Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post Meath Heritage Cycle

• 22-07-2013 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭

Planning on doing the 160km cycle next Sunday I am not familar with the route and was wondering what it is like. It looks on the Map My Ride profile to have a few hills in the first half of the cycle but is fairly flat there after. Hopefully this is a correct assessment ? Any comments on the relative difficulty of the route from those who have done it previously would be much appreciated.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

I did it last year. The route is not very hilly but it was a lot harder than I expected. This was mainly due to the road surface which was pretty shocking in places and the wind on the day.

Based on the height profile I expected it to be a doddle even though it was the longest cycle I had done up til that point. Even though it is not very hilly it is still quite a slog though. If you are mentally prepared for that I'd say you'll have no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

HivemindXX wrote: »
    I did it last year. The route is not very hilly but it was a lot harder than I expected. This was mainly due to the road surface which was pretty shocking in places and the wind on the day.

Based on the height profile I expected it to be a doddle even though it was the longest cycle I had done up til that point. Even though it is not very hilly it is still quite a slog though. If you are mentally prepared for that I'd say you'll have no problem.

+1 on the wind, particularly on the section around Nobber. It was the slightly rolling roads on one section that I thought would be flat, I found surprisingly difficult. I was tired and couldn't get into a rhythm. Big ring, little ring, big ring, little ring... I couldn't tell you where it was but it was relentless up a little bit, down a little bit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

The "big ring small ring" comments confirms how I had heard it described as being a lumpy route. So not that easy a spin then ?

You never get an easy rides from the Royals !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

joxerjohn wrote: »
    The "big ring small ring" comments confirms how I had heard it described as being a lumpy route. So not that easy a spin then ?

You never get an easy rides from the Royals !

I wouldn't know, I never went to a nightclub in Meath..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Scrumdog

I'm doing it myself for the first time. It will be my longest distance if I make it. I was fairly confident up till last weekend. Did a 105 k out of stamullen and boy did I suffer on the hills towards the end. So if you see someone in a bright orange CAS jersey struggling a few words of encouragement would be more than welcome. See you on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

I've done this twice, last time being two years back. There was an issue with a down hill covered in gravel that year with (un)luckily I had a flat at the time so was going super slow.

The organisers are great however and really do take feedback so I'd say it was taken care of. Its always a great atmosphere. First year it ran there was some heavy rain near the end, and it was still great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I'm looking at doing this too. It will be a huge leap from my normal city commute cycle. My average speed in the city is 23km/h - would that be to slow a pace for this?

I'd expect to do better given that I wouldn't be weighed down with my commute backpack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

The route is flat in the sense that there's no major hill particularly compared the Wicklow 200 and Sean Kelly. Even Tara and the Hill of Slane are relatively short if a bit sharp but shouldn't pose any major issue where they come early on. However the route isn't pan flat so expect some rolling roads on the rest of the route. Having done the Sean Kelly and heard from people doing the others this is probably the easiest of the An Post cycles. Its probably a bit tougher than the Ring of Kerry but a fair bit easier than the Sean Kelly.

If you have a reasonable amount of training done e.g do 100k with reasonable comfort you should be ok. The thing about the route is that decent sized groups do tend to form so its not that hard to sit in and get carried along especially for the first 80km before things break up a bit at the food stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Have my name down for the 160k really looking forward to it. Have not done it before but not knowing what to expect can be fun. Have over analysed these things before and tried to figure out exactly where all the climbs are and what exact gradient, but it was to no great benifit to be honest. Just gonna go out give it a lash try have a laugh and enjoy the spin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

2 North County boardsies have signed up for the 160....

Edit And I see they've posted at the same time .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I'm doing the 100km.
    Really looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

I have signed up for the 100k. It's a bit of a different route this year with some of the hills from last year now gone (Ros na Ri and Slane bridge for example). A couple of new ones are in including Dean Hill and the climb up from the Boyne bridge to the food stop at Ryans of Gormalough. Nothing major though. The second half is quite flat as it goes over towards Bohermeen, Athboy and a new bit across to Ballivor and back to Trim.

Last year a big group was lead astray by a bike marshall just after the start and we ended up doing 114k so be ready for the first turn at Jack Quinn's pub towards Bective. It means going from a wide fast road to a narrow one with a little short sharp hill just after the turn so be careful, there will be bunching there and a bit of frantic gear changing by some as they will see the little hill late. Easy place to get caught with someone stopping in front of you. The last sharp ramp up to O'Connells pub at Skryne is the same, a few just can't make it and come to a full stop. I saw a couple of falls there last year. The food stops seem to have been sorted this year and are better spaced. Last year the first stop was too far into it and the second was too near the end but the new route seems to have sorted that.

