Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most depressing scene

• 24-07-2013 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭

I once witnessed a gay mate of mine smoking in his boxers while hungover with the shipping forecast on the radio in the background while he told me he hated Fibber's but he was definitely going next Friday. Beat that for miserable.

Jaysus, did they say anything about rain next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

A world without commas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

once witnessed my dad smoking in his boxers while hungover with the shipping forecast on the radio in the background while he told me he hated Fibber's but he was definitely going next Friday. Beat that for miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

So he could afford booze, fags and underwear?!? Misery sounds like the lap of luxury to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Dónal wrote: »
    Jaysus, did they say anything about rain next week?

Probably, but it was in about 1997 so I wouldn;t worry about it
    Keno 92 wrote: »
    A world without commas.

I felt they didn't lend themselves to this thread
    once witnessed my dad smoking in his boxers while hungover with the shipping forecast on the radio in the background while he told me he hated Fibber's but he was definitely going next Friday. Beat that for miserable.

I once witnessed a guy neglect his child while witnessing his dad smoking in his boxers while hungover with the shipping forecast on the radio in the background while he told me he hated Fibber's but he was definitely going next Friday.
    Custardpi wrote: »
    So he could afford booze, fags and underwear?!? Misery sounds like the lap of luxury to me!

It was the height of the Celtic Tiger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I saw a woman who had just fallen face first on a footpath in London run around collecting her teeth with her friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I once worked in a fabric shop. Nothing beats that for downright brain numbing depression.

I saw a woman who had just fallen face first on a footpath in London run around collecting her teeth with her friend.

Literally run, or scramble? Important distinction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Saw a seagull lifting a half eaten burger of the street in Wallsend in North-East England, it was too big for it and it dropped half of it. A clean shaven man dressed in a suit, who was watching the whole thing from a bench, casually walked over, picked up the bit the seagull dropped, and started eating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

CJC999 wrote: »
    I once worked in a fabric shop. Nothing beats that for downright brain numbing depression.
    I once worked in a abattoir. A place where farmers would bring their kids. The panic from the sheep was one thing, the screams from the children when they realised their pet lambs were dead, creatures they helped feed after their mothers rejected them, was another!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

An old fella were I worked was sitting down having a chat, he jumped up, muttered something and took two steps before pissing himself. A depressing sight and a timely reminder that your own body can really let you down in later life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I was walking past the Elysian Tower in Cork about eighteen months ago, on the way to Careys to pick up a couple of C-spanners. I saw a great big strapping boy in his early twenties or so, unshaven and dirty, huddled up in a raggedy sleeping bag in one of the doorways of this mighty edifice, his few earthly belongings clustered around him. I nearly fucken cried. "Forbear that wicked cant until you have discovered What the surplus is, and Where it is..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I had just spent the weekend camping and had been dropped of at my appartment block The Elysian in dirty clothes and sleeping bag and a few other bits and bobs when I realised I had no key to get in and the OH was in work in the public service.
    I was so drunk I just lay down on a doorstep and watched people go by looking down pityfully saying all sorts of meaningful stuff.
    An hour later the OH pulled up in our Merc SLK AMG convertable and I hopped in to the amazement of some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I had just spent the weekend camping and had been dropped of at my appartment block The Elysian in dirty clothes and sleeping bag and a few other bits and bobs when I realised I had no key to get in and the OH was in work in the public service.
    I was so drunk I just lay down on a doorstep and watched people go by looking down pityfully saying all sorts of meaningful stuff.
    An hour later the OH pulled up in our Merc SLK AMG convertable and I hopped in to the amazement of some.

I gave yer maun a hoof ta the ballacks, anyway - I hate bums. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

What the dickens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I saw a man go from 100% sobriety to the recovery position in 45 minutes after necking most of a pint of absinthe to 'play catch up' after arriving late at a festival.

You could actually see his condition deteriorate before your eyes. We called first aid. And stuck the absinthe label in his pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

CJC999 wrote: »
    I feel you're pain, I took a job in a fabric shop and it was like waiting for death. I lasted less than a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

What the dickens?

Well I wasnt going to climb up all those stairs to our double penthouse in that drunk state.

This is the most darkest scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

Many years ago I was on the footpath on a Main Street in D 2 when a large car pulled up to the lights.
    The was a lady driver and her mother passenger.
    The lady came to the passenger side and opened the door only to find her mother had passed away.
    She was shouting and a women came out of an office tried to clam her.
    Mean while some scoby gets in the car to move off the road.
    So there's me holding a dead women to stop her falling over while scoby is driving the car onto the path

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Have you seen the old man who walks the streets of London....dirt in his hair and his clothes in rags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Fcukin hell, was lolling for the first few posts.

