Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are what you eat...

• 22-07-2013 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭

So yeah, found this lovely article online (I get bored in work alot...) about the 9 foods I shouldn't eat. I lol'd at this a bit and got some dirty looks in the office..

http://www.trueactivist.com/nine-foods-you-should-never-eat-again/

The list:
    1) White bread, refined flours.

2) Conventional frozen meals.

3) White rice.

4) Microwaveable popcorn.

5) Cured meat products with nitrates, nitrites.

6) Most conventional protein, energy bars.
    7) Margarine.

8) Soy milk and soy-based meat substitutes.

9) “Diet” anything.

Read more: http://www.trueactivist.com/nine-foods-you-should-never-eat-again/

So if this article is fact...I've learnt something from it and taken my spin on it as my understanding of this is..........

1. Don't eat sandwiches or bread toast etc- They are toxic wrapped by Mr Brennan himself! *
    2. Don't be lazy like me and cook a feckin' dinner, Buying Tesco's Finest MicroMeal is radioactive and could leave you walking away with a disease
    3. Don't be rascist and eat Brown Rice - What did the fellas do to you in the first place?
    4. Go buy popcorn in the cinema - Tatyo's Micropop are a hazard to your lungs and may stop you breathing, presumably by not choking on them...
    5. Don't be getting them breakfast rolls from your local Spar at 6/7 in the morning - apparently they are cancerous.

My God, I'm only halfway and my life span has been shorten by a few years already.. carrying on..

6. For those energetic sports champs out there - don't bother with those engery bars - you'll get more energy licking the ground than from these chronic illness death bars
    7. Don't be tight by buying margarine and go get some real butter from a Cow.. Or lard is a good alternative replacement for your lethal slice of toast in the morning (See point 1)
    8. Soy Milk ? More like a cup of toxic waste bath water... very appealing.
    9. Diet? More like die disguised as a 4 letter word..

So there you have it. If you are indeed you are what you eat and I am.. then I am a walking dead man and have planned my funeral for tomorrow as I clearly have poisoned my self to a degree where I am way beyond medical help!

Nice knowing you all!

* I do not know Mr Brennan, have no affixation with the company and other legal jargon that could get me into trouble..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm a big orange banana strawberry yoghurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I'm a level 7 vegan, so I don't eat anything that casts a shadow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Yes you are and God loves you very much for who you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I'm a big orange banana strawberry yoghurt with added crisps

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Apparently I'm a pig, i.e, a tasty gift from heaven.

Tell me something I don't know :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

So in order to be healthy you have to spend a bloody fortune.

I'd rather be dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

hmmmm....turns out I'm cheap fast and easy.....:-)

wexie wrote: »

Buying Microfoods like me too yeah? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I must eat Fat so

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Nemeses wrote: »
    Buying Microfoods like me too yeah? :)

huh?

no....I've sloppy impulse control after a few pints :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

If you are indeed you are what you eat and I am.. then I am a walking dead man and have planned my funeral for tomorrow as I clearly have poisoned my self to a degree where I am way beyond medical help!

It's nice to be healthy and in your 20's...

Enjoy it while you can, kid.

So yeah, found this lovely article online (I get bored in work alot...) about the 9 foods I shouldn't eat. I lol'd at this a bit and got some dirty looks in the office..

You should prove them all wrong and only eat what they tell you not to.

See what happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Life isn't worth living if you can't eat cured meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Yeah but are you a Nitrate/Nitrite filled big orange banana strawberry yoghurt?

InTheTrees wrote: »
    It's nice to be healthy and in your 20's...

Enjoy it while you can, kid.

I'm mid 20s and dying - Did you not read my dramatic post?

tsk tsk

You should prove them all wrong and only eat what they tell you not to.

See what happens...

But then I'll even have a shorter life span...

Are you trying to kill me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Urquell

Ive often been called a pussy.

This thread has made me feel better.

Giggidy.

Are you trying to kill me??

You're doing fine by yourself.

Thanks for the reassurance.

Now if I can relocate my pack of cigs I should be smoking it then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Staff Infection

Excellent, I may be immortal so as I don't eat any of the nine "killer food items". I may also be extremely dull and boring but that is the price I must pay for life eternal.

So you've never had bread, rice, toxic waste matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

So what the hell am I going to do with my diet frozen, ready-meal pastrami sandwich buttered with margarine washed down with soybean milk-o substitute and popcorn with energy bar for dessert??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

1, 2, 3, 7 and 9 seem pretty obvious. I'm not sure I understand what ''conventional protein'' means. Did they elaborate on that?

Edit: Nevermind, I checked the link and they just mean most protein bars. The comma confused me.

No one will ever be in full agreement when it comes to nutrition anyway. There are too many grey areas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

wexie wrote: »

PM sent x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ah I never pay attention to this rubbish.

You could eat right, exercise all you want, and still drop dead of a heart-attack in the morning, or get run over by a bus etc

Besides the years this "unhealthy lifestyle" threatens to take off you are always those crappy ones at the end when your kids have stuck you in a home/flat where you live in fear of everything and unable to look after yourself

If that's the reward for "eating right" then you can keep it! :p *mulls over ordering Chinese, chipper or pizza*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

NothingMan wrote: »
    I'm a level 7 vegan, so I don't eat anything that casts a shadow.

Lentils cast shadows when they are viewed from a certain angle

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

1) White bread, refined flours.
    Agreed, terrible for you.

2) Conventional frozen meals.
    Ditto

3) White rice.
    What?? Did someone tell the entire continent of Asia this?

