Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost wallet

• 17-07-2013 4:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭

Hi all today my partner brought our daughter out the the day in dunloaighre.

On the way to the park he lost his wallet so he retraced his steps and nothing.

He went to the garda station and an on foot officer found it he was delighted because it contained 195euro his drivers lisence and bank card.

So he got it back and the money was gone all we had to last him day was ruined some scumbag had took the money and thrown it in an alleyway.

What makes people to do this have they no consience?
    Anything like this happened to anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Who carries 195e in cash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Sorry to hear that, but to many people finding money is a case of "finders keepers".
    Sad all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You can always make more money, the hassle in getting new cards though is far worse than a bit of stolen cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

mloc123 wrote: »

Well he had to buy stuff for school today while we had the money but thanks for your concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Unfortunatly some people decide that if they find a wallet, the money is fair game and return the rest of the wallet, or not at all even,
    a bit scummy to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

hollster2 wrote: »
    Well he had to buy stuff for school today while we had the money but thanks for your concern.

That's 5hitty, I hope you find a way to get the money together before September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Sometimes I do if I don't even bother emptying my wallet for a while after I've been payed and take money out for something. Can happen, just back luck you lose it then.

michellie wrote: »
    That's 5hitty, I hope you find a way to get the money together before September.

Thank you hope so well sort it just gutted though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

I keep 20 in my wallet and pay the rest with laser. Although today i came across a 195euro windfall. That's in my wallet until i deposit it tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

If I was in your situation I would be jumping for joy that I actually found the wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

janja wrote: »
    a batman we know !

Name dropping i see.
    Tell batman i have a flat tyre.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Same happened to me (though it was only 20/30 euro). Was mainly thankful to get the wallet back. The fact that someone pocketed the cash though was a bit annoying.

I've found wallets/purses a couple of times. Never checked what was in them, thought wouldn't occur to me.

If I was in your situation I would be jumping for joy that I actually found the wallet.

Yeah you have a good point just the fact our daughter was disappointed hurt the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Anytime I've lost my wallet and gotten it back I've been delighted. I'd consider my cards and personal contents far more valuable than any cash I'd have in it. It's annoying, when it happens, but I usually consider the money as fair game if it happens to me. I'd never take cash from a wallet if I found one on the street, but I have to live with my own conscience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

FFS , it wasn't 5000 !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Thought for a minute the OP was going to say the guard took the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Treasure hunt in Dun Laoghaire! First prize is €195, second prize is a new wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

€195 is A LOT of money for a LOT of people. Why are some of you so rude?

michellie wrote: »
    €195 is A LOT of money for a LOT of people. Why are some of you so rude?
    Thanks michelle yes your right it is well was lot to us anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Yeah you have a good point just the fact our daughter was disappointed hurt the most.

I know it's not much compared to what you lost, but if you PM me Paypal account details (if you have one), I'll send you along €10 that I probably would've spent on games in the Steam sale.

Thanks michelle yes your right it is well was lot to us anyway.

Sorry again for your bad luck, doubly sorry for some of the sheer di3kish comments you have got on AH.
    Karma can be a great thing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I know it's not much compared to what you lost, but if you PM me Paypal account details (if you have one), I'll send you along €10 that I probably would've spent on games in the Steam sale.

Fair play, PM me your details and I will match Nialls Tenner!

ScumLord wrote: »
    Treasure hunt in Dun Laoghaire! First prize is €195, second prize is a new wallet.

Well the wallet was found funny though.

Thanks for your kindness well be ok you go spend that on your games ;) x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

HondaSami wrote: »
    Thought for a minute the OP was going to say the guard took the money.
    That could be the case, and is why many people would be reluctant to hand in any wallet/money they found to the gardai.

Its weird the faith/trust people have in some professions, like gardai & doctors, and even butchers for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Whats up with AH these days? Is it the heat?

People surprised at the dicks when someone wants a kind listening ear? She found the wallet, its not like she is looking for it/found one.

This isnt facebook. I go here when my creepometer is maxxed out on facebook. Stop fishing for sympathy thanks.

Hp ur ok hun. Drnks sun? xoxoxox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

While I understand how shítty it is to lose that amount of money I think you're deluded if you actually thought you had any hope of getting everything back. I'd be happy to get the wallet and cards back. You should be glad it wasnt an actual scumbag who found your wallet or you'd be spending the next few days cancelling cards and changing details.

so to be more of a scumbag they need to be able to work out how to use the internet, use other peoples cards? The real scumbags dont know how to do that apart from share the love on bebo.

You are lucky it wasnt a wanker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Happened to me in Argos a few weeks ago. Left my purse down with €90 in it, €50 in the note part and €40 crumpled in the change part. Went back to get it and €50 was gone.

I went for dinner with my boyfriend last week, went to get my purse out of my bag and pulled out a man's wallet. I started to panic, convinced I stole a wallet and forgot about it. Turned out my boyfriend threw it in a little while earlier!

lkionm wrote: »
    so to be more of a scumbag they need to be able to work out how to use the internet, use other peoples cards? The real scumbags dont know how to do that apart from share the love on bebo.

You are lucky it wasnt a wanker.

People throw around the word scumbag a lot these days. Imo to take money from a wallet you happen on you don't have to be the lowest of the low. Could have been anyone. However if the lowest of the low (actual genuine grade A scumbag) did find the wallet they wouldn't have ditched it with cards and a licence inside, they'd have taken those to try flog on.