Boy did this de-escalate quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Saw two Gardai at a festival standing over a complete mangler who was so out of his biccy that he was merrily swinging around a 7-foot tentpole stuffed down his foreskin. When the cops realised that their presence was not doing anything to deter his actions, they shook their heads sadly and walked away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Dodd wrote: »
    Many years ago I was on the footpath on a Main Street in D 2 when a large car pulled up to the lights.
    The was a lady driver and her mother passenger.
    The lady came to the passenger side and opened the door only to find her mother had passed away.
    She was shouting and a women came out of an office tried to clam her.
    Mean while some scoby gets in the car to move off the road.
    So there's me holding a dead women to stop her falling over while scoby is driving the car onto the path

A real scoby would have robbed that car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

My own reflection after a heavy night of drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Ah, misery porn. I'm out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 ahtfulal84

Watching a loved one die in a hospital bed knowing nothing can be done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I need to stick on Bryan Adams to cheer me up after reading this thread.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Fook me this thread is a laugh a minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Was it the day, Borussia Dortmund lost the Champions League final, or the day, I got married? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Thataone

A classmate took their own life in third year, those of us in the base tutor group attended the wake, funeral and also formed a guard of honour. Those were all equally depressing and bleak, as was the general mood in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Saw a seagull lifting a half eaten burger of the street in Wallsend in North-East England, it was too big for it and it dropped half of it. A clean shaven man dressed in a suit, who was watching the whole thing from a bench, casually walked over, picked up the bit the seagull dropped, and started eating it.
    Job interview hadn't gone well? Did you try London where the streets were paved with gold next?

Once I saw a fat, onion-shaped woman falling down the stairs of a bus, whereupon her shopping bag burst and low and behold loads of onions rolled around the floor of the bus. I howled with laughter and my ma clipped me around the ear.

It was the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I was in an Aldi store last week. A guy in an electric wheelchair bumped into me, then told me to "get the fúck out of the way."

When I told him to watch his mouth, he got up and shoved me into a shelf. Just a few minutes prior, he'd yelled that he was paralyzed from the waist down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

A few years ago I did a family photo studio for a guy, his wife , son and 4 month baby boy.

Two weeks after the guy had a car accident and died. At that point they had been in and picked their pictures and were due back that week to collect them.

She came in the day of the accident to collect them from me. I have to say it was one of the most depressing days of my life as I cropped him out of the family picture to enlarge and frame for the coffin picture.

Jesus please stick to the humouress tone of the op, no real horror

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

A King of Fairview thread :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Literally run, or scramble? Important distinction

Scramble!! I've been out of the country too long. Twas definitely a scramble. She was middle-aged. Looked like all our mams collectively.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭corklad12

Naked Sally sitting on the kitchen table eating an apple whilst her auntie Maura shaves her legs in the kitchen sink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

I was set for good time with this girl.
    She stripped of and was in my double bed but on the out side.
    I says move so I can get in but she likes the out side and tells me to jump over.
    Well while I'm getting over I knee her in the eye.:(
    Sex was off and she had a black eye in the morning.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Trollhättan

Jesus please stick to the humouress tone of the op, no real horror

nKMkMLs.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

At Creamfields or homelands back in 2000 ( can't remember which one ) saw a bloke on his own curled up in a ball on the ground ,
    right outside the entrance to one of the tents.
    It was bout 3 in the afternoon and he was there havin a **** while the stream of people walked around or stepped over him.
    No one batted an eyelid.

Also standing havin a piss in one of the fellas toilet areas at cream fields the year after the above.
    A girl arrived at the pisser beside me ,lifted her skirt , pulled down her knickers and started to shoot at the pisser from 2 feet away.
    I bust my hole laughing and so did she.

Great times :)

Scramble!! I've been out of the country too long. Twas definitely a scramble. She was middle-aged. Looked like all our mams collectively.

Ah, the unimam. 50, called Mary, from Tipp, like Thin Lizzy and tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

A few years ago I did a family photo studio for a guy, his wife , son and 4 month baby boy.

Two weeks after the guy had a car accident and died. At that point they had been in and picked their pictures and were due back that week to collect them.

She came in the day of the accident to collect them from me. I have to say it was one of the most depressing days of my life as I cropped him out of the family picture to enlarge and frame for the coffin picture.

Arra jaysus. You win.

Give me the number for the Samaritans, quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm watching geordie shore on my own, in my boxer shorts drinking a lidl smoothie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

kraggy wrote: »
    Arra jaysus. You win.

Give me the number for the Samaritans, quick.

Yeh tell me about it.

Since then I was made redundant when my bosses shut the shop down start of last year. I got job working for same company as that man before he died. Every time I work in the town that he was from they have framed picture of him in canteen that I took.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I saw a young man about twenty in Sierra Leone with no legs, making his way down the road with a brick in each hand. Uplifting or depressing I cant figure it out but he adopted to his environment quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

When ET walked up that ramp, with his flower, it was heard to take... even now over 30 years later. Makes a grown man cry.

BTW.. am sat in my boxers but no shipping forecast on the radio; just some sh!te Will Smith zombie movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I was in a market in romania when i was about ten with my dad. A man with some sort of bone deformity in his body was going around the market begging.. He would crawl like a spider or crab with his stomach facing the sky..People in the market place would kick his head hard to get him away and laugh and he would scream ..this went on for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Two Tone from Limehouse

I bet he was from Waaalker