But overall it was really well organised last year and a great atmosphere at the start/finish. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 SpaceGerbil

I'm signed up to the 160Km also, this will be the longest distance I've attempted. The weather has been super of late so hopefully the weekend should be good craic. !! Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

The food stops seem to have been sorted this year and are better spaced. Last year the first stop was too far into it and the second was too near the end but the new route seems to have sorted that.

Are there 2 food stops on the 100? I thought there was only the one at Bohermeen?

Couple of us signed up to do this on Sunday - what size & pace was the front group the last time? Would be nice to get into a gang tootling along for the first 60k or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Guybrush T

PeadarCo wrote: »
    The route is flat in the sense that there's no major hill particularly compared the Wicklow 200 and Sean Kelly. Even Tara and the Hill of Slane are relatively short if a bit sharp but shouldn't pose any major issue where they come early on.

There's also the Mulaghroy climb (1.4km @6.3% Strava segment here) Which is the hardest hill on the route, it's about 10km after Newgrange.

Are there 2 food stops on the 100? I thought there was only the one at Bohermeen?

Yes I think you're right. The first one is a water stop. The food stop at Bohermeen was only about 25k from the end last year so was a bit late. I think there is a second water stop at the pitch&putt club outside Athboy. They are better spaced this year anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

There are one or two short sharp digs near newgrange - I know as I got was spat out the back on them last year ; other than that it's pretty flat. Couldn't make it this year unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Planning the 160k myself, missed last year, so really looking forward to this one.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

hi,
    missed the registration on this - would like to do the 100k.

if anyone has a "ticket" that they will not use, would appreciate it.

payment of course.

thx

K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 B4IGoInsane

Thought deadline for registration was today. If anyone cannot make Sunday and happy to sell entry please PM.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Beers in Balrothery inn after by all accounts .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭encryptix

Me and a friend are giving this a go this year! We we're wondering about the r jersey you get - mainly does it have a pouch at the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

encryptix wrote: »
    Me and a friend are giving this a go this year! We we're wondering about the r jersey you get - mainly does it have a pouch at the back?

It's a standard cycling jersey, probably from Spin 11, so it will have either two or three pockets on the back. Picture is hard to make out but it looks like three.

http://www.meathsports.ie/cycle-tour/spin-and-train.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Im in, after all it passes my front door!!!!

Did part of it the other day, lumpy at start until after Drumconrath, should be relatively flat after that....weather doesn't look too good though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭redved

doing the 160k on a spur of the moment decision. Entered last Wednesday.
    Go out most weekends for 80k spins so hope thats enough

redved wrote: »
    doing the 160k on a spur of the moment decision. Entered last Wednesday.
    Go out most weekends for 80k spins so hope thats enough

It should be as long as you pace yourself and remember to eat regularly. Aim to eat a bar at least from 25-30 on wards.
    As a rule of thumb I try to eat a bar/small roll, banana every hour on a long spin like this as well as drinking lots. I use 2 750 mls bottles on water, 1 high 5 and try to down at least 500mls every hour (don't always mange it tbf ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Ponzi Bilharzia

Doing the 100k, which is shaping up to be my first long distance cycle in the rain. Any advice for preparing for the rain?

Don't stop long enough to get cold if wet. Keep moving. Gillet to keep body warm and rear mudguard to keep as much water off the rear end as possible

Doing the 100k tomorrow. Never done more than 35km in one go before but have done adventure races where I was moving for 3.5 hours so engine is there.

Bike being serviced, picking it up at 3.

Hope to be in trim by 8:20 or so in the morning

Any advice for today/early tomorrow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Lambretta

Due to a family bereavement - I have two entries for the 160km event available - please pm me.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 835 ✭✭✭countrykid

Doing the 100k tomorrow. Never done more than 35km in one go before but have done adventure races where I was moving for 3.5 hours so engine is there.

dont look at the speedo clocking up the k's much and keep the legs turning...
    the kilometres will just roll by..
    eat light and frequently...every 45-50 minutes ..
    quickly adopt the pace you feel is comfortable and stick with it...
    whilst most lads here can knock in 100k without a thought the first time you do it is daunting and not to be taken lightly...
    just eat and drink and youll get it done..
    most of all..ENJOY IT!!!!

