Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lock your front door

• 23-07-2013 10:13pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭

Some pure scum broke into my house last night. I'd forgotten to lock the deadlock and put on the alarm - costly mistake that turned out to be. They stole the 3 grand worth of MacBook Pro and nothing else - not even the charger for it. First thing I knew was the door was wide open this morning when I came down for breakfast. Absolutely ripping mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

were they born in a barn ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Expensive lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

The sickening feeling having been fleeced is a terrible thing. Hope you're insured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Three grand is what a Macbook Pro costs now? Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Where did this happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Unless they also shat in your kettle......I'd say they were moderate watered down scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭cusackd

Where was that Red Alert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Sounds like hipster thieves.

Possibly broke into a few houses beforehand and were prostrate with smug laughter at the dull, pedestrian Microsoft hardware on offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Unless they also shat in your kettle......I'd say they were moderate watered down scum.

I got broken into once ..fleeced me and shat into a stew i had on the cooker....Had to throw half of it out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

In other news, i just got a shiny new laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Sorry to hear that.
    But, 'ye can't be doin' that, lads...'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Always lock the front door, sure that's how they got poor Osama bin Laden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

I have a big boltery locky thing on my front door but I never lock that incase there's a fire which in hindsight seems a bit stupid! Would that even make a difference if there was a fire?

**ANYONE WITH A MACBOOK PRO........LOCK AWAY YOUR CHARGER**

Sketch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

pebbles21 wrote: »
    I got broken into once ..fleeced me and shat into a stew i had on the cooker....Had to throw half of it out!

What did you do? Water it down to preserve the nutty taste?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Same thing happened to a friend of mine a few months ago. His door was left unlocked in the middle of the day... some junkie walked in, took his school bag, and started pouring things into the school bag (Psp ... DVDS ... phones ... money ... sky box etc) and his school books were still in the bag. Luckily his dad just came home and the thief was about to leave, the dad gave a huge box to the head and knocked the guy out just when he was about to leave.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

In Ballinteer! There's been a spate of these kind of things recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Red Alert wrote: »

You not got "Find My Mac' activated??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Cheer up OP, at least the MacBook is gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

All my friends live there, and my parents. THanks for the heads up!

Cheer up OP, at least the MacBook is gone.

They might break back in to return it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

On the plus side they probably won't have a clue how to work anything on the mac. "ahh heeyor where's de bleedin' interneh exploawrur?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I sleep with my MacBook Air

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Keith wrote: »
    You not got "Find My Mac' activated??

You don't need that

Everyone tells you they have one anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

krudler wrote: »
    On the plus side they probably won't have a clue how to work anything on the mac. "ahh heeyor where's de bleedin' interneh exploawrur?!"

Ah heeyor, der's only one bleeedin' mouse button, chape hape o' shoih!

They haven't connected it to the net yet so it's not showing up. I've set it to erase when it does connect - it doesn't ask for password on startup and doesn't have FileVault enabled either :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The first mistake you made was buying a mac. For that price would could of gotten a top of the range laptop and a holiday. Suppose they followed you home from starbucks while you worked on your blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Some pure scum broke into my house last night. I'd forgotten to lock the deadlock and put on the alarm - costly mistake that turned out to be. They stole the 3 grand worth of MacBook Pro and nothing else - not even the charger for it. First thing I knew was the door was wide open this morning when I came down for breakfast. Absolutely ripping mad.

Did you have any sort of lock on the door?

Sorry to hear about your stuff being nicked, I've gone to bed a few times and not locked the front door at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

This may be a first in AH, but I'm going to offer genuine sympathy.

I've been burgled as well and it's not pleasant. Leaves this horrible feeling in your gut for weeks, and you feel vulnerable.

Lock all doors, enable the house alarm if you have one and don't leave any small valuables visible from the windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

The sickening feeling having been fleeced is a terrible thing. Hope you're insured.

3K? By Apple ya mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

I went out for lunch the other day and left my front door wide open. We're in an apartment block so the actual front door of the block was locked (there are three other apartments in our block) but still, so stupid of me! Nothing happened though, the cat didn 't even escape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

F**k that OP.

Sorry to hear that - scumbags! Were you alone in the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

I can't believe people leave their doors unlocked!

My apartment was broken into when both locks were locked. Feckers kicked the door in and the frame gave way. Never really felt fully secure after that.

Lock your doors and set your alarms if you have them people!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

This may be a first in AH, but I'm going to offer genuine sympathy.

I've been burgled as well and it's not pleasant. Leaves this horrible feeling in your gut for weeks, and you feel vulnerable.

Lock all doors, enable the house alarm if you have one and don't leave any small valuables visible from the windows.

That, my parent's house was burgled a few years ago and it's awful afterwards, it was on a country road that had recently been turned into a cul de sac so it wasn't unusual for people who didnt realise to stop and turn in our driveway, but after the break in if you heard a car or saw lights outside you'd wake up straight away for a look.
    Its less the stuff being taken and more the idea that some scummy prick has been sauntering around the house going through your things. They trashed my parents room and mine even though they didnt take much, cops said they do that to make it harder to figure out what's gone missing when the place is in a heap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

efb wrote: »
    I sleep with my MacBook Air

I sleep with mac-unt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

anncoates wrote: »
    pedestrian Microsoft hardware on offer.

Microsoft make hardware?

It was on the night latch only, which a coat hanger will open through the letterbox. It's also got a key-operated 5pt lock, which I forgot to lock. Funny thing is, an old Yale lock would be harder to open silently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Microsoft make hardware?

http://www.microsoft.com/hardware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I have no idea what a MacBook is?

Is this McDonalds related? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

3 grand worth of MacBook Pro

LOL

Sorry to hear about the burglary, but still lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Shouldn't of given them the green alert OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It could have been worse, they've could have taken your iPhone TM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭ratracer

It's lucky they broke in during the heatwave. If it was winter you could have caught you're death of cold with them leaving the door open and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,576 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Two crimes have taken place here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

The cúnts didn't even have the manners to close the door on the way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I have no idea what a MacBook is?

Is this McDonalds related? :confused:

Maybe it was the Hamburglar ?

http://thehairpin.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/hamburglar.jpg

What a crap thing to happen OP, just be glad nobody was hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

krudler wrote: »
    That, my parent's house was burgled a few years ago and it's awful afterwards, it was on a country road that had recently been turned into a cul de sac so it wasn't unusual for people who didnt realise to stop and turn in our driveway, but after the break in if you heard a car or saw lights outside you'd wake up straight away for a look.
    Its less the stuff being taken and more the idea that some scummy prick has been sauntering around the house going through your things. They trashed my parents room and mine even though they didnt take much, cops said they do that to make it harder to figure out what's gone missing when the place is in a heap.

How would you see lights of a car if you are asleep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Sorry to hear OP. Been there myself and its no joke.

Try to ignore the people who think they are being funny, they would have a different outlook if it happened to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

I actually only use my night latch lock the door has another lock system built into it that locks the door in 5 places right up the side. We dont use it as its more of a hassle to be messing around with 2 sets of keys. Hmm maybe i should rethink that!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Check to see if they left the immersion on op. These cnuts are pure evil.