Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs with drinking areas on public street

• 18-07-2013 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭

How are pubs allowed have their little beer garden out front in middle of street? In Cork for example, there's one pub Le Chateau that covers about half of that part of Patrick St. I just don't understand how they're allowed to do it.

You get fined for drinking in the street, but it's fine if some pub sets up some fake perimeter? Do pubs pay extra for this or whats the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

theglobe wrote: »
    How are pubs allowed have their little beer garden out front in middle of street? In Cork for example, there's one pub Le Chateau that covers about half of that part of Patrick St. I just don't understand how they're allowed to do it.

You get fined for drinking in the street, but it's fine if some pub sets up some fake perimeter? Do pubs pay extra for this or whats the story?
    I would assume they have to pay extra for it. It's common throughout the world too, we just can't take advantage of it too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

This is something that adds atmosphere and life to city's, nice to see all across Europe, how could you have a problem with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

fibonaccii wrote: »
    This is something that adds atmosphere and life to city's, nice to see all across Europe, how could you have a problem with it?

Yep, people actively seeking out something to get annoyed by. Some people would try to have birds banned from flying over their houses if they could. Btw the pedestrian walkway is huge outside the pub mentioned and there is no obstruction.

This degeneracy is what the OP has found to get annoyed about.

Pretty miserable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Why would you complain about something so great? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Quick, someone's relaxing and having fun! You phone the PC Brigade, I'll fire up the torches!!

The Chat is one of the coolest bars in Cork. Chill Daddy-O, and get a cryogenic Carlsberg inside yer shirt. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It's their 'garden' area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

It's all the rage on the continent. Nothing better sitting outside in the sun with some friends and a cold beer watching the world pass by.

Aslong as pedestrians/joggers can pass safely and the clientele are well behaved and respectful then there shouldn't be an issue. We should make use of this glorious weather too.

Anyone for a Pint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Where would all the scroungers be without the street seats? Thats where they get most of their money. At least I guess it is, given how much they hassle patrons who are sitting outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

they apply for a "street furniture license" from the local council, they pay for this, depending on how many tables/chairs etc they want to put outside, whether there is a veranda covering it, heaters and all that.

so depends on the scale of what they have out on the street, and whether they are granted permission to have it there in the first place. not everywhere will be given permission for it.

and, most places are told that they can only have the area like that during certain hours.

i think it's great btw, nothing to moan about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's a disgrace joe.

People relaxing on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Methinks the OP is p!ssed off because now the smokers are getting a better deal than the insiders :pac:
    In Amsterdam nearly every bar and cafe has a "terras" on the street. The chairs and parisols go out in March and come back in in November. It's great sitting outside with your shades on. sucking a frosty pilsner with your mates and gawping at the ladies walking by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Why would you complain about something so great? :confused:
    I thought he was just wondering about it, rather then complaining.
    You get fined for drinking in the street
    In my younger days we used to "knacker drink" outside pubs like this around grafton street. It was great, the gardai would not go near you since it would be so hypocritical to take cans away from us while lads more drunk were right beside us with actual glasses. Never heard of fines, they would just take the cans off you if you were simply drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

They pay extra but they have to stay within the area that they pay for and it's very common to ignore that. Some restaurants in central dublin are being billed extra right now because of this.

And yes it IS a pain in the arse when people trying to do shopping or get home from work can't even walk by because there is no room.

I suggest you complain to the Road Maintenance Department who are usually the place that licenses them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

You'd be doing well to get fined for drinking on the streets in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

They're paying the council a fortune to do it, and the council desperately need the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Yep, people actively seeking out something to get annoyed by. Some people would try to have birds banned from flying over their houses if they could. Btw the pedestrian walkway is huge outside the pub mentioned and there is no obstruction.

This degeneracy is what the OP has found to get annoyed about.

Pretty miserable.

Thats akin to a road block. It must go. Do these people have no concept of right to roam? Its worse than a Frech truck drivers blockade is that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

tin79 wrote: »
    Thats akin to a road block. It must go. Do these people have no concept of right to roam? Its worse than a Frech truck drivers blockade is that.

You wouldn't be an Orangeman would you?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

What annoys me is this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

In Cork for example, there's one pub Le Chateau that covers about half of that part of Patrick St. I just don't understand how they're allowed to do it.

Half the street? Really? That part of Patrick st must have one of the widest footpaths in the country.

Anyway, you know what you could do, go and issue your complaint to the good gentleman who runs Le Chateau, I'm sure you'll get a god hearing from him.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

What annoys me is this sort of thing.

Absolutely. The Barge must be printing money in weather like this, the least they can do is make sure their clientele leave the area clean (including the canal). That's just disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Absolutely. The Barge must be printing money in weather like this, the least they can do is make sure their clientele leave the area clean (including the canal). That's just disgusting.

More like the Centra around the corner. Looks like the rubbish is entirely off licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭BrendaN_f

don't see why you would have a problem with that OP. that said, i don't see why people are so relaxed about this, yet i'm a scumbag for walking around shirtless on a hot day... odd

It's a disgrace joe.

People relaxing on the street.

You shoulda see dem Joe. Ah jaysus, sittin dere injectin' de marijuana wit the babbies still sucklin' from de breast Joe.

