, it isn't difficult to see where that chip comes from.

News to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

is there anything to be said for another mass uprising?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

goose2005 wrote: »
    is there anything to be said for another mass uprising?

Yes if you are in the undertaking business (or are Robert Fisk et al, something to write about.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

was the _first intifada_ more violent then any of these other uprisings the us and uk support

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Whats that got to do with anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

News to me?

You missed this thread then http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056994066/1/#post85552037

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

He has never been elected to any position. He couldn't even get elected president of the bloody student union in UCD. Never been a councillor, TD, nothing that requires getting the approval of the people. Prior to getting co-opted to Higgins' seat, described himself as a 'full time socialist party activist'. Everytime I hear him interviewed, it's like hearing an audio version of 'The Big Book of Socialist catchphrases.'

was the _first intifada_ more violent then any of these other uprisings the us and uk support

It doesn't matter if it was or not. Our elected politicians get destroyed for talking ill of the great Israel. Especially in the US and England where nearly every politician of note is beholden to AIPAC or the friends of Israel.

Palestinians are just like the 9/11 fellows... support them and you're a terrorist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭NoNewFriends

It doesn't matter if it was or not. Our elected politicians get destroyed for talking ill of the great Israel. Especially in the US and England where nearly every politician of note is beholden to AIPAC or the friends of Israel.

Any evidence at all to back this outrageous claim? If not, you can't expect us to take your conspiracy theory ramblings seriously.

I don't particularly care if you take my ramblings seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

mike65 wrote: »
    Yes if you are in the undertaking business (or are Robert Fisk et al, something to write about.)

em, it's a fr ted reference-i don't think anyone sane is actually calling for a mass uprising...

I'll take that as a "no" then. You have no argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Is anyone actually surprised about the likes of him talking sh1te?

No, but this is particularly dangerous ****e. Paul can have his little "rebellion against rich background/lets be as extreme as possible" episode if he likes - but I wish he wouldn't do it while supposedly representing the Irish people abroad...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Whats the point in posting them here then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Lapin wrote: »
    Whats the point in posting them here then ?

Probably looking for a reaction, to which s/he is receiving..

The pantomime continues. Murphy is now meekly back peddling and claiming that the word "intifada" has no violent connotations. He claims to have meant it to mean "uprising". Which begs the questions - why couldn't he simply use the word "uprising". Of course, he knew the ambiguity of the word "intifada" and aimed to be as controversial as possible. This unelected pond life is desperate for attention as he and his laughable socialist ilk are duly ignored in the European parliament. Enjoy your 15 minutes of infamy Paul. I'm sure you're reading this now, as you come across as the type of narcissist who googles their own name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

The one thing I would say is that Israelis would want to stop conflating the views of a minor politician from a party with absolutely tiny levels of support with the view of Ireland.

That comment quoted further up the thread calling us bipolar, anti-semitic alcoholics is racist and deeply offensive to anyone in Ireland and just not correct either.

Also, Ireland's a liberal democracy and people have a right to express all sorts of views and opinions.

They would really want to grow up a bit though and stop completely over-reacting to any kind of criticism and accusing everyone of being anti-Semitic who doesn't agree with their foreign policy.

The whole middle east seems prone to total over-reaction to any criticism.

This unelected pond life is desperate for attention..

I bet he'd beat the daylights out of you if you said that to his face.

Violence is to be applauded? Says more about you, to be honest.

I didn't say it should be applauded I'm just saying he'd probably beat you up in a fight.

He goes to the gym every day and is quite strong by all accounts.

I didn't say it should be applauded I'm just saying he'd probably beat you up in a fight.

He goes to the gym every day and is quite strong by all accounts.

"Agree with me or I'll batter ya". Such schoolyard childishness.

Here's a picture of baldy Paul being dragged away by the coppers. Carrying a few extra pounds too. He's want to lay off the kebabs for a while.

baldy Paul I'm sure he was delighted to have his photo snapped and his name in the paper. Too bad everyone ignored it except the hippies over at indymedia. These middle class "revolutionaries" take pride in breaking the law.

"Agree with me or I'll batter ya". Such schoolyard childishness.

Here's a picture of baldy Paul being dragged away by the coppers. Carrying a few extra pounds too. He's want to lay off the kebabs for a while.

baldy Paul I'm sure he was delighted to have his photo snapped and his name in the paper. Too bad everyone ignored it except the hippies over at indymedia. These middle class "revolutionaries" take pride in breaking the law.

I'm sure his newsreader uncle is soooooo proud!

"Agree with me or I'll batter ya". Such schoolyard childishness..

Well in all fairness you started it by calling him 'pond life'. It's not my fault he's freakishly strong and would tear you apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The pantomime continues. Murphy is now meekly back peddling and claiming that the word "intifada" has no violent connotations. He claims to have meant it to mean "uprising". Which begs the questions - why couldn't he simply use the word "uprising

It doesn't beg any question.. it's a word which is popularly used to describe an uprising. It wouldn't make a blind bit of difference what word he used to describe it... the usual suspects would still be up in arms over what he was saying.

An elected and serving TD had his home raided by Gardai and the Revenue Commission yesterday. I'd say that makes us look like bigger arses to international critics, than the mumblings of some obscure socialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭Sand

He sounds like a fool. I'm embarrassed that he breathes the same oxygen as me as a human being, let alone that he hails from this island.

Just when you thought this embarrassment had crawled back under his rock after widespread condemnation of his calls for intifada, he comes out with this:
    The Sunday Independent printed a 759 word article by a Labour Councillor last Sunday attacking me as an ultra-left extremist. They've just refused me a right of reply. That's 'Independent' Newspapers for you. Will be complaining to Press Ombudsman.

Even his fellow "comrades" on the left think he is an extremist nutter! In the immortal words of Yul Brynner: let him rave on so that men shall know him mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

haha Paul Murphy went to the same school as me for a time, private leafy kind of a place. he wasnt in my year but my only memory of him would have been the kind of guy who who was likely treasurer of the computer club and liable to get his underpants pulled over his head at a moments notice...not unlike a lot of boardsies in that respect I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

haha Paul Murphy went to the same school as me for a time, private leafy kind of a place. he wasnt in my year but my only memory of him would have been the kind of guy who who was likely treasurer of the computer club and liable to get his underpants pulled over his head at a moments notice...not unlike a lot of boardsies in that respect I imagine.

Well I doubt we went to private school in general. Computer club - yeah!