Exactly, my dear Watson. I think it was more a commoner rather than the great unwashed. A licence and cards and that stuff could probably make a bit of dollaz somewhere to them.

But I reckon if anyone a bit hard up for some money found it and it was a queit street, they would take the money. Id say a lot of people would take it.
    Obviously we will all say they would drop it to the station but would you?

I would like to think I would.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

There are times my wallet is so stuffed with cash that the fastener wont close. But hey, I'm not complaining. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 bettybarlow

I don't like the way it seems acceptable these days that people who drop things/leave them out of their hand/leave them in cars should expect to have them stolen. Stealing is stealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

People who don't live near ATM machines. Rural living is a reality.

I don't like the way it seems acceptable these days that people who drop things/leave them out of their hand/leave them in cars should expect to have them stolen. Stealing is stealing.

Its a fact of life and its been that way since the dawn of civilisation no doubt. You just dont leave money unattended and expect anything other than it to go missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

Plenty of people. Crap reply to the op in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

half the country tuesdays and wednesdays dole money is 188

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

You can always make more money, the hassle in getting new cards though is far worse than a bit of stolen cash.
    Nearly €200 is far from "a bit of cash" to many people.

Just because it's pretty much to be expected that the money could be robbed, and just because there's a silver lining in that everything else was found, doesn't mean it can't be remarked upon as being a callous thing to do. Robbing something because you can get away with it still doesn't mean you have a "right" to it. Maybe someone badly stuck for money found it, but maybe its rightful owner badly needed it too.
    And while carrying that much cash might be considered unwise, doesn't mean the OP asked for it.

Making dickish comments looks cool and bad-ass though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

Sometimes people do the right thing!

A while back I left my wallet on top of my car at a petrol station (what a stupid thing to do - I know!) It appears that it fell off the roof onto the footpath as I turned out of the petrol station.

I didn't even know that it was missing until I received a call from the bank later (on a Sunday afternoon) to tell me that it was in the local Garda station. The person who had handed it in didn't even leave their details so that I could thank them properly or even donate a bottle of wine to their evening. All cards and cash were still in the wallet.

I was, and still am, blown away by the honesty of the finder - which is probably a very sad reflection on my expectations of people in general.

Sadly, this is probably an exception to the rule :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

People who don't have a credit card or debit card, maybe?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

liamo wrote: »
    Sometimes people do the right thing!
    Sadly, this is probably an exception to the rule :(

I had a small bag containing documents, address book etc stolen from my car while bringing stuff in to the house. I didnt notice at the time as I thought I had put it away.
    A week later I had a call from a bin man who found it and got my number from the address book. Said he regularly found stuff when emptying the public bins and tried to return it if identifiable.
    There was nothing of financial value in it but it was invaluable to me.
    Thanks to people like him who still exist.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Hi all today my partner brought our daughter out the the day in dunloaighre.

On the way to the park he lost his wallet so he retraced his steps and nothing.

He went to the garda station and an on foot officer found it he was delighted because it contained 195euro his drivers lisence and bank card.

So he got it back and the money was gone all we had to last him day was ruined some scumbag had took the money and thrown it in an alleyway.

Anything like this happened to anyone?

Here's a list of locals. There are many more who have no compunction about taking what is not their's.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=84362548

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82486530

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63147773

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=77316777

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Only €195 euro, mate. It's hardly walking down the road with a few grand stuffed into your pockets.

Most people don't care. They have the attitude of "well, you lost it, tough" - dog eat dog. It's wrong but a topic such as this is basically talking about society and people in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

half the country tuesdays and wednesdays dole money is 188
    Well if they still have €7 left then there getting too much :p:D

mitosis wrote: »
    "Finders keepers" means it's ok!

And I loved the gem about how "Money has been robbed from me, therefore others should pay." :)

Tbh though, cash alone has no paper trail so there is the possibility nobody might claim it (I'm talking modest sums here - €20 to €50 bracket) but I'm not saying it's right, just that it's not as bad as stealing money that you have a way of giving back to the owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Its a fact of life and its been that way since the dawn of civilisation no doubt. You just dont leave money unattended and expect anything other than it to go missing.
    This is pure bull. I once left a wallet stuffed with cash on a shop counter in a very dodgey part of a large city. When I came back several hours later they had my wallet still full of cash behind the counter. A customer saw the wallet and handed it over to the shopkeeper. Two honest people there at least.

Yeh my wallet fell out of my pocket one evening - about €200 cash in it. Someone found it on the footpath and handed it into the shop, every note intact.

"People will be dicks, get over it" - very telling attitude...

mbur wrote: »
    This is pure bull. I once left a wallet stuffed with cash on a shop counter in a very dodgey part of a large city. When I came back several hours later they had my wallet still full of cash behind the counter. A customer saw the wallet and handed it over to the shopkeeper. Two honest people there at least.

If you think its bull leave your wallet out tomorrow for a few hours and see if its there when ya get back. You wont though will ya ? Because you know damn well there's a much higher chance of someone taking it than not. So its not bull at all is it ? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Lost my wallet on the bus last year. €150 gone :( Probably fell out of my pocket while I listened to music and was tired. But when anyone asks me ill insist it was stolen by a master pickpocket.

I'd say I spent the next month walking around town looking at all the non essential nice things I could have bought for €150.

Never carry more than €100 and a debit card now.