Den de helicopters comin'and shootin' at de childres Joe and dem scatterin' like frightened little antelope Joe. I'm crying Joe as I'm tellin' you dis Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Jeju

It was established in 1793 and its only now someone has a problem with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭theglobe

jimgoose wrote: »
    Quick, someone's relaxing and having fun! You phone the PC Brigade, I'll fire up the torches!!

The Chat is one of the coolest bars in Cork. Chill Daddy-O, and get a cryogenic Carlsberg inside yer shirt. :cool:

Genuinely cringed at you calling it The Chat. I can pretty much see what you are now.

Del2005 wrote: »
    You'd be doing well to get fined for drinking on the streets in Ireland.

I have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Genuinely cringed at you calling it The Chat. I can pretty much see what you are now.

I can see what you are too.

A busy body with nothing better to do than complain about every little thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭strangel00p

fibonaccii wrote: »

Maybe because in Ireland people don't know how to drink in moderation or sensibly. On the continent, one glass of wine or beer and that's it. Over here, 10 pints, a couple of shots and we're ready to roll onto the street and hurl abuse at people. Great craic so it is...

Piliger wrote: »
    They pay extra but they have to stay within the area that they pay for and it's very common to ignore that. Some restaurants in central dublin are being billed extra right now because of this.

And yes it IS a pain in the arse when people trying to do shopping or get home from work can't even walk by because there is no room.

I suggest you complain to the Road Maintenance Department who are usually the place that licenses them.

Thanks, I will.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Maybe because in Ireland people don't know how to drink in moderation or sensibly. On the continent, one glass of wine or beer and that's it. Over here, 10 pints, a couple of shots and we're ready to roll onto the street and hurl abuse at people. Great craic so it is...

It is great craic :D

Tis :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

In this weather I go out of my way to find a pub with tables and chairs on the street, there is nothing like sitting with a cold pint outdoors and watching the world go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Thanks, I will.

I really do hope you complain that they're blocking passage down that part of Patrick St. Be sure to post the response you get back here. At the polite end of the scale I imagine you'll be told there's room to drive two buses down the rest of the footpath that's available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Not in Galway ya don't
    We are cool like that:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

rubadub wrote: »
    I thought he was just wondering about it, rather then complaining..

Sweet, innocent rubadub. When has anyone simply wondered on AH? This is moaning central....but I'll give the OP the benefit of the doubt:

Complaining or wondering, OP?

Edit: Confirmed complaining by a subsequent posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Are we now, remind me not to go for drinks with you if that's what you are up to after a feed of drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

I don't even know how to respond to this. It's a good thing.

Are we now, remind me not to go for drinks with you if that's what you are up to after a feed of drink.

ah here, leave it out. no need to be like that.

How dare you misrepresent us fine Irish folk!

I don't drink shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Thanks, I will.

WAHHHHHH WAHHHHHHHHHHH I have to walk all the way around a 3 meter sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I suspect I might be your worst nightmare. I'm a middle-aged well-dressed professional whitebread suburban gangsta playaaah nigga. And I'm going for a pint. Peace out, bee-yotch. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Long story short...

OP was done for drinking on the street and wants payback on others who are drinking on the street, even though they are within the pub boundary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

YOu're using behaviour that takes place at 2 in the morning to people having dinner? These outdoor areas are usually taken in by the time the madness happens. They don't want their property being damaged.

I've never seen any problems with people sitting outside on the street in Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Methinks the OP is p!ssed off because now the smokers are getting a better deal than the insiders :pac:

Yeah, it's crap the way that only smokers are allowed to sit outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,059 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

On the continent, one glass of wine or beer and that's it.

Myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

As long as it doesn't take up too much of the footpath then I don't really have a problem with it. I've seen it done a couple of time were it absolutely does cause an obstruction on the footpath, with people walking out into traffic just to get around, and that really shouldn't be allowed.

On a separate note, I was in Paris a while back and I bought a sandwich from a place which had an outside seating area. I was half way through enjoying my roll, when a waiter from the place came out to explain that I wasn't allowed to sit there. Apparently you have to request it, and pay extra for the privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Knasher wrote: »
    As long as it doesn't take up too much of the footpath then I don't really have a problem with it. I've seen it done a couple of time were it absolutely does cause an obstruction on the footpath, with people walking out into traffic just to get around, and that really shouldn't be allowed.
    No and it isn't. I love sitting outside myself but there is a balance and some places just take advantage. They pay a pittance to the council and get to make extra profit with almost no overhead.
    On a separate note, I was in Paris a while back and I bought a sandwich from a place which had an outside seating area. I was half way through enjoying my roll, when a waiter from the place came out to explain that I wasn't allowed to sit there. Apparently you have to request it, and pay extra for the privilege.
    Oh yes ... Paris. You pay EXTRA to sit outside and the prices go down the farther in from the street you are. The gullible tourists pay the highest prices and the waiters are very aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

the bar you speak of does not in anyway cause an obstruction on the street. I have a problem when some take up the whole footpath but i don't mind too much.

I dislike using them in Dublin because a few times i've had junkies ask for money and not leave me alone with their sob stories. Took away from the atmosphere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Plenty of sensible people here know how to enjoy drink, plenty of drunken assholes on the Continent that don't.
    One glass of wine or beer? where is that the norm?:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭SolarFlash

It's a trashy European thing that only promotes alcoholism they should ban it. Drinkers should stay inside the pub out of sight.