4) Microwaveable popcorn.
    Agreed, not many people realise these are the biggest source of trans-fats

5) Cured meat products with nitrates, nitrites.
    BIG difference between a ganky hot dog and artisan prosciutto. The nitrite thing is a load of bollix, the biggest source of nitrite in our diets is leafy veg, which we know is very good for us. Issues may arise from heating nitrite but if you have a glass of orange juice with your bacon you'll be fine

6) Most conventional protein, energy bars.
    Yeah, pretty much agree

7) Margarine.
    Agree

8) Soy milk and soy-based meat substitutes.
    Agree

9) “Diet” anything.
    Agree

Basically you can't go too far wrong from eating things that ARE ingredients not MADE OF ingredients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Staff Infection

So you've never had bread, rice, toxic waste matter?

Well I'm a vegetarian so I abhor fun, I also don't eat lots of things on that list like nitrate meats as a result too.
    Definitely haven't eaten any bread or white rice in the past five years anyway as I try to only eat complex carbohydrates (I'm keenly aware how dull that sounds). As for the toxic waste matter, well I do try but those fancy glow in the dark plutonium mushrooms are tempting by times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

You are what you drink.........and I'm a bitter man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Ah fcuk that, everything is bad for you and gives you cancer these days, if you lived on water and lentils you'd be told you'd get cancer from that too. I'll be enjoying my steak and beer and take up smoking cigars when I'm old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Avoid rice... yeah right, feck off! :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Any knowledgeable people able to shed light on the truth about whether nitrites and nitrates are actually bad? I've read some conflicting reports on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Everything in moderation is the best guide for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

You are what you eat? That's funny, I don't remember eating a sexy beast.

That's because you didn't...

Sorry dude. You be plain fugly yo'll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

That's because you didn't...

Sorry dude. You be plain fugly yo'll!

:confused: What did you eat? I'm trying to figure out what this means. The odd placement of grammar in an otherwise "street" sentence baffles my fragile little mind. Did you mean Yo?

NothingMan wrote: »
    :confused: What did you eat? I'm trying to figure out what this means. The odd placement of grammar in an otherwise "street" sentence baffles my fragile little mind. Did you mean Yo?

I know nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I just hovered over all this thread with my Applied Kineasology necklet and quite a few fruitcakes turned up

That is expected behaviour.

Try a Big Mac to calm your nerves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

That is expected behaviour.

Try a Big Mac to calm your nerves.

Done! With medium fries and a strawberry milkshake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

OneArt wrote: »
    So in order to be healthy you have to spend a bloody fortune.

I'd rather be dead.

Many of the things on that list are expensive ; soya products/protein bars/diet foods are all pricey.

Also frozen meals/packaged foods are really deceptively expensive. You might save time but in the long run you end up paying much more.

I've definitely saved money buying fresh ingredients when possible and cooking at home. It takes very little effort once you get used to it. Meat is still expensive but marinades were invented to make cheaper cuts of meat taste better.:D

I don't buy anything exclusively marketed as healthy, cos it's usually not.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Fruit and vegetables can be got very cheap in most towns (between Dunnes, Tesco, Lidl, Aldi, SuperValu and others trying to out-do each other every week).

Butchers do quality meat at good prices, so chicken and beef are readily available too.

Brown rice is the same price as white, isn't it? Just throw some turmeric into the water while it's cooking and it'll come out tasty and yellow!

Get the portion sizes right and you can eat pretty damn well for less than the cost of a take-away every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Most of the stuff on that list is easily avoidable. It's funny how you're tastes change as you get older. I can't bear the texture of white rice, if it isn't brown basmati rice then forget it, the same with pasta, I prefer the wholemeal stuff and wholegrain bread, white bread tastes awful to me. 10 years ago I'd probably have been disgusted if someone served them to me as a healthier option though.

I haven't eaten meat for years, but I do eat fish. A lot of the healthier options can be got relatively cheaply. I don't eat a lot of dairy but I get organic butter and low fat organic milk from Tesco and it doesn't cost much more than the regular non organic stuff. I'm terrible at eating fruit, even as a child I wouldn't care if I never ate a piece of fruit:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Are you callin me a ham stuffed potato?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

i used to be afood nazi and only eat all that ****.

but its mostly bs, just try to eat balanced.

brown vs white bread, most overrated **** ever.

brown rice vs white rice, they are basically the same.

Spunge wrote: »
    i used to be afood nazi and only eat all that ****.

but its mostly bs, just try to eat balanced.

brown vs white bread, most overrated **** ever.

brown rice vs white rice, they are basically the same.

The problem is that some people are buying certain breads thinking they're healthier but they're not checking the labels properly. White bread has little nutritional value but in some cases other breads are not much better. The glycemic index and nutritional value is what's important. Crappy bread generally makes people more bloated and has little value in terms of nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Pug160 wrote: »
    The problem is that some people are buying certain breads thinking they're healthier but they're not checking the labels properly. White bread has little nutritional value but in some cases other breads are not much better. The glycemic index and nutritional value is what's important. Crappy bread generally makes people more bloated and has little value in terms of nutrition.

they both have carbs, their glycemic index isnt vastly different its not like eating sugar vs oats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

I am a rock. (bun)

• Site Banned Posts: 19 Das Kissen

Pug160 wrote: »

All bread has little nutrition. Better off not touching the stuff.

Spunge wrote: »
    they both have carbs, their glycemic index isnt vastly different its not like eating sugar vs oats

GI varies a lot between breads but white bread has very little nutritional value. That's been pretty much agreed by every credible source there is. Eat away at your white bread if you want but don't expect too much.