Stay wel hydrated tonight and tomorrow. I do my porridge & honey brekky before a spin like this. As above eat light and drinks lots. Pace yourself and stay inside your own ability

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

RobFowl wrote: »
    Beers in Balrothery inn after by all accounts .....

Marcies for me, covered area looking out over the river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭lorimc

encryptix wrote: »

Picked up my jersey this evening, it has three pockets at the back.

I loved the pink last year but I do think that the design this year just looks better overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 LiLmaz

Hi, does anyone know what time the 50km kicks off at?

LiLmaz wrote: »
    Hi, does anyone know what time the 50km kicks off at?

10:30 start time.
    Reg from 9-10:15

Got the L jersey fecking huge, anyone want a swap for a medium......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Follow my plan "ride it like ya stole it" for the first 22k then slog round for the remaining 138k ;-)

For your first 100k just focus on getting around. Stop at the food stops, don't stay too long and keep yourself fed and hydrated all the way around.

Really looking forward to this now. Hopefully the bad showers will avoid us, just to tempt the gods I'm not bringing rain gear of any discription ;-)

Home from the 100k. Great day. Well organised event as usual. Couple of nice unexpected climbs and descents. Food stop at Bohermeen was brilliantly organised and there was plenty of everything when we were there.
    Thanks to the lads and lassies from Trim CC who let us get on the train from Gormalough. And I hope the poor lad that fell badly at the last roundabout is ok. Big crowd around him when we passed. And he was only about 500m from the finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

the bus driver that got held up out by newgrange wasn't to happy:D:D

Great day out.
    first 40km was tough enough with the climbs.
    Mostly flat after that.

Nice trip for my 1st 100km.
    Well organised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Did the 160K, which in fact was 167K. Great day, well organised as usual.
    Food stop in Drumconrath was wonderful. Marshalling was spot on. Route marking was perfect. And we got back to Trim just before the rain.
    Well done to all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭666bxg

Gutted to be told the only jersey available was for a size S when I registered this morning!! :mad:

This will teach me to register the day before next year.... but anyhow great event nevertheless.

Very well run event, food was excellent at the 1st and second stops, I was dreaming of a burger or a curry at the end, but they must have moved the 1st stop back to Trim, a very minor complaint. Marshalling was excellent, only the one rain shower which was short. Thanks to Trim CC for the pull home. 166k, avg 29.6k, 1354m vertical. Sorry to hear about the chap on the last roundabout, hope he is ok (rumour has it, it was a leg break)

t'bear wrote: »
    Very well run event, food was excellent at the 1st and second stops, I was dreaming of a burger or a curry at the end, but they must have moved the 1st stop back to Trim, a very minor complaint. Marshalling was excellent, only the one rain shower which was short. Thanks to Trim CC for the pull home. 166k, avg 29.6k, 1354m vertical. Sorry to hear about the chap on the last roundabout, hope he is ok (rumour has it, it was a leg break)

Must have finished close to you

Time 05:38:56

Avg Temp 22°C Max Speed 69.5km/h Avg Speed 29.6km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭1jcdub

Completed the 100k (102.5k) course in 3h24m Average speed 30kpm. Really happy with my time. Excellent event, well organised. Arrived in before the rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Hani Kosti

Amazing day out :-)
    Fair play to marshals and signs along the route, really made a difference
    Got lucky at the second climb, guy next to me lost momentum and I heard 6 others (maybe more) taking the hit in the domino =(... nasty fall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

RobFowl wrote: »
    Got the L jersey fecking huge, anyone want a swap for a medium......

I've a medium here if you want to swap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭lizzylad84

My first an post tour. Done it in 3.43. Enjoyed the day, thanks to the trim lads for the ride home. Thought the delay at the first proper hill was a bit mental,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I signed up for the 160, but due to work commitments had to switch to the 100. Avg 29.8km/h, in in 3:25.

The hills were fine but the first few were fairly crowded and it was impossible to make safe progress.
    Went along on my own after the crowds cleared and stayed that way until about 20-25km from the end when a large group (Some Larry's Wheelers and a couple of lads in Crumlin Hospital 50,000km jerseys) working well together caught me. I hopped on and enjoyed the remainder of the spin at a nice pace.

Bonus: I see someone made a segment out of the route and I'm top of the pile. The joys of an early strava upload! :)